Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2003

Additional Information

Jan 28, 2003:
Business enterprises support the 53rd Berlin International Film Festival. The Berlinale as a big economic factor for both Germany and the City State of Berlin

This year’s Berlinale has succeeded in securing contributions amounting to more than 1 million Euros in direct financial support as well as many significant benefits in kind from its sponsors. Without such generous assistance, it would not be possible for the Berlinale to be held in its present form. Hence, the partners of the festival deserve our most grateful recognition. In times like these, their commitment should not be taken for granted.

Nevertheless, the fact that our partners have become involved to such a great degree can only be viewed as confirmation of the Berlinale’s great appeal for the private sector. Especially at a time when public cashier’s offices are encumbered to their limits, these contributions are also an indication of society’s faith in public culture.

In conjunction with McKinsey Management Consultancy, the festival has established the importance of the Berlinale as an economic factor for Berlin: even by conservative estimates, a flow of 30 million Euros is created annually by the IFB for the City State of Berlin alone, and almost 9 million of these flow back to the government in the form of taxes and fees. This is about 2.5 million Euros more than the Berlinale receives in public subsidies. Moreover, several hundred jobs are directly or indirectly dependent on the Berlinale. Thus the Berlinale is a superb example of the public-private partnership so often invoked today.

Main partners of the Berlinale: L'Oréal Paris, VW and Sat.1

L’Oréal Paris

Cosmetic giant L’Oreal Paris has been a main partner of the Berlinale for 5 years now. L'Oréal Paris will again set up a make-up studio at the heart of the Berlinale Press Center in the Grand Hotel Hyatt. The L’Oreal Paris VIP Club will be more than just an oasis during the bustle of the festival. Film teams will be greeted here before their press conferences by the festival director. The celebrated make-up artists Marie Drope and Andrej Baranow will offer their services to VIP film-team guests, to the international jury members and the Berlinale Palast presenters. And it has also become a tradition over the years for the guests of the L’Oreal Paris VIP Club to sign a larger than life-size can of Elnett hairspray. For every signature, L’Oreal Paris will donate 200 Euros; the grand total will be presented to the Deutsche Kinderhilfswerk at the Kinderfilmfest’s final event on February 16.

We are delighted to be able to welcome the renowned actress Gong Li – a L’Oreal Paris spokesmodel – with her film Zhou Yu de Hoche (directed by Shun Zhou) in Berlin on February 14, 2003.

Sat. 1

As the very reliable collaboration with our main TV partner Sat.1 goes into its sixth year, it will be intensified. The Sat.1 team will be responsible for the creation and organization of the opening gala, the presentation of the Golden Bears for Lifetime Achievement, as well as for the final award ceremony. This year’s films in the Berlinale Palast will again be presented by well-known actors and actress. Sat.1 will enrich Berlinale events with its know-how and involvement, which will once again include other Berlinale specials: the presentation of the “European Shooting Stars”, and the conferment of “Berlinale Cameras” to personalities singled out for this honor. Another improvement for our guests will be the Sat.1 Lounge in the Spielbank Berlin, where the international film scene will be able to mingle during daily “happy hours". With the large video wall outside the Berlinale Palast, Sat. 1 will once again provide visitors with an essential medium for information about the festival. Here press conferences and highlights of the day will be broadcast – and the partners of the Berlinale will be able to present short image spots. Last but not least, Sat.1 will bring out a daily newsletter in cooperation with TV Movie .

Volkswagen AG

Volkswagen AG will provide an entire fleet of cars for the Berlinale and the Talent Campus. Phaeton luxury limousines will deliver our VIP guests directly to the red carpet, a fleet of other cars (60 in number) will arrive from Wolfsburg and serve as guest shuttles. We are greatly pleased by this partnership which we hope will form the basis for long-term relations. The VW Golden Bear Lounge in the Grand Hotel Hyatt will be the home of festival director Dieter Kosslick’s small festival club. Another focus of the VW Lounge will be to serve as a meeting point for all the film teams of the German Films section and, naturally, of German contributions to the Competition. VW will bring their star cook Nils Potthast with them from Wolfsburg; he will see to the physical well-being of festival guests in the VW Golden Bear Lounge. Furthermore, an invitation to visit the ultra-modern glass VW plant in Dresden will give Lounge guests a chance to experience all the stages involved in constructing a Phaeton limousine.

