Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Competition

Sophie Scholl - Die letzten Tage

Sophie Scholl - The Final Days

André Hennicke (Actor)
Alexander Held (Actor)
Marc Rothemund (Director)
Julia Jentsch (Actress)
Fabian Hinrichs (Actor)
Fred Breinersdorfer (Script)
Host: Josef Schnelle

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

SOPHIE SCHOLL – THE FINAL DAYS

Spring 1943. The Germans have lost the battle for Stalingrad and, in Munich, members of the White Rose infiltrate the city with a wave upon wave of anti-Hitler activities and slogans. Sophie and Hans Scholl are busy distributing flyers in the main hall of Munich University when they are observed and arrested. From this point on, the film adopts Sophie’s perspective to tell the story of the interrogations that followed their arrest, as well as the brother and sister’s trial and pronouncement of their sentence.
At first, Sophie feigns innocence, fighting tooth and nail to secure her and her brother’s release. However, sensing that the death penalty awaits them, she then does her best to protect her brother and the other resistance fighters. Gestapo man Mohr begins to admire Sophie and indicates that he will help her if she admits to being a fellow-traveller. But Sophie refuses to give up her conviction, instead confronting Mohr with his own unthinking perception of what is right and just.
Roland Freisler, chief of the Nazis’ “People’s Court”, is sent from Berlin to Munich to conduct a show trial against the students – in spite of the fact that the death penalty has already been decided from the outset. At a hearing that makes a mockery of all the rules of jurisprudence, Sophie and her brother are sentenced to the death penalty. During the trial, Sophie battles so brilliantly against Freisler (who is positively snorting with rage) that her steadfast behaviour even wins her the approval of the male Nazi spectators at court.
As soon as the trial is over, the brother and sister are taken away to Stadelheim to be executed. They are allowed to say goodbye to their parents before sharing their final cigarette. History has of course shown that Sophie Scholl was right in her last, defiant prediction to Freisler: “You’re hanging us today but, tomorrow, it’ll be your heads that will roll!”

Germany 2004, 117 min

by

Marc Rothemund

with

Julia Jentsch
Fabian Hinrichs
Alexander Held
Johanna Gastdorf

World Sales

Bavaria Film International

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Wettbewerb

Sophie Scholl - Die letzten Tage

Sophie Scholl - The Final Days

André Hennicke (Schauspieler)
Alexander Held (Schauspieler)
Marc Rothemund (Regisseur)
Julia Jentsch (Schauspielerin)
Fabian Hinrichs (Schauspieler)
Fred Breinersdorfer (Drehbuch)
Moderation: Josef Schnelle

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

SOPHIE SCHOLL – DIE LETZTEN TAGE

Frühjahr 1943. Die Schlacht um Stalingrad ist entschieden, und in München überziehen die Mitglieder der Weißen Rose die Stadt mit immer neuen Anti-Hitler-Aktionen und -Parolen. Als Sophie und Hans Scholl in der Aula der Münchner Universität Flugblätter verteilen, werden sie beobachtet und kurz darauf verhaftet. Aus der Perspektive Sophie Scholls schildert der Film die nun folgenden Verhöre, den Prozess und die Verurteilung.
Sophie gibt sich anfangs ahnungslos. Sie kämpft um ihre Freiheit und die ihres Bruders. Sie ahnt, dass sie die Todesstrafe erwartet, und stellt sich doch schützend vor ihren Bruder und die anderen Widerstandskämpfer. Der Gestapo-Mann Mohr beginnt Sophie zu bewundern. Er würde ihr helfen, wenn sie sich als Mitläuferin darstellen würde. Doch sie steht zu ihrer Überzeugung und konfrontiert Mohr mit seiner unreflektierten Meinung zu Recht und Gerechtigkeit.
Der Chef des „Volksgerichtshofes“ Roland Freisler wird von Berlin nach München geschickt, um einen Schauprozess gegen die Studenten zu führen, bei dem das Todesurteil schon vorher feststeht. In einer allen juristischen Regeln Hohn sprechenden Verhandlung werden Sophie und ihr Bruder zum Tode verurteilt. Gegen den wutschnaubenden Freisler schlägt sie sich großartig und gewinnt durch ihre unbeeindruckte Haltung sogar die Zustimmung der männlichen nationalsozialistischen Zuschauer.
Direkt nach dem Urteil werden die Geschwister zur Hinrichtung nach Stadelheim geführt. Sophie und Hans Scholl können sich noch von ihren Eltern verabschieden. Dann teilen sie sich ihre letzte Zigarette. Mit ihrem Widerwort gegen Freisler behielt Sophie Scholl Recht: „Heute hängt ihr uns, und morgen werdet ihr es sein, deren Köpfe rollen!“

Deutschland 2004, 117 Min

von

Marc Rothemund

mit

Julia Jentsch
Fabian Hinrichs
Alexander Held
Johanna Gastdorf

Weltvertrieb

Bavaria Film International