Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2005

Selling Democracy

Nov 17, 2004:
Berlinale-Series Selling Democracy II – Winning the Peace

In 2004, the Berlinale launched the first part of a highly regarded series of films from the U.S.A.’s recovery programme for Europe following World War II entitled Selling Democracy – Welcome Mr. Marshall. Conceived to run for a total of three years, the series will continue during the Berlin International Film Festival in 2005 and again in 2006. At the 55th Berlinale (February 10 - 20, 2005), works from the early post-war years, including so-called re-orientation films, are to be screened under the heading Selling Democracy – Winning the Peace. The programme will be augmented by feature films from the period that depict Europe’s upheaval. In 2006, the project will close with Selling Democracy – Friendly Persuasion. The final series is to focus on how Europe changed as a result of modernization, mechanization and its emulation of “the American way of life”.

“The political and humanitarian idea of these Marshall Plan films and their contribution to the democratization process constitute one of the most impressive political initiatives of the post-war years,” Berlinale director Dieter Kosslick emphasizes. “We would like to reawaken an awareness for the unique and richly varied films produced in this era.”

In 2005, the Berlinale is also expanding the retrospective: parallel to the film series, three workshops will be held that revolve around specific themes. One component of these workshops will be lectures by international historians and film experts – based on specific films, they will explore the significance and reception of the Marshall Plan films and their predecessors from the “re-orientation” period. As Rainer Rother, curator of Selling Democracy states: “The victors did not consciously ask themselves how to attain peace until after the war. The brilliancy of the Marshall Plan is that it helped people to help themselves and paved the way for the vision of a free and self-confident, reconstructed Europe. And, of course, the Soviet Union responded with counter-propaganda. As the GDR saw it, West Germany was under the heel of the USA; while in the eyes of the young Federal Republic of Germany, West Germany was on its way to freedom and prosperity. It is fascinating to explore these opposing positions today.”

All the events – lectures by well-known experts, special screenings and discussions – will be open to the general public and are free of charge.

The entire retrospective has evolved in cooperation with Berlin’s German Historical Museum (Deutsches Historisches Museum) and Federal Film Archive (Bundesarchiv / Filmarchiv).

Press Office

November 17, 2004

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2005

Selling Democracy

17.11.2004:
Berlinale-Reihe Selling Democracy II – Winning the Peace

Mit Selling Democracy – Welcome Mr. Marshall startete die Berlinale 2004 eine vielbeachtete Reihe mit Filmen aus dem US-amerikanischen Wiederaufbauprogramm für Europa nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg. Die Filmreihe ist auf insgesamt drei Jahre angelegt und wird bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin 2005 und 2006 fortgeführt. Bei der 55. Berlinale (10.-20.02.2005) werden unter dem Titel Selling Democracy – Winning the peace auch Filme der frühen Nachkriegsjahre, der so genannten Re-Orientierungsphase, gezeigt. Zudem werden einige Spielfilme der Zeit, in denen die Umbruchssituation Europas porträtiert wird, das Programm bereichern. 2006 wird das Projekt mit Selling Democracy – Friendly Persuasion abgeschlossen. Schwerpunkt wird dann die Veränderung Westeuropas durch Modernisierung, Technisierung und die Vorbildfunktion des „American way of life“ sein.

„Die politische und humane Idee der Marshall-Plan-Filme und ihr Anteil am Demokratisierungsprozess gehören mit zu den beeindruckendsten politischen Initiativen der Nachkriegszeit“, betont Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick. „Die ebenso einzigartigen wie unterschiedlichen Filme, die in dieser Zeit entstanden, möchten wir in Erinnerung rufen.“

Die Berlinale erweitert 2005 die Retrospektive noch um eine weiteres Element: Parallel zur Filmreihe werden drei thematisch orientierte Workshops veranstaltet. Bestandteil der Workshops sind Vorträge internationaler Historiker und Filmwissenschaftler, die anhand von Filmbeispielen die Bedeutung und Rezeption der Marshall-Plan-Filme und ihrer Vorgänger aus der „Re-Orientation“-Zeit thematisieren. Rainer Rother, Kurator von Selling Democracy: „Dem Problem, wie man den Frieden gewinnt, stellten sich die Sieger nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg erstmals bewusst. Das Großartige am Marshall-Plan ist diese Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe, die die Vision eines freien, selbstbewussten, wiederaufgebauten Europa eröffnete. Natürlich reagierte die Sowjetunion mit einer Gegenpropaganda. Westdeutschland unter der Knute der USA, das war die Lesart der frühen DDR – Westdeutschland auf dem Weg in Freiheit und Wohlstand die der jungen Bundesrepublik. Es ist spannend, diese Gegenüberstellung heute zu untersuchen“.

Die Veranstaltungen mit Vorträgen renommierter Fachleute, Sondervorführungen und Gelegenheit zu Diskussionen sind dem Publikum bei freiem Eintritt zugänglich.

Die Retrospektive entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Deutschen Historischen Museum Berlin und dem Bundesarchiv/Filmarchiv.

Presseabteilung

17. November 2004