A VW initiative for a “rising generation of drivers” is ZOON.COM in the Sony Center, the company’s trend machine: here young people can visit lifestyle chatrooms, prepare themselves for their driver’s licenses or even test their dream cars in virtual driver’s seats. Hopefully many contributors to the “German Films” section will also partake in another media special where they can “chat about German cinema”. Press dates in the chatroom and studio will round off these offers.

Together with Regina Ziegler, Manfred Schmidt and Dieter Kosslick, VW Phaeton will invite guests to the 1st Berlinale Media Meeting at Josty café and restaurant. VW is also a partner of the “Cinema for Peace” charity gala which will be held at the Konzerthaus am Gendarmenmarkt on February 11, 2003.

Distributors and other organizers at the Berlinale can rent Phaetons for reduced rates through Europcar Berlin.

Co-partners: Lufthansa, Sony and Deutsche Bahn

Lufthansa

The Berlinale lives in part from its internationality – and Lufthansa is again helping the festival to do so by offering discounts on flights for our jury members and honorary guests.

Sony

Neighbors that have an inspiring influence on each other: Sony and the Berlinale. The Sony Corporation will be a co-partner of the Berlin International Film Festival for the first time. The Berlinale will receive extensive “hardware support”, from mobile telephones to complete HDTV equipment. The range also covers projection technology, computers, DV Cams and above all committed personalities who will promote the new Berlinale Talent Campus in particular. We hope the relationship will be a long-term one – for in the “digital age” strong partners will remain indispensable in the future too.

Deutsche Bahn

Another neighbor of the Berlin International Film Festival is the Deutsche Bahn – physical proximity has brought us closer. The Deutsche Bahn will broadcast the Berlinale live via Bahn Inform and Bahn TV in 30 German train stations to digital television receivers. The opening on February 6, 2003 and the award ceremony on February 15, 2003 will both be transmitted live. What is more, from February 7 to 14 an at least 45-minute-long “Berlinale” program will be broadcast daily.

The Deutsche Bahn is putting travel vouchers and City Light Poster advertising panels at the Berlinale’s disposal. The studio of Bahn TV will also be made available to the Berlinale team for editing.

Third-party partners

Vöslauer Mineral Water

At the different festival venues, accredited guests of the Berlinale will find 25 “self-service refrigerators” filled with Vöslauer Mineral Water from Austria. The participants of the press conferences as well as the guests of the different lounges and the berlinale dining club will have an opportunity to try out this new product and so get ahead of the trend: at present in Germany, Vöslauer Mineral Water is only on sale in Berlin.

Film Commission Torino Piemonte/Wines from the Piemonte region

In 2003, collaboration with the Film Commission Torino Piemonte is in its second year. Piemonte is not only known for being an outstanding wine region, but also as the location of international film productions like Tom Tykwer’s Heaven. Excellent red and white wines and other culinary products from Piemonte will be offered at Berlinale receptions. At the opening and the final event, the guests of the Berlinale will be able to try out the delicious Prosecco from the region. Moreover, the Film Commission Torino Piemonte is a partner of the Berlinale Talent Campus.

Berliner Pilsener

Two long-time favorites of Berlin audiences will be cooperating for the first time: Berliner Pilsener and the Berlinale – a partnership based loosely on the motto “Made in Berlin”. We assume our international guests will also greatly enjoy this cool light beer.

Coca Cola

A well-established partnership: Coca-Cola’s whole range of products for festival guests. This recurrent commitment is proof of how well the high expectations on both sides are satisfied each year.

Bruno Paillard Brut Première Cuvée Champagne

Bruno Paillard is a partner of the Berlin International Film Festival for the first time. We are extremely pleased by the new partnership with this “small but exquisite” firm: indeed, the most renowned wine connoisseur Hugh Johnson ranks Bruno Paillard among the top champagne producers. The Berlinale owes this collaboration to Frenzel, a retailer in Wiesbaden.

