Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Beyond The Sea

Jan Fantl (Producer)
Andy Paterson (Producer)
Bob Hoskins (Actor)
Kevin Spacey (Director, Actor, Script, Producer)
Host: Jenny Zylka

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

BEYOND THE SEA

This film tells the turbulent story of legendary pop singer Bobby Darin whose unforgettable recordings include such songs as “Mack the Knife”, “Dream Lover” and “Beyond the Sea”. Darin died in 1973. He was just 37 years of age.
At the age of seven Bobby Darin was diagnosed as having a severely debilitating heart disease. With a bit of luck – so the prognosis of doctors at the time – he might be able to live to the age of 15. Unperturbed, Darin’s mother, vaudeville singer Polly Cassotto, gives her ailing son lessons in singing and piano, and encourages the boy’s talent for comedy.
At an early age, it becomes clear that Bobby has what it takes to become a star. Moreover, his love of music keeps him alive. When Bobby is 20, his mother dies and, taking her final wish to heart, he decides to make a serious bid to carve out a career for himself as a singer. With the help of his friend and manager, Steve Blauner and the gifted arranger Dick Behrke, he manages to break into show business in Las Vegas.
In 1958 he scores his first hit, which catapults him from the nightclubs and straight to Hollywood. His happiness is complete when he meets and falls in love with the lovely actress, Sandra Dee and from this moment on, the pair are celebrated as Hollywood’s dream couple. But Darin’s comet-like rise to stardom takes its toll. Exhausted by his struggle to achieve fame and fortune as well as by the cut and thrust of the music business, Bobby Darin’s health begins to suffer…
Kevin Spacey on his film: “My love for Bobby Darin’s music began in early childhood. There’s a scene in the film when the young Bobby sings a Frank Sinatra song to his parents, using a hairbrush as a microphone. I did exactly the same thing for my parents – except that whilst little Bobby sang Sinatra – I sang Bobby Darin.”

Germany / United Kingdom 2004, 118 min

by

Kevin Spacey

with

Kevin Spacey
Kate Bosworth
John Goodman
Brenda Blethyn

World Sales

Element X

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Beyond The Sea

Jan Fantl (Produzent)
Andy Paterson (Produzent)
Bob Hoskins (Schauspieler)
Kevin Spacey (Regisseur, Schauspieler, Drehbuch, Produzent)
Moderation: Jenny Zylka

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

BEYOND THE SEA

Der Film erzählt die turbulente Lebensgeschichte des legendären Popsängers Bobby Darin, der dank seiner Evergreens wie „Mack the Knife“, „Dream Lover“ und „Beyond the Sea“ unvergesslich ist. Er starb 1973 im Alter von nur 37 Jahren.
Als er sieben ist, diagnostizieren die Ärzte eine schwere Herzerkrankung –mit einigem Glück könne er vielleicht 15 Jahre alt werden, eröffnen sie seiner Mutter Polly Cassotto, einer ehemaligen Vaudeville-Sängerin. Sie gibt dem kränkelnden Jungen Gesangs- und Klavierunterricht und sie fördert auch sein komödiantisches Talent. Schon in frühen Jahren wird deutlich, dass Bobby das Zeug zum Showstar besitzt.
Die Liebe zur Musik hält ihn am Leben. Als er 20 ist, stirbt seine Mutter. Er nimmt sich ihren letzten Wunsch zu Herzen und sein Karriereziel ernsthaft in Angriff. Mit Hilfe seines Freundes und Managers Steve Blauner und des begnadeten Arrangeurs Dick Behrke schafft er den Sprung ins Showbiz-Mekka Las Vegas.
1958 landet er seinen ersten Hit – aus den Nightclubs geht es direkt nach Hollywood. Sein Glück ist perfekt, als er sich in die bildschöne Schauspielerin Sandra Dee verliebt. Fortan werden die beiden als Traumpaar gefeiert. Doch die rasante Karriere fordert ihren Tribut. Ausgelaugt vom Streben nach Ruhm und Geld und von den raschen Umschwüngen im Show- und Musikgeschäft, droht der Star Bobby Darin als Mensch auf der Strecke zu bleiben…
Kevin Spacey: „Meine Liebe zu Bobby Darins Musik geht zurück auf meine frühe Kindheit. Es gibt eine Szene im Film, in der der junge Bobby seinen Eltern in eine als Mikrofon umfunktionierte Haarbürste einen Song von Frank Sinatra vorsingt. Genau das habe ich für meine Eltern auch gemacht – nur dass der kleine Bobby zu Frank Sinatra, ich aber zu Bobby Darin sang.“

Deutschland / Großbritannien 2004, 118 Min

von

Kevin Spacey

mit

Kevin Spacey
Kate Bosworth
John Goodman
Brenda Blethyn

Weltvertrieb

Element X