Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Brother To Brother

BROTHER TO BROTHER

“Harlem Renaissance” was the name of the first Afro-American cultural movement in the USA in the 1920s. The driving force of the “New Negro Movement” as it was also known, were artists and intellectuals. However, the movement was not only limited to poetry, painting and music – the group’s parties and clubs also turned north Manhattan into a centre of cultural activity.
Rodney Evans’ film focuses on Perry, a young homosexual artist and New Yorker who has fallen out with his family. He is working in an asylum for the homeless to pay for his college education. Here, Perry encounters one of the movement’s proponents and in so doing becomes acquainted with the era’s legacy.
Perry is listening to his boyfriend, Marcus, reciting one of his poems one day when an old man steps up out of the blue, recites some poetry and disappears again.
Perry finds the verses recited by the unknown old man in a book about the “Harlem Renaissance”. He identifies the poem as one of Bruce Nugent’s. After this, Perry comes across the old man regularly at the hostel and it soon transpires that he is none other than Nugent himself. In 1926, Nugent and other writers and friends including Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston and Wallace Thurman, co-founded the literary magazine, “Fire!!”. Subtitled “A Negro Quarterly of the Arts”, the periodical was to become the central organ of the “Harlem Renaissance”.
Nugent’s stories bring to life an entire historical era for Perry. The young man begins to realise that the story of the “Harlem Renaissance” is also his story. Moreover, the encounter helps him to sort out some of the existential issues in his own life …

USA 2003, 90 min

by

Rodney Evans

with

Anthony Mackie
Roger Robinson
Aunjanue Ellis

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Brother To Brother

BROTHER TO BROTHER

„Harlem Renaissance“ hieß die erste Bewegung afroamerikanischer Kultur in den USA der 1920er Jahre. Das von Künstlern und Intellektuellen getragene „New Negro Movement“ beschränkte sich nicht allein auf Dichtung, Malerei und Musik – auch ihre Partys und Clubs machten damals das nördliche Manhattan zu einem Zentrum des kulturellen Geschehens.
In Rodney Evans’ Film stößt ein junger New Yorker auf Spuren und Zeitzeugen aus jener Epoche – Perry, ein homosexueller Künstler, der sich mit seiner Familie überworfen hat und in einem Obdachlosenasyl arbeitet, um seinen College-Besuch zu finanzieren. Als ihm eines Tages sein Freund Marcus ein eigenes Gedicht vorträgt, tritt überraschend ein alter Mann zu ihnen und rezitiert seinerseits poetische Verse. Ebenso überraschend verschwindet er auch wieder.
In einem Buch über die „Harlem Renaissance“ kann Perry die Sätze des Unbekannten als ein Gedicht von Bruce Nugent identifizieren, und als sich die beiden im Obdachlosenheim abermals über den Weg laufen, stellt sich heraus, dass es sich bei dem Mann tatsächlich um Nugent handelt, der 1926 mit befreundeten Autoren wie Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston und Wallace Thurman die Literaturzeitschrift „Fire!!“ gründete. „A Negro Quarterly of the Arts“ lautete der Untertitel der avantgardistischen Publikation, die zum zentralen Periodikum der „Harlem Renaissance“ wurde.
In den Erzählungen Nugents wird die vergangene Ära für Perry lebendig. Er lernt, dass dies auch seine Geschichte ist. Und sie hilft ihm, einige existenzielle Fragen seines Lebens zu klären . . .

USA 2003, 90 Min

von

Rodney Evans

mit

Anthony Mackie
Roger Robinson
Aunjanue Ellis