TV MOVIE

Issue III/2003 will present the opening film Chicago as well as the Berlinale’s new key visual symbol. Issue IV/2003 will include a special Berlinale supplement. In addition to its normal circulation, 50,000 free copies will be offered in display cases at Berlinale venues.

FOXKIDS

We are happy to be able to welcome FOXKIDS for the first time as a partner of the Berlinale, and in particular of the Kinderfilmfest. Thanks to its support, many young leading actors and actresses will be able to attend the premieres of their films in Berlin. Accompanied by film teams, the kid reporters from FOXKIDS will transmit the special atmosphere of the Kinderfilmfest live worldwide on television and on the internet at www.foxkids.de.

Studio Babelsberg

Babelsberg film lab and sound studios have contributed to the Berlinale by making the answer prints and optical sound prints as well as all trailer prints (for Cinemascope, wide screen, 35mm and 16mm) in a quality fitting for a category “A” festival.

Planet TV

At last year’s Berlinale, Planet TV recognized both the chance and the challenge of supporting the Berlinale Talent Campus. At Vision Day 2002, in conjunction with stern magazine, it offered a prize to promote the realization of a documentary film. Out of 187 treatments, a jury which had been put together for this purpose (headed by Florian Gallenberger) selected the project Russenbus - Fremde Brüder by Axel Brandt and Irina Roerig. Planet TV went on to finance the project and will now distribute it Europe-wide. The film’s world premiere will be on February 12, 2003 at 7 p.m. in the large auditorium of the HKW (House of World Cultures) within the scope of the Berlinale Talent Campus. The Planet & stern Documentary Film Prize will also be awarded in 2003.

Wall AG

The Berlinale’s visual presence in the cityscape owes much to its partnership with Wall-AG: since moving to the Potsdamer Platz, all films showing in the Berlinale as well as the Berlinale’s posters are presented and marketed along the festival’s so-called strip as well as around the town on Wall AG’s innovative “Street Furniture”.

Berlikomm

3,500 journalists from approximately 80 countries will attend the Berlin International Film Festival. For the third year now, communication – in the form of telephones, fax machines, internet, data links, service, efficiency and reliability – will be guaranteed to our press representatives by Berlikomm.

Windrose Air

Windrose Air stands for fully air-conditioned, quiet jets and turboprop aircrafts with excellent and personal service. We are very pleased that Anouk Aimée will be able to travel safely to Berlin in a few days on board a Windrose Air Lear jet.

Berliner S-Bahn-Werbung

Beginning on February 26, 2003, the advertising firm Berliner S-Bahn Werbung is putting a grand total of 1500 surfaces in waiting areas as well as advertising panels at the festival’s disposal. The Berlinale will thus be certain to attract due attention in its hometown.

Gahrens + Battermann Medien Systeme

Due to technological advancements, the Berlinale has to face ever greater technical challenges. With Gahrens + Battermann we have found a partner who can help us master them.

Berlin Partners

This year’s support from Berlin Partners will benefit our VIP guests – through them a special number of additional flights with Windrose Air have been made possible. As a result, many stars will be able to stroll up the Berlinale’s “red carpet” and so give both the festival and the city a glamorous flair.

das werk berlin

In extensive “rendering periods”, das werk berlin (Novalisstraße and dffb) has updated our festival trailer and visually translated the changes made since 2002. It would make a good picture puzzle quiz – whoever finds the changes first wins two tickets to a gala. The continuous commitment of a media firm today cannot be appreciated highly enough.

LVT Laser Subtitling

The LVT - Manfred Salzgeber Prize is in its third year. An independent international jury will once again award this prize given in honor of Manfred Salzgeber (former director of the Panorama). An innovative European feature film (from the Competition or Panorama) which has a distributor in no more than one European country will receive subtitling and printing services for 30,000 Euros from LTV Laser Subtitling.

AGICOA Association of International Collective Management of Audiovisual Works

The AGICOA “Blue Angel” prize will be awarded by the international jury for the best European film; a purse of 25,000 Euros will go to the director.

