Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2005

Retrospective

Dec 29, 2004:
Battleship Potemkin – Premiere of Newly Reconstructed Version

Special Event of the Retrospective during the Berlinale 2005

Screenings with live orchestral accompaniment on February 12 and 13, 2005 in the Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz, Berlin

With its pioneering editing techniques, Battleship Potemkin (USSR 1925, director: Sergei Eisenstein) revolutionized cinematic art. Shot for the 20th anniversary of the Russian revolution of 1905 within a mere three months, the film catapulted 27-year-old Sergei Eisenstein into the ranks of the world’s best directors. The music which Edmund Meisel then composed for the film’s German premiere in 1926 also played a decisive role in its worldwide success. Yet the story of this film is also a story of mutilation, as the film constitutes one of the most spectacular cases of censorship in the 1920s. No complete print of the Russian premiere version of the film has survived.

80 years after its first screening in Russia and 100 years after the events it portrays, Battleship Potemkin will be presented for the first time in a newly reconstructed version. This presentation of the film will screen as a special event of the Retrospective section during the 55th Berlin International Film Festival. This new reconstruction of the Russian premiere version includes, for the first time, the Russian intertitles with their original graphics as well as Leo Trotsky’s opening words. What is more, the changes and cuts carried out, for instance, on the famous staircase sequence as a result of the film’s reworking and censorship have been corrected.

For the newly reconstructed version of the film, Edmund Meisel’s music has been revised by Helmut Imig with dramaturgical advice from Lothar Prox. The screenings of the silent film on February 12 and 13, 2005 will be accompanied by the German Film Orchestra Babelsberg, conducted by Helmut Imig.

The project – an initiative of the Kulturstiftung des Bundes – is being managed by the Stiftung Deutsche Kinemathek (project coordination: Anna Bohn). Enno Patalas is supervising the film’s reconstruction which is occurring with the support of the Bundesarchiv-Filmarchiv, Berlin, and the British Film Institute, London, and the Moskau Russian State Archive of Literature and Art (RGALI), Moscow.

Press Office

December 29, 2004

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2005

Retrospektive

29.12.2004:
Panzerkreuzer Potemkin – Premiere der neu rekonstruierten Fassung

Sonderveranstaltung zur Retrospektive der Berlinale 2005

Aufführungen mit Orchesterbegleitung am 12. und 13. Februar 2005 in der Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz, Berlin

Der Film Panzerkreuzer Potemkin (UdSSR 1925, Regie: Sergej Eisenstein) revolutionierte aufgrund seiner bahnbrechenden Montagetechnik die Filmkunst. Zum 20. Jahrestag der russischen Revolution von 1905 in nur drei Monaten gedreht, katapultierte der Film den 27-jährigen Sergej Eisenstein in die Riege der weltbesten Regisseure. Zum Welterfolg des Films hatte die für die deutsche Premierenfassung von 1926 komponierte Musik von Edmund Meisel entscheidend beigetragen. Die Überlieferungsgeschichte des Films ist eine Geschichte der Verstümmelungen; der Film selbst einer der spektakulärsten Zensurfälle der 1920er Jahre. Eine vollständige Kopie der russischen Premierenfassung des Films ist nicht erhalten.

80 Jahre nach der russischen Uraufführung und 100 Jahre nach den Ereignissen, von denen der Film handelt, wird der Film Panzerkreuzer Potemkin in einer neu rekonstruierten Fassung vorgestellt. Die Aufführung des Films findet als Sonderveranstaltung der Retrospektive anlässlich der 55. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin statt. Die neue Rekonstruktion der russischen Premierenfassung schließt erstmals die Wiedereinfügung von russischen Zwischentiteln in ihrer originalen grafischen Gestalt sowie eines dem Film vorangestellten Mottos von Leo Trotzki ein. Korrigiert wurden u.a. auch die durch die Bearbeitungen und Zensur verursachten Umstellungen und Schnitte der berühmten Treppensequenz.

Für die rekonstruierte Fassung des Films wurde Edmund Meisels Musik von Helmut Imig mit dramaturgischer Beratung von Lothar Prox neu bearbeitet. Bei den Stummfilmaufführungen mit Orchesterbegleitung am 12. und 13. Februar 2005 spielt das Deutsche Filmorchester Babelsberg unter dem Dirigat von Helmut Imig.

Das Initiativprojekt der Kulturstiftung des Bundes wird unter Gesamtleitung der Stiftung Deutsche Kinemathek realisiert (Projektkoordination: Anna Bohn). Die Rekonstruktion des Films erfolgt unter Leitung von Enno Patalas und mit Unterstützung des Bundesarchiv-Filmarchivs, Berlin und des British Film Institute, London, sowie des Russischen Staatlichen Archivs für Literatur und Kunst, Moskau.

Presseabteilung

29. Dezember 2004