Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2003

Berlinale Talent Campus

Jan 20, 2003:
First Berlinale Talent Campus unites 500 filmmakers from all around the world

Industry and public invited to screenings and discussions with international filmmakers

500 filmmakers from 61 countries will join the Berlinale Talent Campus, a winter academy of filmmaking, from February 10 to 14, 2003. 150 of them are from Germany, others come from the UK (76), Spain (21), the US (32) and France (16) as well as Argentina (6), Israel (5), Poland (7), India (2), Australia (5) and many other countries. Most of the up-and-coming filmmakers are directors but producers, writers, cinematographers as well as actors are also participating.

The Berlinale Talent Campus, initiated by the Berlin International Film Festival, with co-founding partners Filmboard Berlin-Brandenburg and UK Film Council, has set up an exciting and challenging programme of workshops, screenings, discussions, and case studies led by industry professionals. The working language of all events is English and whilst the morning events are open only to the participating talent campus filmmakers, the afternoon sessions are open to industry delegates attending the film festival as well as the public. Some of the highlights of the 28 public events are:

Wim Wenders, one of the most important directors on the international scene (Paris, Texas, Buena Vista Social Club) and the renowned actor and director Dennis Hopper (Easy Rider, Blue Velvet) will be talking about the ups and downs in their lives in Wenders and Hopper: Until the End of the World. Before the interview, there will be a screening of the feature documentary Dennis Hopper: Create (or Die) by Henning Lohner and Ariane Riecker.

The market directors from Rotterdam, Toronto, Berlin, IFP New York, and Pusan will help young filmmakers with the sales aspect of the commercial film business. In Markets & Sales: Now Comes the Hard Part, they will discuss which markets are appropriate for what kind of film and how to plan market strategies and world-wide distribution.

International award winning production designer Ken Adam (Bond films, The Madness of King George) will be the guest of an audience discussion following the screening of War Rooms and Volcanoes. Ken Adam – Film Sets Are Forever, a documentary by Plenio Filmproduktion.

Thomas Hailer, director of the Kinderfilmfest, will present a screening of Elina – As If I Wasn’t There by Klaus Härö. Afterwards, the discussion with director, producer and screenwriter will try to identify just what constitutes a successful co-operation with children in front of the camera.

Rainer Kölmel, Cedomir Kolar and Nik Powell will hold a lesson in damage control: Bancruptcy and Resurrection. They all have something in common: a passion for cinema, for success - and the experience of failing. The Kölmel brothers‘ leading arthouse distribution company (Kinowelt) had to declare insolvency in 2001. Cedomir Kolar and Nik Powell both produced Oscar winning films – and ironically went bankrupt with them. What can future producers learn from these guys, besides their well-known humour and their energy for resurrection?

Mathilde Bonnefoy (Editor Run Lola Run, Heaven) will use samples of her work to demonstrate how each editing decision is fundamental for the entire plot. Her workshop, The Power of Editing, focuses on the effect editing has on a film’s dramaturgy.

The Berlinale Short Night is a special treat: Some of this year’s Campus participants are also represented in the official programme of the Berlin International Film Festival. This special screening features all of their short films and includes an open discussion with the filmmakers.

VARIETY and Screen Digest present The A-Z of E-Cinema, an overview of digital filmmaking, a technology which could re-write the rules for how films get made and shown.

Another film programme is dedicated to this year’s Shooting Stars of the European Film Promotion. Santa Maradona by Marco Ponti with Italian Shooting Star Libero De Rienzo, proves that becoming an adult does not have to mean losing your innocence and love of life. Liz Gil‘s Goldfish Memory with Irish Shooting Star Flora Montgomery is a light-hearted look at the dangers and delights of dating in contemporary Dublin. And Falling Sky by Gunnar Vikene tells the story of Reider (Kristoffer Joner, Norwegian Shooting Star), who expects to get hit in the head by a meteor. He wants to save the planets - well, at least the Earth before. And finally, in Nudos (Lluís Maria Güell) with Spanish Shooting Star Goya Toleda, the investigation of a „mysterious“ death leads to a relationship which will change the investigating lawyer’s world...

The evening film programme New Russian Cinema shows various films from Russia. The opening film Shik by Bakhtyar Khudojnazarov (Luna Papa) tells the heart-warming story of three young friends, who wish to own a suit. The Short Film programme presents a video documentary following Chechen children on their trip through Moscow (Home Video), amongst others. Another evening features television productions, e.g. Brigade, one of the most successful Russian series: Four best buddies turn into criminals after returning home from the military. One evening is dedicated to the actor and director Sergei Bodrov Jr. who died last year. In Prisoner of the Mountains, a Tolstoy adaptation, he plays a young soldier, imprisoned in the Caucasus.

