Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2003

Berlinale Talent Campus

Feb 21, 2003:
First Berlinale Talent Campus - a great success

Established film professionals and public eager to join young filmmakers at House of World Cultures.

From February 10 to 14, 476 filmmakers from 61 countries came together for the first Berlinale Talent Campus in Berlin’s House of World Cultures. Master School Drehbuch organised this week of exchange between established film professionals and aspiring young filmmakers in co-operation with Filmboard Berlin-Brandenburg and UK Film Council.

The five day programme offered a total of 68 events and workshops dealing with the various aspects of filmmaking, from scriptwriting and creative financing to editing and film marketing. Renowned film professionals like Lia van Leer, Wim Wenders and Ken Adam acted as hosts for this new platform for young filmmakers at the Berlin International Film Festival. They were joined by colleagues like Stephen Frears, Anthony Minghella, Tom Tykwer, Atom Egoyan and Spike Lee who all came to the Berlinale Talent Campus to hold a workshop, give a speech, or simply chat with young filmmakers over lunch. Dennis Hopper talked about ups and downs in his life and career, Ken Adam took talent on an excursion to the current exhibition about his work at the Martin-Gropius-Bau, and Nik Powell, Cédomir Kolar and Rainer Kölmel talked about the experience of failure. Other guests of the Berlinale Talent Campus included Lynn Hershman, Mike Figgis, Mathilde Bonnefoy, Jacques Delmoly, David Eggby, Mechthild Holter, Jakob Claussen, Karl Baumgartner, Ioan Allen – and a lot of others. They all came to find out what the Campus is, how it works, and most of all, to be part of a fascinating atmosphere.

In the afternoons, a series of public events attracted more than 1,000 visitors every day - film professionals, visitors of the festival and the Berlin public. They came to join some of the discussions and workshops, watch films, or visit the Campus Lounge with different information stands. In the Campus Lounge, a data base set up by Q~est allowed visitors and participants to watch the film excerpts the young filmmakers had sent in with their application. The computer terminals were highly frequented throughout the entire week - more than 17,500 hits and over 1,500 messages were recorded. In addition, a CD-Rom included in the Campus Magazine gave visitors, professionals and journalists an overview of all talent.

During the Berlinale Talent Campus, the “Talent Movie of the Week”, a unique project presented by the Berlinale Talent Campus and SONY, allowed 20 of the participants the realisation of a total of 4 digital short films with SONY HD and DV Cams. trigger happy productions acted as supervising production company for the four projects chosen by Wim Wenders, mentor of the “Talent Movie of the Week”. At the Farewell Party on Friday evening, all four films were presented and Phil Traill’s short film Dangle was awarded “Talent Movie of the Week”.

The talents are now homebound again, but three of them will be back: as nominees for the first Berlin Today Award. All participants in this year’s Campus can compete for the realisation of a short film with a Berlin connection. „The Berlin Today Award is the bridge to the Berlinale Talent Campus in 2004“, says Prof. Klaus Keil, director of Filmboard Berlin-Brandenburg GmbH, the Award’s initiator and sponsor. What’s special about the award? An executive production company and Berlin-Brandenburg’s film industry will support the three nominees in the realisation of their projects. And they will be assisted by three renowned directors who act as advisors: Andreas Dresen, Esther Gronenborn and Volker Schlöndorff.

The success of this year’s Campus has impressed both partners and sponsors and financing next year’s Berlinale Talent Campus should be much easier, says Christine Dorn, project manager: "The Campus has exceeded all expectations although we only had about five months to organise it. Various event partners and sponsors have supported us enormously and have helped to create a positive and refreshing atmosphere. With this success, we are excited to start organising a new – and still independent – financing scheme for 2004“.

The Berlinale Talent Campus is a project of the Berlin International Film Festival, in co-operation with Filmboard Berlin-Brandenburg GmbH, UK Film Council, MEDIA Promotion and House of World Cultures. Organised by Master School Drehbuch Berlin.

Friday, February 21, 2003

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2003

Berlinale Talent Campus

21.02.2003:
Erster Berlinale Talent Campus - ein großer Erfolg

Fachbesucher und Öffentlichkeit zeigen reges Interesse an Veranstaltungsprogramm im Haus der Kulturen der Welt.

Beim ersten Berlinale Talent Campus trafen sich vom 10. bis 14. Februar im Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin 476 Filmemacher aus 61 Ländern. In Zusammenarbeit mit Filmboard Berlin-Brandenburg GmbH und UK Film Council organisierte die Master School Drehbuch diese Plattform für den Austausch zwischen hochkarätigen Profis aus der Filmbranche und aufstrebenden jungen Filmemachern.

