Berlinale: Yearbook


53rd Berlin International Film Festival
February 6 - 16, 2003

“I’m a part of Old Europe.”

(Anouk Aimée, to whom the Homage was dedicated and who was awarded an Honorary Bear for her lifework.)

Anouk Aimée
Anouk Aimée receiving the Honorary Golden Bear.

Berlinale in the Shadow of the Gulf War

The 2003 Berlinale was overshadowed by the second Gulf War, which seemed eminent and dominated politics at the time. Catchphrases like “Axis of Evil” and “Old Europe” were on everyone’s tongue. American star guests, especially, used the Berlinale as a platform to express their disapproval about the policies of George Bush and his allies. Spike Lee, Martin Scorsese, Spike Jonze and Oliver Stone used strong, harsh words – winning them a large amount of sympathy amongst the press and audiences.

In the foyer of the festival cinema Cinemaxx media activists set up a “Speaker’s Corner” where you could express your thoughts on the Iraq crisis before a camera. The day of the award ceremony saw the largest peace demonstrations Berlin had seen since the first Gulf War and its peaceful protest could even by heard in the festival lounges on Potsdamer Platz. The most high-profile appearance was that of Dustin Hoffmann who had come to the Berlinale with the film Moonlight Mile (in Panorama). Surprisingly, he walked up to the podium at a reception in the Konzerthaus and made it clear that you didn’t have to be an anti-American to oppose the policies of the Bush administration.

The appearance of the Hollywood star received a great deal of attention in the American press, and arrived at the conclusion that the 2003 Berlinale was evidence that the festival was anchored in the political culture of “Old Europe” – which wasn’t always meant as a compliment. “I’m a part of Old Europe,” announced Anouk Aimée, who was awarded the Honorary Golden Bear for her lifework. That was intended as a compliment – Old Europe could be glad.

Kim Tae-Jin (Dong Sung)
The Kinderfilmfest's star Kim Tae-Jin (Dong Sung)

Political Explosiveness and a New Earnestness

Who knows want would have happened had Fidel Castro accepted Oliver Stone’s invitation and had stood on the Panorama stage at the premiere of Comandante. But that seemed to be more politics than the festival could handle and it wasn’t just the security guards who breathed a sigh of relief when the “Comandate” cancelled his trip in consideration for Chancellor Gerhard Schröder. Oliver Stone’s respectful portrait of the aging revolutionary leader was among the Panorama films that received the most attention.Due to the politically charged climate, many films received additional poignancy. Noticeable was also the readiness to confront “uncomfortable truths”, which are often considered kill joys in the entertainment industry. Not only in the Forum and Panorama, but also Competition films dealt with migration and escape, growing wealth inequality, fear of the future, but also death and the issue of dignified death. Patrice Chereau’s Son frère, Isabel Coixet’s My Life Without Me, Hans-Christian Schmid’s Lichter and the critics’ favourite The Hours by Stephen Daldry were all films that in their own way brought a new earnestness to the cinema.

"The Right to Intervention"

All in all, the Competition of the 2003 Berlinale was judged to be one of the best in years. The press recognized that the festival lived up to the difficult task of bringing together entertainment, politics, festival atmosphere and contemporary awareness under one roof. Though many didn’t feel Michael Winterbottom’s refugee odyssey In This World was the best film in the Competition, the jury headed by Atom Egoyan was congratulated for awarding the Golden Bear to the movie – and it wasn’t overlooked how well the film’s title served as a slogan: “In this world” …in which we all live. A respectable main award winner at a festival which did not allow the rug to be pulled from under its feet by the political events. In "Berliner Zeitung" Anke Westphal concluded: “With this Berlinale contemporary film has not only made use of its right to intervene and to comment on the world, it has also attempted to recognize what is important to people these days, going beyond the omnipresent metaphors of sickness.”