The Berlinale Talent Campus is a project of the Berlin International Film Festival, in co-operation with Filmboard Berlin-Brandenburg, UK Film Council, MEDIA Promotion and House of World Cultures. Organised by Master School Drehbuch Berlin.

The Berlinale Talent Campus is supported by:

APPLE, ARRI, Australian Embassy, AVID, British Council, Canadian Embassy, Deutsche Bahn, Embassy of Spain, Embassy of the United States of America, Federal Foreign Office, Film Commission Torino Piemonte, French Embassy in Berlin, Gahrens+Battermann, German Academic Exchange Service, German Federal Film Board, Goethe Institute Inter Nationes, Heinrich-Böll-Foundation, Hellenic Foundation for Culture, Israeli Embassy, Italian Embassy, KODAK, Lufthansa, Ministry of Culture and Education of Iceland, Mitte’s backpacker hostel, Planet TV, PricewaterhouseCoopers, q~est Systemhaus, Senate Department for Economics, Labour and Women's Issues, SONY, Trigger Happy Film Production, Vöslauer and Volkswagen AG.

The Berlin International Film Festival is a division of the Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin GmbH and is funded by the Federal Commissioner for Culture and Media.

Tuesday, January 21, 2003

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2003

Berlinale Talent Campus

20.01.2003:
Erster Berlinale Talent Campus vereint 500 Filmemacher aus der ganzen Welt

Fachbesucher und Öffentlichkeit zu Vorführungen und Diskussionen mit internationalen Filmemachern eingeladen

500 Filmemacher aus 61 Ländern kommen zum Berlinale Talent Campus, einer einwöchigen Winterakademie rund um das Thema Film vom 10. bis 14. Februar 2003. 150 von ihnen sind aus Deutschland, weitere Teilnehmer kommen aus Großbritannien (76), Spanien (21), den USA (32) und Frankreich (16), aus Argentinien (6), Israel (5), Polen (7), Indien (2), Australien (5) und vielen anderen Ländern. Die meisten der Nachwuchsfilmer sind Regisseure, aber auch Produzenten, Autoren, Kameraleute und Schauspieler sind vertreten.

Der Berlinale Talent Campus, initiiert von den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin, gemeinsam mit den Gründungspartnern Filmboard Berlin-Brandenburg und U.K. Film Council, hat ein aufregendes und anspruchsvolles Programm von Workshops, Vorführungen, Diskussionen und Fallstudien unter Leitung von Profis aus der Filmbranche zusammengestellt. Alle Veranstaltungen werden auf Englisch abgehalten und während der Berlinale Talent Campus morgens nur für die teilnehmenden Filmemacher geöffnet ist, sind die Nachmittagsveranstaltungen auch Fachbesuchern und der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich. Einige der Höhepunkte der 28 öffentlichen Veranstaltungen sind:

Die weltberühmten Filmemacher Wim Wenders (Paris, Texas, Buena Vista Social Club) und Dennis Hopper (Easy Rider, Blue Velvet) erzählen in Wenders and Hopper: Until the End of the World von den Höhen und Tiefen ihres Lebens. Das Gespräch folgt auf eine Vorführung des Dokumentarfilms Dennis Hopper: Create (or Die) von Henning Lohner und Ariane Riecker.

Die Marktleiter aus Rotterdam, Toronto, Berlin, IFP New York und Pusan helfen jungen Filmemachern: Markets & Sales: Now Comes the Hard Part ist eine Expertenrunde zum Thema Filmvermarktung. Welcher Markt entspricht meinem Film? Wie plant man Marktstrategien und weltweiten Vertrieb?

Der wohl bekannteste Production Designer der Filmgeschichte, Ken Adam (James Bond-Filme, The Madness of King George), wird nach der Vorführung von War Rooms and Volcanoes. Ken Adam – Film Sets Are Forever (Plenio Filmproduktion) im Martin-Gropius-Bau an einer Publikumsdiskussion teilnehmen.

Thomas Hailer, Leiter des Kinderfilmfests, präsentiert eine Vorführung von Elina – As If I Wasn’t There von Klaus Härö. Im Anschluss beschäftigt sich eine Diskussion in Anwesenheit von Regisseur, Produzent und Drehbuchautor damit, wie man vor der Kamera erfolgreich mit Kindern arbeiten kann.

