Berlinale: Juries


Juries 2005

International Jury

Roland Emmerich

Roland Emmerich (Germany)

The career of this successful German director began with his graduation film The Noah’s Ark Principle at the Munich Graduate School of Film and Television. The film was shown in the 1984 Berlinale Competition and awakened worldwide interest. Hollywood discovered his talent and in 1992 Emmerich began his US career with Universal Soldier. This was followed by Oscar-winning Independence Day, Godzilla and The Patriot. In 2004 Emmerich made a highly topical contribution to the discussion on catastrophic climate changes with The Day After Tomorrow.

Wouter Barendrecht

Wouter Barendrecht (Netherlands)

The Dutch producer and co-chairman of the international distributing company fortissimo films is an leading expert on world cinema. Besides his advisory role for numerous festivals he has also headed the Hong Kong Asian Film Financing Forum. His most important productions include The Goddess of 1967, Party Monster, Bear’s Kiss as well as Peter Greenaway‘s trilogy The Tulse Luper Suitcases.

Nino Cerruti

Nino Cerruti (Italy)

Nino Cerruti is in demand, not only in Paris and Milan but in Hollywood as well. For decades the world-famous fashion designer and founder of the "Cerruti 1881" fashion label has designed clothes for stars in their films. For instance, Anita Ekberg (La dolce vita), Harrison Ford (Air Force One) and Tom Cruise (Eyes Wide Shut) all wore Cerruti creations. He also designed outfits for Robert Altman’s fashion satire Prêt-à-Porter.

Ingeborga Dapkunaite

Ingeborga Dapkunaite (Lithuania)

The actress Ingeborga Dapkunaite has received numerous awards for her work in a great variety of film genres. She appeared, for instance, in Nikita Michalkov’s Oscar-winning drama Burnt by the Sun (1994) and became known to international audiences with her roles in Mission Impossible (1996) and Seven Years in Tibet (1997). She appeared in 25 dégrés en hiver in the Berlinale Competition 2004.

Andrei Kurkov

Andrei Kurkov (Ukraine)

The renowned Ukranian screenwriter, cinematographer and writer is seen as one of the most exciting discoveries in the international literary scene. His prize-winning novel “Picknik on the Ice”, about changing society in post-Soviet Russia, was translated into 22 languages. Andrei Kurkov has written over 20 screenplays including A Friend of the Deceased which was nominated in 1997 for the European Film Award.

Bai Ling

Bai Ling (People's Republic of China)

People Magazine elected the Chinese actress, who lives in the USA, one of the ’50 most beautiful people in the world‘. Her breakthrough Red Corner was followed by Hollywood films such as Wild Wild West, Anna and the King, Sky Captain and the world of Tomorrow and the Berlinale entry Beautiful Country. This year’s Panorama film Dumplings won her the “Golden Horse Award”, the Chinese Oscar, for best supporting actress.

Franka Potente

Franka Potente (Germany)

Franka Potente attracted international attention with her top-form acting and running talents displayed in Tom Tykwer’s Run, Lola, Run (1998). The up-and-coming German star was soon in demand in Hollywood. Her roles included playing alongside Matt Damon in The Bourne Identity (2001) and its sequel The Bourne Supremacy three years later. Franka Potente appeared next in Che, directed by Steven Soderbergh.

International Short Film Jury

Susan Korda (USA)

Susan Korda is active as cutter, screenwriter and director. In 1990 she received an Oscar nomination for editing the documentary film For all Mankind. In 1999 she presented her documentary One of Us at the Forum. Susan Korda lectures at schools including the New York Tisch School of the Arts and at the International Film School, Cologne.

Marten Rabarts (New Zealand)

For many years Marten Rabarts worked as a producer and screenwriter for the cinema and television. In 2001 he became head of studies at Amsterdam’s Maurits Binger Film Institute. It was in this position that Rabarts made a decisive contribution towards realizing the film series Project 10 - Real Stories from a Free South Africa, premiered at the 2004 Forum.

