Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2003

Competition

Jan 22, 2003:
10 world premieres, stars and new talents – the Competition selection for the Berlinale 2003 is complete

The selection for the Competition programme of the 53rd Berlin International Film Festival has been concluded. A total of 22 films will compete in the Berlinale-Palast for the Golden and Silver Bears. Alongside five films to be shown out of competition, a number of special screenings will complement the Official Programme. There will also be two gala screenings, Lola in honour of Anouk Aimée and Tokyo Monogatari (Tokyo Story) on occasion of the retrospective for Yasujiro Ozu’s 100th birthday. The Competition programme includes 10 world premieres.

Competition programme

With the Chinese-German co-production Mang Jing (Blind Shaft), documentary film director Li Yang has completed his first feature film. His competition entry depicts daily life in an opencast coal mine in Northern China. Li Yi Xiang, Wang Shuang Bao and Wang Bao Qiang play the leading roles.

The world premiere of the Chinese film Zhou Yu de huoche (Zhou Yu’s Train) by Sun Zhou will screen out of competition. It tells a love story set in the north of China. International star Gong Li and Tony Leung play the protagonists.

Director Isabel Coixet will present her Spanish-Canadian co-production My Life Without Me in competition. Faced with a fatal illness, a young women re-examines her life. Sarah Polly, Amanda Plummer, Deborah Harry and Jessica Amlee star in the film.

Great Britain is represented in the competition by Michael Winterbottom’s In This World. The film deals with the destiny of a young Afghan emigrant, a destiny that stands for the sufferings of thousands of war refugees. Jamal Udin Torabi, Enayatullah and Imran Paracha play the principle characters.

Pieter Kramer’s second film Ja zuster, nee zuster (Yes Nurse, No Nurse) from the Netherlands will have its international premiere in competition. This musical comedy is based on a successful Dutch TV series from the 60s. The actors are Loes Luca, Paul de Leeuw and Paul R. Kooij.

The Australian entry Alexandra’s Project by Rolf de Heer will also be screening as a world premiere in competition. This famous independent filmmaker has staged a claustrophobic thriller about married couples. It features Gary Sweet, Helen Buday and Bogdan Koca.

Special screenings during the Official Programme

Danish Dogma filmmaker Thomas Vinterberg has set his first English-language production in New York. Screening out of competition, It’s all about Love is a genre mix, combining a love story, thriller and science fiction. Joaquin Phoenix, Claire Danes and Sean Penn play the leading roles.

For her film Italian for Beginners, Danish director Lone Scherfig won the Silver Bear at the Berlinale 2001. In Wilbur Wants to Kill Himself, she evolves the tale of a man in Scotland who is weary of life into a subtle comedy. Jamie Sives, Adrian Rawlins and Shirley Henderson co-star in this film, which is running out of competition.

Marceline Loridan-Ivens, widow of documentary pioneer Joris Ivens, reconstructs the story of her own deportation to Auschwitz in her feature film debut La petite prairie aux bouleaux (A Birch Tree Meadow). The leading role is played by Anouk Aimée, who will be this year’s guest of honour at the Berlinale. The festival’s screening of La petite prairie aux bouleaux is a world premiere.

In honour of this year’s president of the International Jury, Atom Egoyan, the Berlinale will show the Canadian director’s latest film in a special screening. Ararat portrays the genocide committed on Armenians after World War One, and weaves the present lives of Canadians of Armenian descent into these historical events. Arsinée Khanjian, David Alplay and Charles Aznavour co-star in the film.

In the German-Belorussian co-production Babij Jar, American director Jeff Kanew tells the tragic story of two families who desperately attempt to survive the Holocaust. In 1941, SS troops killed more than 33,000 people in the massacre of Babij Jar at the outskirts of Kiev. Artur Brauner, one of Germany’s most prominent film producers and in whose honour Babij Jar is being presented, has turned here to this little-known chapter of history. The main characters are played by Barbara de Rossi, Michael Degen and Axel Milberg.

Inspired by six Anton Chechov short stories, Michael Meredith depicts in Three Days of Rain, his directing debut, everyday conflicts in the lives of ordinary people. The characters are all faced with drastic changes. Don Meredith, Michael Santoro, Joey Bilow and Peter Falk perform in this US production, which is being presented by Wim Wenders.

January 22, 2003

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2003

Wettbewerb

22.01.2003:
10 Weltpremieren, Stars und neue Talente - Wettbewerbsauswahl Berlinale 2003 abgeschlossen

Die Auswahl für das Wettbewerbsprogramm der 53. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin ist abgeschlossen. Ingesamt 22 Filme werden im Berlinale-Palast um die Bären konkurrieren. Neben den fünf Filmen, die außer Konkurrenz gezeigt werden, wird das Offizielle Programm durch weitere Sondervorführungen ergänzt. Dazu kommen die Gala-Vorführungen Lola zu Ehren von Anouk Aimée und Tokyo Monogatari anlässlich der Werkschau zum 100. Geburtstag von Yasujiro Ozu. Das Wettbewerbsprogramm präsentiert 10 Weltpremieren.

