Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2005

Berlinale Talent Campus

Nov 03, 2004:
Berlinale Talent Campus Press Release #6

SHOOT GOALS! SHOOT MOVIES!

611 film talents in the line-up for the short film competition

Bringing creativity to the 2006 FIFA World CupTM – 611 filmmakers from 75 countries have put in their applications for “SHOOT GOALS! SHOOT MOVIES!“, the international short film competition of the Berlinale Talent Campus: Above all, directors and scriptwriters have made it to the final round, as well as producers and film editors. Top of the league table is Germany with 80 applicants, followed by 25 from Great Britain, the home of football, 21 applications came from the USA. The South American football virtuosos man the midfield with 76 applicants together with 15 films from India.

The jury which includes Alfred Holighaus (Head of the Perspektive Deutsches Kino) is thrilled that there are outstanding submissions, above all from countries with a rather young filmmaking infrastructure like Benin, Sri Lanka, Columbia and Palestine. Many of the up to 5 minute long films are highly original from an artistic point of view. “All filmmakers agree: Football, just like film, is a universal language and unites people regardless of their culture, class and religion,“ says Thomas Struck, Talent Manager and director of the film compilation.

The game goes on

The football short films will be presented in film compilations lasting between 10 and 60 minutes each. Premiere will be at the Berlinale Talent Campus in February 2005. In addition to this, the winning films will be shown in Germany within the framework of the Artistic and Cultural Programme to the 2006 FIFA World CupTM, at Goethe-Institutes as well as in the Football Globe. The short film competition is an official element of the Artistic and Cultural Programme to the 2006 FIFA World CupTM.

The Berlinale Talent Campus

The Berlinale Talent Campus is part of the Berlin International Film Festival and is intended as a tutorial platform and contact forum for young film professionals. Next year, 500 filmmakers from more than 80 countries will once more be given the chance to meet and exchange ideas with professional filmmakers and colleagues from all over the world. The Berlinale Talent Campus 2005 takes place in Berlin from 12 to 17 February 2005.

Artistic and Cultural Programme to the 2006 FIFA World Cup GermanyTM

Besides the sporting events, arts and culture are an integral part of the 2006 FIFA World Cup GermanyTM. To this aim the German government has inaugurated an artistic and cultural programme with a total budget of 30 million Euros that is presented by the cultural foundation of the DFB (German Football Association). André Heller will act as curator. As well as the major sporting event, the 2006 FIFA World Cup GermanyTM offers the unique possibility to present Germany to its guests in all its cultural diversity and also to get the people of the host country and the general public all over the world in the mood for the 2006 FIFA World Cup GermanyTM.

A project of the Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin/Berlinale Talent Campus on behalf of the Nationale DFB Kulturstiftung WM 2006 gemeinnützige GmbH in cooperation with the Federal Foreign Office and the Goethe-Institute. The Berlinale Talent Campus is an initiative of the Berlin International Film Festival, a business division of the Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin GmbH.

November 3, 2004

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2005

Berlinale Talent Campus

03.11.2004:
Berlinale Talent Campus Pressemitteilung #6

SHOOT GOALS! SHOOT MOVIES!

611 Filmtalente im Endspiel für den Kurzfilmwettbewerb

Mit Kreativität zur FIFA Fussball-Weltmeisterschaft 2006TM – 611 Filmemacher aus 75 Ländern haben sich für den internationalen Kurzfilmwettbewerb „SHOOT GOALS! SHOOT MOVIES!“ des Berlinale Talent Campus zum Thema Fußball beworben: Vor allem Regisseure, Drehbuchautoren, aber auch Produzenten und Filmeditoren sind in der Endrunde. An der Tabellenspitze mit 80 Bewerbern Deutschland, gefolgt von 25 Filmemachern aus der Fußballheimat Großbritannien. Aus den USA schießen sich 21 Bewerber in die Auswahl. Im Mittelfeld liegen die südamerikanischen Ballkünstler mit 76 Bewerbungen vor dem Fußball-nirvana Indien, das mit erstaunlichen 15 Filmen bei der Campusauswahl vertreten ist.

Die Jury um Alfred Holighaus ist begeistert, dass es exzellente Einsendungen vor allem aus Ländern mit junger filmischer Infrastruktur gibt, wie Benin, Sri Lanka, Kolumbien oder Palästina. Viele der bis zu 5 Minuten langen Kurzfilme sind künstlerisch sehr originell. „Alle Filmemacher sind sich einig: Fußball ist wie Film eine universelle Sprache und vereint alle Kulturen, Klassen und Religionen“, sagt Thomas Struck, Talent Manager und Regisseur der Film-Kompilationen.

Nach dem Film ist vor dem Spiel

Die Fußball-Kurzfilme werden in unterschiedlichen Film-Kompilationen zwischen 10 und 60 Minuten präsentiert. Uraufführung ist auf dem Berlinale Talent Campus im Februar 2005. Darüber hinaus finden Präsentationen der Gewinnerfilme unter anderem im Rahmen des Kunst- und Kulturprogramms zur FIFA WM 2006 TM in Deutschland, in den Goethe-Instituten sowie im Fussball Globus statt. Der Kurzfilm-Wettbewerb ist ein offizieller Beitrag des Kunst- und Kulturprogramms zur FIFA WM 2006 TM in Deutschland.

Der Berlinale Talent Campus

Der Berlinale Talent Campus ist eine Sektion der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin, die dem Filmnachwuchs als Plattform des Lernens und als Kontaktforum dient. Auch im nächsten Jahr erhalten wieder 500 Filmemacher aus über 80 Ländern die Chance, sich mit Filmprofis und Kollegen aus aller Welt auszutauschen. Der Berlinale Talent Campus 2005 findet vom 12. bis 17. Februar 2005 in Berlin statt.

Kunst- und Kulturprogramm zur FIFA WM 2006TM

Kunst und Kultur sind bei der FIFA Fussball -Weltmeisterschaft 2006TM in Deutschland ein fester Bestandteil neben den sportlichen Ereignissen. Hierfür hat die Bundesregierung ein Kunst- und Kulturprogramm ins Leben gerufen, das von der DFB Kulturstiftung umgesetzt wird und für das insgesamt 30 Millionen Euro zur Verfügung stehen. Kurator des Kunst- und Kulturprogramms ist André Heller. Im Rahmen der FIFA WM 2006TM bietet sich neben dem sportlichen Großereignis die einzigartige Möglichkeit, Deutschland seinen Gästen in seiner kulturellen Vielfalt zu präsentieren und zugleich die Bevölkerung des Gastgeberlandes wie auch die Weltöffentlichkeit auf die FIFA WM 2006 TM einzustimmen.

Ein Projekt der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin/Berlinale Talent Campus im Auftrag der Nationalen DFB Kulturstiftung WM 2006 gemeinnützige GmbH in Kooperation mit dem Auswärtigen Amt und dem Goethe-Institut. Der Berlinale Talent Campus ist eine Initiative der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin, ein Geschäftsbereich der Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin GmbH.

Mittwoch, 3. November 2004