Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2003

Panorama

Jan 17, 2003:
Panorama Dokumente: History and location

The selection for the celebrated Panorama Dokumente series in 2003 is complete.

Ever since the festival moved to the Potsdamer Platz, the Panorama Dokumente series’ has its own theater, the CineStar 3. Yet the popularity of the series has been growing continually, so that this year two films will be screened in CinemaxX7, the theater usually reserved for the Panorama’s main programme.

The opening film of the Panorama Dokumente on Feb.7, 2003 in CinemaxX7 is: Traces of a Dragon: Jackie Chan and his Lost Family by Mabel Cheung and Alex Law (Hong Kong, China). Jackie Chan, one of the busiest stars in the history of film, is Hong Kong’s number one stunt and martial-arts hero. The turbulent history of Hong Kong unravels almost in passing as Chan talks with his father about their family’s astonishing past, one that also reflects the turmoil in China’s developments over the last century. Supported by extensive, little known archive footage, the filmmakers turn this film into a pièce de résistance. At the Panorama in 1989, Alex Law presented his film Painted Faces, co-authored by Mabel Cheung.

Comandante by Oliver Stone (Spain) – also in CinemaxX7 Last represented in the Berlinale Competition of 2000 by Any Given Sunday and at the Panorama in 1988 by Wall Street, Oliver Stone has once again taken up documentary filmmaking after a three-year break. In this film he visits one of the most interesting personalities of the last century: Fidel Castro. Over several days, viewers experience Castro as a private individual who shares his thoughts on Ché Guevara and his assessments of Kennedy, Nixon, democracy and his relationship to life in an exciting dialogue with Stone.

A theme that is contemplated in several Panorama features films as well as in contributions to other festival sections, including the Berlinale Talent Campus, is the conflict in the Middle East:

Local Angel - Theological Political Fragments by Udi Aloni (USA, Israel) At the heart of this film is Udi Aloni’s attempt to grasp the theological and political backdrop against which his mother Shulamit Aloni has been active for years in the freedom movement and as founder of the Israeli Civil Rights Movement. The film includes encounters with Hanan Ashrawi – in many respects his mother’s Palestinian sister – and with Yassir Arafat, as well as the observations of leading, open-minded Israeli and Palestinian intellectuals. Hopelessness is not an acceptable prospect, especially not for young people. Udi Aloni gives inspiration by letting the Palestinian rap group DAM and Israeli musicians have the floor.

Le chant du millenaire (The Song of the Millennium) by Mohamed Zran (France, Tunisia)

Reflection on and the determination of a location from the lips of those who otherwise have no say: with his film, Zran reveals to the viewer the country and its people, whose dreams for the future have to be measured against reality in Tunisia.

The Panorama feature film El Kotbia (The Bookstore) by Nawfel Saheb Ettaba incorporates other elements of experience in this topic.

Polígono sur (Seville, South Side) by Dominique Abel (Spain)

Space to live in is a matter of priority for the inhabitants of the Gitano district “Las tres mil” in Seville. In the 60s the satellite town was promoted as an attractive place to settle, today the police hardly dare enter the neighborhood, and public transportation has been discontinued. Seville has had to symbolically assume the position that Andalusia, the promised land of the Gitanos, still plays in their mentality today – Andalusia, where they were the driving force in the development of one of the greatest forms of expression in musical history: flamenco. The film features the members of some of Spain’s most famous families of musicians.

Ich kenn keinen! - Allein unter Heteros (Talk Straight – The World of Rural Queers) by Jochen Hick (Germany)

Last represented in the Panorama of 2000 by his feature film No One Sleeps, Jochen Hick has once again devoted himself to a documentary. In it he takes stock of the state of emancipation in Germany in the age of gay marriages, whose popularity even conservative election campaigners have been wary to attack. Gay worlds are an established component of post-modern urban culture. Where then are the problems for four gay men in rural Swabia? They bear the crass comments that accompany their lives and are made by their “normal“ acquaintances and friends, between church choir and their regular pub, with calm and humility.