Rainer Kölmel, Cedomir Kolar und Nik Powell erteilen Unterricht in Schadensbegrenuzung: Bancruptcy and Resurrection. Sie alle haben etwas gemeinsam: die Leidenschaft für Kino, für Erfolg - und die Erfahrung des Scheiterns. Die Kölmel Brüder (Kinowelt) mussten 2001 Insolvenz anmelden. Cedomir Kolar und Nik Powell haben beide einen Oscar gewonnen – und sind mit ihren Filmen bankrott gegangen. Was können zukünftige Produzenten von ihnen lernen – abgesehen von einer guten Portion Humor und dem Willen, weiter zu machen?

Mathilde Bonnefoy (Schnitt Lola Rennt, Heaven) benutzt Beispiele ihrer Arbeit, um zu illustrieren, wie jede Schnittentscheidung für die Handlung ausschlaggebend sein kann. Der Workshop The Power of Editing beschäftigt sich mit der Bedeutung des Schnitts für die Dramaturgie eines Films.

Die Berlinale Short Night bietet eine ganz besondere Filmreihe: Einige der Campus-Teilnehmer sind auch im offiziellen Programm der Berlinale vertreten. Diese Filmnacht zeigt alle ihre Kurzfilme und beinhaltet ein Gespräch mit den jungen Filmemachern.

VARIETY und Screen Digest präsentieren The A-Z of E-Cinema, eine Überblicksveranstaltung zum Thema „digitaler Film” – einer Technologie, die die Regeln des Filmgeschäfts komplett verändern könnte.

Eine weitere Filmreihe ist den Shooting Stars gewidmet. Der Film Santa Maradona von Marco Ponti mit dem italienischen Shooting Star Libero De Rienzo beweist, dass das Erwachsenwerden nicht unvereinbar ist mit einer Liebe für das Leben. Liz Gils Goldfish Memory mit dem irischen Shooting Star Flora Montgomery bietet einen unbeschwerten Blick auf die Gefahren und Freuden beim Dating im heutigen Dublin. Und Falling Sky von Gunnar Vikene erzählt die Geschichte von Reider (Kristoffer Joner, norwegischer Shooting Star), der damit rechnet, dass er von einem Meteor erschlagen wird und zuvor noch die Erde retten will. Und in Nudos (Lluís Maria Güell) stellt eine Anwältin (spanischer Shooting Star Goya Toleda) bei der Untersuchung eines Todesfalls fest, dass auch ihr Leben sich ändern wird.

Die abendliche Filmreihe New Russian Cinema gibt einen Überblick über den zeitgenössischen russischen Film. Der Eröffnungsfilm Shik von Bakhtyar Khudojnazarov (Luna Papa) erzählt die Geschichte von drei jungen Freunden und ihrem Wunsch einen Anzug zu besitzen. Zum Kurzfilmprogramm gehört u. a. ein Dokumentarvideo, das tschetschenischen Kindern auf ihrer Fahrt durch Moskau folgt (Home Video). Ein weiterer Abend zeigt Fernsehproduktionen wie Brigade, eine der erfolgreichsten russischen Serien: Vier Freunde werden nach ihrer Rückkehr vom Militär zu Kriminellen. Ein Abend ist dem letztes Jahr verstorbenen Schauspieler und Regisseur Sergej Bodrov jun. gewidmet. In Prisoner of the Mountains, einer Tolstoi-Adaption, kann man ihn noch einmal in der Rolle eines im Kaukasus inhaftierten Soldaten sehen.

Der Berlinale Talent Campus wird unterstützt von:

APPLE, ARRI, Australische Botschaft, Auswärtiges Amt, AVID, Botschaft der Vereinigten Staaten, Botschaft des Staates Israel, Botschaft von Canada, Botschaft von Spanien, British Council, Deutsche Bahn, Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst, FFA Filmförderungsanstalt, Film Commission Torino Piemonte, Französische Botschaft, Gahrens+Battermann, Goethe-Institut Inter Nationes, Griechische Kulturstiftung, Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung, Italienische Botschaft, KODAK, Kulturministerium von Island, Lufthansa, Mitte’s Backpacker Hostel, Planet TV, PricewaterhouseCoopers, q~est Systemhaus, Senatsverwaltung für Wirtschaft, Arbeit und Frauen Berlin, SONY, Trigger Happy Production, Vöslauer und Volkswagen AG.

Der Berlinale Talent Campus ist ein Projekt der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin, in Kooperation mit Filmboard Berlin-Brandenburg, U.K. Film Council, MEDIA Promotion und Haus der Kulturen der Welt. Organisiert von Master School Drehbuch Berlin.

Die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin sind ein Geschäftsbereich der Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin GmbH und werden gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien.

Dienstag, 21. Januar 2003