Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2003

Additional Information

Jan 21, 2003:
International Jury of the Berlinale 2003

Festival Director Dieter Kosslick has appointed seven members to the International Jury of the 53rd Berlin International Film Festival 2003. Headed by Canadian director Atom Egoyan, this international group of film experts will select the winners for the Golden and Silver Bears in the Competition.

Atom Egoyan - director (Canada), President of the International Jury

Atom Egoyan’s international breakthrough came in the 1987 Forum where he presented his feature film Family Viewing. His greatest successes include Calendar, Exotica, The Sweet Hereafter and his most recent work Ararat. This director, who has Armenian roots, has won numerous prizes at international film festivals including The Grand Prix and International Critics Awards from the Cannes Film Festival and two Academy Award® nominations. His art installations have been presented at museums and galleries throughout the world, including the Venice Biennale. Egoyan is currently working on a production of Wagner’s Ring Cycle for the Canadian Opera Company.

Martina Gedeck – actress (Germany)

As the beautiful, spirited cook in Bella Martha (Mostly Martha), Martina Gedeck won the hearts of audiences from Italy to the USA. The film also brought her the German Film Award 2002 as well as diverse international prizes. German movie-goers are acquainted with this multitalented actress of complex roles – whose screen career began in 1988 with Tiger, Löwe, Panther – from such successful hits as Der bewegte Mann (Maybe… Maybe Not), Das Leben ist eine Baustelle (Life is All You Get) or Rossini.

Anna Galiena – actress (Italy)

In Patrice Leconte’s Le Marie de la coiffeuse (The Hairdresser’s Husband) from 1990, she played an erotic hairstylist and loving wife – a role which was to earn Italian actress Anna Galiena international acclaim. She performed in the screen adaptation of Thomas Mann’s Mario und der Zauberer (Mario and the Magician) as well as in the international productions Jamón, Jamón and The Leading Man. Anna Galiena has acted in countless European productions as well as on American television and at the Public Theater in New York.

Kathryn Bigelow – director (USA)

Kathryn Bigelow is one of the few women directors to feel at home with the action genre. After years of working as a painter and conceptual artist, she switched to directing. Her first big hit was Blue Steel which was screened in the Berlinale Panorama in 1990. She excited critics and audiences with her film Strange Days in 1995, an action-packed thriller mixed with science-fiction. Her most recent film K-19: The Widowmaker ran last year in movie theaters all over the world.

Idrissa Ouedraogo – director (Burkina Faso)

One of Africa’s most internationally celebrated directors comes from Burkina Faso. Idrissa Ouedraogo won the FIPRESCI Award in Cannes with his film Yaaba in 1989, and has been a participant in the Berlinale twice. His film Samba Traoré screened in the Competition in 1993. Ouedraogo recently contributed as director to the production 11'09"01, a work that puts together short films about the events on September 11, 2001. Ouedraogo has also worked as a screenwriter and producer.

Humbert Balsan – producer (France)

After having acted in small roles, Humbert Balsan changed his profession in the late seventies and became a producer. Balsan has discovered and promoted a whole string of French filmmakers including Philippe Faucon and Sandrine Veysset. One of his most recent productions is Divine Intervention by Palestinian director Elia Suleiman, who received the Jury Prize in Cannes last year.

Geoffrey Gilmore – festival director (USA)

As director of the Sundance Film Festival in Park City/Utah, Geoffrey Gilmore is an indefatigable traveller when it comes to film. After years of responsibility for the festival’s program selection, Gilmore is one of the best authorities on international independent filmmaking. Moreover, with the Sundance Collection, Gilmore has established a unique independent film archive at the University of California in Los Angeles (UCLA). He is also active as advisor for many film organizations and projects.

The award ceremony of the 53rd Berlin International Film Festival will be held at the Berlinale Palast on Saturday, February 15, 2003.

January 21, 2003

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2003

Zusätzliches

21.01.2003:
Internationale Jury der Berlinale 2003

Festival-Direktor Dieter Kosslick hat sieben Mitglieder in die Internationale Jury für die 53. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin 2003 berufen. Unter Vorsitz des kanadischen Regisseurs Atom Egoyan entscheidet das international besetzte Gremium über die Vergabe der Goldenen und Silbernen Bären im Wettbewerb.

