Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Beautiful Boxer

##

BEAUTIFUL BOXER

Nong Toom, whose real name is Parinya Charoenphol, gained fame in Thailand for many years as a boxing transvestite. “My body is that of a fighter”, he once said“, but in my heart I am a woman. Sometimes, when my opponent is good-looking, I find it hard to punch them.” On 5 December, 1999, this popular Thai boxer achieved his greatest victory: he left the Bangkok hospital to which he had admitted himself five days previously – as a woman.
This film tells her story. Nong Toom came from a poor nomadic family with whom he travelled the length and breadth of the country as a child. Even as a small boy, he believed that he was a girl who had been put inside the wrong body by mistake. He began boxing in order to contribute to his family’s earnings. However, his entry into the realm of professional boxing was by no means easy. Nong Toom had to take part in more than twenty fights in all kinds of small town boxing rings and suffered two defeats before he was finally given the chance to step into the ring for his first big fight in Bangkok in 1998.
Nong Toom never sought to conceal his femininity – which didn’t always win him friends. His boxing style and his general appearance both call into question the image of masculinity in Thai boxing and create opponents outside the ring, too. After all, Nong Toom is a living paradox: he fights like a man in order to become a woman…

Thailand 2004, 116 min

by

Ekachai Uekrongtham

with

Asanee Suwan
Sorapong Chatree
Orn-Anong Panyawong
Nukkid Boonthong

World Sales

GMM Pictures

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Beautiful Boxer

##

BEAUTIFUL BOXER

Unter dem Namen Nong Toom ist Parinya Charoenphol in Thailand berühmt geworden – lange Jahre hat man ihn dort als boxenden Transvestiten gekannt. „Mein Körper ist der eines Kämpfers“, gab er damals zu Protokoll, „aber in meinem Herzen bin ich eine Frau. Manchmal, wenn meine Gegner gut aussehen, fällt es mir schwer, sie niederzuschlagen.“ Am 5. Dezember 1999 errang der populäre Thai-Boxer seinen bedeutendsten Sieg: Er verließ das Bangkoker Krankenhaus, in das er sich fünf Tage zuvor hatte einweisen lassen, als Frau.
Der Film erzählt ihre Lebensgeschichte: Nong Toom stammt aus einer Familie armer Nomaden, mit denen er als Kind kreuz und quer durch das Land zieht. Schon als Junge glaubt er, ein Mädchen zu sein, das nur aus Versehen in den falschen Körper geraten ist. Mit dem Boxen beginnt er, um zum Lebensunterhalt seiner Familie beizutragen, doch der Weg zur Profi-Karriere ist alles andere als leicht. Mehr als 20 Kämpfe muss Nong Toom in Provinzarenen bestreiten, ehe er nach nur zwei Niederlagen im Februar 1998 die Chance zu seinem ersten großen Kampf in Bangkok erhält.
Seine Weiblichkeit hat er nie verborgen, was ihm nicht nur Freunde eingebracht hat. Weil er durch seine Kampfweise wie durch sein Auftreten in der Öffentlichkeit das Männlichkeitsbild des thailändischen Boxsports in Frage stellt, besitzt er Gegner auch außerhalb des Rings. Denn schließlich ist Nong Toom ein lebendes Paradoxon: Er kämpft wie ein Mann, damit er eine Frau werden kann…

Thailand 2004, 116 Min

von

Ekachai Uekrongtham

mit

Asanee Suwan
Sorapong Chatree
Orn-Anong Panyawong
Nukkid Boonthong

Weltvertrieb

GMM Pictures