OCÉ Facility Services

As a universal print service provider, OCE Facility Services will enhance the festival’s presence around the city with large banners on many festival theaters and around the Berlinale Palast.

Further media partners

Der Tagesspiegel

On January 30, the complete Berlinale program will be included as a supplement in the Der Tagesspiegel. Furthermore, during the festival there will be a ‘Berlinale special’ in the paper’s weekly culture supplement.

Thus our audiences will be able to gain a complete overview of the program and, beginning on February 4, 2003, to purchase their movie tickets at www.berlinale.de and at the customary advance ticket offices.

Radio 1

This station probably represents the most committed radio partner a festival of our category can have. Knut Elstermann’s unbeatable nightly presentations, with their irresistible charm, for all of Berlin and Brandenburg, will again be broadcast from the café of the CinemaxX. Radio 1 will not only promote our advance ticket sales over a hotline, but will also attend the Panorama Audience Prize and the bärenclub party which is open to the public at the Berlinale Palast on February 12. Comprehensive daily coverage of the Berlinale from the Radio EINS Bus will complete the station’s contributions.

SFB

For the opening and final events, “state-owned and private broadcasting stations” will cooperate with each other. SFB will film the events with several cameras and assume “pool management”. It will also guarantee the transmission of the opening from the CinemaxX. The daily Berlinale Studio and the Abendschau (SFB news) will be broadcast directly from the SFB studio in the Berlinale Palast. For the first time, SFB will transmit the daily news conferences. Last but not least, we would like to express our gratitude to the SFB for 50 years of fantastic radio and television coverage. We are also looking forward to collaborating with RBB (the newly founded broadcasting station for Berlin and Brandenburg) in the future.

January 28, 2003

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2003

Zusätzliches

28.01.2003:
Wirtschaftsunternehmen stärken die 53. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin. Berlinale großer Wirtschaftsfaktor für Bund und Land

In diesem Jahr konnte die Berlinale durch ihre Sponsoren einen Beitrag von mehr als 1 Million Euro an direkter finanzieller Unterstützung und eine Vielzahl von bedeutenden Sachleistungen sicherstellen. Ohne diese Mittel könnte die Berlinale nicht in dieser Form stattfinden. Den Partnern des Festivals gebührt daher ganz besonderer Dank. Ihr Engagement ist nicht selbstverständlich in diesen Tagen.

Dass sich unsere Partner dennoch in diesem Maß engagieren, können wir nur als Anerkennung der großen Attraktivität der Berlinale für die Privatwirtschaft werten. Gerade in Zeiten bis an die Grenzen belasteter öffentlicher Kassen ist dies auch ein Zeichen für ein Bekenntnis der Zivilgesellschaft zur öffentlichen Kultur.

Wie wichtig die Berlinale als Wirtschaftsfaktor für Berlin ist, konnten wir gemeinsam mit der Unternehmensberatung McKinsey ermitteln: Selbst bei konservativen Annahmen zeigt sich, dass bereits ausschließlich im Land Berlin durch die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin jährlich Geldflüsse in Höhe von circa 30 Millionen Euro erzeugt werden, von denen fast 9 Millionen in Form von Steuern und Abgaben an den Staat zurückfließen. Das sind circa 2,5 Millionen Euro mehr, als die Berlinale in Form öffentlicher Subventionen erhält. Zudem hängen mehrere hundert Arbeitsplätze direkt oder indirekt von der Berlinale ab. Damit ist die Berlinale ein hervorragendes Beispiel für die heute so oft beschworene Public-Private-Partnership.