Wieland Speck, Dieter Kosslick, Minnie Driver
Wieland Speck, Dieter Kosslick, Minnie Driver (Owning Mahony)

At his second Berlinale, Dieter Kosslick laid the foundations for future festival policy. The Competition programme showed its true colours with a clearly contemporary profile. The festival slogan “Towards Tolerance” wasn’t just hot air, but took on weight through the films. With a total of 60 films in the festival, German cinema enjoyed an even stronger presence than in the previous year. With Good Bye Lenin!, Lichter | Distant Lights and Der alte Affe Angst | Angst three German films took part in the Competition. In its second year the section Perspektive Deutsches Kino was already bursting at the seams and many German films became audience hits and found distributors at the European Film Market.

Kick-Off for the Talent Campus

Last but not least the 2003 Berlinale saw the debut of the Berlinale Talent Campus, a joint initiative with the Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg sponsored by more than 50 partners in culture and business. 500 young talents from all areas of filmmaking and every corner of the globe were invited to learn professional skills from experienced filmmakers in workshops, lectures and excursions and to discuss ideas. The Talent Campus was well received by everyone involved. It was covered favourably by the international press and was judged to really be the innovative impulse it was meant to be. The 2003 Berlinale was an acid test for Dieter Kosslick and his team. The vast majority of commentators agreed that they had passed the test with flying colours.

Berlinale: Chronik


53. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
06. - 16. Februar 2003

„Ich bin ein Teil von Old Europe.“

(Anouk Aimée, der die Hommage gewidmet war und die für ihr Lebenswerk mit einem Ehrenbären ausgezeichnet wurde.)

Anouk Aimée
Anouk Aimée mit dem Goldenen Ehrenbären

Berlinale unter den Vorzeichen des Golfkriegs

Die Berlinale 2003 stand ganz im Zeichen des zweiten Golfkriegs, der unmittelbar bevorstand und das politische Tagesgeschehen bestimmte. Schlagworte wie die „Achse des Bösen“ und das „alte Europa“ waren in diesen Tagen in aller Munde. Vor allem die US-amerikanischen Stargäste nutzten die Berlinale, um öffentlich ihr Missfallen über die Politik von George Bush und seinen Verbündeten zu bekunden. Spike Lee, Martin Scorsese, Spike Jonze und Oliver Stone fanden deutliche und harte Worte und stießen damit auf Sympathie bei der Presse und beim Publikum.

Im Foyer des Festivalkinos Cinemaxx hatten Medienaktivisten eine Speakers-Corner eingerichtet, wo man seine Meinung zur Irak-Krise einer Kamera anvertrauen konnte und der Tag der Preisverleihungen war begleitet von der größten Friedensdemonstration, die Berlin seit dem ersten Golfkrieg erlebt hatte und deren friedlicher Protest bis in die Festivallounges am Potsdamer Platz zu hören war. Den meist beachteten Auftritt hatte schließlich Dustin Hoffman, der mit dem Film Moonlight Mile (im Panorama) zur Berlinale gekommen war. Überraschend trat er auf einem Empfang im Konzerthaus ans Rednerpult und machte klar, dass man kein Anti-Amerikaner sein müsse, um gegen die Politik der Bush-Administration zu sein.

Die amerikanische Presse schenkte dem Auftritt der Hollywood-Stars große Aufmerksamkeit und verbuchte die Berlinale 2003 als Beleg dafür, wie fest das Festival in der politischen Kultur von „Old Europe“ verankert ist - was nicht bei jedem als Kompliment gemeint war. „Ich bin ein Teil von Old Europe“, bekannte Anouk Aimée, die für ihr Lebenswerk mit dem Goldenen Ehrenbären ausgezeichnet wurde. Das war als Kompliment gemeint, Old Europe durfte sich freuen.

Kim Tae-Jin (Dong Sung)
Star des Kinderfilmfestes: Kim Tae-Jin (Dong Sung)

