Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Kan Shang Qu Hen Mei

Little Red Flowers

Zhang Yuan (Director)
Dong Bowen (Actor)
Ning Yuanyuan (Actress)

## ##

LITTLE RED FLOWERS

Qiang is four years old and something of a rebel. Armed with a pair of sparkling eyes and a precocious, indomitable will, he attends a well-organised kindergarten in Beijing – because his parents are rarely at home. It is not long after the founding of the People’s Republic in 1949 and the new na­tion is still quite young.
Life at kindergarten is meant to be an enriching experience, full of diversity. But Qiang finds it hard trying to fit into such an organised, communal life. A born individualist, he does his best to follow the teachers’ instructions but, try as he might, he is doomed to failure. And yet he longs to reap the rewards accorded to the other children, and receive the little red flowers awarded for laudable contributions.
But Qiang is never a recipient. He can’t dress himself and doesn’t play with the other children. Moreover, he even dares to contradict his teacher Li and headteacher, when they try to discipline him. However, his behaviour begins to win him the admiration of the other children. Their tiny kernel of resistance grows even stronger when Qiang persuades the other children that their teacher Li is a child-eating monster in disguise. When their attempt to hold her prisoner goes awry, Qiang’s rebellion takes on such disturbing proportions that he finds himself completely isolated by his comrades.
What is to become of him? Will he knuckle down and conform, or make his own way, according to his own rules?

United Kingdom 2006, 92 min

by

Zhang Yuan

with

Dong Bowen
Ning Yuanyuan
Chen Manyuan
Zhao Rui
Li Xiaofeng

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Kan Shang Qu Hen Mei

Little Red Flowers

Zhang Yuan (Regisseur)
Dong Bowen (Schauspieler)
Ning Yuanyuan (Schauspielerin)

## ##

LITTLE RED FLOWERS

Qiang ist vier Jahre alt und ein Rebell. Er hat leuchtende Augen und einen frühreifen, unbezwingbaren Willen. Er besucht einen gut organisierten Kindergarten in Beijing, denn seine Eltern sind häufig nicht zu Hause. Die Gründung der Volksrepublik 1949 liegt noch nicht lange zurück.
Das Leben im Kindergarten soll für die Kinder bereichernd und abwechslungsreich sein. Zahlreiche Spiele und Unternehmungen sollen aus ihnen brave Mitglieder der Gesellschaft machen. Qiang aber fällt es nicht leicht, sich in das organisierte Gemeinschaftsleben einzufügen. Als kleiner Individualist bemüht er sich zwar, den Vorgaben der Lehrer zu folgen, er scheitert aber immer wieder. Dabei sehnt er sich doch so sehr nach der Belohnung, die stets andere Kinder erhalten: nach den kleinen roten Blumen, die für gutes Betragen verliehen werden.
Qiang bekommt sie nie. Er kann sich nicht allein anziehen und er spielt nicht mit den anderen. Er wagt es sogar, der Lehrerin Li und dem Schuldirektor zu widersprechen, wenn sie ihm Disziplin beibringen wollen. Langsam gewinnt er damit Anerkennung bei den Kindern, und ihr Widerstand nimmt ordentlich zu, als Qiang sie davon überzeugen kann, dass die Lehrerin Li ein getarntes Ungeheuer ist, das Kinder frisst. Als der Versuch, sie gefangen zu setzen, fehlschlägt, entwickelt Qiangs Rebellion eine derart beunruhigende Dynamik, dass er von seinen Kameraden isoliert wird.
Was mag aus ihm werden? Wird er sich im Leben anpassen oder seinen eigenen Weg nach eigenen Regeln suchen?

Großbritannien 2006, 92 Min

von

Zhang Yuan

mit

Dong Bowen
Ning Yuanyuan
Chen Manyuan
Zhao Rui
Li Xiaofeng