Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2003

Additional Information

Jan 28, 2003:
Short films have received their own slot in the programme

The Berlinale has reorganized its short film programme. For the first time there will be a separate short film series and a Short Film Night. A newly established international short film jury will award the first Golden Bear of this year’s festival on February 11 in the Berlinale-Palast. At least two sets of short films are to screen daily in the CinemaxX 6. By highlighting them in this way, the Berlinale will focus public attention on short films, the medium with which rising generations have always tested themselves and made their first marks.

Out of 728 submissions from 46 countries, 57 short films were selected. 17 are to screen in the Competition, 24 in the Panorama and 16 at the Kinderfilmfest sections. Passionate fantasies and dark nightmares entice and touch viewers, fictitious and documentary works entertain and inform them. With short films, traditional cinematic forms and languages are constantly being redefined and modified.

This diversity is to be found in all the Berlinale short film programmes. Instead of screening together with a full-length film, as was previously customary in the Competition and Panorama, short films will now be shown in slots of their own, in which animation and documentation, entertainment, provocation and experiment alternate. All showings in the CinemaxX 6 at the Potsdamer Platz will be rerun several times, and are open to the public, professional guests and the press.

With the award ceremony for Golden Bears for short films, the directors will be brought to center stage and receive the attention they deserve. What is more, the public will be asked to discuss the films at the Short Film Night on February 13 in the Haus der Kulturen der Welt (House of World Cultures): within the scope of the Berlinale Talent Campus, audiences will be able to enjoy an assortment of short films from the

Competition, Panorama and Kinderfilmfest.

International Short Film Jury

Phyllis Mollet (France)

Phyllis Mollet lives in Paris and worked from 1993 to 2002 for the International Federation of Film Producers’ Association (FIAPF). As the association’s general secretary, and then as its director of communications and festivals, she was responsible for 60 film festivals worldwide.

Thom Palmen (Sweden)

Thom Palmen is the director of the Umeå International Film Festival in Sweden and chairman of the board of directors of the European Coordination of Film Festivals (ECFF). As a member of the jury, he has been a guest at many film festivals.

Andreas Dresen (Germany)

After receiving the Grand Prize of the Jury at the last Berlinale, Halbe Treppe (Grill Point), one of Andreas Dresen’s most recent films, toured the festival world. This director, born in 1963, made a name for himself with the episodic film Nachtgestalten (Night Shapes). Alongside his cinema projects, Dresen works for both theater and television.

Competition – Short Films

Araki – The Killing of a Japanese Photographer by Anders Morgenthaler. Production: Den Danske Filmskole.

(A) Torzija ( (A) Torsion) by Stefan Arsenijević with Davor Janjic, Amir Glamocak. Production: Studio Arkadena. Worldwide distribution: Slovenian Film Fund.

Delores by Adam Stevens with Jeremy Randerson, Vivian Stanley. Production and worldwide distribution: New Zealand Film Commission.

En ausencia (In Absentia) by Lucía Cedrón with Ana Celentano, Pablo Cedrón, Juana Lanzi. Production: Saturno Productiones. Worldwide distribution: Lucia Cedrón.

Guerra alle pietre (War Against Stones) by Andreas Teuchert, speakers: Franco Bianco, Giuseppe Bianco. Production: Andreas Teuchert, Rahel Schweikert.

Ischov tramwai N° 9 (The Train N° 9 Goes) by Stepan Koval. Production: Ukranima Film c/o Kinemateka Kiev.

Kala by Jonathan Davies with Hannu Kivioja, Eva Mustonen. Production and world distribution: Vanilla Production Oy.

La Partita (The Match) by Ursula Ferrara. Production and worldwide distribution: Ursula Ferrara.

Mein Erlöser (Savior) by Athanasios Karanikolas with Jonathan Richter. Production: HFF “Konrad Wolff”.

Plano Seqüência (Long Take) by Patrícia Moran with Paulo César Pervio. Production: Dezenove Som e Imagens.

Rettet Berlin! (Save Berlin! ) by Gerd Conradt. Production: Daniela Schulz.

Spin by Cath Le Couteur with Julian Morris, Ryan Dabner. Production: Shooting People. World distribution: Short Film Bureau.

Talmen (Tarry) by Stijn van Santen with Jeroen Spitzenberger, Sophie Hilbrand. Production: Theorema Films. Distribution: SND Films.

The ChubbChubbs! by Eric Armstrong. Production: Sony Pictures Imageworks Inc. Worldwide distribution: Columbia Pictures.

The Good Son by Michael Sandoval with Jimmy Soriano, Jaime Soriano. Production: Bright Box Media. Worldwide distribution: Third World Newsreel.

The Toll Collector by Rachel Johnson. Production: Jiri Trnkaka Studio.

Utes Ende (Never Trust a Cow) by Nathalie Percillier with Lily Besilly, Nathalie Percillier, Edna. Production: Heldinnen Film.

January 28, 2003

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2003

Zusätzliches

28.01.2003:
Kurzfilm bekommt eigenen Programmplatz

Die Berlinale hat ihr Kurzfilmprogramm neu organisiert. Erstmals gibt es eigenständige Kurzfilm-Programme, eine Short-Film-Night und eine internationale Kurzfilmjury, die den ersten Goldenen Bären des Festivals schon am 11. Februar im Berlinale-Palast vergeben wird. Täglich laufen mindestens zwei Kurzfilmprogramme im CinemaxX 6. So konzentriert die Berlinale mit neuen Programm-Akzenten die Aufmerksamkeit des Publikums auf den Kurzfilm, das Medium, in dem sich der Nachwuchs erprobt und profiliert.