Politische Brisanz und eine neue Ernsthaftigkeit

Wer weiß, was gewesen wäre, wenn Fidel Castro Oliver Stones Einladung gefolgt wäre und zur Premiere von Comandante auf der Bühne des Panorama gestanden hätte. Doch das schien mehr Politik, als das Festival hätte vertragen können und nicht nur die Security Guards werden aufgeatmet haben, als der „Comandante“ seinen Besuch aus Rücksichtnahme auf Bundeskanzler Schröder absagte. Oliver Stones respektvolles Porträt des alternden Revolutionsführers wurde auch so zu einem der meist beachteten Panorama-Filme. Viele Filme erhielten durch das politisch aufgeladene Klima eine zusätzliche Brisanz. Auffallend war die Bereitschaft, sich mit „unbequemen Wahrheiten“ auseinander zu setzen, die in der Unterhaltungsindustrie nicht selten als „Spielverderber“-Themen gelten. Nicht nur im Forum und im Panorama, auch in den Filmen des Wettbewerbs ging es um Migration und Flucht, um die wachsende Ungleichheit in der Verteilung des Wohlstands, um Zukunftsangst, aber auch um den Tod und die Frage nach einem würdigen Sterben. Patrice Chereaus Son frère, Isabel Coixets My Life without me, Hans-Christian Schmids Lichter und der Kritiker-Favorit The Hours von Stephen Daldry waren Filme, die auf sehr verschiedene Art eine neue Ernsthaftigkeit ins Kino brachten.

„Das Recht auf Einmischung“

Der Wettbewerb der Berlinale 2003 wurde allgemein als der beste seit Jahren beurteilt und die Presse zollte dem Festival Anerkennung, weil es sich der schwierigen Aufgabe gewachsen zeigte, Entertainment und Politik, Festivalfreude und zeitpolitische Wachsamkeit unter einen Hut zu bekommen. Obwohl viele Michael Winterbottoms Flüchtlingsodyssee In this World nicht für den besten Beitrag im Wettbewerb hielten, wurde die Jury um Atom Egoyan für ihre Entscheidung beglückwünscht, ihn mit dem Goldenen Bären auszuzeichnen – und es wurde dabei auch nicht übersehen, wie gut der Titel des Films sich als Motto eignete: In dieser Welt, in der wir alle leben. Ein würdiger Hauptpreis auf einem Festival, das von den politischen Tagesereignissen auf dem richtigen Fuß erwischt wurde. In der Berliner Zeitung schrieb Anke Westphal in ihrem Fazit: „Mit dieser Berlinale hat die aktuelle Filmkunst nicht nur ihr Recht auf Einmischung, auf Kommentar in Anspruch genommen, sie hat jenseits der allgegenwärtigen Krankheitsmetaphern auch den Versuch unternommen zu erkennen, was den Menschen dieser Tage ausmacht.“

Wieland Speck, Dieter Kosslick, Minnie Driver
Wieland Speck, Dieter Kosslick, Minnie Driver (Owning Mahony)

Dieter Kosslick setzte auf dieser, seiner zweiten Berlinale die Wegmarken für seine künftige Festivalpolitik: Das Wettbewerbsprogramm bekannte Farbe mit einem deutlich zeitgenössischen Profil, das Festivalmotto „Towards Tolerance“ blieb nicht im luftleeren Raum, sondern wurde durch die Filme mit Inhalt gefüllt. Das deutsche Kino war mit insgesamt 60 Filmen im Festival noch stärker vertreten als im Vorjahr. Mit Good Bye Lenin!, Lichter und Der alte Affe Angst gab es drei deutsche Filme im Wettbewerb, die Vorführungen der Sektion Perspektive Deutsches Kino platzten schon im zweiten Jahr aus allen Nähten und viele deutsche Filme waren Publikumsrenner und fanden auf dem European Film Market Verleiher.

Startschuss für den Talent Campus

Und last but not least brachte die Berlinale 2003 auch das Debüt des Berlinale Talent Campus, einer gemeinsamen Initiative mit dem Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg, gefördert von über 50 Partnern aus Kultur und Wirtschaft. 500 junge Talente aus allen Bereichen des Filmschaffens und aus der ganzen Welt wurden eingeladen, um mit erfahrenen Filmemachern in Workshops, Lectures und Exkursionen professionelles Handwerk zu lernen und ihre Ideen zu diskutieren. Der Talent Campus stieß bei allen Beteiligten und auch bei der internationalen Presse auf ein großes Echo und wurde als der innovative Impuls bewertet, als der er gedacht war. Die Berlinale 2003 war eine Feuerprobe für Dieter Kosslick und sein Team. Das Gros der Kommentatoren war sich einig, dass sie mit Bravour bestanden wurde.