Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2003

Berlinale Talent Campus

Oct 16, 2002:
Berlinale Talent Campus – New platform for up-and-coming film talent

“You always remember the first time” is the motto of the first Berlinale Talent Campus which will take place during the 53rd Berlin International Film Festival at the House of World Cultures (Haus der Kulturen der Welt).

From February 10 to 14, 2003, initiator and Berlinale-director Dieter Kosslick, in co-operation with Filmboard Berlin-Brandenburg (Prof. Klaus Keil) and UK Film Council (Paul Trijbits), invites up-and-coming filmmakers from all around the world to this unique event. The campus offers up to 500 young authors, producers, directors, cameramen and actors the once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to learn from and discuss with experienced professionals and to reflect on career perspectives.

In a five-day program, the Berlinale Talent Campus will cover the entire spectrum of film-making: From the latest technological developments and stylistic trends to ethical approaches. The curriculum corresponds with the five stages of creating a film:

February 10: Philosophy

February 11: Pre-production

February 12: Production

February 13: Post-production

February 14: Promotion

The Berlinale Talent Campus is a platform of know-how and inspiration. And through its international and interdisciplinary character, the campus supports understanding and acceptance amongst filmmakers of different cultures.

During the Film Festival, the up-and-coming generation will have a venue of their own - the House of World Cultures (Haus der Kulturen der Welt), or – as the Berliners say – the “pregnant oyster”. Located close to the festival centre, it will provide lounges, screening facilities, and lecture halls.

Dieter Kosslick: “The idea is that the people will leave in an electrified state and say: ‘That helped me with my new project – or my life.’ You don’t have to reduce everything to celluloid. Of course, that’s important. But it’s much more important that you put yourself into a situation which enables you to have a new artistic idea, to make a new film.”

Young filmmakers from all around the world can apply via the internet at www.berlinale-talentcampus.de . Deadline is December 6, 2002. A share of the travel and accommodation expenses will be reimbursed to all selected talent.

The application poster has already been sent out to film schools, Goethe Institutes, cultural associations and institutions worldwide. And all over the world, the festival delegates of the International Film Festival Berlin as well as our co-operation partners are looking for potential participants.

The Berlinale Talent Campus is a project of the Berlin International Film Festival, a business division of the Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin GmbH. In co-operation with Filmboard Berlin-Brandenburg, UK Film Council, House of World Cultures. Organised by Master School Drehbuch Berlin.

We would also like to thank the following partners: MEDIA Promotion, German Federal Film Board, Planet TV, Federal Foreign Office.

For further information please refer to: www.berlinale-talentcampus.de .

Oct. 16, 2002

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2003

Berlinale Talent Campus

16.10.2002:
Berlinale Talent Campus – Neue Plattform für internationalen Filmnachwuchs

“You always remember the first time” ist das Motto des ersten Berlinale Talent Campus, der während der 53. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin im Haus der Kulturen der Welt stattfindet.

Vom 10. bis 14. Februar 2003 lädt der Initiator und Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick, in Kooperation mit Filmboard Berlin-Brandenburg (Prof. Klaus Keil) und UK Film Council (Paul Trijbits), ein zu diesem Marktplatz für 500 junge Filmemacher und Filmemacherinnen. Der Campus gibt ihnen die Möglichkeit, sich mit etablierten Profis auszutauschen und Kontakte für das zukünftige Berufsleben zu knüpfen.

Junge Talente aus den Bereichen Drehbuch, Produktion, Regie, Kamera und Schauspiel werden sich in einem fünftägigen Veranstaltungsprogramm mit der gesamten Bandbreite des Filmschaffens auseinandersetzen. Von neuesten technologischen Entwicklungen und stilistischen Trends bis zu ethischen Fragen. Das Curriculum folgt den fünf Entwicklungsstufen des Filmemachens:

10. Februar: Philosophy

11. Februar: Preproduction

12. Februar: Production

13. Februar: Postproduction

14. Februar: Promotion

Durch die internationale und interdisziplinäre Zusammensetzung fördert der Berlinale Talent Campus die Verständigung und Akzeptanz zwischen Filmemachern unter-schiedlicher Kulturen. Der Campus versteht sich als Plattform des Know-how und der Inspiration.

Die Veranstaltungen finden in den Lounges, Filmsälen und Vorlesungsräumen im Haus der Kulturen der Welt im Tiergarten, nur zehn Minuten vom Festivalzentrum, statt.

Dieter Kosslick: “Die Leute sollen in einem elektrisch aufgeladenen Zustand weggehen und sagen: Das hat mir für mein neues Projekt viel gebracht – oder für mein Leben. Man muss ja nicht immer alles aufs Zelluloid reduzieren. Natürlich ist das wichtig. Aber viel wichtiger ist, dass du dich in einen Zustand versetzt, der dich befähigt, eine neue künstlerische Idee zu haben, einen neuen Film zu machen”.

Junge Filmschaffende aus allen Ländern können sich bis zum 6.12.2002 via Internet unter www.berlinale-talentcampus.de bewerben. Den Teilnehmern werden anteilig die Reise- und Unterbringungskosten erstattet.

Das Bewerbungsplakat wurde bereits weltweit an Filmschulen, Goethe-Institute, Verbände und kulturelle Institutionen verschickt. Außerdem gehen die Auslandsdelegierten der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin sowie die Kooperationspartner des Berlinale Talent Campus in aller Welt auf Talentsuche.

Der Berlinale Talent Campus ist ein Projekt der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin, einem Geschäftsbereich der Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin GmbH. In Kooperation mit Filmboard Berlin-Brandenburg, UK Film Council, Haus der Kulturen der Welt. Organisiert von Master School Drehbuch Berlin.

Wir danken unseren weiteren Förderern: MEDIA Promotion, FFA Filmförderungsanstalt, Planet TV, Auswärtiges Amt.

Weitere Informationen unter: www.berlinale-talentcampus.de

16.10.2002