Wettbewerbsprogramm

Mit der chinesisch-deutschen Ko-Produktion Mang Jing (Blinder Schacht) inszeniert der Dokumentarfilm-Regisseur Li Yang seinen ersten Spielfilm. Sein Wettbewerbsfilm schildert den Alltag in einem Kohletagebauwerk im Norden Chinas. Li Yi Xiang, Wang Shuang Bao und Wang Bao Qiang spielen die Hauptrollen.

Außer Konkurrenz und als Weltpremiere läuft der chinesische Beitrag Zhou Yu de huoche (Zhou Yus Zug) von Sun Zhou. Erzählt wird eine Liebesgeschichte in Nordchina. Der internationale Star Gong Li und Tony Leung spielen die Protagonisten.

Die Regisseurin Isabel Coixet zeigt die spanisch-kanadische Ko-Produktion My Life Without Me (Mein Leben ohne mich) im Wettbewerb. Eine junge Frau setzt sich angesichts einer tödlichen Krankheit neu mit ihrem Leben auseinander. Sarah Polly, Amanda Plummer, Deborah Harry und Jessica Amlee spielen die Hauptrollen.

Großbritannien ist mit Michael Winterbottoms Beitrag In this world (Auf der Welt) im Wettbewerb vertreten. In this world behandelt das Migrationsschicksal eines jungen Afghanen, welches stellvertretend für die Leiden tausender Kriegsflüchtlinge steht. Jamal Udin Torabi, Enayatullah und Imran Paracha spielen die Hauptrollen.

Aus den Niederlanden nimmt Pieter Kramers zweiter Film Ja zuster, nee zuster (Ja Schwester, nein Schwester) als Weltpremiere am Wettbewerb teil. Die Musical-Komödie basiert auf einer erfolgreichen niederländischen TV-Serie der 60er Jahre. Die Darsteller sind Loes Luca, Paul de Leeuw und Paul R. Kooij.

Der australische Beitrag Alexandra’s Project (Alexandras Projekt) von Rolf de Heer wird als Weltpremiere im Wettbewerb gezeigt. Der bekannte Independent-Filmer inszenierte einen klaustrophobischen Thriller über eheliche Beziehungen. Gary Sweet, Helen Buday und Bogdan Koca spielen die Hauptrollen.

Sondervorführungen im Offiziellen Programm

Der dänische Dogma-Filmer Thomas Vinterberg siedelt seine erste englisch-sprachige Produktion in New York an. Der außer Konkurrenz laufende Film It’s all about Love ist eine Genremischung aus Liebesgeschichte, Thriller und Science-Fiction. Joaquin Phoenix, Claire Danes und Sean Penn spielen die Hauptrollen.

Die dänische Regisseurin Lone Scherfig wurde auf der Berlinale 2001 für Italienisch für Anfänger mit dem Silbernen Bären ausgezeichnet. In Wilbur begår Selvmord (Wilbur begeht Selbstmord) inszeniert sie die Geschichte um einen lebensmüden Mann in Schottland als subtile Komödie. Jamie Sives, Adrian Rawlins und Shirley Henderson spielen die Hauptrollen in diesem Film, der außer Konkurrenz läuft.

Marceline Loridan-Ivens, Witwe des Dokumentarfilm-Pioniers Joris Ivens, rekonstruiert in ihrem Spielfilm-Debüt La petite prairie aux bouleaux (Birkenau und Rosenfeld) die Geschichte ihrer eigenen Deportation nach Auschwitz. Die Hauptrolle spielt Anouk Aimée, die in diesem Jahr Ehrengast der Berlinale ist. La petite prairie aux bouleaux läuft als Weltpremiere auf der Berlinale.

Zu Ehren des diesjährigen Präsidenten der Internationalen Jury, Atom Egoyan, zeigt die Berlinale den jüngsten Film des kanadischen Regisseurs in einer Sondervorführung.

Ararat schildert den Völkermord an den Armeniern nach dem ersten Weltkrieg und verknüpft den gegenwärtigen Alltag armenischstämmiger Kanadier mit den historischen Ereignissen. Die Hauptrollen spielen Arsinée Khanjian, David Alplay und Charles Aznavour.

Der amerikanische Regisseur Jeff Kanew erzählt in der deutsch-bielorussischen Produktion Babij Jar die Geschichte zweier Familien, die dem Holocaust zu entkommen versuchen. 1941 ermordeten SS-Truppen beim Massaker von Babij Jar am Stadtrand von Kiew mehr als 33 000 Menschen. Mit Artur Brauner, zu dessen Ehren Babij Jar präsentiert wird, hat sich einer der bekanntesten deutschen Filmproduzenten dieses Kapitels der Geschichte angenommen. Barbara de Rossi, Michael Degen und Axel Milberg spielen die Hauptrollen.

Inspiriert von sechs Kurzgeschichten Anton Tschechows schildert Michael Meredith in seinem Regiedebüt Three Days of Rain die alltäglichen Konflikte im Leben gewöhnlicher Menschen. Allen Figuren stehen einschneidende Veränderungen bevor.

Don Meredith, Michael Santoro, Joey Bilow und Peter Falk spielen die Hauptrollen in der US-Produktion, die von Wim Wenders präsentiert wird.

22. Januar 2003