Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2003

Competition

Jan 10, 2003:
World premieres, stars, master directors and new discoveries in the Berlinale Competition

19 films from Europe Asia, USA and Africa have already been confirmed for the Competition programme of the 53rd Berlin International Film Festival.

There will be three world premieres from Germany in the Competition:

Wolfgang Becker’s Good bye, Lenin! presents a tragicomic farce about people and systems. German Film Award-winners Daniel Brühl and Katrin Saß co-star in this film.

Oskar Roehler’s love story Der alte Affe Angst (Angst) describes the sensitive relationship of a couple who are confronted with the problems of death and deceit. The film features Marie Bäumer, André Hennicke and Vadim Glowna.

In Lichter (Distant Lights), Hans-Christian Schmid tells five interwoven tales about his protagonists’ fears, existential problems, longings and hopes in the area along the German-Polish border. The cast includes August Diehl, Herbert Knaup, Devid Striesow and Maria Simon, among others.

Rezervni Deli (Spare Parts) from Slovenia will be a world premiere. Director Damjan Kozole depicts how unscrupulous smugglers exploit desperate refugees. Peter Musevski, Aljosa Kovacic and Aleksandra Balmazovic play the leading roles.

To date Italy will be participating in the Competition with the film Io non ho paura by Academy Award-winner Gabriele Salvatores. From the perspective of its adolescent characters, he examines with psychological interest their relationship with the adult world. Aitana Sanchez-Gijon, Diego Abatantuono, Dino Abbrescia and young amateur actors have been cast in the main roles.

France has three films in the Competition:

In La Fleur du mal (The Flower of Evil) Claude Chabrol portrays a seemingly well-established upper middle-class family whose long concealed guilt catches up with it. The film features Nathalie Baye, Benoit Magimel, Suzanne Flon and Bernard Le Coq.

Patrice Chéreau, who won the Golden Bear for Intimacy in 2001, will present the world premiere of his film Son Frère in the Competition. When one of two brothers, who have not had contact for years, becomes incurably ill, they become close again. Bruno Todeschini, Eric Caravaca and Maurice Garrel co-star in this tightly constructed work.

With the world premiere of Petites Coupures, Pascal Bonitzer presents a burlesque story about a notorious lady-killer. In his never-ending search for new women, he is in danger of losing his own life. Daniel Auteuil, Kristin Scott Thomas, Ludivine Sagnier and Jean Yann play the main characters.

The Senegalese director Moussa Sene Absa will show Madame Brouette, a Canadian-Senegalese co-production, in the Competition. The film depicts the struggle of a single mother in Dakar for her rights and independence. The leading roles are played by Rokhaya Niang, Aoubacar Sadikh Ba and Kadia.

The British contribution The Hours by ‘Billy Elliot’ director Stephen Daldry presents a study of three women from three different periods who have all been influenced by the works of Virginia Woolf. Meryl Streep, Julianne Moore and Nicole Kidman portray the principle characters. The film is based on Michael Cunningham’s novel which won the Pulitzer Prize in 1999.

Alan Parker will present the world premiere of his US-British co-production The Life of David Gale. In the film, a declared opponent of capital punishment is sentenced to death for murder. Shortly before he is executed he recounts his version of what happened to a journalist. Kevin Spacey and Kate Winslet star in the film.

Four productions from the USA will be screened in the Competition:

Adaptation, Spike Jonze’s first film since Being John Malkovich, ironically explores the creative process and the relation of reality and fiction in film. It features Nicolas Cage, Meryl Streep and Chris Cooper. Once again Charlie Kaufman wrote the screenplay.

Steven Soderbergh developed Solaris from Stanislaw Lem’s famous novel, a work previously adapted for the screen by Andrei Tarkovski. The story takes place in a space station in a science-fiction-like future. Soderbergh focuses on the love between his protagonists and the question of how far people will go for a second chance. George Clooney and Natasha McElhone co-star in the film.

Hollywood star George Clooney can be seen a second time in the Competition: with the international premiere of Confessions of a Dangerous Mind, he will make his debut as a director. Again, the screenplay for the film was written by Charlie Kaufman, based on Chuck Barris’ autobiography. It depicts Barris’ path from a famous TV producer and moderator to a CIA agent and hired killer. Sam Rockwell, Drew Barrymore, Julia Roberts and George Clooney play the protagonists.

