Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Berlinale Special

Abordage

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

ABORDAGE

“Abordage” is a French word meaning “naval boarding”. This nautical term for boarding and taking possession of an enemy ship while at sea (whether it be for peaceful inspection or in order to plunder it by force) has played an important role in Japanese history. The technique was first employed in the 1860s by Shogun-loyal warriors who, supported by French officers, used it in their struggle against the Meiji government’s fleet. This conflict is regarded as the first modern sea battle in Japanese marine history.
“Abordage” is also the name of an extravagant “Kansai Super Show” held in Tokyo on 10 July 2004 by Japanese star designer Kansai Yamamoto. The show’s title was intended as an appeal for more receptivity towards new ideas; with his show, Yamamoto was exhorting people to emulate the ‘last Samurai’, vice-captain Toshizo Hijikata, and not shun the unconventional in looking towards the future. At the same time, Kansai Yamamoto’s event was an anthology of his own creative career.
Yamamoto had already gained an international reputation with an earlier Kansai Super Show mounted in the 1990s before an audience of 120,000 people on Moscow’s Red Square; this was followed by similar events in Hanoi in 1993 and in New Delhi in 1997. The recent Tokyo show, however, made even the previous extravaganzas pale in comparison. This “Kansai Super Movie” chronicles the “Abordage” show’s preparation and implementation, including the spectacular finale involving the staging of an impressive sea battle.

Japan 2004, 100 min

by

Kansai Yamamoto

with

Kansai Yamamoto
Mirai Yamamoto
Show Aikawa
Yuya Uchida

World Sales

Kansai Yamamoto, Inc.

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Berlinale Special

Abordage

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

ABORDAGE

„Abordage“ ist das französische Wort für „entern“. Der nautische Fachbegriff für die Inbesitznahme eines Schiffes durch eine fremde Besatzung auf offener See, sei es zum Zweck einer friedlichen Inspektion oder einer gewaltsamen Plünderung, spielt in der japanischen Geschichte eine besondere Rolle. Unterstützt von französischen Offizieren, wandten in den 1860er Jahren Shogun-treue Krieger diese Technik im Kampf gegen die Flotte der Meiji-Regierung erstmals an. Die Auseinandersetzung gilt als die erste moderne Seeschlacht der japanischen Marine.
„Abordage“ hieß auch eine extravagante „Kansai Super Show“ des japanischen Stardesigners Kansai Yamamoto am 10. Juli 2004 in Tokio. Der Titel sollte als dessen Appell an die Welt verstanden werden, neuen Ideen gegenüber aufgeschlossen zu sein und auf dem Weg in die Zukunft auch Unkonventionelles zu wagen – so wie es einst der „letzte Samurai“ Vizekapitän Toshizo Hijikata getan hatte. Zugleich verstand Kansai Yamamoto die Show als eine Anthologie seines beruflichen Schaffens.
In den 90er Jahren erregte Yamamoto weltweit Aufsehen mit einer „Kansai Super Show“ vor 120.000 Zuschauern auf dem Roten Platz in Moskau (1993) und ähnlichen Events in Hanoi (1995) und Neu-Delhi (1997). Die Tokioter Show aber stellte das alles noch weit in den Schatten. Das „Kansai Super Movie“ dokumentiert nun die Vorbereitung des „Abordage“-Events und seine triumphale Realisierung, die in einer „Seeschlacht“ auf offener Bühne gipfelte.

Japan 2004, 100 Min

von

Kansai Yamamoto

mit

Kansai Yamamoto
Mirai Yamamoto
Show Aikawa
Yuya Uchida

Weltvertrieb

Kansai Yamamoto, Inc.