Hauptpartner der Berlinale: L’Oréal Paris, VW und Sat. 1

L’Oréal Paris

L’Oreal Paris ist bereits im 5. Jahr Hauptpartner der Berlinale. L’Oréal Paris richtet sein Make-up Studio im Herzen des Berlinale Pressezentrums im Hotel Grand Hyatt ein. Der L’Oreal Paris VIP-Club ist mehr als eine Oase im hektischen Festivalablauf. Dort werden die Filmteamgäste vor ihren Pressekonferenzen durch den Festivaldirektor begrüßt. Der Make-up Service durch die bekannten Visagisten Marie Drope und Andrej Baranow steht den VIP-Gästen der Filmteams, den internationalen Jury Mitgliedern und den Moderatoren der Berlinale-Palast Events zur Verfügung. Mittlerweile zur Tradition geworden ist das Signieren der übergroßen Elnett-Haarspraydose durch die Gäste des L‘Oreal Paris VIP Clubs. L’Oreal Paris stiftet für jede geleistete Unterschrift 200 Euro, die dem Deutschen Kinderhilfswerk zur Abschlussveranstaltung des Kinderfilmfestes am 16.02. übergeben werden. Wir freuen uns darüber, dass die bekannte Schauspielerin Gong Li, Botschafterin L’Oreal Paris, mit dem Film Zhou Yu de houche, Regie Shun Zhou, am 14.02.03 in Berlin erwartet wird.

Sat. 1

Die vertrauensvolle Zusammenarbeit mit unserem TV-Hauptpartner Sat. 1 wird im sechsten Jahr ihres Bestehens weiter intensiviert. Das Sat. 1-Team wird verantwortlich für die Kreation und Organisation der Eröffnungsgala, der Verleihung des Ehrenbären und der Abschluss-Preisverleihung sein. Die Filme im Berlinale-Palast werden in diesem Jahr erneut durch bekannte Schauspieler und Schauspielerinnen vorgestellt. Sat. 1 stärkt die wichtigen Berlinale-Events mit Know-how und Engagement, hierzu gehören auch die weiteren Specials: Präsentation der Europäischen Shooting Stars oder die Übergabe der Berlinale Kameras an die ausgezeichneten Persönlichkeiten. Eine Bereicherung für unsere Gäste ist die Sat. 1 Lounge in der Spielbank, wo sich die internationale Filmszene zum Austausch in der Happy Hour trifft. Auch in diesem Jahr stellt Sat. 1 mit der großen Video-Wand neben dem Berlinale-Palast den Festivalbesuchern eines der wesentlichen Informationsmedien zur Verfügung. Dort werden die Pressekonferenzen täglich live ausgestrahlt, die täglichen Highlights präsentiert, und die Partner der Berlinale erhalten die Möglichkeit, kurze Imagespots zu schalten. In Kooperation mit der Zeitschrift TV Movie produziert Sat. 1 zudem einen täglichen Newsletter.

Volkswagen AG

Die Volkswagen AG stellt die gesamte Fahrzeugflotte für die Berlinale und den Talent Campus zur Verfügung. Die Luxuslimousine Phaeton wird unsere VIP-Gäste zum roten Teppich bringen, die PKW-Flotte für die Gäste-Shuttles (insgesamt 60 PKWs) kommen aus Wolfsburg. Wir freuen uns sehr über den Beginn einer hoffentlich mehrjährigen Zusammenarbeit. Die VW Golden Bear Lounge im Grand Hotel Hyatt wird die kleinen Festivalclubs des Festivaldirektors Dieter Kosslick beheimaten. Ein weiterer Hauptakzent der VW Lounge liegt jedoch im meeting point für alle Filmteams der German Films und natürlich auch der deutschen Beiträge im Wettbewerb. VW bringt seinen 2 Sterne -Koch Nils Potthast aus Wolfsburg mit, der für das leibliche Wohl der Festival-Gäste in der VW Golden Bear Lounge sorgen wird. Eine Einladung der Lounge-Gäste in die hochmoderne gläserne Manufaktur in Dresden bietet die Möglichkeit, den Bau einer Phaeton-Limousine in allen Phasen zu beobachten.

Eine VW-Initiative für den „fahrenden Nachwuchs“ ist das zoon.com im Sony Center, die Trendmaschine des Unternehmens: Es gibt life-gestylte Chatrooms, man kann sich ganz einfach fit für den Führerschein machen und in den virtuellen Fahrersitzen sein Traumauto testen. Die Teilnehmer aller deutschen Filme werden hoffentlich zahlreich das weitere mediale Angebot „chatten über den deutschen Film“ annehmen. Pressetermine im Chatroom und in dem Studio runden das Angebot ab.