Atom Egoyan – Regisseur (Kanada), Präsident der Internationalen Jury

Mit dem Spielfilm Family Viewing, den Atom Egoyan 1987 im Forum der Berlinale vorstellte, gelang dem kanadischen Regisseur der internationale Durchbruch. Zu seinen großen Erfolgen gehören Calendar, Exotica, The Sweet Hereafter sowie sein jüngstes Werk Ararat. Der armenisch-stämmige Filmemacher hat zahlreiche Preise auf internationalen Festivals erhalten, darunter den Großen Preis der Jury und den Kritikerpreis in Cannes sowie zwei Oscar-Nominierungen. Seine Kunstinstallationen wurden weltweit in Museen und Galerien ausgestellt, einschließlich der Biennale in Venedig. Atom Egoyan arbeitet aktuell an einer Inszenierung des Ring von Wagner für die Canadian Opera Company.

Martina Gedeck – Schauspielerin (Deutschland)

Als schöne, temperamentvolle Köchin in Bella Martha eroberte Martina Gedeck die Herzen des Publikums von Italien bis nach Amerika, was ihr den Deutschen Filmpreis 2002 sowie verschiedene internationale Auszeichnungen bescherte. Deutsche Kinogänger kennen die vielseitige Charakter-Darstellerin, deren Leinwandkarriere 1988 mit Tiger, Löwe, Panther begann, aus Erfolgsfilmen wie Der bewegte Mann, Das Leben ist eine Baustelle oder Rossini.

Anna Galiena – Schauspielerin (Italien)

In Patrice Lecontes Der Mann der Friseuse gab sie 1990 eine erotische Haarkünstlerin und liebende Ehefrau – eine Rolle, die die italienische Schauspielerin Anna Galiena international bekannt machte. In der Thomas-Mann-Verfilmung Mario und der Zauberer war sie ebenso zu sehen wie in den internationalen Produktionen Jamón, Jamón und The Leading Man. Anna Galiena spielte in zahlreichen europäischen Produktionen sowie im amerikanischen Fernsehen und am Public Theater in New York.

Kathryn Bigelow – Regisseurin (USA)

Kathryn Bigelow ist eine der wenigen Frauen im Regiefach, die im Action-Genre beheimatet sind. Nach mehrjähriger Tätigkeit als Malerin und Konzeptkünstlerin begann sie ihre Karriere als Regisseurin. Ihr erster großer Erfolg Blue Steel war 1990 im Berlinale-Panorama zu sehen. 1995 begeisterte sie Kritik und Publikum mit dem Film Strange Days, einer actionreichen Mischung aus Thriller und Science-Fiction. Ihr jüngster Film K-19: The Widowmaker lief im vergangenen Jahr weltweit in den Kinos.

Idrissa Ouedraogo – Regisseur (Burkina Faso)

Aus Burkina Faso stammt einer der international bekanntesten afrikanischen Regisseure. Idrissa Ouedraogo gewann 1989 mit Yaaba den Fipresci-Preis in Cannes und war bereits zweimal Gast der Berlinale. 1993 war sein Film Samba Traoré im Wettbewerb zu sehen. Zuletzt wirkte Ouedraogo als Regisseur an der Produktion 11'09"01 mit, die Kurzfilme zu den Ereignissen des 11. September 2001 versammelt. Ouedraogo ist auch als Drehbuchautor und Produzent tätig.

Humbert Balsan – Produzent (Frankreich)

Nach kleineren Rollen als Schauspieler wechselte Humbert Balsan das Fach und wirkt seit Ende der 70er als Produzent. Balsan hat eine Reihe französischer Filmemacher entdeckt und gefördert, darunter Philippe Faucon und Sandrine Veysset. Zu seinen jüngsten Produktionen zählt der Film Divine Intervention des palästinensischen Regisseurs Elia Suleiman, der im vergangenen Jahr den Preis der Jury in Cannes erhielt.

Geoffrey Gilmore – Festivalleiter (USA)

Als Direktor des Sundance Film Festivals im amerikanischen Park City/Utah ist Geoffrey Gilmore ein unermüdlicher Reisender in Sachen Film. Lange Zeit für die Programmauswahl des Festivals zuständig, ist Gilmore einer der besten Kenner der internationalen Independent-Filmszene. An der University of California in Los Angeles (UCLA) hat Gilmore mit der Sundance Collection eine einzigartige Independent-Filmsammlung etabliert. Er ist als Berater für zahlreiche Filmorganisationen und -projekte tätig.

Die Preisverleihung der 53. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin findet am Samstag, 15. Februar 2003, im Berlinale-Palast statt.

21. Januar 2003