Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

The Graffiti Artist

##

THE GRAFFITI ARTIST

Nick is a young graffiti artist or ‘tagger’ living in Seattle. A shy, introverted guy with no friends, he has plenty of time to live out his artistic ambitions. His canvasses are the walls and facades of the monotonous cityscape around him. One day, he meets Jesse, another extremely talented tagger. A friendship develops between the pair which soon evolves into an intensive artistic collaboration. The two young artists combine their diverge styles to create highly-charged, exciting murals. They begin to cover the city with their work and all at once their tags seems to be everywhere.
But the happiness they find in their creative partnership is short-lived. Before long, the aesthetic differences which once brought their art to life lead to a fundamental clash of interests. Jesse moves back to Portland, followed by Nick, who is apparently unperturbed by the fact that a warrant for his arrest awaits him. Nick is in the midst of creating more aerosol art when the local police intercept and lead him away. The stretch in juvenile prison that Nick now faces represents a threat to much more than the means of his artistic expression.
Some of THE GRAFFITI ARTIST was shot in Portland, Oregon. This American state was the first to pass a resolution that graffiti writers must be punished with imprisonment. Other federal states in America have passed similar laws; initiatives along the same lines are currently being discussed in the parliaments of Germany’s Länder.

USA 2003, 80 min

by

Jimmy Bolton

with

Ruben Bansie-Snellman
Pepper Fajans

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

The Graffiti Artist

##

THE GRAFFITI ARTIST

Nick ist ein junger Sprayer, der in Seattle lebt. Er ist ein introvertierter Typ ohne Freunde und mit einer Menge Zeit für seine künstlerischen Ambitionen. Seine Leinwand sind die Mauern und Fassaden der eintönigen Stadtlandschaft. Dann begegnet er Jesse, einem anderen Sprayer mit großem Talent. Eine Freundschaft beginnt, die schon bald zu einer intensiven Zusammenarbeit wird. Die Gegensätzlichkeit ihres Stils vereinen die jungen Künstler in spannungsgeladenen Graffiti. Sie überziehen die Stadt mit ihren Tags, die über Nacht bald überall erscheinen.
Doch das Glück ihrer kreativen Freundschaft ist von kurzer Dauer. Ihre ästhetischen Divergenzen, von denen ihre Graffiti leben, führen bald zu grundlegenden Auseinandersetzungen. Als Jesse zurück nach Portland zieht, folgt ihm Nick, ohne sich darum zu kümmern, dass dort ein Haftbefehl gegen ihn vorliegt. Mitten in der Arbeit wird er von der örtlichen Polizei überführt. Mit dem Jugendknast, der ihm jetzt blüht, steht viel mehr als nur seine Kunst auf dem Spiel.
Während der Dreharbeiten zu THE GRAFFITI ARTIST in Portland, Oregon, beschloss das Parlament des amerikanischen Bundesstaates ein Gesetz, nach dem das Sprayen von Graffiti mit einer Gefängnisstrafe geahndet werden muss. Andere Bundesstaaten haben mittlerweile ähnliche Gesetze verabschiedet. In bundesdeutschen Länderparlamenten werden entsprechende Initiativen diskutiert.

USA 2003, 80 Min

von

Jimmy Bolton

mit

Ruben Bansie-Snellman
Pepper Fajans