Von 728 Anmeldungen aus 46 Ländern wurden 57 Kurzfilme ausgewählt, davon 17 für den Wettbewerb, 24 für das Panorama und 16 für den Kinderfilm. Heiße Wunsch- und düstere Alpträume verführen und bewegen, Fiktion und Dokument unterhalten und informieren. Mit den kurzen Filmen werden die traditionellen Formen und Sprachen des Kinos immer wieder neu erfunden und variiert.

In allen Berlinale-Kurzfilmprogrammen findet sich diese Vielfalt. Anstatt wie in den vergangenen Jahren beim Wettbewerb und Panorama mit einem Langfilm zusammen, werden die Kurzfilme jetzt als eigenständige Programmblöcke vorgestellt, in denen Animation und Dokument, Unterhaltung, Provokation und Experiment wechseln. Alle Vorführungen am Potsdamer Platz im CinemaxX 6 werden mehrfach wiederholt und sind offen für das Berliner Publikum, für professionelle Festivalbesucher und die Presse.

Mit der Verleihung der Goldenen Bären für die Kurzfilme rücken auch deren Regisseure ins Zentrum des Festivals und gewinnen die Aufmerksamkeit, die sie verdient haben. Und auch das Publikum ist aufgefordert, über die Filme zu streiten und zu diskutieren. Dazu gibt es in der Short-Film-Night am 13. Februar im Haus der Kulturen der Welt Gelegenheit: Im Rahmen des Berlinale Talent Campus ist hier ein gemischtes Programm aus Kurzfilmen in Wettbewerb, Panorama und Kinderfilmfestes zu sehen.

Internationale Kurzfilmjury:

Phyllis Mollet (Frankreich)

Phyllis Mollet lebt in Paris und arbeitete von 1993 bis 2002 für die Internationale Vereinigung der Filmproduzentenverbände (FIAPF). Zunächst als Generalsekretärin, später als Leiterin der Abteilung Kommunikation und Festivals, war sie weltweit für 60 Filmfestivals zuständig.

Thom Palmen (Schweden)

Thom Palmen ist Leiter des Internationalen Filmfestivals in Umeå/Schweden und Präsident der Europäischen Koordination der Filmfestivals (ECFF). Er war als Jury-Mitglied Gast auf zahlreichen Filmfestivals.

Andreas Dresen (Deutschland)

Auf der letzten Berlinale mit dem Großen Preis der Jury ausgezeichnet, reist Halbe Treppe, der jüngste Film von Andreas Dresen, um die ganze Festival-Welt. Zuvor machte der 1963 geborene Regisseur mit dem Episodenfilm Nachtgestalten von sich reden. Neben seinen Filmprojekten arbeitet Dresen auch für Theater und Fernsehen.

Wettbewerb - Kurzfilme

Araki – The Killing of a Japanese Photographer von Anders Morgenthaler. Produktion: Den Danske Filmskole.

(A)Torzija ((A)Torsion) von Stefan Arsenijevi mit Davor Janjic, Amir Glamocak. Produktion: Studio Arkadena. Weltvertrieb: Slovenian Film Fund.

Delores von Adam Stevens mit Jeremy Randerson, Vivian Stanley. Produktion und Weltvertrieb: New Zealand Film Commission.

En ausencia (In Abwesenheit) von Lucía Cedrón mit Ana Celentano, Pablo Cedrón, Juana Lanzi. Produktion: Saturno Productiones. Weltvertrieb: Lucia Cedrón.

Guerra alle pietre (Krieg den Steinen) von Andreas Teuchert, Sprecher: Franco Bianco, Giuseppe Bianco. Produktion: Andreas Teuchert, Rahel Schweikert.

Ischov tramwai N° 9 (Straßenbahn No 9 fährt) von Stepan Koval. Produktion: Ukranima Film c/o Kinemateka Kiev.

Kala von Jonathan Davies mit Hannu Kivioja, Eva Mustonen. Produktion und Weltvertrieb: Vanilla Production Oy.

La Partita (Das Spiel) von Ursula Ferrara. Produktion und Weltvertrieb: Ursula Ferrara.

Mein Erlöser (Savior) von Athanasios Karanikolas mit Jonathan Richter. Produktion: HFF „Konrad Wolff“.

Plano Seqüência (Plansequenz) von Patrícia Moran mit Paulo César Pervio. Produktion: Dezenove Som e Imagens.

Rettet Berlin! (Save Berlin!) von Gerd Conradt. Produktion: Daniela Schulz.

Spin von Cath Le Couteur mit Julian Morris, Ryan Dabner, Produktion: Shooting People. Weltvertrieb: Short Film Bureau.

Talmen (Tarry) von Stijn van Santen mit Jeroen Spitzenberger, Sophie Hilbrand. Produktion: Theorema Films. Weltvertrieb: SND Films.

The ChubbChubbs! (Die ChubbChubbs! ) von Eric Armstrong. Produktion: Sony Pictures Imageworks Inc. Weltvertrieb: Columbia Pictures.

The Good Son von Michael Sandoval mit Jimmy Soriano, Jaime Soriano. Produktion: Bright Box Media. Weltvertrieb: Third World Newsreel.

The Toll Collector von Rachel Johnson. Produktion: Jiri Trnkaka Studio.

Utes Ende (Never Trust a Cow) von Nathalie Percillier mit Lily Besilly, Nathalie Percillier, Edna. Produktion: Heldinnen Film.

28. Januar 2003