Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2005

Competition

Jan 26, 2005:
Berlinale Special

The selection for the Berlinale Special is now complete: in this year’s programme, Timor Bekmambetov, Kay Pollak, Jorge Ramirez Suárez, and Florian Gallenberger will be setting new directions with their recent films. A production by Japan’s Shochiku Studios as well as Rosa von Praunheim’s latest documentary Wer ist Helene Schwarz? (Who Is Helene Schwarz?) are being presented to celebrate the Berlinale Camera awards. Within the scope of the Showcase dedicated to director Im Kwon-Taek, whose films will screen in several Berlinale sections, one of his most recent works has been included in the Berlinale Special. And last but not least, in tribute to deceased cinematographer Carlo di Palma, Michelangelo Antonioni’s masterpiece Il Deserto Rosso (The Red Desert, 1964) has been selected for a showing. As a homage to this year’s jury president Roland Emmerich the Berlinale is showing his latest film success The Day After Tomorrow. The Berlinale will award the Spanish actor Fernando Fernán Gómez an Honorary Golden Bear. On this occasion, his latest film Para que no me olvides (Something to Remember Me By) will be screened.

As part of the Berlinale’s official programme, this film series presents current works by contemporary filmmakers, rescreenings of film classics as well as outstanding films by personalities the Berlinale wants to honour. The main venue for this innovative and experimental programme is the “Filmpalast” Berlin on the Kurfürstendamm, one of Berlin’s classic movie theaters.

The programme:

The Russian fantasy-thriller Nochnoj Dozor (Night Watch) by Timor Bekmambetov – at home a blockbuster– is a classic production of its genre, with rapid cuts, digitally generated special effects and a breakneck pace. Konstantin Khabensky, Vladmimir Menshov and Mariya Poroshina have been cast in the leading roles. A second and third sequel will continue this epic tale and are already in the making.

In Så Som i Himmelen (As It Is in Heaven, Sweden), an international premiere by Kay Pollak, the world-famous conductor Daniel Dareus (Michael Nyqvist) retires from his hectic career after a serious heart attack. This sensitive and melancholy drama was a spectacular success and has been nominated for the Oscar for best foreign film. Director Kay Pollak last participated in the Berlinale Competition in 1986 with Äska mej (Love Me).

Conejo en la luna (Rabbit on the Moon, Mexico/Great Britain) by Jorge Ramirez Suárez is running as a world premiere. Within 48 hours, the life of an absolutely normal, middle-class family turns into a nightmare. By using the classic devices of a thriller, Ramirez-Suárez portrays state brutality, corruption and the abuse of power. The film features Bruno Bichir, Lorraine Pilkington and Jesús Ochoa, who rank among Mexico’s most celebrated actors.

Shadows of Time by Florian Gallenberger tells the story of a passionate and painful love in colonial India. The director who won an Oscar in 2001 for his short film Quiero Ser is presenting Shadows of Time as his first feature film.

Berlinale Special tributes:

The Berlinale Cameras 2005 will be awarded to Shochiku Studios and Helene Schwarz, who is an outstanding personality in the world of German cinema.

Shochiku, Japan’s oldest and most important film studio, is celebrating its 110th anniversary this year: the festival wants to acknowledge Shochiku Studios’ enormous contribution to international cinematic art by awarding a Berlinale Camera to it. On this occasion, the Berlinale Special is presenting a classic Shochiku Studios production: Keisuke Kinoshita’s melancholic screen drama Nijushi no hitomi (Twenty-four Eyes, Japan 1954).

To celebrate the Berlinale Camera for Helene Schwarz, Rosa von Praunheim’s most recent documentary Wer ist Helene Schwarz? (Who Is Helene Schwarz?) will be shown in the Berlinale Special. The film presents a wonderful figure from the German world of film – a woman who has never been in the limelight herself, but has accompanied many renowned filmmakers, such as Wolfgang Petersen and Detlef Buck. For decades, 78-year-old Helene Schwarz, former secretary at the German Film and Television Academy in Berlin, counselled and assisted students aspiring to be directors: it is to this fabulous person that the filmmaker has dedicated this very personal portrait.

Within the scope of the Berlinale Showcase honouring Korean director Im Kwon-Taek, his film Chunhyang dyeon (2000) will be screened. This splendid production is set in the 17th century and based on a popular Korean folktale. With Chunhyang dyeon (Chunhyang, 2000), Im Kwon-Taek staged an artistic and stylised opera of love: traditional Korean vocal music enhances his cinematic tale.

In homage of cinematographer Carlo Di Palma, who died in July 2004, the Berlinale will rescreen Il Deserto rosso (The Red Desert) by Michelangelo Antonioni. By collaborating on Antonioni’s first colour film in 1964, Di Palma made a name for himself as master with the camera. The film – which recounts the fate of a factory owner’s wife – is characterized by long suggestive camera pans and unusual hues. Monica Vitti stars in this bleak portrayal of human loneliness in the industrialized world. A restored print of the film, provided by Mediaset-Cinema Forever, will be presented during the Berlinale Special.

