Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Ono

Stranger

Maciej Karpinski (Associate-Producer)
Teresa Dworzecka (Co-Producer)
Raimond Goebel (Producer)
Malgosia Bela (Actress)
Malgosia Szumowska (Director)
Host: Jenny Zylka

## ## ##

STRANGER

“It takes courage to love life”, pronounces 22-year-old Eva – and this pregnant young woman certainly knows what she’s talking about. Eva holds down an unfulfilling, underpaid job; her mother has a habit of simply closing her eyes to anything she doesn’t wish to see and her father is slowly losing his mind. And here she is, carrying a child from a boyfriend who has left her.
But Eva really loves life and, when she learns that the tiny baby growing inside her can hear every word she says, she decides against an abortion. Increasingly, she begins to share her lust for life with her unborn child.
Using words, music and other sounds, Eva begins to describe the world at large to her baby. Hesitatingly at first, but then with growing confidence. Her mood improves still more when she meets a sensitive man named Michal and falls in love with him. Could he be her guardian angel? Or is he more of a fallen angel?
Just as Eva is beginning to feel completely liberated, she learns that she probably faces a complicated birth and that her child may even die during labour. But Eva has long since found the strength to cope with any problem that might arise. Her new-found confidence is all thanks to her unborn child, who reacts to everything she does and who urges her not to waver from her chosen path – for the child’s sake, but also for hers.

Germany / Poland 2004, 95 min

by

Malgosia Szumowska

with

Malgosia Bela
Marek Walczewski
Teresa Dudzisz-Kryzanowska
Barbara Kurzaj

World Sales

Bavaria Film International

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Ono

Stranger

Maciej Karpinski (Associate-Producer)
Teresa Dworzecka (Co-Produzentin)
Raimond Goebel (Produzent)
Malgosia Bela (Schauspielerin)
Malgosia Szumowska (Regisseurin)
Moderation: Jenny Zylka

## ## ##

STRANGER

„Das Leben zu lieben braucht Mut“, sagt die 22-jährige Eva, und die schwangere junge Frau weiß, wovon sie spricht. Eva arbeitet in einem unterbezahlten und unbefriedigenden Job, ihre Mutter verschließt vor allem, was sie nicht sehen will, schlicht die Augen, und ihr Vater verliert langsam den Verstand. Und Eva trägt dieses Kind in sich – von einem Freund, der sie verlassen hat.
Trotzdem liebt sie das Leben. Als ihr bewusst wird, dass dieses kleine menschliche Wesen in ihrem Bauch jedes Wort von ihr hört, entscheidet sie sich gegen eine Abtreibung. Mehr und mehr teilt sie ihre Lebensfreude mit dem Ungeborenen.
Mit Worten, Musik, Tönen beschreibt sie ihrem Baby die Welt, zunächst noch ein wenig zögernd, dann immer zuversichtlicher. Ihre Stimmung steigt noch, als sie den sensiblen Michal kennen lernt und sich in ihn verliebt. Vielleicht ist er ja so etwas wie ihr Schutzengel – oder doch eher ein gefallener Engel?
Gerade als sie die größte innere Freiheit gewinnt, erfährt sie, dass die Geburt kompliziert werden wird und die Möglichkeit besteht, dass ihr Kind dabei stirbt. Längst jedoch hat Eva die Kraft gefunden, sich jeder Schwierigkeit zu stellen. Sie verdankt dies dem ungeborenen Kind, das auf alles, was sie tut, reagiert und sie nun dazu drängt, den einmal eingeschlagenen Weg weiterzuverfolgen – um des Kindes willen, aber auch zu ihrem eigenen Besten.

Deutschland / Polen 2004, 95 Min

von

Malgosia Szumowska

mit

Malgosia Bela
Marek Walczewski
Teresa Dudzisz-Kryzanowska
Barbara Kurzaj

Weltvertrieb

Bavaria Film International