After a longer absence, AIDS is again a topic of feature films in the Competition and the Panorama. Two documentary films present socio-political contemplations:

Fight Back, Fight AIDS – 15 Years of ACT UP by James Wentzy (USA) When in the mid-80s, gays started dying like flies, the world turned its back. ACT UP became their effective voice in the media: and the very fact that this most patient of all minorities would summon up the energy to scream back “ACT UP”, had an unsettling effect on the world. This film depicts how their loosely organized, spectacular actions came about, and how Aids politicized the gay world toward self-responsibility: ashes are scattered onto the lawn outside of the White House of ignorant President Bush Sen., dead bodies laid out in front of Clinton who had broken his word – and the film historian Vito Russo (at the Panorama in 1983 with his lecture The Celluloid Closet) holds one of his last great speeches.

The Gift by Louise Hogarth (USA)

Twenty years after the appearance of Aids, the false belief has spread among younger generations that the disease is curable – or least one can live with it. But infection rates are rising again – also in the “gay community”, which had originally reacted exemplarily to the crisis and scored great successes with its educational campaign. It is phenomenal how quickly a collective memory can be wiped out, and how, in an anti-reaction to safe sex campaigns, a part of this very segment of the population is now consciously taking risks. The film explores the reasons for this shift, and gives people of all ages and different horizons a chance to speak.

“Berlin and Beyond” could be the heading above the four German contributions which examine both the present and the past:

Herr Wichmann von der CDU (Vote for Henryk!) by Andreas Dresen (Germany) A detailed look at the mental state of the eastern half of the nation: “Fresh wind will set politics in motion” – this is the election campaign slogan of Henryk Wichmann, 25, from the CDU. In the summer of 2002, he is a candidate for the German Bundestag and his district is Uckermark/Oberbarnim, at the very northeast of Brandenburg province. The region traditionally votes for the SPD, but Wichmann defiantly travels across the countryside and does not give up…

In 2002 Andreas Dresen presented Halbe Treppe (Grill Point) and in 1999 Nachtgestalten (Night Shapes) in the Competition of the Berlinale.

Ich bin, Gott sei Dank, beim Film! (Thank God, I’m in the Movies!) by Lothar Lambert (Germany) Feature-film director and icon of the underground, Lothar Lambert, whose films have often been screened in the Panorama, pays tribute to Berliner filmmaker Eva Ebner in a documentary. Her professional life is as old as the Federal Republic itself – be it as assistant director behind the camera or as actress in front of it. Whether Mädchen in Uniform (Girls in Uniform, 1953), Atze Brauner’s CCC Studios, the legendary Edgar Wallace films from the 60s or Ulrike Ottinger’s works – film history is a part of her. At eighty, however, she still has a disturbed relationship to the events of her childhood and her youth in Danzig, where experiences of having to flee and hide from the Nazi regime were deeply formative.

Bruno S. – Die Fremde ist der Tod (Estrangement – Is Death) by Miron Zownir (Germany)

When Bruno S. – whose previous life had taken place without any sort of recognition from society, in homes, shelters for the homeless and psychiatric institutions – went to the Cannes Film Festival in 1975, he was celebrated like a star. With his performance as Kaspar Hauser in Werner Herzog’s film Jeder für sich und Gott gegen alle (Every Man for Himself, and God against All), it seemed that this scorned outsider had finally succeeded in breaking out of his isolation. Also in his next film, Stroszek, Herzog cast Bruno S. in the lead – but then? This portrait by photographer Miron Zownir portrays an individual who, despite all disadvantages and without assistance from others, makes a way for himself.

Die Ritterinnen (The Female Knights) by Barbara Teufel (Germany)

A typical setting for Berlin in the 80s: a flat in Kreuzberg, a women’s commune – emancipated, even militant. Some simply wanted to do everything without men, the others took a more relaxed view. When the Wall fell, the world changed… What became of the visions and desires of these so powerful times? Young women today try to understand the self-confident rebellion of those days – and the “original women” from the Ritterstraße take a look back.

Three documentary short films complete the programme:

Moglem byc czlowiekiem (I Could Have Been Human) by Barbara Medajska (Poland), about the inhuman existence of coal scavengers who live at a dump; Haçla (The Fence) by Tariq Teguia (Algeria/ France), in which interviews with young Algerians document the dismal mood of hopelessness;

Just Call Me Kade by Sam Zolten (USA), about the open and supportive way a young family in the USA deal with their female-to-male transgendered child during puberty.