Das fünftägige Programm bot insgesamt 68 Veranstaltungen und Workshops zu den verschiedenen Themenbereichen des Filmemachens – von der Drehbuchberatung und kreativen Finanzierungsmodellen bis zu Schnitt und Filmmarketing. Renommierte Profis aus der Filmbranche wie Lia van Leer, Wim Wenders und Ken Adam übernahmen die Patenschaft für diese neue Winterakademie für junge Filmemacher bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin. Verstärkung bekamen sie von Kollegen wie Stephen Frears, Anthony Minghella, Tom Tykwer, Atom Egoyan und Spike Lee, die alle zum Berlinale Talent Campus kamen, um einen Workshop zu leiten, eine Rede zu halten oder ganz einfach für ein Gespräch mit den jungen Filmemachern beim Mittagessen. Dennis Hopper sprach über Höhen und Tiefen in seinem Leben, Ken Adam unternahm mit „Talent“ eine Exkursion zur derzeitigen Ausstellung über seine Arbeit im Martin-Gropius-Bau und Nik Powell, Cédomir Kolar und Rainer Kölmel sprachen über ihre Erfahrung des Scheiterns. Weitere Gäste des Berlinale Talent Campus waren Lynn Hershman, Mike Figgis, Mathilde Bonnefoy, Jacques Delmoly, David Eggby, Mechthild Holter, Jakob Claussen, Karl Baumgartner, Ioan Allen – und viele andere. Sie alle waren neugierig darauf, was den Campus ausmacht und wie er funktioniert. Und vor allem wollten sie Teil der aufregenden neuen Atmosphäre sein, die den Campus prägte.

Nachmittags zog eine Reihe von öffentlichen Veranstaltungen täglich mehr als 1.000 Besucher an – Filmschaffende, Besucher des Festivals und die Berliner Öffentlichkeit. Sie beteiligten sich an Diskussionen, sahen sich Filme an oder besuchten die Campus Lounge mit verschiedenen Informationsständen. Hier gab es außerdem Zugang zu einer von Q~est erstellten Datenbank, die Besuchern und Teilnehmern erlaubte, die Filmausschnitte anzuschauen, die die jungen Filmemacher mit ihrer Bewerbung eingereicht hatten. Die Computerterminals erfreuten sich großer Beliebtheit – mehr als 17.500 Mal wurden die Filmproben aufgerufen, über 1.500 Nachrichten wurden über die Datenbank ausgetauscht. Zusätzlich gab es im Campus-Magazin eine CD-Rom, die Besuchern, Profis und Journalisten einen Überblick über alle Teilnehmer gab.

Zwanzig der Teilnehmer hatten während des Berlinale Talent Campus die Möglichkeit, an einem von vier Filmprojekten mitzuwirken: Der „Talent Movie of the Week”, ein einzigartiges Projekt von Berlinale Talent Campus und SONY, ermöglichte die Realisierung von insgesamt 4 digitalen Kurzfilmen mit SONY HD and DV Cams. trigger happy productions übernahm die Produktionsleitung für die vier Projekte, die Wim Wenders, Mentor des „Talent Movie of the Week”, zuvor persönlich ausgewählt hatte. Bei der Farewell Party am Freitag abend wurden die vier Filme vorgestellt und Dangle von Phil Traill aus Großbritannien wurde als „Talent Movie of the Week” ausgezeichnet.

Die Talents treten nun die Heimreise an, aber drei werden wiederkommen: als Nominees für den ersten Berlin Today Award. Alle Teilnehmer des diesjährigen Campus können sich darum bewerben, einen Kurzfilm mit Berlinbezug zu realisieren. „Mit dem Berlin Today Award schlagen wir die Brücke zum Berlinale Talent Campus 2004“, sagt Prof. Klaus Keil, Intendant der Filmboard Berlin-Brandenburg GmbH, die den Preis initiiert und gefördert hat. Das Besondere an diesem Preis: Bei der Realisierung werden die Talents von einer ausführenden Produktionsfirma und der Filmwirtschaft in Berlin-Brandenburg unterstützt. Und es stehen ihnen drei bekannte Filmregisseure als Paten zur Seite: Andreas Dresen, Esther Gronenborn und Volker Schlöndorff.

Der große Erfolg des diesjährigen Campus hat sowohl Partner wie Sponsoren begeistert und wird die Finanzierung des Berlinale Talent Campus im nächsten Jahr erleichtern, meint Projektmanagerin Christine Dorn: „Der Campus hat alle Erwartungen übertroffen und das obwohl wir nur knapp fünf Monate Zeit hatten, um ihn zu organisieren. Die zahlreichen Veranstaltungspartner und Sponsoren haben uns wunderbar unterstützt und die Stimmung war positiv und erfrischend. Nach diesem Erfolg freuen wir uns darauf, mit einem neuen – und noch immer unabhängigen – Finanzierungsplan für 2004 zu beginnen“.

Der Berlinale Talent Campus ist ein Projekt der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin, in Kooperation mit Filmboard Berlin-Brandenburg GmbH, UK Film Council, MEDIA Promotion und Haus der Kulturen der Welt. Organisiert von Master School Drehbuch Berlin.

Freitag, 21. Februar 2003