Gabriela Tagliavini (Argentina)

Director and screenwriter Gabriela Tagliavini was born in Argentina. She celebrated one of the greatest cinema successes in Mexican film history with her feature Ladies Night (2003). Gabriela Tagliavini has also made short films and directed TV productions. She also gained recognition as a writer with her novel “Los colores de la memoria” (“The Colors of Memory”).

Honorary Awards of the Festival

The recipients of honorary awards are not chosen by a jury but by the festival director.

Children's Jury

A Children's Jury with members aged 11 to 14 awards the Crystal Bears in the Kinderfilmfest competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the festival director.

Youth Jury

A Youth Jury with members aged 14 to 18 awards the Crystal Bears in the 14plus competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the festival director.

International Jury Kinderfilmfest

The International Jury of the Kinderfilmfest awards the Grand Prix of the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk (German Child Support Organisation) worth 7,500 Euros, to the Best Feature Film. The charity's special prize, which has a value of 2,500 Euros, is awarded to the Best Short Film.

Members of the International Jury of the 28th Kinderfilmfest are: Gunvor Bjerre, Dieter Bongartz, Sayoko Kinoshita, Dominique Standaert, Ntshavheni Wa Luruli.

Berlinale: Jurys


Jurys 2005

Internationale Jury

Roland Emmerich

Roland Emmerich (Deutschland)

Die Karriere des deutschen Erfolgs-Regisseurs begann mit seinem Abschlussfilm Das Arche Noah Prinzip an der Münchner HFF, der 1984 im Wettbewerb der Berlinale lief und weltweite Aufmerksamkeit erregte. Hollywood entdeckte das Talent und 1992 startete Emmerich seine US-Karriere mit Universal Soldier. Es folgten der Oscar-gekrönte Independence Day, Godzilla und The Patriot. 2004 lieferte Emmerich mit The Day After Tomorrow einen aktuellen Beitrag zur Diskussion der Klima-Katastrophe.

Wouter Barendrecht

Wouter Barendrecht (Niederlande)

Der niederländische Produzent und Vorstandschef des Weltvertriebs Fortissimo Films ist ein hervorragender Kenner des Welt-Kinos. Neben seiner Beratertätigkeit für zahlreiche Festivals hat er das Hongkong Asian Film Financing Forum geleitet. Zu seinen wichtigsten Fimproduktionen zählen The Goddess of 1967, Party Monster, Der Kuss des Bären sowie Peter Greenaways Trilogie The Tulse Luper Suitcases.

Nino Cerruti

Nino Cerruti (Italien)

Nino Cerruti ist nicht nur in Paris und Mailand, sondern auch in Hollywood gefragt. Der weltbekannte Modeschöpfer und Gründer des Mode-Labels "Cerruti 1881" entwirft seit Jahrzehnten die Garderobe der Filmstars. So trugen unter anderen Anita Ekberg (La dolce vita), Harrison Ford (Air Force One), und Tom Cruise (Eyes Wide Shut) Cerruti-Kreationen. Auch für Robert Altmans Modesatire Prêt-à-Porter schuf Cerruti Entwürfe.

Ingeborga Dapkunaite

Ingeborga Dapkunaite (Litauen)

Die Schauspielerin Ingeborga Dapkunaite ist für ihre Arbeit in den verschiedensten Filmgenres mehrfach ausgezeichnet worden. Sie spielte unter anderem in Nikita Michalkows oscar-prämierten Drama Die Sonne, die uns täuscht (1994) und wurde dem internationalen Publikum durch ihre Rollen in Mission Impossible (1996) und Sieben Jahre in Tibet (1997) bekannt. 2004 war sie mit dem Film 25 Grad im Winter im Berlinale-Wettbewerb zu sehen.

Andrei Kurkov

Andrei Kurkov (Ukraine)

Der renommierte ukrainische Drehbuchautor, Kameramann und Schriftsteller zählt zu den spannendsten Entdeckungen der internationalen Literaturszene. Sein preisgekrönter Roman "Picknick auf dem Eis" über die post-sowjetische Umbruchgesellschaft wurde in 22 Sprachen übersetzt. Zu den über 20 Drehbüchern von Andrei Kurkov gehört A Friend of the Deceased, das 1997 für den Europäischen Filmpreis nominiert war.

