Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2003

Awards

Feb 12, 2003:
Berlinale Kamera to be awarded to Erika Richter

The Berlinale Kamera is presented to film personalities that the Berlin International Film Festival feels especially indebted to. The Berlinale expresses its thanks and acknowledgement by bestowing this honour. Since 1986, the Berlinale Kamera has been generously donated by the Berliner jeweller, David Goldberg.

Festival Director, Dieter Kosslick will present a prestigious Berlinale Kamera to the film journalist and script consultant

Erika Richter

for her contribution to German film. The ceremony will take place on Thursday 13 February at 10.30pm at the Forum Reception in the Philharmonie. Previous Director of the International Forum of New Cinema and close colleague of Erika Richter, Ulrich Gregor, will speak on behalf of the Berlinale.

From 1975 until 1991, following the completion of her studies in Script Consultation, Erika Richter worked for the DEFA. During this time she worked closely with people such as Lothar Warneke, Heiner Carow, Evelyn Schmidt and Siegfried Kühn. While at DEFA Erika Richter was involved in the regeneration of contemporary DEFA films.

From 1992 – 1999, in addition to numerous other film publications, Erika Richter published the renowned film magazine ‘Film and Fernsehen’. She is now co-publisher of the yearbook ‘DEFA-Stiftung’. Since the reunification of Germany Erika Richter has been extensively involved in the politics of German film and has thus contributed substantially to the promotion of German film.

This award recognises and honours Erika Richter who has contributed greatly to the development and documentation of German film through her extensive personal involvement and interest.

February 12, 2003

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2003

Preise und Ehrungen

12.02.2003:
Berlinale Kamera wird an Erika Richter verliehen

Die Berlinale Kamera ist eine Auszeichnung für Filmpersönlichkeiten, denen sich die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin verbunden fühlen. Mit dieser Ehrung möchten die Filmfestspiele ihre Anerkennung und ihren Dank zum Ausdruck bringen. Die Berlinale Kamera wird seit 1986 von dem Berliner Juwelier David Goldberg gestiftet.

Für ihre Verdienste um den deutschen Film wird Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick am Donnerstag, den 13. Februar um 22.30 Uhr auf dem Forums-Empfang in der Philharmonie der Filmjournalistin und Filmdramaturgin

Erika Richter

eine Berlinale Kamera überreichen. Laudator ist der ehemalige Leiter des Internationalen Forums des Jungen Films Ulrich Gregor, dem sie als langjährige Mitarbeiterin seit Jahren verbunden ist.

Nach Abschluss ihres Studiums der Filmdramaturgie war Erika Richter von 1975 bis 1991 bei der DEFA tätig. Dort arbeitete sie unter anderem eng mit Lothar Warneke, Heiner Carow, Evelyn Schmidt und Siegfried Kühn zusammen und hatte großen Anteil an der Erneuerung des DEFA-Gegenwartfilms.

Neben zahlreichen Filmpublikationen gab sie zwischen 1992 und 1999 die renommierte Zeitschrift Film und Fernsehen heraus und ist jetzt Mitherausgeberin des Jahrbuchs der DEFA-Stiftung. Seit der Wiedervereinigung engagiert sich Erika Richter verstärkt in der Filmpolitik und beteiligt sich so maßgeblich an der Förderung des deutschen Filmnachwuchses.

Mit Erika Richter wird eine Filmpersönlichkeit geehrt, die durch ihr umfassendes Interesse und großes persönliches Engagement einen bedeutenden Beitrag für die Entwicklung und Dokumentation vor allem des deutschen Filmes geleistet hat und noch leistet.

12.Februar 2003