Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2005

Competition

Jan 27, 2005:
Short Films at the Berlinale: From Seaside Idyll to Political Reality

The Berlinale offers ample opportunity to study signature samples of the most diverse directors. Alongside young filmmakers who are able to evolve their styles in short films, established feature film directors also enjoy returning to this genre. The Berlinale has created a special platform for short films, giving them their own program slot and jury. This jury will evaluate both the films of the Competition and of the Panorama. In addition to the bears, the jury awards the Prix-UIP for the best European film from both programmes.

International Short Film Jury

Gabriela Tagliavini (Argentina)

Director and screenwriter Gabriela Tagliavini was born in Argentina. She celebrated one of the greatest cinema successes in Mexican film history with her feature Ladies Night (2003). Gabriela Tagliavini has also made short films and directed TV productions. She also gained recognition as a writer with her novel “Los colores de la memoria” (“The Colors of Memory”).

Marten Rabarts (New Zealand)

For many years Marten Rabarts worked as a producer and screenwriter for the cinema and television. In 2001 he became head of studies at Amsterdam’s Maurits Binger Film Institute. It was in this position that Rabarts made a decisive contribution towards realizing the film series Project 10 - Real Stories from a Free South Africa, premiered at the 2004 Forum.

Susan Korda (USA)

Susan Korda is active as cutter, screenwriter and director. In 1990 she received an Oscar nomination for editing the documentary film For all Mankind. In 1999 she presented her documentary One of Us at the Forum. Susan Korda lectures at schools including the New York Tisch School of the Arts and at the International Film School, Cologne.

Eight films from seven countries will screen in the Short Film Competition of the 55th Berlin International Film Festival, competing for the bears for the best short film. The award ceremony for the short films will take place on February 15, 2005 in the Berlinale Palast. At the Short-Film-Night in CinemaxX 3 on February 17, 2005 short films from the Competition, the Panorama and the Kinderfilmfest will be shown.

Kira Muratova, an interesting Russian contemporary director, depicts the crazy everyday life at a Russian hospital in her film Spravka (The Information).

Gigolo (with Amanda Lear) is an graduation work of Münchner Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen by the photographer Bastian Schweitzer from Zurich. The film focuses on an Arab man in Paris who makes a living as a prostitute. The film describes the outsider’s misery with relentless precision.

The Intervention by American director Jay Duplass is a psychological group drama: friends want to help one of their group to admit to his homosexuality. In an oppressive atmosphere the film shows how supposed friendliness results in injury and demands for absolute openness lead to cruelty.

The Israeli entry Don Kishot Be' Yerushalaim by Dani Rosenberg adds a metaphorical touch to a current theme: the dividing wall built between Israel and Palestinian lands. Time and again two Israelis disguised as Don Quixote and Sancho Panza run up against the fortification.

Milk by the Scott Peter Mackie Burns is being presented in two sections: the Competition and the Talent Project Market.

In Killing the Afternoon Irish director Margaret Corkery depicts with witty irony the agonies and boredom associated with recuperation on the beaches of the Irish coast.

Child in Time by Slovenian director Maja Weiss unites religious symbolism with rock music. In the film accompanied by the music of Deep Purple, two children discover they are locked inside a church.

The second German entry is by Polish director Izabela Plucinska. The film was supported by the HFF Potsdam and the Nipkov Programme: Jam Session is an animation film with plasticine figures.

Short Film Competition:

Child in Time by Maja Weiss,

Slovenia, 15 min.

Don Kishot Be’ Yerushalaim by Dani Rosenberg,

Israel, 5 min.

Gigolo by Bastian Schweitzer,

Germany/ Switzerland, 15 min.

The Intervention by Jay Duplass,

USA, 15 min.

Jam Session by Izabela Plucinska

Germany, 10 min.

Killing the Afternoon by Margaret Corkery,

Ireland/ Great Britain, 9 min.

Milk by Peter Mackie Burns;

Great Britain, 10 min.

Spravka (The Information) by Kira Muratova,

Russia, 10 min.

Press Office

January 27, 2005

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2005

Wettbewerb

27.01.2005:
Wahnwitz und Alltag - Kurzfilme bei der Berlinale: Von der Strandidylle zur politischen Gegenwart

Die Berlinale bietet vielfach Gelegenheit, Handschriftenproben der unterschiedlichsten Regisseure zu studieren. Neben jungen Filmemachern, greifen auch etablierte Spielfilmregisseure immer wieder auf dieses Genre zurück. Die Berlinale hat für den Kurzfilm eine besondere Plattform geschaffen und neben einem eigenen Programm-Platz auch eine Kurzfilm-Jury berufen. Sie beurteilt sowohl die Filme des Wettbewerbs wie auch die des Panoramas. Neben den Bären vergibt sie den Prix-UIP für den besten europäischen Film aus beiden Programmen.