As a homage to this year’s jury president Roland Emmerich the Berlinale is showing his latest film success The Day After Tomorrow. The German Hollywood director’s international career began in 1984 at the Berlinale. The Day after Tomorrow invokes a menacing future scenario where global warming leads to a huge natural catastrophe.

The great Spanish actor Fernando Fernán Gomez will be honoured for his lifetime achievement. On this occasion, his latest film Para que no me olvides (Something to Remember Me By) will be screened. Fernando Fernán Gomez plays one of the leading roles in Patricia Ferreira’s third feature film. It depicts people of different generations, their sufferings, memories and their difficulties in understanding each other.

The Berlinale awards an Honory Golden Bear to the great Spanish actor Fernando Fernán Gómez for his lifetime achievement. In celebration of this occasion, his latest film Para que no me olvides (Something to Remember Me By) will be screened. Fernando Fernán Gómez plays one of the leading roles in Patricia Ferreira’s third feature film. It depicts people of different generations, their sufferings, memories and their difficulties in understanding each other.

Press Office

January 26, 2005

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2005

Wettbewerb

26.01.2005:
Berlinale Special

Die Filmauswahl für das Berlinale Special ist abgeschlossen: Den zeitgenössischen Akzent im diesjährigen Berlinale Special setzen neue Filme von Timor Bekmambetov, Kay Pollak, Jorge Ramirez Suárez und Florian Gallenberger. Einen Film aus dem japanischen Studio Shochiku sowie Rosa von Praunheims neuesten Dokumentationsfilm Wer ist Helene Schwarz? präsentiert die Reihe aus Anlass der Verleihung der Berlinale Kameras. Im Rahmen der auf mehrere Sektionen verteilten Werkschau des koreanischen Regisseurs Im Kwon-Taek wird im Berlinale Special eines seiner jüngeren Werke zu sehen sein und zu Ehren des verstorbenen Kameramanns Carlo di Palma wurde Michelangelo Antonionis Meisterwerk Il Deserto Rosso (The Red Desert, 1964) ausgewählt. Zu Ehren des diesjährigen Jury-Präsidenten zeigt die Berlinale Roland Emmerichs Kinoerfolg The Day after Tomorrow. Aus Anlass der Verleihung des Goldenen Ehrenbären an den spanischen Schauspieler Fernando Fernán Gómez wird Patricia Ferreiras jüngster Spielfilm Para que no me olvides (Something to Remember Me By) gezeigt.

Als Teil des offiziellen Programms zeigt die Reihe aktuelle Arbeiten zeitgenössischer Filmemacher, Wiederaufführungen von Klassikern der Filmgeschichte und herausragende Filme von Persönlichkeiten, deren Arbeit die Berlinale besonders ehren möchte. Der Hauptaufführungsort für diese Mischung aus Überraschung und Experiment ist der „Filmpalast“ Berlin am Kurfürstendamm, ein Klassiker der Berliner Kinokultur.

Das Programm:

Der russische Fantasy-Thriller Nochnoj Dozor (Night Watch) von Timor Bekmambetov – in seiner Heimat ein Blockbuster – ist eine klassische Genreproduktion mit rasanten Schnitten, digital erzeugten Spezialeffekten und einem halsbrecherischem Tempo. Konstantin Khabensky, Vladmimir Menshov und Mariya Poroshina sind in den Hauptrollen zu sehen. Ein zweiter und dritter Teil sollen das Epos fortführen und sind bereits in Produktion.

In der internationalen Premiere Så Som i Himmelen (As It Is in Heaven, Schweden) von Kay Pollak gibt der weltweit bejubelte Dirigent Daniel Dareus (Michael Nyqvist) nach einem schweren Herzanfall das hektische Karriereleben auf. Das gefühlvolle und melancholische Drama feierte einen überwältigenden Erfolg in seiner Heimat und wurde gerade für den Oskar des besten ausländischen Films nominiert. Regisseur Kay Pollak war 1986 mit Äska mej (Love me) zuletzt im Wettbewerb der Berlinale.

In der internationalen Premiere von Conejo en la luna (Das Kaninchen im Mond, Mexiko/Großbritannien) von Jorge Ramirez Suárez verwandelt sich innerhalb von 48 Stunden das Leben einer ganz normalen Mittelstandsfamilie in einen Alptraum. Mit den klassischen Mitteln des Thriller-Genres erzählt Ramirez-Suárez von staatlicher Gewalt, Korruption und Machtmissbrauch. In den Hauptrollen sind mit Bruno Bichir, Lorraine Pilkington und Jesús Ochoa einige der renommiertesten Darsteller des mexikanischen Kinos zu sehen.