And as an homage to the filmmaker and co-founder of the Turin Gay&Lesbian Film Festival, Ottavio Mai:

Ottavio Mario Mai by Giovanni Minerba and Alessandro Golinelli (Italy) Ten years after his death, the filmmaker Ottavio Mai who founded the festival in 1986 with Giovanni Minerba, his professional partner and life companion, is honored with excerpts from his films and interviews with Italian artists and intellectuals. Simultaneously, a picture of Italy in the 70s unfolds, at the time when FIORI! was launched, the country’s first gay movement. The festival has become one of the most important events for films dealing with gay, lesbian and transgender issues worldwide.

January 17, 2003

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2003

Panorama

17.01.2003:
Panorama Dokumente: Geschichte und Ortsbestimmung

Seit dem Umzug des Festivals an den Potsdamer Platz hat die Panorama-Reihe Dokumente mit dem CineStar 3 ein eigenes Haus. Seitdem ist die Popularität der Reihe kontinuierlich gestiegen, so dass in diesem Jahr zwei Filme im Panorama-Hauptprogramm-Kino CinemaxX7 präsentiert werden:

Eröffnungsfilm Panorama Dokumente - am 07. 02. 03 im CinemaxX7 Traces of a Dragon: Jackie Chan and his Lost Family von Mabel Cheung und Alex Law (Hongkong, China).

Jackie Chan, einer der vielbeschäftigtsten Stars der Filmgeschichte und Hongkongs Martial Arts- und Stuntheld Nummer 1, entwickelt im Gespräch mit seinem Vater anhand der erstaunlichen Familiengeschichte, in der sich die Wirren der Entwicklung Chinas im letzten Jahrhundert widerspiegeln, wie nebenbei auch die bewegte Geschichte Hongkongs. Unterstützt durch umfangreiches, unbekanntes Archivmaterial machen die Filmemacher diesen Film zu einem Glanzstück. Alex Law zeigte 1989 seinen Painted Faces im Panorama, Koautorin war Mabel Cheung.

Comandante von Oliver Stone (Spanien) - ebenfalls im CinemaxX7

Zuletzt mit Any Given Sunday im Wettbewerb der Berlinale 2000 und 1988 mit Wall Street im Panorama vertreten, kehrt Oliver Stone nach drei Jahren wieder zurück zum Dokumentarischen. Er besucht eine der interessantesten Figuren des letzten Jahrhunderts: Fidel Castro. Über mehrere Tage wird der Privatmann Castro erlebbar, der Stone seine Gedanken zu Ché Guevara, seine Einschätzungen von Kennedy, Nixon, der Demokratie und sein Verhältnis zum Leben in einem spannenden Dialog erläutert.

Ein Thema, das in mehreren Panorama-Spielfilmen, aber auch in Beiträgen anderer Festival-Sektionen bis hin zum Berlinale Talent Campus reflektiert wird, ist der Konflikt in Nahost:

Local Angel - Theological Political Fragments von Udi Aloni (USA, Israel) Udi Alonis Versuch, den theologisch-politischen Hintergrund zu begreifen, vor dem seine Mutter Shulamit Aloni seit Jahren als Friedensaktivistin und Gründerin des Israeli Civil Rights Movement agiert, ist der Kern dieses Films. Er enthält Begegnungen mit Hanan Ashrawi - in vieler Hinsicht die palästinensische Schwester seiner Mutter - und Yassir Arafat sowie Beobachtungen führender fortschrittlicher israelischer und palästinensischer Intellektueller. Ausweglosigkeit kann keine Perspektive sein, schon gar nicht für die Jugend. Inspiration vermittelt Udi Aloni, indem er palästinensische und israelische Rapper zu Wort kommen lässt.

Le chant du millenaire (The Song of the Millennium) von Mohamed Zran (Frankreich, Tunesien)

Reflektion, Ortsbestimmung aus dem Mund derer, die sonst nie zu Wort kommen: Zran öffnet mit seinem Film dem Zuschauer das Land und die Menschen, deren Zukunftsträume sich an der Realität Tunesiens messen müssen. Der Panorama-Spielfilm El Kotbia (The Bookstore) von Nawfel Saheb Ettaba fügt dem Thema weitere Erfahrenselemente hinzu.

