Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Competition

The Final Cut

## ## ## ## ##

THE FINAL CUT

“Dear Customer. Welcome to the Zoë Tech family! You have made an important decision: you have decided to acquire a Zoë implant© for your unborn child. What does this mean for your child? Immortality! Our patented Zoë chip will be inserted into his or her brain at birth so that, from the word go, everything that occurs to them in their lives will be recorded. In this way, life’s most beautiful moments will never be lost or fade with the passing of time …”
Thus the Zoë chip chronicles an entire lifespan in images. When a chip-wearer dies, an editor assembles images from the deceased’s life on a “rememory roll” which can be shown as a very special kind of aide-mémoire at that person’s funeral. In the beginning, only the rich can afford these Zoë chips, but after a while, they bring a fundamental change to the way people relate to each other. However, the new technology soon has it’s opponents, who are prepared to fight for the right to forget.
Alan Hackman is the best editor at Zoë Technologies. His talent in wiping out and hence forgiving the sins and misdemeanours of his clients has made him a much sought-after director of these visual obituaries. At the same time, his ability to watch people’s lives without any trace of emotion has turned him into a cold-hearted man, incapable of seeing life from a subjective point of view.
Then, one day, Hackman is assigned to edit the biography of a big wig at Zoë Technologies. As he is sifting through the material, he discovers an image that has haunted him since childhood. This marks the beginning of Alan Hackman’s breathless search for the truth that lies beyond these manipulated images …

USA 2003, 105 min

by

Omar Naïm

with

Robin Williams
Jim Caviezel
Mira Sorvino

World Sales

Lions Gate Entertainment

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Wettbewerb

The Final Cut

## ## ## ## ##

THE FINAL CUT

„Lieber Kunde. Willkommen in der Zoë-Tech-Familie! Sie haben eine wichtige Entscheidung getroffen – Sie haben ein Zoë-Implantat© für Ihr ungeborenes Kind erworben. Was das für ihr Kind bedeutet? Die Unsterblichkeit! Unser patentierter Zoë-Chip wird ihm bei der Geburt ins Gehirn eingesetzt, damit von nun alles aufgezeichnet wird, was ihm in seinem Leben widerfährt. Damit die schönsten Augenblicke im Leben nicht mehr verblassen oder im Lauf der Zeit gänzlich vergehen . . .“
Auf diese Weise hält der Zoë-Chip ein ganzes Leben in Bildern fest. Wenn ein Chip-Träger stirbt, montiert ein Schnittmeister die Aufnahmen zu einer „Rememory-Rolle“ – zu einem Film, der bei der Beerdigung an den Verstorbenen erinnert. Die Zoë-Chips haben das menschliche Miteinander von Grund auf verändert. Längst hat die neue Technologie Gegner auf den Plan gerufen, die für das Recht auf Vergessen kämpfen.
Alan Hackman ist der beste Cutter bei Zoë Technologies. Seine technischen Fähigkeiten, die Sünden und Vergehen seiner Kunden auszublenden und damit zu vergeben, haben ihn zu einem gefragten Regisseur dieser filmischen Nekrologe gemacht. Gleichzeitig ist er durch seine Fähigkeit, völlig emotionslos menschliche Lebensläufe zu betrachten, ein gefühlskalter Mann geworden – einer, der das Leben nicht aus der ersten Person betrachten kann.
Doch dann muss er die Biografie eines hochrangigen Zoë-Tech-Beamten zusammenschneiden und entdeckt dabei ein Bild, das ihn seit seiner Kindheit verfolgt. Damit beginnt für Alan Hackman eine atemlose Jagd nach einer Wahrheit, die sich jenseits der manipulierten Bilder verbirgt . . .

USA 2003, 105 Min

von

Omar Naïm

mit

Robin Williams
Jim Caviezel
Mira Sorvino

Weltvertrieb

Lions Gate Entertainment