Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2003

Additional Information

Jan 31, 2003:
New Member of the Jury 2003

Director Idrissa Ouédraogo from Burkina Faso very much regrets that he is unable to attend the 53rd Berlinale as a member of the International Jury, due to post-production problems on his latest film La Colère de Dieu.

Fortunately, African director Abderrahmane Sissako will take Ouédraogo’s place on the Jury. “I am very pleased that Abderrahmane Sissako spontaneously agreed to attend the festival”, said Festival Director Dieter Kosslick. “His broad cineastic view is a valuable addition to our Jury.”

Director Abderrahmane Sissako born in 1961 in West African Mauritania grew up entirely in Mali and later went on to study cinema at the VGIK in Moscow. Sissako’s first feature length film Rostov-Luanda was screened at the Documenta X in Kassel. His film La vie sur la terre (1998) received awards at festivals around the world. Sissako is now living in Paris, but in his films he remains faithful to the country and the people of his origin: In his latest film Heremakono, which screened at Cannes 2002 in “Un certain regard”, he once again returns to Africa.

January 31, 2003

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2003

Zusätzliches

31.01.2003:
Neues Jurymitglied 2003

Aufgrund kurzfristiger Probleme bei der Postproduktion seines neuesten Films La colère de dieu musste der Regisseur Idrissa Ouédraogo aus Burkina Faso zu seinem großen Bedauern die Teilnahme als Mitglied der Internationalen Jury der 53. Berlinale zurückziehen.

Der afrikanische Regisseur Abderrahmane Sissako konnte glücklicherweise gewonnen werden, die Jury-Aufgabe für Ouédraogo zu übernehmen. „Ich freue mich über die spontane Zusage von Abderrahmane Sissako, dessen vielseitiger cineastischer Blick eine Bereicherung für unsere Jury darstellen wird“, meint Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick.

Der im westafrikanischen Mauretanien geborene Regisseur Abderrahmane Sissako verbrachte seine Kindheit in Mali und studierte an der Filmhochschule VGIK in Moskau. Sissakos erster Langfilm Rostov-Luanda wurde auf der Documenta X in Kassel gezeigt. 1998 erhielt er für La vie sur la terre weltweit Auszeichnungen auf Festivals. Sissako lebt heute in Paris, ist jedoch seiner Heimat treu geblieben: In seinem letzten Film Heremakono, der 2002 in Cannes in der Reihe „Un certain regard“ lief, kehrt er ein weiteres Mal nach Afrika zurück.

31. Januar 2003