VW-Phaeton lädt gemeinsam mit Regina Ziegler, Manfred Schmidt und Dieter Kosslick zum 1. Berlinale Medientreff im Josty ein. VW ist ebenfalls Partner der Charity Gala „Cinema for Peace“ die am 11.02.03 im Konzerthaus am Gendarmenmarkt stattfinden wird.

Verleiher und weitere Veranstalter der Berlinale können zu Sonderkondition Phaetons über Europcar Berlin anmieten.

Co Partner: Lufthansa, Sony und Deutsche Bahn

Lufthansa

Die Berlinale lebt unter anderem durch ihre Internationalität – die Lufthansa hilft ihr dabei mit Rabatten auf die Flugverbindungen für unsere Juries und Ehrengäste.

Sony

Nachbarn, die sich befruchten: Sony und Berlinale. Der Sony-Konzern ist erstmals Co-Partner der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin. Die Berlinale erhält weitreichende Hardware-Unterstützung von mobilen Telefonen bis zu komplettem HDTV-Equipment. Dazwischen liegen Projektionstechnik, Rechner, DV-Cams und vor allem engagierte Persönlichkeiten, welche die neue Sektion Berlinale Talent Campus besonders fördern. Wir hoffen auf eine perspektivisch langfristige Bindung – im digitalen Zeitalter werden wir auch in Zukunft starke Partner benötigen.

Deutsche Bahn

Ein weiterer Nachbar der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin ist die Deutsche Bahn – Nähe lässt zusammenrücken. Die Deutsche Bahn trägt durch Bahn Inform und Bahn TV die Berlinale live in 30 deutsche Bahnhöfe und digitale Fernsehempfänger. Die Eröffnung am 06.02.03 und die Preisverleihung am 15.02.03 werden live übertragen. Darüber hinaus werden vom 07.02. bis 14.02 täglich mindestens 45 Minuten Berlinale ausgestrahlt werden.

Die Deutsche Bahn stellt der Berlinale Reisegutscheine und CLP-Werbeflächen zur Verfügung. Das Bahn TV-Studio steht dem Berlinale-Team für die Schnittarbeiten zur Verfügung.

Dritt-Partner

Vöslauer Mineralwasser

Alle Festival-Akkreditierten werden im Festivalzentrum 25 Selbstbedienungs-Kühlschränke finden – gefüllt mit Vöslauer Mineralwasser aus Österreich. Alle Teilnehmer der Pressekonferenzen sowie die Gäste der Lounges und des Berlinale Dining Clubs können das neue Produkt kennen lernen und so dem Trend voraus sein: In Deutschland ist Vöslauer Mineralwasser derzeit ausschließlich in Berlin im Handel. Film Commission Torino Piemonte/Weine aus der Regione Piemonte

Die Zusammenarbeit mit der Film Commission Torino Piemonte geht 2003 in ihr zweites Jahr. Die Region Piemonte ist nicht nur als herausragende Weinregion bekannt, sondern auch als Drehort internationaler Filmproduktionen wie Tom Tykwers Heaven. Exzellente Rot- und Weißweine und andere kulinarische Produkte aus dem Piemont werden auf den Berlinale-Empfängen präsent sein. Zur Eröffnung und zum Abschluss können die Berlinale-Gäste den köstlichen Prosecco der Region kennen lernen. Die Film Commission Torino Piemonte ist außerdem Partner des Berlinale Talent Campus.

Berliner Pilsener

Zwei Berliner Publikumslieblinge kooperieren erstmalig: Berliner Pilsener und die Berlinale, frei nach dem Motto „Made in Berlin“. Wir gehen davon aus, dass auch all unsere internationalen Gäste das kühle Blonde schätzen werden.

Coca Cola

Bereits eine bewährte Partnerschaft: die Produktpalette von Coca Cola für die Gäste des Festivals. Das wiederkehrende Engagement – ein Beweis für die Erfüllung der wechselseitig hohen Ansprüche, die Partner aneinander stellen.

