Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Komornik

The Collector

Host: Niki Nikitin
Krzysztof Gierat (Producer)
Janusz Morgenstern (Producer)
Andrzej Chyra (Actor)
Feliks Falk (Director)

##

THE COLLECTOR

The rise and fall of a Warsaw ‘Yuppie’ – in just 48 hours. Lucek Bohme is a bailiff, his job is to seize goods. Whenever companies get into debt and institutions or individuals fail to meet their obligations, he is on the spot to impound anything of value. His behaviour when dealing with victims – regardless of their social standing – is both casual and arrogant. His job makes him feel powerful. But his self-confidence is beginning to take on alarming proportions.
One day, he is at the home of a family who are behind in their payments when he realises that he is about to seize a musical instrument belonging to the daughter of the woman with whom he was very much in love during his schooldays. Considerably more vexing is the suicide committed by another of his victims. The young man in question has hung himself of all places in the stairwell directly opposite the door to Lucek’s own office.
These two incidents have a lasting effect on Lucek. For the first time in his life, he begins to give some serious thought to what he does. However, his inflated sense of self-worth makes him blind to the danger that arises from this. Failing to notice that corrupt colleagues and superiors have set him up, he suddenly finds himself arrested under suspicion of having accepted bribes.
Feliks Falk: “In my film I have tried to show that the transition to another political system did not mean that social problems such as poverty, injustice and human error, or human weaknesses like envy, thoughtlessness and ambition automatically became a thing of the past. My film portrays a fragmented world in which people oppress one another. A world where there is no place for the weak.”

Poland 2005, 93 min

by

Feliks Falk

with

Andrzej Chyra
Kinga Preis
Malgorzata Kozuchowska
Marian Opania
Jan Frycz
Grzegorz Wojdan

World Sales

TVP S.A.

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Komornik

The Collector

Moderation: Niki Nikitin
Krzysztof Gierat (Prodzent)
Janusz Morgenstern (Produzent)
Andrzej Chyra (Schauspieler)
Feliks Falk (Regisseur)

##

DER GERICHTSVOLLZIEHER

Innerhalb von 48 Stunden vollziehen sich Aufstieg und Fall eines Warschauer „Yuppies“. Lucek Bohme ist als Gerichtsvollzieher für Pfändungen zuständig. Wenn verschuldete Firmen, Institutionen oder Privatpersonen ihren Ver­bind­lichkeiten nicht nachkommen können und zahlungsunfähig sind, ist er zur Stelle, um zu beschlagnahmen, was noch einigen Wert verspricht. Dabei ist er im Umgang mit seinen Opfern immer lässig und arrogant, unabhängig davon, welchen gesellschaftlichen Status sie haben. Seine Tätigkeit gibt ihm das Gefühl von Macht, und allmählich nimmt sein Selbstbewusstsein beunruhigende Ausmaße an.
Eines Tages will er bei einer Familie, die mit Zahlungen im Rückstand ist, ein Musikinstrument beschlagnahmen. Zufällig gehört es der Tochter einer Frau, in die er während der Schulzeit sehr verliebt war. Noch um einiges irritierender ist der Selbstmord eines seiner Opfer. Der junge Mann erhängt sich ausgerechnet im Treppenhaus direkt gegenüber seiner Bürotür.
Die beiden Vorkommnisse bleiben nicht ohne Wirkung auf Lucek. Zum ­ersten Mal beginnt er über seine Arbeit nachzudenken. Doch sein übersteigertes Selbstbewusstsein lässt ihn die Gefahren, die daraus erwachsen, übersehen: Deshalb merkt er auch nicht, dass korrupte Kollegen und Vorgesetzte ihm eine Falle stellen. Unversehens wird er unter dem Tatvorwurf verhaftet, Bestechungsgelder genommen zu haben.
Feliks Falk: „Ich versuche in meinem Film darzustellen, dass der Systemwechsel in Polen nicht automatisch dazu geführt hat, dass soziale Konflikte, Armut, Ungerechtigkeit, menschliche Verfehlungen und Schwächen wie Neid, Rücksichtslosigkeit und Karrierestreben um jeden Preis der Vergangenheit angehören. Mein Film zeigt eine zersetzte Welt, in der Menschen andere unterdrücken. Eine Welt, in der für Schwache kein Platz ist.“

Polen 2005, 93 Min

von

Feliks Falk

mit

Andrzej Chyra
Kinga Preis
Malgorzata Kozuchowska
Marian Opania
Jan Frycz
Grzegorz Wojdan

Weltvertrieb

TVP S.A.