Spike Lee’s The 25th Hour portrays a young man’s last day before beginning a seven-year prison sentence. During his last night in freedom, which he spends with his friends, he reviews his life so far. Edward Norton plays the lead.

Japan will present grand master Yoji Yamada’s most recent work: Tasogare Seibei (The Twilight Samurai) tells of a samurai in the 19th century who has to come to terms with a number of misfortunes and an unusual mission to kill. Hiroyuki Sanada plays the main character.

So far China’s contribution to the Competition consists of Zhang Yimou’s latest film, Ying Xiong (Hero), by the makers of Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon. In this historical drama about love, jealousy, loyalty and intrigues, Zhang Yimou tries his hand for the first time at the martial art genre. The cast includes Jet Li, Tony Leung and Maggie Cheung Man Yuk.

The festival will open on February 6, 2003 with Rob Marshall’s film version of the musical Chicago and will close, following the award ceremony on February 15, with a gala screening of Martin Scorsese’s Gangs of New York. Both films are running hors concours.

The selection of films for the Competition programme will be completed by mid-January.

January 10, 2003

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2003

Wettbewerb

10.01.2003:
Weltpremieren, Stars, Regie-Altmeister und Entdeckungen im Berlinale-Wettbewerb

19 Filme aus Europa, Asien, USA und Afrika sind bereits für das Wettbewerbsprogramm der 53. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin bestätigt.

Aus Deutschland werden drei Weltpremieren am Wettbewerb teilnehmen:

Wolfgang Becker inszeniert mit Good Bye, Lenin! eine tragikomische Farce um Menschen und Systeme. Die Bundesfilmpreisträger Daniel Brühl und Katrin Saß spielen die Hauptrollen.

Oskar Roehlers Liebesgeschichte Der alte Affe Angst schildert das sensible Beziehungsgeflecht eines Paares, das mit den Themen Tod und Betrug konfrontiert wird. In den Hauptrollen sind Marie Bäumer, André Hennicke und Vadim Glowna zu sehen.

Hans-Christian Schmid erzählt in Lichter fünf ineinander verwobene Geschichten um Ängste, Existenzprobleme, Sehnsüchte und Hoffnungen seiner Protagonisten im deutsch-polnischen Grenzgebiet. Zu den Darstellern gehören u. a. August Diehl, Herbert Knaup, Devid Striesow und Maria Simon.

Aus Slowenien kommt als Weltpremiere Rezervni Deli (Ersatzteile). Der Regisseur Damjan Kozole schildert, wie skrupellose Schleuser die Not von Flüchtlingen ausnutzen. Peter Musevski, Aljosa Kovacic und Aleksandra Balmazovic spielen die Hauptrollen.

Italien ist bislang mit Io non ho paura von Oscar-Preisträger Gabriele Salvatores im Wettbewerb. Aus der Perspektive der jugendlichen Figuren schildert er mit psychologischem Interesse deren Verhältnis zur Erwachsenenwelt. Aitana Sanchez-Gijon, Diego Abatantuono, Dino Abbrescia und junge Laiendarsteller spielen die zentralen Rollen.

Frankreich hat drei Filme im Wettbewerb:

Claude Chabrol porträtiert in La Fleur du mal eine scheinbar gefestigte großbürgerliche Familie, die von langverschwiegener Schuld der Vergangenheit eingeholt wird. Die Hauptrollen spielen Nathalie Baye, Benoit Magimel, Suzanne Flon und Bernard Le Coq.

Patrice Chéreau, der 2001 den Goldenen Bären für Intimacy erhielt, präsentiert die Weltpremiere von Son Frère im Wettbewerb. Eine unheilbare Krankheit des einen führt zur Wiederannäherung zweier seit langem getrennter Brüder. In der präzise inszenierten Geschichte spielen Bruno Todeschini, Eric Caravaca und Maurice Garrel die Hauptrollen.

Pascal Bonitzer zeigt mit der Weltpremiere von Petites Coupures eine burleske Geschichte um einen notorischen Frauenhelden. In seiner ständigen Suche nach neuen Frauen droht er sein eigenes Leben zu verlieren. Daniel Auteuil, Kristin Scott Thomas, Ludivine Sagnier und Jean Yann spielen die Hauptrollen.

