Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Kaldaljos

Cold Light

COLD LIGHT

What could be better than knowing what the future holds? But then again, could there be anything worse than this knowledge?
Grímur once had a happy childhood. This came to an abrupt end, however, when calamity struck and his family were all killed. Grímur saw this catastrophe coming, but he didn’t do anything to prevent it, or even avoid its consequences.
Grímur is now forty years of age. And still plagued by guilt. The child that once possessed the strange gift of being able to see into the future has grown into an adult, haunted by visions – only the images that now flash upon his inner eye contain nothing but the horrors of the past. Hilmar
Oddsson: “I regard this film as the greatest challenge of my directing career. Nature plays a seminal role in this film. The way the vibrant colours of summer are followed by the milder colours of autumn, both of which slowly fade into the cold blue light of winter, almost makes nature a vehicle for the narrative. The changing colours and landscapes reflect the inner life of the film’s protagonist: his hope and his despair are mirrored in the countryside around him. Humankind is an integral part of nature; the protagonist in this film must recognise this in order to find peace and reconcile himself to his fate.”

Iceland / United Kingdom / Germany 2003, 93 min

by

Hilmar Oddsson

with

Ingvar E. Sigurðsson
Áslákur Ingvarsson
Kristbjörg Kjeld
Ruth Ólafsdóttir

World Sales

Media Luna Entertainment GmbH & Co. KG

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Kaldaljos

Cold Light

COLD LIGHT

Was kann es Besseres geben, als die Zukunft zu kennen? Und was kann es gleichzeitig Schlimmeres geben?
Grímur hatte eine glückliche Kindheit. Sie ging mit einem Schlag zu Ende, als eine Naturkatastrophe über die Familie hereinbrach, bei der seine Angehörigen ums Leben kamen. Grímur hatte diese Katastrophe vorausgesehen, aber er hatte nichts getan, um sie zu verhindern oder zumindest ihre Folgen abzuwenden.
Inzwischen ist Grímur 40 und noch immer quälen ihn Schuldgefühle. Noch immer wird der Mann, der als Kind die seltsame Gabe besaß, in die Zukunft zu schauen, von Visionen heimgesucht. Doch inzwischen sind es die Schrecken der Vergangenheit, die vor seinem inneren Auge erstehen.
Hilmar Oddsson: „Ich betrachte den Film als die größte Herausforderung, vor der ich bisher als Regisseur stand. Die Natur spielt in ihm eine zentrale Rolle. Dadurch, dass sich hier langsam die lebhaften und milden Farben des Sommers und Herbstes in das kalte blaue Licht des Winters verwandeln, wird sie fast zu einem Träger der Handlung. Die sich verändernden Farben und Landschaften reflektieren das Innenleben des Protagonisten: Seine Hoffnung und Verzweiflung werden von der Landschaft widergespiegelt. Der Mensch als Teil der Natur muss Frieden mit sich selbst und mit seinem Schicksal schließen.“

Island / Großbritannien / Deutschland 2003, 93 Min

von

Hilmar Oddsson

mit

Ingvar E. Sigurðsson
Áslákur Ingvarsson
Kristbjörg Kjeld
Ruth Ólafsdóttir

Weltvertrieb

Media Luna Entertainment GmbH & Co. KG