Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2003

Awards

Dec 11, 2002:
A retrospective for Yasujiro Ozu at the 2003 Berlin International Film Festival

December 12, 2003 will mark the 100th anniversary of the birth of film director Yasujiro Ozu. On this occasion, the Berlin International Film Festival will devote a retrospective to this master of Japanese cinema.

Thanks to the copyright holders Shochiku Co. Ltd., it will be possible for the Berlinale to pay tribute to director Yasujiro Ozu. At the Berlinale Palast, his most famous work Tokyo Monogatari (Tokyo Story) will be screened.

Other works by and about Yasujiro Ozu will be featured in various program sections of the Berlinale. An extensive retrospective of his films will be presented following the festival at the Arsenal movie theater.

Yasujiro Ozu, who passed away in 1963, is regarded internationally as one of the most renowned figures in the history of Japanese cinema. His works have influenced filmmakers like Wim Wenders, Paul Schrader or Hou Hsiao Hsien.

The Berlin International Film Festival is delighted to be able to present this retrospective for the first time. It will do so in collaboration with Shochiku Co. Ltd. and with the support of the Japanese Embassy in Berlin and the Japan Foundation in Cologne. The retrospective will be screened afterwards at other international festivals, for example, in Hong Kong or New York.

December 11, 2002

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2003

Preise und Ehrungen

11.12.2002:
Werkschau von Yasujiro Ozu auf den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin 2003

Am 12. Dezember 2003 wird sich das Geburtsjahr des japanischen Regisseurs Yasujiro Ozu zum 100. Mal jähren. Dies nehmen die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin zum Anlass, um dem großen Meister eine Werkschau zu widmen.

Dank dem japanischen Rechteinhaber, der Firma Shochiku Co. Ltd., wird es der Berlinale möglich sein, Yasujiro Ozu zu ehren. So soll im Berlinale Palast sein sicherlich berühmtestes Werk Tokyo Monogatari (Tokyo Story) wiederaufgeführt werden.

Weitere Beiträge von und über Yasujiro Ozu sind in verschiedenen Programmreihen der Berlinale vorgesehen. Eine ausführliche Retrospektive seiner Filme wird im Anschluss an das Festival im Arsenal zu sehen sein.

Der 1963 verstorbene Yasujiro Ozu zählt zu den international renommiertesten Leitfiguren in der Geschichte des japanischen Kinos und sein Werk beeinflusste Filmemacher wie Wim Wenders, Paul Schrader oder Hou Hsiao Hsien.

Die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin freuen sich, gemeinsam mit Shochiku Co. Ltd. und mit Unterstützung der Japanischen Botschaft in Berlin sowie des Japanischen Kulturinstitutes in Köln (The Japan Foundation) diese Werkschau erstmals präsentieren zu können, die dann auf weiteren internationalen Festivals wie Hong Kong oder New York fortgeführt wird.

11. Dezember 2002