Bruno Paillard Brut Première Cuvée Champagner

Bruno Paillard ist zum ersten Mal Partner der Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin. Wir freuen uns sehr über diese neue Partnerschaft mit diesem „kleinen und feinen“ Haus: Der wohl renommierteste Weinkenner Hugh Johnson zählt das Haus Bruno Paillard zu den bedeutenden Champagner-Produzenten. Im Besonderen ist diese Kooperation Frenzel’s Weinkontor, Wiesbaden zu verdanken.

TV MOVIE

Die Ausgabe III/2003 stellt bereits den Eröffnungsfilm Chicago und das neue Key Visual der diesjährigen Berlinale vor. Die Ausgabe IV/2003 wird ein zusätzliches Berlinale-Supplement enthalten. Zusätzlich zu der Auflage werden kostenlos weitere 50.000 Exemplare in den Spielstätten der Berlinale in Displays aufgestellt sein.

FOXKIDS

Wir freuen uns, FOXKIDS erstmalig als Partner der Berlinale und des Kinderfilmfestes begrüßen zu können. Dank der Unterstützung werden zahlreiche Kinderdarsteller zu den Premieren ihrer Filme in Berlin sein können. Die FOXKIDS Kinderreporter werden von Filmteams begleitet, deren Berichte live sowohl im Fernsehen als auch im Internet unter www.foxkids.de die besondere Atmosphäre des Kinderfilmfestes in die Welt tragen werden.

Studio Babelsberg

Das Kopierwerk und das Tonstudio von Babelsberg haben der Berlinale mit der Erstellung von O-Kopie, Lichttonkopie bis zu sämtlichen Trailer-Kopien (in Cinemascope, Breitwand, 35mm und 16mm Kopien) dabei geholfen, den hohen Qualitätsansprüchen eines A-Festivals zu entsprechen.

Planet TV

Planet TV erkannte bereits zur letztjährigen Berlinale die Chance und Herausforderung, den Berlinale Talent Campus zu unterstützen. Auf dem Vision Day 2002 wurde ein Förderpreis zur Realisierung eines Dokumentarfilmes gemeinsam mit dem stern ausgelobt. Aus 187 Exposes hat eine eigens zusammengestellte Jury (Vorsitz Florian Gallenberger) das Projekt Russenbus – Fremde Brüder von Axel Brandt und Irina Roerig ausgewählt. Planet TV finanzierte das Projekt und wird es auch europaweit distributieren. Die Welturaufführung des Filmes findet am 12.02.03 um 19.00 Uhr im großen Auditorium des HKW statt. Der Planet & stern Dokumentarfilmpreis soll 2003 erneut ausgelobt werden.

Wall AG

Die visuelle Präsenz der Berlinale im Berliner Stadtbild verdankt viel der Partnerschaft mit der Wall-AG: Seit dem Umzug der Berlinale an den Potsdamer Platz werden die im Programm der Berlinale vertretenen Filme und die Berlinale-Plakate auf der sogenannten Film Meile und im Berliner Stadtraum durch die innovativen Stadtmöbel der Wall AG präsentiert und vermarktet.

Berlikomm

Die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin werden von circa 3.500 Journalisten aus circa 80 Ländern besucht. Kommunikation – Telefon, Fax, Internet, Datenleitungen, Service, Schnelligkeit und Zuverlässigkeit – das garantiert die Berlikomm unseren Pressevertretern nun schon im dritten Jahr.

Windrose Air

Windrose Air steht für vollklimatisierte, geräuscharme Jets und Turboprops mit persönlichem exzellenten Service. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass Anouk Aimée in wenigen Tagen sicher und schnell an Bord eines Lear-Jets der Windrose Air in Berlin ankommen wird.

Berliner S-Bahn-Werbung

Die Berliner S-Bahn-Werbung stellt dem Festival vom 26.01.03 an stolze 1.500 Flächen in Wartehäusern und Plakatwänden zur Verfügung. So kann sich die Berlinale der angemessenen Aufmerksamkeit in ihrer Heimatstadt ganz sicher sein.

