Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2005

Awards

Feb 01, 2005:
Berlinale 2005: Honorary Golden Bears for Im Kwon-Taek and Fernando Fernán Gómez

The 55th Berlin International Film Festival will this year honour the Korean filmmaker Im Kwon-Taek, and the Spanish actor, director and screenwriter Fernando Fernán Gómez with Honorary Golden Bears for their lifetime achievements.

Im Kwon-Taek will be awarded the Honorary Golden Bear on February 12, 2005 at 9:30 PM in the Filmpalast. Following the award ceremony, Im Kwon-Taek’s impressive film Chunhyang dyeon (Chunhyang, 2000) will be screened in his honour. This year’s Showcase is also dedicated to the Korean director, who holds a special position among Asia’s great filmmakers.

Im Kwon-Taek began working in film in 1962 and is currently making his 100th production. Over the years, seven of Im Kwon-Taek’s films have been screened in different sections of the Berlinale. His oeuvre is as multi-faceted as influential. In depicting a cross-section of his country’s history and culture, Im Kwon-Taek often returns to the topic of Korea’s civil war and division. And although his films vary in style, they all bear his unmistakable stamp: they are forceful and charged cinematographically, as well as reticent, stylised and musical.

His splendid production Chunhyang dyeon (Chunhyang) is set in the 17th century and based on a popular Korean folktale. The film revolves around a young prince of noble descent, and the proud and cultivated daughter of a courtesan. The love between the two is sorely tested when the young woman is told to marry a provincial governor. With Chunhyang dyeon, Im Kwon-Taek has staged an exquisitely stylised opera of love: traditional Korean vocal music also enhances this cinematic tale.

Fernando Fernán Gómez will be awarded his Honorary Golden Bear on February14, 2005 at 9:30 PM in the Filmpalast. Following the award ceremony, Patricia Ferreira’s Para que no me olvides (Something to Remember Me By, 2005), in which Fernando Fernán Gómez plays the lead, will be screened in his honour. The film is the story of different generations, of grief and memories, as well as the difficulty of understanding one another.

.

Fernando Fernán Gómez was born in Peru in 1921 and spent his first years in Argentina. He moved with his family to Spain in 1924. As actor, director and screenwriter, Fernando Fernán Gómez has ranked among the most important personalities of Spanish cinema since the 1940s. He has performed in 200 films, directed 30 as well as written the screenplays for almost 30.

Among the most famous of his films as an actor, are Fernando Trueba’s Belle Epoque (1993), which ran in the Competition of the Berlinale in 1993 and won the Oscar for Best Foreign Language Film in1994; as well as Pedro Almodovar’s Todo sobre mi madre (1999). Also screened in the Competition of the Berlinale were Juan Estelrich’s El Anacoreta (1977) and Jaime de Armiñán’s Stico (1985). For his performance in each of these films he won a Silver Bear.

In his impressive career, Fernando Fernán Gómez has received numerous other awards and prizes for his acting, and for his achievements as director and screenwriter.

Fernando Fernán Gómez has also made a name for himself as a playwright. For his piece “Las bicicletas son para el verano” he received the Lope de Vega prize in 1978. In 2000 he was the first filmmaker ever to become a member of the distinguished Academia de la Lengua.

Press Office

February 1, 2005

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2005

Preise und Ehrungen

01.02.2005:
Berlinale 2005: Goldene Ehrenbären an Im Kwon-Taek und Fernando Fernán Gómez

Die 55. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin ehren in diesem Jahr den koreanischen Filmemacher Im Kwon-Taek und den spanischen Schauspieler, Regisseur und Drehbuchautor Fernando Fernán Gómez mit einem Goldenen Ehrenbären für ihr Lebenswerk.

