Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Forty Shades Of Blue

Dickson Hinchliffe (Musik)
Jawal Nga (Producer)
Geoff Stier (Excecutive Producer)
Dina Korzun (Actress)
Ira Sachs (Director, Script)
Host: Jenny Zylka

## ## ##

FORTY SHADES OF BLUE

Alan James is a legend in Memphis. During the 1960s and 1970s, when Memphis soul was in its heyday, he was one of the few white men producing black music. Although now in advancing years, James still lives the high life, and his comfortable home is situated in one of the best parts of town.
James lives with his girlfriend, Laura, a young Russian woman he once met while on tour in Moscow. Laura has brought her three-year-old son, Sam, into their relationship and she spends most of her time in her new home looking after him.
Alan James has a grown-up son of his own – Michael. However, the relationship between the two men is not without its complications. Without warning one day, Michael suddenly puts in an appearance in Memphis for the first time in years. The initial animosity Michael bears his father’s ‘new girl’ soon turns into something much more and, before long, the two embark on a precarious affair…
Director Ira Sachs, who himself comes from Memphis, skilfully blends psychological sensitivity and a naturalistic feel for the locale in this elegant, intimate story of a love triangle set in America’s renowned music metropolis. The film’s soundtrack alone is well worth listening to – not least because of the soul recordings which were produced by the legendary Bert Berns (1929–1967).

USA 2004, 107 min

by

Ira Sachs

with

Rip Torn
Dina Korzun
Darren Burrows

World Sales

Celluloid Dreams

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Forty Shades Of Blue

Dickson Hinchliffe (Musik)
Jawal Nga (Produzent)
Geoff Stier (Ausführender Produzent)
Dina Korzun (Schauspielerin)
Ira Sachs (Regisseur, Drehbuch)
Moderation: Jenny Zylka

## ## ##

FORTY SHADES OF BLUE

Alan James ist eine Legende in Memphis. In den 60er und 70er Jahren, als der Memphis-Soul künstlerisch wie geschäftlich auf dem Höhepunkt war, produzierte er als einer von wenigen Weißen schwarze Musik. Auch im fortgeschrittenen Alter lebt er noch auf großem Fuß; sein komfortables Wohnhaus liegt in einem der angesagten Viertel der Stadt.
Hier lebt er mit seiner Freundin Laura zusammen, einer jungen Russin, die er auf einer Tournee in Moskau kennen gelernt hat. Laura hat ihren dreijährigen Sohn Sam mit in den Haushalt gebracht; sich um ihn zu kümmern, ist ihre Hauptbeschäftigung in ihrer neuen Heimat.
Alan hat einen erwachsenen Sohn – Michael. Das Verhältnis zwischen den beiden Männern ist nicht unkompliziert. Als Michael zum ersten Mal seit Jahren wieder in Memphis vorbeischaut, entwickelt sich die spontane Feindseligkeit, die er dem „neuen Mädchen“ seines Vaters zunächst entgegenbringt, rasch in etwas ganz anderes. Bald beginnen die beiden eine prekäre Affäre…
In seiner Dreiecksgeschichte, einem eleganten Kammerspiel vor dem Hintergrund der amerikanischen Musikmetropole, verbindet der aus Memphis kommende Regisseur Ira Sachs psychologisches Einfühlungsvermögen mit naturalistisch gezeichnetem Lokalkolorit. Hörenswert wird sein Film nicht zuletzt durch Soul-Aufnahmen, die von dem seinerseits legendären Produzenten Bert Berns (1929–1967) stammen.

USA 2004, 107 Min

von

Ira Sachs

mit

Rip Torn
Dina Korzun
Darren Burrows

Weltvertrieb

Celluloid Dreams