Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2003

Additional Information

Jan 28, 2003:
Retrospective to Yasujiro Ozu

The 53rd Berlin International Film Festival 2003 is dedicating a retrospective to the Japanese director Yasujiro Ozu marking the 100th anniversary of this great master’s birthday. Ozu, who died in 1963, is one of the internationally most celebrated leaders of Japanese cinematography. His works have influenced many filmmakers, including Paul Schrader, Hou Hsiao Hsien and Wim Wenders.

In many of his films Ozu concerns himself with relationships within the family. Over the years he increasingly distilled his film language and replaced panned or moving shots with still takes. He insisted on using only a 50 mm lens on the camera which he always positioned at the eye-level of a person seated on the ground. As a tribute the Berlinale has chosen nine of the old master’s films which will be shown at a special screening in the Official Programme as well as in the Forum, Panorama and the Retrospective.

The opener at the Berlinale Palast will be one of Ozu’s most famous works Tokyo Monogatari (Tokyo Story) which premiered in 1953. An elderly couple travels to Tokyo to visit their children who soon feel their lives are being disrupted. After this painful experience, the old parents embark on their return journey during which the mother collapses. The children hurry to her deathbed and divide up the possessions.

Ozu concerned himself with the theme of ‘one family, two worlds’ as early as 1932 in Umarete Wa Mita Keredo (I was Born, But... ). Two adolescent boys rebel against their father when they see how humbly he acts towards his boss. In Ukigusa monogatari (A Story of Floating Weeds) (1934), which Ozu re-filmed in 1959 under the title Ukigusa (Floating Weeds), a travelling actor is surprised to learn that he has a son.

In Banshun (Late Spring) (1949) Ozu worked for the first time with his favourite actress Setsuko Hara who, in the film, wants to live with her father rather than marrying.

Ozu picked up this theme again in 1950 in Bakushu (Early Summer). The family ties threaten to break as a result of the daughter’s planned wedding. In Soshu (Early Spring) Ozu returned to the figures of his pre-war films. A lowly white-collar worker, tired of his wife and his job, starts an affair with a colleague.

In 1958 Ozu made his first colour film Higanbana (Equinox Flower) which depicts the rebellious younger generation. A daughter gets engaged to the man of her choice against her father’s will.

Ozu cast an ironic look at strict Japanese customs in 1959 with Ohayô (Good Morning). Two boys beg to have a television. The father is prepared to fulfil their wish, on condition that they are finally quiet, but their silence causes a tumult in the whole village.

In 1960 Ozu filmed Akibiyori (Late Autumn), a remake of Late Spring. A daughter rejects all proposals of marriage, as she wants to stay with her widowed mother.

After the Berlinale, the retrospective, which was launched in co-operation with the Japanese right-owner Shochiku Co. Ltd., the Japanese Embassy in Berlin and the Japanese Cultural Institute in Cologne, will be touring other international film festivals including Hong Kong and New York. Starting in February 2003, the Arsenal cinema in Berlin will be showing a comprehensive retrospective of Ozu’s films.

January 28, 2003

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2003

Zusätzliches

28.01.2003:
Werkschau von Yasujiro Ozu

Anlässlich des 100. Geburtstags des japanischen Regisseurs Yasujiro Ozu am 12. Dezember 2003 widmen die 53. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin dem großen Meister eine Werkschau. Der 1963 verstorbene Filmemacher zählt zu den international renommiertesten Leitfiguren des japanischen Kinos. Seine Werke beeinflussten Filmemacher wie Paul Schrader, Hou Hsiao Hsien oder Wim Wenders.

In vielen seiner Filme thematisierte Ozu das Verhältnis innerhalb der Familie. Im Laufe der Zeit reduzierte er zunehmend die Mittel seiner Filmsprache und ersetzte Schwenks oder Fahrten durch starre Einstellungen. An der Kamera, die er stets in Augenhöhe eines auf dem Boden Sitzenden positionierte, akzeptierte er nur ein 50-mm-Objektiv. Zu Ehren des japanischen Altmeisters präsentiert die Berlinale neun seiner Filme, die als Sondervorführung im Offiziellen Programm sowie im Forum, Panorama und der Retrospektive gezeigt werden.

Zum Auftakt ist im Berlinale Palast mit Tokyo Monogatari (Tokyo Story) aus dem Jahre 1953 eines seiner berühmtesten Werke zu sehen. Ein altes Ehepaar besucht seine Kinder in Tokio, die sich bald in ihrem Alltag gestört fühlen. Nach dieser schmerzvollen Erfahrung treten die alten Menschen die Heimreise an, bei der die Mutter zusammenbricht. Die Kinder eilen an ihr Sterbebett und teilen den Besitz auf.

Mit dem Sujet „eine Familie - zwei Welten“ beschäftigte sich Ozu schon 1932 in Umarete Wa Mita Keredo (I was Born, But). Zwei halbwüchsige Jungen lehnen sich gegen ihren Vater auf, als sie bemerken, wie devot er vor seinem Chef auftritt.

Von der Existenz seines Sohnes wird ein Wanderschauspieler in Ukigusa monogatari (A Story of Floating Weeds) (1934) überrascht, den Ozu 1959 unter dem Titel Ukigusa erneut verfilmte.

In Banshun (Late Spring) (1949) arbeitete Ozu zum ersten Mal mit seiner Lieblingsschauspielerin Setsuko Hara zusammen, die nicht heiraten, sondern bei ihrem Vater leben möchte.

Diese Thematik griff Ozu 1950 in Bakushu (Early Summer) wieder auf. Durch die geplante Hochzeit der Tochter drohen die Familienbande auseinander zu brechen.

Mit Soshu (Early Spring) kehrte Ozu 1956 zu den Personen seiner Vorkriegsfilme zurück. Ein kleiner Angestellter, der seine Frau und die Arbeit satt hat, beginnt ein Verhältnis mit einer Kollegin.

1958 entstand Ozus erster Farbfilm Higanbana (Equinox Flower), der die rebellierende jüngere Generation zeigt. Eine Tochter verlobt sich gegen den Willen ihres Vaters mit dem Mann ihrer Wahl.

Einen ironischen Blick auf die strengen japanischen Sitten warf Ozu 1959 in Ohayô (Good Morning). Zwei Jungen betteln um einen Fernseher. Der Vater will ihnen diesen Wunsch erfüllen, wenn sie endlich schweigen. Doch ihre Stille sorgt für Tumult im ganzen Dorf.

Mit Late Autumn drehte Ozu 1960 ein Remake von Late Spring. Eine Tochter schlägt alle Heiratsanträge aus, da sie bei ihrer verwitweten Mutter bleiben will.

Nach der Berlinale wird die Werkschau, die in Kooperation mit dem japanischen Rechteinhaber Shochiku Co. Ltd., der Japanischen Botschaft in Berlin sowie dem Japanischen Kulturinstitut in Köln initiiert wurde, auf weiteren internationalen Festivals wie Hongkong oder New York fortgeführt. Eine ausführliche Retrospektive mit Ozus Filmen läuft ab Februar 2003 im Arsenal-Kino in Berlin.

28. Januar 2003