Der senegalesische Regisseur Moussa Sene Absa zeigt Madame Brouette im Wettbewerb, eine kanadisch-senegalesische Koproduktion. Der Film schildert den Kampf einer alleinerziehenden Mutter in Dakar um Recht und Unabhängigkeit. Die Hauptrollen spielen Rokhaya Niang, Aboubacar Sadikh Ba und Kadiatou Sy.

Aus Großbritannien kommt der Film The Hours von Billy Elliot-Regisseur Stephen Daldry, eine Studie über drei Frauen in verschiedenen Epochen, jede von ihnen beeinflusst vom Werk von Virginia Woolf. Meryl Streep, Julianne Moore und Nicole Kidman porträtieren die drei Hauptfiguren des Films. Die Romanvorlage von Michael Cunningham wurde 1999 mit dem Pulitzer-Preis ausgezeichnet.

Als Weltpremiere präsentiert Alan Parker seine US-britische Koproduktion The Life of David Gale. Ein erklärter Gegner der Todesstrafe wird wegen Mordes zum Tode verurteilt. Kurz vor der Hinrichtung erzählt er einer Journalistin seine Version der Geschehnisse. Kevin Spacey und Kate Winslet sind die Stars des Films.

Aus den USA sind vier Produktionen im Wettbewerb:

Adaptation, Spike Jonzes neuer Film nach Being John Malkovich, setzt sich ironisch mit dem kreativen Prozess, dem Verhältnis von Realität und Fiktion im Film auseinander. Nicolas Cage, Meryl Streep und Chris Cooper spielen die Hauptrollen. Charlie Kaufman schrieb wieder das Drehbuch.

Steven Soderbergh inszenierte Solaris nach dem berühmten Roman von Stanislaw Lem, der bereits von Andrei Tarkovski verfilmt wurde. Die Geschichte spielt auf der Raumstation in einer Science-Fiction-Zukunft. Bei Soderbergh steht die Liebesbeziehung der Protagonisten und die Frage nach der zweiten Chance im Mittelpunkt. George Clooney und Natasha McElhone sind die Stars des Films.

Hollywood-Star George Clooney ist noch ein zweites Mal im Wettbewerb vertreten: Mit der internationalen Premiere von Confessions of a Dangerous Mind stellt er sein Regie-Debüt vor. Das Drehbuch zum Film schrieb auch hier Charlie Kaufman nach der Autobiographie von Chuck Barris und schildert den Weg des bekannten TV-Produzenten und -Moderators zum CIA-Agenten und Auftragsmörder. Sam Rockwell, Drew Barrymore, Julia Roberts und George Clooney spielen die Protagonisten.

Spike Lees The 25th Hour zeigt den letzten Tag eines jungen Mannes, bevor er eine siebenjährige Haftstrafe antreten muss. Während seiner letzten Nacht in Freiheit, die er mit seinen Freunden verbringt, lässt er sein bisheriges Leben Revue passieren. Edward Norton spielt die Hauptrolle.

Aus Japan kommt das neue Werk von Altmeister Yoji Yamada: Tasogare Seibei (Samurai in der Dämmerung) erzählt von einem Samurai im 19. Jahrhundert, der sich mit einigen Schicksalsschlägen und einem ungewöhnlichen Tötungsauftrag auseinander setzen muss. Die Hauptrolle spielt Hiroyuki Sanada.

Aus China ist bislang Zhang Yimous jüngster Film Ying Xiong (Hero), von den Machern von Tiger & Dragon, im Wettbewerb vertreten. Mit diesem historischen Drama um Liebe, Eifersucht, Treue und Intrigen bewegt sich Zhang Yimou erstmals im Martial-Arts-Genre. Die Darsteller sind Jet Li, Tony Leung und Maggie Cheung Man Yuk.

Das Festival eröffnet am 6. Februar 2003 mit Rob Marshalls Musical-Verfilmung Chicago und wird zum Abschluss nach der Preisverleihung am 15. Februar in einer Gala Martin Scorseses Gangs of New York zeigen. Beide Filme laufen außer Konkurrenz. Die Auswahl des Wettbewerbsprogramms wird Mitte Januar abgeschlossen.

10. Januar 2003