Berlinale: Juries


Juries 2004

International Jury

Frances McDormand (USA)

Actress Frances McDormand became a star of independent cinema in the films of directing brothers Joel and Ethan Coen. In 1997 she won an Oscar for her role in the comedy thriller Fargo. She is also present in the theatre: often together with Willem Dafoe in the famous Wooster Group in New York City. At this year’s Berlinale she appears in the Competition film Something’s gotta give.

Maji-da Abdi (Ethiopia)

Filmmaker Maji-da Abdi is on the jury as a representative of the young generation. Born in Ethiopia she grew up in Kenya and Canada, then returned to her home country to make documentary films. Her film The River that Divides (2001) tells of the war experiences of Ethiopian women. As a producer Maji-da Abdi has supervised works including the multiple award-winning film Heremakono by Abderrahmane Sissako from Mali.

Valeria Bruni Tedeschi (Italy)

Valeria Bruni Tedeschi is one of the most renowned actresses of her generation. She grew up in Italy and lives in France. Her many acting awards include a special prize for Nénette et Boni (Nenette and Boni) at the Locarno Film Festival in 1996. She worked with “auteur” filmmakers including Claire Denis, Patrice Chéreau, Bertrand Blier, Marco Bellocchio. In 2003, she gave her debut as a director with Il est plus facile pour un chameau.

Samira Makhmalbaf (Iran)

The 24-year-old Iranian director is one of the greatest discoveries in the international film scene. Her sensational directing debut The Apple (1998) was followed by the Cannes prize-winning films The Blackboard and 5 in the afternoon and her contribution God, Construction and Destruction in the episode film 11’09’’01 – September 11. Samira Makhmalbaf has received numerous international awards for her politically and visually courageous films.

Peter Rommel (Germany)

Peter Rommel produced some of the most interesting German and international films in recent years. Together with director Andreas Dresen he realized Night Shapes (Nachtgestalten) (1998) and Grill Point (Halbe Treppe) (2002), both of which won Silver Bears at the Berlinale. Peter Rommel, a founding member of the German Film Academy, not only produces films but also teaches at the Baden-Württemberg Film Academy.

Gabriele Salvatores (Italy)

Mediterraneo marked the international breakthrough for Gabriele Salvatores and won him the Foreign Film Oscar in 1992. The well-known film and theatre director founded one of Italy’s key theatres in 1972, the Teatro d’Elfo in Milan. His cinema career began in 1983 with Sogno di una notte d’estate. In 2003 he presented Io non ho paura (I’m not scared), a political thriller told from the perspective of a child, in the Berlinale Competition.

Dan Talbot (USA)

For over forty years the dedicated New York cinema man and distributor has enriched film culture in the Big Apple with European Arthouse films and independent US productions. His independent distribution company New Yorker Films helped launch Fassbinder’s works in the USA. Founded in 1981, the Lincoln Plaza Cinema showed The Buena Vista Social Club for over 26 weeks. It is one of the world’s most successful art film theatres.

International Short Film Jury

Christine Dollhofer (Austria)

The well-known journalist and theater expert has organized numerous film events and festivals, for instance, as manager of the Filmcasino art house in Vienna. From 1997 to 2003 she was director of the Diagonale film festival in Graz. After disagreements, she left Graz and founded the film festival Crossing Europe in Linz, launched in May 2004.

Sophie Maintigneux (Germany)

Born in Paris, camerawoman Sophie Maintigneux now lives in Berlin. Since 1984 she has done camerawork on over 50 feature and documentary films, e. g. for Eric Rohmer (The Green Ray) and Michael Klier (Heidi M). Her numerous awards include the Femina Film Prize 2001 and the German Camera Award 2003 for the documentary Ladies and Gentlemen over 65.

Vinca Wiedemann © Jan Buus

Vinca Wiedemann (Denmark)

A graduate of the Danish Film Academy, Wiedemann was responsible for granting development and production support to feature films since 1999 as the commissioning editor of the Danish Film Institute. Recently she was assigned head of the new "Talent Development" department. Wiedemann has supervised projects by notable Danish directors, including Lars von Trier, Lone Scherfig, Lukas Moodysson, Susanne Bier and Thomas Vinterberg.

