Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2003

Kinderfilmfest

Oct 14, 2002:
Berlinale appoints new Kinderfilmfest director

Thomas Hailer (43) is the new director of the Kinderfilmfest (children's film festival) of the Berlin International Film Festival. Long-time Kinderfilmfest collaborator Maryanne Redpath is deputy director.

Together with the director of the section an advisory selection committee will be responsible for the programme. Alongside Maryanne Redpath Berlinale director Dieter Kosslick will appoint two further members for this committee.

The Berlinale is taking the change at the head of the internationally renowned children's film festival as an opportunity to develop the section further. The connection to the German children's film scene and children's film producers is also to be intensified.

Thomas Hailer is a script consultant and draws upon many years of experience in the area of children's film. Among other things, he supervises the funded children's film projects for the Kuratorium junger deutscher Film and is a member of the selection committee of Produktuktionsförderung C with the State Minister for Cultural and Media Affairs.

October 14, 2002

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2003

Kinderfilmfest

14.10.2002:
Berlinale beruft neuen Leiter des Kinderfilmfestes

Thomas Hailer (43) ist neuer Leiter des Kinderfilmfestes der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin. Zu seiner Stellvertreterin wurde die langjährige Mitarbeiterin des Kinderfilmfestes, Maryanne Redpath, ernannt.

Gemeinsam mit dem Leiter der Sektion wird ein beratendes Auswahlgremium für das Programm verantwortlich sein. Berlinale-Intendant Dieter Kosslick wird neben Maryanne Redpath noch zwei weitere Mitglieder in dieses Gremium berufen.

Die Berlinale nimmt den Wechsel an der Spitze des international renommierten Kinderfilmfestes zum Anlass, die Sektion weiter zu entwickeln. Auch die Beziehungen zur deutschen Kinderfilmszene und den Kinderfilmproduzenten sollen intensiviert werden.

Thomas Hailer ist Dramaturg und verfügt über langjährige Erfahrungen im Kinderfilmbereich. Unter anderem betreut er die geförderten Kinderfilmprojekte für das Kuratorium junger deutscher Film und ist Mitglied des Auswahlausschusses Produktionsförderung C beim Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Angelegenheiten der Kultur und Medien.

14.10.2002