Kurzfilm-Jury 2005:

Gabriela Tagliavini (Argentinien)

Die in Argentinien geborene Regisseurin und Drehbuchautorin Gabriela Tagliavini feierte mit ihrem zweiten Spielfilm Ladies Night (2003) einen der größten Kinoerfolge in Mexiko. Gabriela Tagliavini drehte außerdem Kurzfilme und führte Regie bei TV-Produktionen. Mit dem Roman "Los colores de la memoria" („The Colors of Memory") erlangte sie auch als Schriftstellerin Beachtung.

Marten Rabarts (Neuseeland)

Der Neuseeländer Marten Rabarts war lange als Produzent und Drehbuchautor für Kino und Fernsehen tätig. Seit 2001 ist er Studienleiter am Amsterdamer Maurits Binger Film Institute. In dieser Funktion hat Rabarts maßgeblich zur Realisierung der Filmreihe Project 10 - Real Stories from a Free South Africa beigetragen, die 2004 im Forum ihre Premiere erlebte.

Susan Korda (USA)

Susan Korda ist als Cutterin, Drehbuchautorin und Regisseurin tätig. Für den Schnitt des Dokumentarfilms For all Mankind erhielt sie 1990 eine Oscar-Nominierung. 1999 stellte sie ihren Dokumentarfilm One of Us im Forum vor. Susan Korda lehrt unter anderem an der New Yorker Tisch School of the Arts und an der Internationalen Filmschule Köln.

Im Kurzfilmwettbewerb der 55. Internationalen Filmfestspiele sind acht Beiträge aus sieben Ländern programmiert, die um die Bären für den besten Kurzfilm konkurrieren. Die Preisverleihung findet am 15. Februar im Berlinale-Palast statt. Am 17. Februar findet außerdem die Short-Film-Night im CinemaxX 3 statt, in der alle Kurzfilme aus dem Wettbewerb, dem Panorama und dem Kinderfilmfest gezeigt werden.

Kira Muratova, eine der interessantesten russischen Gegenwartsregisseurinnen, schildert in Spravka (The Information) den wahnwitzigen Alltag in einem russischen Krankenhaus.

Gigolo (u.a. mit Amanda Lear) ist ein Abschlussfilm der Münchner Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen, gedreht von dem aus Zürich stammenden Fotografen Bastian Schweitzer. Im Film geht es um einen Araber in Paris, der sein Leben durch Prostitution finanziert: Ein Film, der das Elend eines Außenseiters präzise schildert.

The Intervention des Amerikaners Jay Duplass präsentiert sich als psychologisches Gruppendrama: Freunde wollen einen aus ihrer Mitte zum Eingeständnis seiner Homosexualität bewegen. In beklemmender Weise zeigt sich, wie vermeintliche Freundlichkeit Verletzung hervorbringt, die Forderung nach bedingungsloser Offenheit in Unmenschlichkeit mündet.

Der israelische Beitrag Don Kishot Be' Yerushalaim von Dani Rosenberg kleidet ein aktuelles Thema in Metaphernform: Es geht um die zwischen Israel und den Palästinensergebieten errichtete Trennmauer. Don Quichotte und Sancho Pansa rennen gegen das Bollwerk an.

Milk ist der Kurzfilm des Schotten Peter Mackie Burns, der außerdem mit seinem neuesten Projekt auf dem Talent Project Market vertreten ist.

Um die Mühen und die Monotonie der Erholung geht es in Killing the Afternoon der irischen Regisseurin Margaret Corkery, die das Strandleben an der irischen Küste ironisch in Szene setzt.

Child in Time der Slowenin Maja Weiss mischt religiöse Symbolik und Rockmusik: Zwei Kinder finden sich im Innenraum einer Kirche eingesperrt - Musik und der Filmtitel stammen von Deep Purple.

Von der Polin Izabela Plucinska stammt der zweite deutsche Beitrag, an dessen Produktion die HFF Potsdam und das Nipkow Programm beteiligt waren: Jam Session ist ein Animationsfilm in Knettechnik.

Filme des Wettbewerbs:

Child in Time von Maja Weiss

Slowenien, 15 Min.

Don Kishot Be’ Yerushalaim von Dani Rosenberg

Israel, 5 Min.

Gigolo von Bastian Schweitzer

Deutschland/ Schweiz , 15 Min.

The Intervention von Jay Duplass

USA, 15 Min.

Jam Session von Izabela Plucinska

Deutschland, 10 Min.

Killing the Afternoon von Margaret Corkery

Irland/ Großbritannien, 9 Min.

Milk von Peter Mackie Burns

Großbritannien, 10 Min.

Spravka (The Information) von Kira Muratova

Russland, 10 Min.

Presseabteilung

27. Januar 2005