Goldener Ehrenbär für Im Kwon-Taek

Im Kwon-Taek wird am 12. Februar 2005 um 21.30 Uhr im Filmpalast Berlin der Goldene Ehrenbär verliehen. Im Anschluss an die Verleihung wird aus Anlass dieser Ehrung Im Kwon-Taeks beeindruckender Film Chunnhyang dyeon (Chunhyang, 2000) gezeigt. Außerdem widmet sich die diesjährige Werkschau dem koreanischen Regisseur, der unter den großen Filmemachern Asiens eine Sonderstellung einnimmt.

Im Kwon-Taek begann seine filmische Arbeit 1962 und stellt derzeit seine 100. Produktion her. Auf der Berlinale war Im Kwon-Taek bereits sieben Mal in verschiedenen Sektionen vertreten. Das Werk des koreanischen Regisseurs ist ebenso vielseitig wie umfangreich. In seinem Querschnitt durch die Geschichte und Kultur seines Landes behandelt Im Kwon-Taek immer wieder die Themen des Bürgerkriegs und der Teilung des Landes. Trotz verschiedener stilistischer Richtungen besitzen seine Filme eine unverwechselbare Handschrift: Sie sind kraftvoll und kinematografisch aufgeladen sowie verhalten, stilisiert und musikalisch.

Sein prachtvoll inszenierter Film Chunhyang dyeon (Chunhyang) spielt im 17. Jahrhundert und hat eine beliebte koreanische Volkserzählung zum Inhalt. Im Zentrum stehen der Nachfahre einer Prinzenfamilie und die stolze und gebildete Tochter einer Kurtisane. Die Liebe der beiden wird auf eine harte Probe gestellt, als die junge Frau zur Heirat mit einem Provinzgouverneur gezwungen werden soll. Im Kwon-Taek inszeniert mit Chunhyang dyeon eine kunstvoll stilisierte Liebesoper: Traditionelle koreanische Vokalmusik ergänzt die filmische Erzählung.

Goldener Ehrenbär für Fernando Fernán Gómez

Fernando Fernán Gómez wird am 14. Februar 2005 um 21.30 Uhr im Filmpalast Berlin der Goldene Ehrenbär verliehen. Im Anschluss an die Verleihung wird Patricia Ferreiras Para que no me olvides (Something to Remember Me By) gezeigt. In diesem Film aus dem Jahr 2005 spielt Fernando Fernán Gómez die Hauptrolle. Der Film erzählt von Menschen unterschiedlicher Generationen, von Schmerz und Erinnerung und von der Schwierigkeit, einander zu verstehen.

Als Schauspieler, Regisseur und Drehbuchautor gehört Fernando Fernán Gómez seit den 40er Jahren zu den wichtigsten Persönlichkeiten des spanischen Kinos. Er hat in 200 Filmen mitgespielt, bei 30 Filmen Regie geführt und für nahezu 30 Filme die Drehbücher verfasst.

Zu den bekanntesten Filmen, in denen er als Schauspieler mitwirkte, gehören Fernando Truebas Belle Epoque (1993), der 1993 im Wettbewerb der Berlinale lief und 1994 mit einem Oscar für den besten fremdsprachigen Film ausgezeichnet wurde und Pedro Almodovars Todo sobre mi madre (1999). Ebenfalls im Wettbewerb der Berlinale liefen Juan Estelrichs El Anacoreta (1977) und Jaime de Armiñáns Stico (1985). Für seine schauspielerische Leistung in beiden Filmen wurde er jeweils mit dem Silbernen Bären ausgezeichnet.

Fernando Fernán Gómez erhielt in seiner beeindruckenden Karriere zahlreiche Auszeichnungen und Preise, sowohl für seine schauspielerischen Leistungen als auch für seine Regie- und Drehbucharbeiten.

Er hat sich auch als Theaterautor einen Namen gemacht. Für sein Stück „Las bicicletas son para el verano“ erhielt er 1978 den Lope de Vega – Preis. Seit dem Jahr 2000 ist er - als erster Filmemacher - Mitglied der renommierten Academia de la Lengua.

Presseabteilung

1. Februar 2005