Honorary Awards of the Festival

The recipients of honorary awards are not chosen by a jury but by the festival director.

Children's Jury

A Children's Jury with members aged 11 to 14 awards the Crystal Bears in the Kinderfilmfest competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the festival director.

Youth Jury

A Youth Jury with members aged 14 to 18 awards the Crystal Bears in the 14plus competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the festival director.

International Jury Kinderfilmfest

The International Jury of the Kinderfilmfest awards the Grand Prix of the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk (German Child Support Organisation) worth 7,500 Euros, to the Best Feature Film. The charity's special prize, which has a value of 2,500 Euros, is awarded to the Best Short Film.

Members of the International Jury of the 27th Kinderfilmfest are: Pia Bovin, Fabia Bettini, Hermine Huntgeburth, Nicole Salomon, and Klaus Härö.

Berlinale: Jurys


Jurys 2004

Internationale Jury

Frances McDormand (USA)

Mit den Filmen der Regiebrüder Joel und Ethan Coen ist die Schauspielerin Frances McDormand zu einem Star des Independent-Kinos geworden. Für ihre Rolle in der Krimikomödie Fargo wurde sie 1997 mit einem Oscar ausgezeichnet. Auch im Theater ist Frances McDormand zu sehen: Oft mit Willem Dafoe in der berühmten New Yorker Wooster Group. Bei der diesjährigen Berlinale ist sie in Something's Gotta Give zu sehen.

Maji-da Abdi (Äthiopien)

Mit der Regisseurin und Produzentin Maji-da Abdi ist eine Vertreterin der jungen Generation afrikanischer Filmemacher in der Jury vertreten. In Äthiopien geboren, wuchs sie in Kenia und Kanada auf und kehrte in ihre Heimat zurück, um Dokumentarfilme zu drehen. Ihr Film The River that Divides (2001) berichtet von den Kriegserfahrungen äthiopischer Frauen. Als Produzentin betreute Maji-da Abdi u. a. den mehrfach prämierten Film Heremakono von Abderrahmane Sissako aus Mali.

Valeria Bruni Tedeschi (Italien)

Valeria Bruni Tedeschi gehört zu den renommiertesten Schauspielerinnen ihrer Generation. Die in Italien aufgewachsene und in Frankreich lebende Darstellerin wurde mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet, u. a. dem Darstellerpreis beim Locarno-Filmfestival 1996 für Nénette et Boni von Claire Dénis. Sie arbeitete mit Autorenfilmern wie Patrice Chéreau, Bertrand Blier, Marco Bellocchio u. v. m. Ihr Debüt als Regisseurin feierte sie mit Il est plus facile pour un chameau (2003).

Samira Makhmalbaf (Iran)

Die 24-jährige iranische Regisseurin gehört zu den großen Entdeckungen der internationalen Filmszene. Auf ihr aufsehenerregendes Regie-Debüt Der Apfel (1998) folgten die Cannes-Preisträgerfilme Schwarze Tafeln und Fünf Uhr Nachmittags sowie ihr Beitrag God, Construction and Destruction zum Episodenfilm 11’09’’01 – September 11. Für ihre politisch und visuell mutigen Filme wurde Samira Makhmalbaf mit zahlreichen internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet.

Peter Rommel (Deutschland)

Peter Rommel hat einige der interessantesten deutschen und internationalen Filme der vergangenen Jahre produziert. Mit dem Regisseur Andreas Dresen realisierte er 1998 Nachtgestalten und 2002 Halbe Treppe, beide Filme erhielten bei der Berlinale einen Silbernen Bären. 2002 wurde Peter Rommel von der European Film Promotion als „Producer on the Move“ vorgestellt. Rommel ist Gründungsmitglied der Deutschen Filmakademie und neben seiner Produzententätigkeit Gastdozent an der Film-Akademie Baden-Württemberg.

