Berlinale: Juries


Juries 2003

International Jury

Atom Egoyan (Canada)

Atom Egoyan’s international breakthrough came in the 1987 Forum where he presented his feature film Family Viewing. His greatest successes include Calendar, Exotica, The Sweet Hereafter and Ararat. The director, who has Armenian roots, has won numerous prizes at international film festivals including The Grand Prix and International Critics Awards from the Cannes Film Festival and two Academy Award nominations. His art installations have been presented at museums and galleries throughout the world, including the Venice Biennale. For the Canadian Opera Company, Egoyan has produced Wagner’s Ring Cycle.

Humbert Balsan (France)

After having acted in small roles, Humbert Balsan changed his profession in the late seventies and became a producer. Balsan has discovered and promoted a whole string of French filmmakers including Philippe Faucon and Sandrine Veysset. One of his most recent productions is Divine Intervention by Palestinian director Elia Suleiman who received the Jury Prize in Cannes in 2002.

Kathryn Bigelow (USA)

Kathryn Bigelow is one of the few women directors to feel at home with the action genre. After years of working as a painter and conceptual artist she switched to directing. Her first big hit was Blue Steel which was screened in the Berlinale Panorama in 1990. She excited critics and audiences with her film Strange Days in 1995 an action-packed thriller mixed with science-fiction. Her most recent film K-19: The Widowmaker ran last year in movie theaters all over the world.

Anna Galiena (Italy)

In Patrice Leconte’s Le Marie de la coiffeuse (The Hairdresser’s Husband) from 1990, she played an atractive hairstylist and loving wife – a role which was to earn Italian actress Anna Galiena international acclaim. She performed in the screen adaptation of Thomas Mann’s Mario und der Zauberer (Mario and the Magician) as well as in the international productions Jamón, Jamón and The Leading Man. Anna Galiena has acted in countless European productions as well as on American television and at the Public Theater in New York.

Martina Gedeck (Germany)

As the beautiful, spirited cook in Bella Martha (Mostly Martha), Martina Gedeck won the hearts of audiences from Italy to the USA. The film also brought her the German Film Award 2002 as well as diverse international prizes. German movie-goers are acquainted with this multitalented actress of complex roles – whose screen career began in 1988 with Tiger, Löwe, Panther – from such successful hits as Der bewegte Mann (Maybe… Maybe Not), Das Leben ist eine Baustelle (Life is All You Get) or Rossini.

Geoffrey Gilmore (USA)

As director of the Sundance Film Festival in Park City/Utah, Geoffrey Gilmore is an indefatigable traveller when it comes to film. After years of responsibility for the festival’s program selection Gilmore is one of the best authorities on international independent filmmaking. Moreover with the Sundance Collection Gilmore has established a unique independent film archive at the University of California in Los Angeles (UCLA). He is also active as advisor for many film organizations and projects.

Abderrahmane Sissako (Mauritania)

Director Abderrahmane Sissako born in 1961 in West African Mauritania grew up entirely in Mali and later went on to study cinema at the VGIK in Moscow. Sissako’s first feature length film Rostov-Luanda was screened at the Documenta X in Kassel. His film La vie sur la terre (1998) received awards at festivals around the world. Sissako is now living in Paris, but in his films he remains faithful to the country and the people of his origin: In his latest film Heremakono, which screened at Cannes 2002 in “Un certain regard”, he once again returns to the African continent.

International Short Film Jury

Andreas Dresen (Germany)

After receiving the Grand Prize of the Jury at the Berlinale in 2002, Andreas Dresen's Halbe Treppe (Grill Point) toured the festival world. The director, born in 1963, made a name for himself with the episodic film Nachtgestalten (Night Shapes) which also ran in the Berlinale competition. Alongside his cinema projects, Dresen works for both theater and television.

Phyllis Mollet (France)

Phyllis Mollet lives in Paris and worked from 1993 to 2002 for the International Federation of Film Producers’ Association (FIAPF). As the association’s general secretary, and then as its director of communications and festivals, she was responsible for 60 film festivals worldwide.

Thom Palmen (Sweden)

Thom Palmen is the director of the Umea International Film Festival in Sweden and chairman of the board of directors of the European Coordination of Film Festivals (ECFF). As a member of the jury, he has been a guest at many film festivals.

Honorary Awards of the Festival

The recipients of honorary awards are not chosen by a jury but by the festival director.

Children's Jury

A Children's Jury with members aged 11 to 14 awards the Crystal Bears in the Kinderfilmfest competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the festival director.

International Jury Kinderfilmfest

The International Jury of the Kinderfilmfest awards the Grand Prix of the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk (German Child Support Organisation) worth 7,500 Euros, to the Best Feature Film. The charity's special prize, which has a value of 2,500 Euros, is awarded to the Best Short Film.

Members of the International Jury of the 26th Kinderfilmfest are: Lars Berg, Ricardo Casas, Martin Duffy, Christina Schindler, and Gaurav Seth.

Berlinale: Jurys


Jurys 2003

Internationale Jury

Atom Egoyan (Kanada)

Mit dem Spielfilm Family Viewing, den Atom Egoyan 1987 im Forum der Berlinale vorstellte, gelang dem kanadischen Regisseur der internationale Durchbruch. Zu seinen großen Erfolgen gehören Calendar, Exotica, The Sweet Hereafter und Ararat. Der armenisch-stämmige Filmemacher hat zahlreiche Preise auf internationalen Festivals erhalten, darunter den Großen Preis der Jury und den Kritikerpreis in Cannes sowie zwei Oscar-Nominierungen. Seine Kunstinstallationen wurden weltweit in Museen und Galerien ausgestellt, einschließlich der Biennale in Venedig. Mit der Canadian Opera Company hat Atom Egoyan eine Inszenierung von Wagners "Ring..." erarbeitet.