Bai Ling

Bai Ling (Volksrepublik China)

People Magazine kürte die in den USA lebende, chinesische Schauspielerin zu den „50 schönsten Menschen der Welt“. Auf ihren Durchbruch in Red Corner folgten Hollywoodwerke wie Wild Wild West, Anna und der König, Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow sowie der Berlinale-Beitrag Beautiful Country. Der diesjährige Panorama-Film Dumplings brachte ihr den chinesischen Film-Oscar „Golden Horse Award“ als beste Nebendarstellerin ein.

Franka Potente

Franka Potente (Deutschland)

Mit Schauspieltalent und läuferischer Bestform machte Franka Potente in Tom Tykwers Lola rennt (1998) auch international auf sich aufmerksam. Bald darauf war der deutsche Nachwuchsstar in Hollywood gefragt: Unter anderem spielte sie an der Seite von Matt Damon in The Bourne Identity (2001), drei Jahre später folgte das Sequel The Bourne Supremacy. Unter der Regie von Steven Soderbergh wirkte Franka Potente in dem Film Che mit.

Internationale Kurzfilmjury

Susan Korda (USA)

Susan Korda ist als Cutterin, Drehbuchautorin und Regisseurin tätig. Für den Schnitt des Dokumentarfilms For all Mankind erhielt sie 1990 eine Oscar-Nominierung. 1999 stellte sie ihren Dokumentarfilm One of Us im Forum vor. Susan Korda lehrt unter anderem an der New Yorker Tisch School of the Arts und an der Internationalen Filmschule Köln.

Marten Rabarts (Neuseeland)

Der Neuseeländer Marten Rabarts war lange als Produzent und Drehbuchautor für Kino und Fernsehen tätig. Seit 2001 ist er Studienleiter am Amsterdamer Maurits Binger Film Institute. In dieser Funktion hat Rabarts maßgeblich zur Realisierung der Filmreihe Project 10 - Real Stories from a Free South Africa beigetragen, die 2004 im Forum ihre Premiere erlebte.

Gabriela Tagliavini (Argentinien)

Die in Argentinien geborene Regisseurin und Drehbuchautorin Gabriela Tagliavini feierte mit ihrem zweiten Spielfilm Ladies Night (2003) einen der größten Kinoerfolge in Mexiko. Gabriela Tagliavini drehte außerdem Kurzfilme und führte Regie bei TV-Produktionen. Mit dem Roman "Los colores de la memoria" („The Colors of Memory") erlangte sie auch als Schriftstellerin Beachtung.

Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals

Die Empfänger der Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals werden nicht von einer Jury bestimmt, sondern von der Festivalleitung selbst.

Kinderjury

Über die Vergabe der Gläsernen Bären im Wettbewerb des Kinderfilmfests entscheidet eine elfköpfige Kinderjury zwischen 11 und 14 Jahren. Sie wird über im Vorjahr eingereichte Filmfragebögen von der Sektionsleitung ausgesucht und von der Festivalleitung offiziell berufen.

Jugendjury

Über die Vergabe der Gläsernen Bären im Wettbewerb 14plus entscheidet eine siebenköpfige Jugendjury zwischen 14 und 18 Jahren. Sie wird über im Vorjahr eingereichte Filmfragebögen von der Sektionsleitung ausgesucht und von der Festivalleitung offiziell berufen.

Internationale Jury Kinderfilmfest

Die Internationale Jury des Kinderfilmfestes vergibt den mit 7.500 Euro dotierten "Großen Preis des Deutschen Kinderhilfswerkes" an den besten Spielfilm. Der mit 2.500 Euro dotierte "Spezialpreis des Deutschen Kinderhilfswerkes" geht an den besten Kurzfilm.

In die Internationale Jury des 28. Kinderfilmfestes berufen wurden Gunvor Bjerre, Dieter Bongartz, Sayoko Kinoshita, Dominique Standaert, Ntshavheni Wa Luruli.