Gahrens + Battermann Medien Systeme

Der technologische Fortschritt stellt auch die Berlinale vor immer größere technische Herausforderungen. Mit Gahrens + Battermann haben wir einen Partner gefunden, der uns dabei hilft, diese Herausforderung zu meistern.

Partner für Berlin

Die diesjährige Unterstützung kommt unseren VIP-Gästen zu Gute – ein besonderes Kontingent zusätzlicher Flüge mit Windrose Air kann realisiert werden. Möglichst viele Stars auf dem Roten Teppich sollen dem Festival und der Stadt Berlin Glanz verleihen.

das werk berlin

das werk berlin (Novalisstraße und dffb) hat unseren Festivaltrailer wieder in langen „rendering-Zeiträumen“ aktualisiert und Veränderungen zu 2002 visualisiert. Man könnte eine Suchbildfrage daraus machen – wer die Änderungen zuerst entdeckt, bekommt zwei Gala-Karten. Das kontinuierliche Engagement eines Medienbetriebs ist gerade heute hoch zu bewerten.

LVT Laser-Subtitling

Der LVT-Manfred-Salzgeber-Preis besteht seit drei Jahren. Eine unabhängige, internationale Jury vergibt zu Ehren von Manfred Salzgeber (ehemaliger Leiter des Panoramas) den LVT-Manfred-Salzgeber-Filmpreis. Ein innovativer europäischer Spielfilm (aus Wettbewerb oder Panorama), der noch keinen Verleih in mehr als einem europäischen Land hat, erhält durch LVT-Laser-Subtitling Untertitelungs- und Kopierwerksarbeiten im Wert von 30.000 Euro.

AGICOA Urheberrechtsschutzgesellschaft

Der Agicoa Preis „Der Blaue Engel“, vergeben durch die Internationale Jury für den besten europäischen Film, ist mit 25.000 Euro für den Regisseur dotiert.

OCE Facility Services

Der universelle Print-Dienstleister OCE Facility Services wird die Präsenz des Festivals in der Stadt mit Großtransparenten an den zahlreichen Kinos des Festivals und rund um den Berlinale-Palast erhöhen.

Weitere Partner in den Medien

Der Tagesspiegel

Das komplette Programm der Berlinale wird am 30.01. der gesamten Tagesspiegel-Auflage beiliegen. Außerdem gibt es ein 16-seitiges Berlinale-Supplement in dieser Ausgabe.

Unser Publikum kann sich somit einen vollständigen Überblick verschaffen und ab dem 04.02.03 über www.berlinale.de und an den üblichen Vorverkaufsstellen seine Kinokarten kaufen.

Radio 1

Vielleicht der engagierteste Radio-Partner, den ein Festival unserer Kategorie haben kann. Knut Elstermanns unschlagbare Nacht-Moderationen mit ihrem unwiderstehlichen Charme für ganz Berlin und Brandenburg werden wieder vom Café des CinemaxX ausgehen. Radio 1 unterstützt nicht nur unseren Vorverkauf mit einer Hotline, sondern ist gleichzeitig beim Panorama-Publikumspreis und mit einer öffentlichen Party im bärenclub im Berlinale-Palast am 12.02.03 am Set. Eine tägliche, allumfassende Berlinale-Berichterstattung aus dem Radio 1-Bus ergänzt das Engagement des Senders.

SFB

Bei der Eröffnung und dem Abschluss kooperieren öffentlich-rechtliches und privates Fernsehen miteinander. Der SFB zeichnet mit mehreren Kameras die Veranstaltungen auf und übernimmt die Poolführerschaft. Die Übertragung der Eröffnung in das CinemaxX stellt der SFB ebenfalls sicher. Die täglichen Sendungen des Berlinale Studio und der Abendschau werden aus dem SFB Studio im Berlinale-Palast gefahren. Erstmalig strahlt der SFB die tagesaktuellen Pressekonferenzen aus. Wir bedanken uns für die 50jährige Berichterstattung des SFB und wir freuen uns auf die Zusammenarbeit mit dem RBB.

28. Januar 2003