Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Competition

The Missing

Ron Howard (Director)
Cate Blanchett (Actress)
Host: Anatol Weber

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ##

THE MISSING

New Mexico in 1885. Maggie Gilkeson runs a small farm near the Mexican border with her daughters Lilly and Dot and her partner, Brake. The proceeds from the farm are pretty modest and so Maggie earns a little on the side as a healer. One day, an old Indian appears at her door; the man turns out to be her own father. Twenty years previously, Samuel Jones left his family in order to go and live with the Apaches. Furious, Maggie tells him to leave.
Then, one day, the farm is attacked by a gang of marauders – whites and Indians. Goaded by Pesh-Chidin, a pychopathic killer with mystical powers, the gang murder Brake and abduct Lilly with the aim of selling her into prostitution in Mexico along with other teenage girls.
When both the Sheriff and the cavalry refuse to come to her aid, a desperate Maggie turns to her father. Samuel Jones, who is an excellent tracker, joins Maggie and her younger daughter, Dot, in pursuit of the murdering desperados. There’s no time to lose because they must catch up with the abductors before they cross the border . . .
Ron Howard: “The Missing features flawed men and women, who demonstrate enormous courage when they are confronted by an unspeakable horror. It’s a story of healing and reconciliation that also has the twists and turns of a thriller.“

USA 2003, 137 min

by

Ron Howard

with

Tommy Lee Jones
Cate Blanchett
Evan Rachel Wood
Jenna Boyd

World Sales

Columbia TriStar Film Distributors International

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Wettbewerb

The Missing

Ron Howard (Regisseur)
Cate Blanchett (Schauspielerin)
Moderation: Anatol Weber

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ##

THE MISSING

New Mexico 1885. Nicht weit entfernt von der mexikanischen Grenze bewirtschaftet Maggie Gilkeson mit ihren Töchtern Lilly und Dot und ihrem Freund Brake eine kleine Farm; weil die Erträge knapp sind, verdient sie sich als Heilerin etwas hinzu. Eines Tages steht ein alter Indianer vor ihrer Tür – er entpuppt sich als ihr Vater. Vor 20 Jahren hat Samuel Jones seine Familie verlassen, um bei den Apachen zu leben. Wütend weist ihn Maggie ab.
Doch dann wird die Farm von einer marodierenden Bande aus Weißen und Indianern überfallen. Aufgestachelt von Pesh-Chidin, einem Psychopathen mit magischen Kräften, ermorden sie Brake und entführen Lilly, um sie zusammen mit anderen jungen Mädchen in Mexiko als Prostituierte zu verkaufen.
Als Maggie weder beim Sheriff noch bei der Kavallerie Hilfe findet, wendet sie sich in ihrer Verzweiflung an ihren Vater. Gemeinsam mit Samuel Jones, der ein ausgezeichneter Spurenleser ist, und der jüngeren Tochter Dot macht sie sich an die Verfolgung der Desperados, die sie noch vor der Grenze einholen müssen . . .
Ron Howard: „Der Film erzählt von unvollkommenen Männern und Frauen, die jedoch enormen Mut beweisen, als sie mit einem unaussprechlichen Grauen konfrontiert sind. Die Geschichte handelt von Heilung und Versöhnung, sie besitzt aber auch die überraschenden Wendungen eines Thrillers.“

USA 2003, 137 Min

von

Ron Howard

mit

Tommy Lee Jones
Cate Blanchett
Evan Rachel Wood
Jenna Boyd

Weltvertrieb

Columbia TriStar Film Distributors International