Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Perspektive Deutsches Kino

Mitfahrer

Traffic Affairs

TRAFFIC AFFAIRS

Three cars and three different stories. A journey.
One summery Friday evening, Peter picks up his passengers, Carolin and Hilal, from the car share office. A sales rep for beachwear, Peter is always on the move from one city to another. He is grateful to have someone along in the car to take the tedium out of motorway driving.
At the same time, Sylvester and Fabian are getting into Katharina’s car at a parking lot in Kassel. Fabian wants to escape his humdrum small town existence for the weekend. He is looking forward to the clubs and to perhaps finding someone with whom he can fall in love.
Loubelle and her daughter, Rosa, stop at motorway services a few kilometres away. Loubelle doesn’t make a habit of taking hitchhikers, but today she decides to make an exception . . .
TRAFFIC AFFAIRS interweaves stories of people who meet for the first and probably last time in their lives. A cheerful but also melancholy portrait of a series of brief encounters; stories about the lives of people sitting together for a few hours within the confines of a car.

Germany 2003, 90 min

by

Nicolai Albrecht

with

Ulrich Matthes
Anna Brüggemann
Ivan Shvedoff

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Perspektive Deutsches Kino

Mitfahrer

Traffic Affairs

MITFAHRER

Drei Autos. Drei Geschichten. Eine Reise.
An einem sommerlichen Freitagabend holt Peter seine zwei Mitfahrer Carolin und Hilal in der Mitfahrzentrale ab. Als Bademodenvertreter reist Peter von einer Stadt zur nächsten und auf den langen Autobahnfahrten sind ihm Mitfahrer eine willkommene Abwechslung.
Zur gleichen Zeit steigen auf einem Parkplatz in Kassel Sylvester und Fabian in das Auto von Katharina. Fabian will für ein Wochenende der Provinz entkommen, um durch die Clubs zu ziehen – auf der Suche nach der ersten großen Liebe.
An einer Raststätte nur wenige Kilometer weiter halten Loubelle und ihre Tochter Rosa. Eigentlich nimmt Loubelle aus Prinzip keine Anhalter mit, nur heute macht sie eine Ausnahme . . .
MITFAHRER verknüpft das Schicksal von Menschen, die sich zum ersten und wohl auch letzten Mal in ihrem Leben sehen. Heiter melancholische Momentaufnahmen flüchtiger Begegnungen auf engem Raum, die Geschichten aus dem Leben erzählen.

Deutschland 2003, 90 Min

von

Nicolai Albrecht

mit

Ulrich Matthes
Anna Brüggemann
Ivan Shvedoff