Gabriele Salvatores (Italien)

Seinen internationalen Durchbruch feierte Gabriele Salvatores mit Mediterraneo, für den er 1992 den Auslands-Oscar erhielt. Mit dem Teatro d’Elfo gründete der renommierte Film- und Bühnenregisseur 1972 in Mailand eines der wichtigsten Theater in Italien. Seine Kinokarriere startete 1983 mit Sogno di una notte d’estate. 2003 präsentierte er im Wettbewerb der Berlinale den aus der Perspektive eines Kindes erzählten Politthriller Io non ho paura (Ich habe keine Angst).

Dan Talbot (USA)

Seit über vierzig Jahren bereichert der engagierte New Yorker Kinomacher und Verleiher mit europäischen Arthousefilmen und US-Independent-Produktionen im Big Apple die Filmkultur. Sein unabhängiger Verleih „New Yorker Films“ verhalf schon Fassbinders Filmen in den USA zum Kinostart. Das 1981 am Broadway eröffnete Lincoln Plaza Cinema, wo The Buena Vista Social Club über 26 Wochen lief, gehört zu den erfolgreichsten Filmkunsttheatern der Welt.

Internationale Kurzfilmjury

Christine Dollhofer (Österreich)

Die renommierte Publizistin und Theaterwissenschaftlerin hat zahlreiche Filmreihen und -festivals organisiert, u. a. als Geschäftsführerin des Wiener Programmkinos Filmcasino. Von 1997 bis 2003 war sie Festivalleiterin der Diagonale in Graz. Nach Diskrepanzen um das Festival schied sie aus und gründete in Linz das Crossing Europe Filmfestival, das erstmals im Mai 2004 stattfand.

Sophie Maintigneux (Deutschland)

Die in Paris geborene und in Berlin lebende Kamerafrau Sophie Maintigneux hat seit 1984 über 50 Spiel- und Dokumentarfilme fotografiert, u. a. für Eric Rohmer (Das grüne Leuchten) und Michael Klier (Heidi M). Sie erhielt neben anderen Auszeichnungen den Femina Filmpreis 2001 und den Deutschen Kamerapreis 2003 für den Dokumentarfilm Damen und Herren ab 65.

Vinca Wiedemann © Jan Buus

Vinca Wiedemann (Dänemark)

Die Absolventin der Dänischen Filmakademie ist seit 1999 beim Dänischen Filminstitut für die Unterstützung von Produktion und Entwicklung zuständig. Seit kurzem ist sie Künstlerische Leiterin der neuen Abteilung „Talent Development“. Wiedemann betreute Projekte der namhaftesten dänischen Regisseure; u. a. Lars von Trier, Lone Scherfig, Lukas Moodyson, Susanne Bier und Thomas Vinterberg.

Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals

Die Empfänger der Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals werden nicht von einer Jury bestimmt, sondern von der Festivalleitung selbst.

Kinderjury

Über die Vergabe der Gläsernen Bären im Wettbewerb des Kinderfilmfests entscheidet eine elfköpfige Kinderjury zwischen 11 und 14 Jahren. Sie wird über im Vorjahr eingereichte Filmfragebögen von der Sektionsleitung ausgesucht und von der Festivalleitung offiziell berufen.

Jugendjury

Über die Vergabe der Gläsernen Bären im Wettbewerb 14plus entscheidet eine siebenköpfige Jugendjury zwischen 14 und 18 Jahren. Sie wird über im Vorjahr eingereichte Filmfragebögen von der Sektionsleitung ausgesucht und von der Festivalleitung offiziell berufen.

Internationale Jury Kinderfilmfest

Die Internationale Jury des Kinderfilmfestes vergibt den mit 7.500 Euro dotierten "Großen Preis des Deutschen Kinderhilfswerkes" an den besten Spielfilm. Der mit 2.500 Euro dotierte "Spezialpreis des Deutschen Kinderhilfswerkes" geht an den besten Kurzfilm.

In die Internationale Jury des 27. Kinderfilmfestes berufen wurden Pia Bovin, Fabia Bettini, Hermine Huntgeburth, Nicole Salomon und Klaus Härö.