Schatten der Zeit von Florian Gallenberger, erzählt die Geschichte einer leidenschaftlichen und schmerzvollen Liebe im Indien der Kolonialzeit. Florian Gallenberger, der 2001 für seinen Kurzfilm Quiero Ser einen Oscar erhielt, präsentiert mit Schatten der Zeit seinen ersten langen Spielfilm.

Ehrungen im Berlinale Special:

Mit der Berlinale Kamera werden 2005 das Filmstudio Shochiku und Helene Schwarz, eine herausragende Person der deutschen Filmszene, ausgezeichnet.

Shochiku, das älteste und bedeutendste japanische Filmstudio wird in diesem Jahr 110 Jahre alt: Mit der Verleihung der Berlinale Kamera würdigt das Festival die Verdienste des Shochiku-Studios um die internationale Filmkunst. Im Berlinale Special läuft aus diesem Anlass ein Filmklassiker aus der Shochiku-Produktion: Keisuke Kinoshitas melancholisches Filmdrama Nijushi no hitomi (Twenty-four Eyes, Japan 1954).

Anlässlich der Verleihung einer Berlinale Kamera an Helene Schwarz wird im Berlinale Special Rosa von Praunheims jüngster Dokumentarfilm Wer ist Helene Schwarz? gezeigt. Der Film stellt eine Figur der deutschen Filmszene vor – eine Frau, die selbst nicht im Scheinwerferlicht steht, jedoch Wegbegleiterin prominenter Filmemacher wie Wolfgang Petersen oder Detlef Buck gewesen ist. Die 78jährige Helene Schwarz, ehemalige Sekretärin in der Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie in Berlin, hat jahrzehntelang Regiestudenten betreut und beraten: Eine eindrucksvolle Persönlichkeit, der der Regisseur ein sehr persönliches Porträt widmet.

Aus Anlass der Berlinale-Werkschau zu Ehren des koreanischen Regisseurs Im Kwon-Taek läuft ein Film des Regisseurs aus dem Jahr 2000, Chunhyang dyeon (Chunhyang). Die Handlung des prachtvoll inszenierten Films spielt im 17. Jahrhundert und hat eine beliebte koreanische Volkserzählung zum Inhalt. Im Kwon-Taek inszenierte mit Chunhyang dyeon eine kunstvoll stilisierte Liebesoper: Traditionelle koreanische Vokalmusik ergänzt die filmische Erzählung.

Der im Juli 2004 verstorbene Kameramann Carlo Di Palma wird von der Berlinale mit einer Wiederaufführung des Films Il Deserto rosso (The Red Desert) von Michelangelo Antonioni geehrt. Mit der Mitwirkung an Antonionis erstem Farbfilm begründete Di Palma im Jahr 1964 seinen Ruhm als Meister der Kamera. Lange, suggestive Kamerafahrten und eine ungewöhnliche Farbgebung prägen den Film, der das Schicksal der Frau eines Fabrikverwalters schildert. Monica Vitti spielt die Hauptrolle in dieser düsteren Studie über die Verlorenheit des Menschen in der industrialisierten Welt. Der Film wird im Rahmen des Berlinale Special in einer restaurierten Kopie zu sehen sein, die von Mediaset-Cinema Forever freundlicherweise zur Verfügung gestellt wird.

Zu Ehren des diesjährigen Jury-Präsidenten zeigt die Berlinale Roland Emmerichs jüngsten Filmerfolg The Day After Tomorrow. Der deutsche Hollywood-Regisseur startete seine internationale Karriere 1984 auf der Berlinale. The Day after Tomorrow zeichnet ein bedrohliches Zukunftsszenario, in dem die globale Erwärmung zur Naturkatastrophe führt.

Der große spanische Schauspieler Fernando Fernán Gomez wird in diesem Jahr für sein Lebenswerk ausgezeichnet. Anlässlich dieser Ehrung zeigt die Berlinale Patricia Ferreiras jüngsten Spielfilm Para que no me olvides, in dem Fernàn Gomez die Hauptrolle spielt. Der Film erzählt von Menschen unterschiedlicher Generationen, von Schmerz und Erinnerung und von der Schwierigkeit, einander zu verstehen.

Der große spanische Schauspieler Fernando Fernán Gómez wird in diesem Jahr mit einem goldenen Ehrenbären für sein Lebenswerk ausgezeichnet. Anlässlich dieser Ehrung zeigt die Berlinale Patricia Ferreiras jüngsten Spielfilm Para que no me olvides (Something to Remember Me By), in dem Fernán Gómez die Hauptrolle spielt. Der Film erzählt von Menschen unterschiedlicher Generationen, von Schmerz und Erinnerung und von der Schwierigkeit, einander zu verstehen.

Presseabteilung

26. Januar 2005