Polígono sur (Seville, South Side) von Dominique Abel (Spanien, Frankreich) Lebensraum: vordringliches Thema für die Bevölkerung des Gitano-Viertels “Las tres mil” in Sevilla. In den 60er Jahren zur Sesshaftigkeit in der Satellitenstadt verführt, traut sich heute kaum noch die Polizei in das Viertel, der öffentliche Nahverkehr ist eingestellt. Sevilla musste symbolisch den Platz einnehmen, den das verheißene Land der Gitanos, Andalusien, in der Mentalität heute noch hat - Andalusien, wo sie die Hauptrolle spielten bei der Entwicklung einer der großen musikalischen Ausdrucksformen der Musikgeschichte: Flamenco. Mit Mitgliedern einiger der bekanntesten Musikerfamilien Spaniens.

Ich kenn keinen! - Allein unter Heteros (Talk Straight – The World of Rural Queers) von Jochen Hick (Deutschland)

Zuletzt mit seinem Spielfilm No One Sleeps im Panorama 2000 vertreten, wendet sich Jochen Hick wieder dem Dokumentarfilm zu. Eine Bestandsaufnahme der emanzipatorischen Befindlichkeit in Deutschland zu Zeiten der “Homo-Ehe”, deren Popularität nicht einmal der konservative Wahlkampf angreifen wollte. Schwule Lebenswelten sind etablierter Bestandteil einer postmodernen städtischen Kultur. Wo gibt es da noch Probleme für vier schwule Männer im ländlichen Schwaben? Dass ihre Lebensweise von den „normalen“ Bekannten und Freunden zwischen Kirchenchor und Stammtisch mit starken Sprüchen begleitet wird, ertragen sie gelassen und mit großer Bescheidenheit.

Nach längerer Abwesenheit wieder Thema in Spielfilmen des Wettbewerbs und im Panorama: AIDS. Zwei Dokumentarfilme stellen soziologisch-politische Betrachtungen an:

Fight Back, Fight AIDS – 15 Years of ACT UP von James Wentzy (USA) Als in den Mittachtzigern Schwule wie die Fliegen anfingen zu sterben, sah die Welt weg. ACT UP wurde zu ihrer medienwirksamen Stimme: Und dass diese duldsamste aller Minderheiten die Energie aufbringen würde, “HANDELT” (“ACT UP”) zurückzuschreien, verstörte die Welt. Wie es zu den medienspektakulären Aktionen der losen Organisation kam und wie Aids die schwule Welt zur Selbstverantwortlichkeit politisierte, zeigt dieser Film: Dem ignoranten Präsidenten Bush Sen. wird die Asche auf die Wiese vor dem Weißen Haus gestreut, vor dem wortbrüchigen Clinton werden Leichen aufgebahrt - und der Filmwissenschaftler Vito Russo (mit seinem Vortrag The Celluloid Closet 1983 im Panorama) hält eine seiner letzten großen Reden.

The Gift von Louise Hogarth (USA)

Zwanzig Jahre nach dem ersten Auftreten von Aids hat sich bei jüngeren Generationen der falsche Glaube breitgemacht, die Krankheit sei heilbar - oder man könne zumindest mit ihr leben. Aber die Infektionszahlen steigen wieder - auch in der “gay community”, die damals vorbildlich auf die Krise reagierte und mit Aufklärung die größten Erfolge zu verzeichnen hatte. Wie schnell ein kollektives Gedächtnis verlöschen kann und dass Teile dieser Bevölkerungsgruppe, in Anti-Reaktion auf die Safer-Sex-Kampagnen, bewusst Risiken eingehen, ist ein Phänomen. Der Film geht den Gründen nach und lässt Menschen aller Altersgruppen und Erfahrungshorizonte zu Wort kommen.

“Berlin and beyond” könnte über den vier deutschen Beiträgen stehen, die das Jetzt und das Damals im Blick haben:

Herr Wichmann von der CDU (Vote for Henryk! ) von Andreas Dresen (Deutschland)

Ein tiefer Blick auf die mentale Verfassung der Republik-Ost: “Frischer Wind bringt Bewegung in die Politik” – das ist der Wahlkampfslogan von Henryk Wichmann, 25, CDU. Er kandidiert im Sommer 2002 für den Deutschen Bundestag und sein Wahlkreis heißt Uckermark/Oberbarnim, ganz im Nordosten von Brandenburg. Die Region wählt traditionell SPD, aber Wichmann fährt trotzig übers Land und gibt nicht auf...