Humbert Balsan (Frankreich)

Nach kleineren Rollen als Schauspieler wechselte Humbert Balsan das Fach und wirkt seit Ende der 70er als Produzent. Balsan hat eine Reihe französischer Filmemacher entdeckt und gefördert darunter Philippe Faucon und Sandrine Veysset. Zu seinen jüngeren Produktionen zählt der Film Divine Intervention des palästinensischen Regisseurs Elia Suleiman der im Jahr 2002 den Preis der Jury in Cannes erhielt.

Kathryn Bigelow (USA)

Kathryn Bigelow ist eine der wenigen Frauen im Regiefach die im Action-Genre beheimatet sind. Nach mehrjähriger Tätigkeit als Malerin und Konzeptkünstlerin begann sie ihre Karriere als Regisseurin. Ihr erster großer Erfolg Blue Steel war 1990 im Panorama der Berlinale zu sehen. 1995 begeisterte sie Kritik und Publikum mit dem Film Strange Days, einer actionreichen Mischung aus Thriller und Science-Fiction. Ihr jüngster Film K-19: The Widowmaker war ein weltweiter Kinoerfolg.

Anna Galiena (Italien)

In Patrice Lecontes Der Mann der Friseuse gab sie 1990 eine attraktive Haarkünstlerin und liebende Ehefrau – eine Rolle, die die italienische Schauspielerin Anna Galiena international bekannt machte. In der Thomas-Mann-Verfilmung Mario und der Zauberer war sie ebenso zu sehen wie in den internationalen Produktionen Jamón, Jamón und The Leading Man. Anna Galiena spielte in zahlreichen europäischen Produktionen sowie im amerikanischen Fernsehen und am Public Theater in New York.

Martina Gedeck (Deutschland)

Als schöne, temperamentvolle Köchin in Bella Martha eroberte Martina Gedeck die Herzen des Publikums von Italien bis nach Amerika, was ihr den Deutschen Filmpreis 2002 sowie verschiedene internationale Auszeichnungen bescherte. Deutsche Kinogänger kennen die vielseitige Charakter-Darstellerin, deren Leinwandkarriere 1988 mit Tiger, Löwe, Panther begann, aus Erfolgsfilmen wie Der bewegte Mann, Das Leben ist eine Baustelle oder Rossini.

Geoffrey Gilmore (USA)

Als Direktor des Sundance Film Festivals im amerikanischen Park City/Utah ist Geoffrey Gilmore ein unermüdlicher Reisender in Sachen Film. Lange Zeit für die Programmauswahl des Festivals zuständig ist Gilmore einer der besten Kenner der internationalen Independent-Filmszene. An der University of California in Los Angeles (UCLA) hat Gilmore mit der Sundance Collection eine einzigartige Independent-Filmsammlung etabliert. Er ist als Berater für zahlreiche Filmorganisationen und -projekte tätig.

Abderrahmane Sissako (Mauretanien)

Der im westafrikanischen Mauretanien geborene Regisseur Abderrahmane Sissako verbrachte seine Kindheit in Mali und studierte an der Filmhochschule VGIK in Moskau. Sissakos erster Langfilm Rostov-Luanda wurde auf der Documenta X in Kassel gezeigt. 1998 erhielt er für La vie sur la terre weltweit Auszeichnungen auf Festivals. Sissako lebt heute in Paris, ist jedoch seiner Heimat treu geblieben: In seinem Film Heremakono, der 2002 in Cannes in der Reihe „Un certain regard“ lief, kehrt er ein weiteres Mal auf den afrikanischen Kontinent zurück.

Internationale Kurzfilmjury

Andreas Dresen (Deutschland)

Auf der Berlinale 2002 mit dem Großen Preis der Jury ausgezeichnet, reiste Dresens Film Halbe Treppe um die ganze Festival-Welt. Zuvor machte der 1963 geborene Regisseur mit dem Episodenfilm Nachtgestalten von sich reden, der ebenfalls im Berlinale Wettbewerb lief. Neben seinen Filmprojekten arbeitet Dresen auch für Theater und Fernsehen.

Phyllis Mollet (Frankreich)

Phyllis Mollet lebt in Paris und arbeitete von 1993 bis 2002 für die Internationale Vereinigung der Filmproduzentenverbände (FIAPF). Zunächst als Generalsekretärin, später als Leiterin der Abteilung Kommunikation und Festivals, war sie weltweit für 60 Filmfestivals zuständig.

Thom Palmen (Schweden)

Thom Palmen ist Leiter des Internationalen Filmfestivals in Umea/Schweden und Präsident der Europäischen Koordination der Filmfestivals (ECFF). Er war als Jury-Mitglied Gast auf zahlreichen Filmfestivals.

Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals

Die Empfänger der Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals werden nicht von einer Jury bestimmt, sondern von der Festivalleitung selbst.

Kinderjury

Über die Vergabe der Gläsernen Bären im Wettbewerb des Kinderfilmfests entscheidet eine elfköpfige Kinderjury zwischen 11 und 14 Jahren. Sie wird über im Vorjahr eingereichte Filmfragebögen von der Sektionsleitung ausgesucht und von der Festivalleitung offiziell berufen.

Internationale Jury Kinderfilmfest

Die Internationale Jury des Kinderfilmfestes vergibt den mit 7.500 Euro dotierten "Großen Preis des Deutschen Kinderhilfswerkes" an den besten Spielfilm. Der mit 2.500 Euro dotierte "Spezialpreis des Deutschen Kinderhilfswerkes" geht an den besten Kurzfilm.

In die Internationale Jury des 26. Kinderfilmfestes berufen wurden Lars Berg, Ricardo Casas, Martin Duffy, Christina Schindler und Gaurav Seth.