Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Forum

Dieses Jahr in Czernowitz

This Year in Czernowitz

THIS YEAR IN CZERNOWITZ

Czernowitz, an out-of-the-way city in the middle of Europe. It was once part of the Austro-Hungarian monarchy as the capital of the crown province of Bukowina. People of many different nationalities, languages and cultures lived here together: Ukrainians, Romanians, Germans, Poles, Huzulians. Almost half of the population of Czernowitz, once amounting to 150,000 inhabitants, were Jews.
The southern part of Bukowina is now part of Romania, the north, with Czernowitz/Chernivtsi, belongs to the Ukraine. Six years ago Volker Koepp made the film HERR ZWILLING AND FRAU ZUCKERMANN there. Rosa Roth-Zuckermann and Mathias Zwilling were two of the last Jews who were born in the old Czernowitz and had survived the war and the camps in Transnistria and remained in their city.
Jews who fled from Bukowina in the previous century found a place of exile in many parts of the world. Their families keep the memory of people, living quarters and landscapes alive. The film THIS YEAR IN CZERNOWITZ returns there with emigrants and their descendants. The cellist Eduard Weissmann makes his way there from Berlin, the sisters Evelyne Mayer and Katja Rainer come from Vienna, while the actor Harvey Keitel and the writer Norman Manea fly over from New York. The journey to the mythical places of their origins takes them not only back into the past, but also into the present, to people who live in Czernowitz today, to the Ukrainian student Tanja and the nearly 90-year-old German Johann Schlamp.

Germany 2004, 134 min

by

Volker Koepp

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum

Dieses Jahr in Czernowitz

This Year in Czernowitz

DIESES JAHR IN CZERNOWITZ

Czernowitz, eine entlegene Stadt in der Mitte Europas. Als Hauptstadt des Kronlandes Bukowina war sie einst Teil der österreichisch-ungarischen Monarchie. Hier lebten Menschen verschiedener Nationalitäten, Sprachen und Kulturen miteinander: Ukrainer, Rumänen, Deutsche, Polen, Huzulen. Beinahe die Hälfte der einst 150.000 Einwohner von Czernowitz waren Juden.
Der Süden der Bukowina gehört heute zu Rumänien, der Norden mit Czernowitz/Chernivtsi zur Ukraine. Dort drehte Volker Koepp vor sechs Jahren den Film HERR ZWILLING UND FRAU ZUCKERMANN. Rosa Roth-Zuckermann und Mathias Zwilling waren zwei der letzten noch im alten Czernowitz geborenen Juden, die den Krieg und die Lager Transnistriens überlebt hatten und in ihrer Stadt geblieben waren.
Die im vergangenen Jahrhundert aus der Bukowina geflüchteten Juden haben Exil in vielen Teilen der Welt gefunden. In ihren Familien wirken die Erinnerungen an Menschen, Lebenswelten und Landschaften nach. Mit Emigranten und deren Nachkommen kehrt der Film DIESES JAHR IN CZERNOWITZ dorthin zurück. Der Cellist Eduard Weissmann macht sich von Berlin aus auf den Weg, aus Wien kommen die Schwestern Evelyne Mayer und Katja Rainer, aus New York der Schauspieler Harvey Keitel und der Schriftsteller Norman Manea. Die Fahrt zu den mythischen Orten ihrer Herkunft führt sie nicht nur in die Vergangenheit, sondern auch in die Gegenwart, zu Menschen, die heute in Czernowitz leben, zur ukrainischen Studentin Tanja und dem beinahe 90-jährigen Deutschen Johann Schlamp.

Deutschland 2004, 134 Min

von

Volker Koepp