Andreas Dresen zeigte 2002 Halbe Treppe (Grill Point) und 1999 Nachtgestalten (Night Shapes) im Wettbewerb der Berlinale.

Ich bin, Gott sei Dank, beim Film! von Lothar Lambert (Deutschland)

Spielfilmregisseur und Underground-Ikone Lothar Lambert, dessen Filme schon des öfteren im Panorama zu sehen waren, zeigt eine dokumentarische Hommage an die Berliner Filmschaffende Eva Ebner. Ihr professionelles Leben ist so alt wie die Bundesrepublik selbst - sei es als Regieassistentin hinter der Kamera oder als Schauspielerin davor. Ob Mädchen in Uniform (1953), Atze Brauners CCC-Studios, die legendären Edgar Wallace-Verfilmungen der Sechziger oder Ulrike Ottingers Filme - Filmgeschichte ist ein Teil von ihr. Gebrochen ist allerdings das Verhältnis der nunmehr 80-jährigen zu den Ereignissen ihrer Kindheit und Jugend in Danzig, als Flucht und Verstecken vor dem Nazi-Regime prägend wurden.

Bruno S. – Die Fremde ist der Tod von Miron Zownir (Deutschland)

Als Bruno S., dessen Leben sich bis dahin ohne jegliche Form von gesellschaftlicher Anerkennung in Heimen, Obdachlosenasylen und psychiatrischen Anstalten abgespielt hatte, 1975 zu den Filmfestspielen nach Cannes reiste, wurde er dort wie ein Star gefeiert. Durch seine Darstellung des Kaspar Hauser in Werner Herzogs Film Jeder für sich und Gott gegen alle schien dem verspotteten Außenseiter endlich der Ausbruch aus seiner Isolation gelungen. Auch für seinen nächsten Film Stroszek besetzte Herzog Bruno S. in der Hauptrolle - und dann? Das Portrait des Fotografen Miron Zownir zeigt einen Menschen, der sich allen Benachteiligungen zum Trotz, ohne fremde Hilfe einen eigenständigen Weg erkämpft.

Die Ritterinnen (The Female Knights) von Barbara Teufel (Deutschland)

Typisches Setting für Berlin in den Achtzigern: Frauenwohngemeinschaft in Kreuzberg - emanzipatorisch, durchaus militant. Die einen wollten einfach alles ohne Männer machen, die anderen sahen das nicht so eng. Als dann die Mauer fiel, veränderte sich die Welt... Was wurde aus den Visionen, den Sehnsüchten dieser kraftvollen Zeit? Junge Frauen von heute versuchen, sich in das selbstbewußte Aufbäumen jener Tage hineinzufühlen - die “Originalfrauen” aus der Ritterstraße blicken zurück.

Drei dokumentarische Kurzfilme ergänzen das Programm:

Moglem byc czlowiekiem (I Could Have Been Human) von Barbara Medajska (Polen), über das unmenschliche Dasein von Kohlearbeitern, die auf einer Müllhalde leben. Haçla (The Fence) von Tariq Teguia (Algerien/ Frankreich)

Interviews mit jungen Algeriern dokumentieren die Stimmung trauriger Ausweglosigkeit.

Just Call Me Kade von Sam Zolten (USA), über den aufgeschlossenen Umgang einer jungen Familie in den USA mit ihrem Frau-zu-Mann-transidentischen Kind in der Pubertät.

Hommage an den Filmemacher und Mitgründer des Turin Gay&Lesbian Film Festivals, Ottavio Mai:

Ottavio Mario Mai von Giovanni Minerba und Alessandro Golinelli (Italien) Der Filmemacher Ottavio Mai, der zusammen mit seinem Arbeits- und Lebenspartner Giovanni Minerba das Festival 1986 gegründet hat, wird zehn Jahre nach seinem Tod mit Filmausschnitten aus seinen Werken und in Gesprächen italienischer Künstler und Intellektueller gewürdigt. Dabei entsteht auch das Bild Italiens in den Siebzigern zur Zeit der Gründung von FIORI!, der ersten Schwulenbewegung des Landes. Das Festival ist inzwischen eines der wichtigsten Veranstaltungen für Filme schwul-lesbisch-transidentischer Thematik weltweit geworden.

17. Januar 2003