Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2002

Competition

Oct 31, 2001:
Berlinale 2002 opens with the world premiere of Heaven

The 52nd Berlin International Film Festival is celebrating its grand opening on February 6, 2002 with the world premiere of Tom Tykwer's Heaven. "Tom Tykwer is one of Germany's greatest film directors", stated Dieter Kosslick, the new festival director, "and we are very pleased that his first international production will open the next Berlinale. Heaven is a splendid example of the creative potential of German cinema."

Cate Blanchett (Elizabeth) and Giovanni Ribisi (Gone in 60 Seconds) star in this concentrated fusion of thriller, love story and moral drama. Heaven is based on the last screenplay written by Polish director Krzysztof Kieslowski, who died in 1996, and his co-author Krzysztof Piesiewicz. It was filmed on location in Germany and Italy, in both English and Italian language. This Competition entry is an international co-production by X Filme Creative Pool and Miramax. X Filme Creative Pool also produced Tom Tykwer's The Princess and the Warrior and his worldwide success Run Lola Run.

Tom Tykwer commented when he was told of the decision: "We have tried to break new ground - with our ideas, the story, and how the film was made and produced. Heaven is the outcome. A film conceived with partners from America, Italy, Poland, England and France - and its premiere couldn't happen in a better place than Berlin. I'm extremely happy that the new Festival director has invited us and our new friends to open the Berlinale 2002 with Heaven".

Oct. 31, 2001

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2002

Wettbewerb

31.10.2001:
Weltpremiere von Heaven eröffnet Berlinale 2002

Mit der Weltpremiere von Tom Tykwers Heaven werden die 52. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin am 6. Februar 2002 eröffnet. “Tom Tykwer ist einer der größten Regisseure des deutschen Films”, sagte Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick, “wir freuen uns, dass seine erste internationale Produktion die kommende Berlinale eröffnen wird. Heaven ist ein wunderbares Beispiel für das kreative Potenzial der deutschen Filmszene.”

Cate Blanchett (Elizabeth) und Giovanni Ribisi (Nur noch 60 Sekunden) spielen die Hauptrollen in einer konzentrierten Fusion aus Thriller, Lovestory und moralischem Drama. Heaven, der nach dem letzten Drehbuch des 1996 verstorbenen polnischen Regisseur Krzysztof Kieslowski und dessen Co-Autor Krzysztof Piesiewicz entstand, wurde in Deutschland und Italien in englischer und italienischer Sprache gedreht. Der Wettbewerbsbeitrag ist eine internationale Co-Produktion von X Filme Creative Pool und Miramax. X Filme Creative Pool hatte bereits Der Krieger und die Kaiserin und den Welterfolg Lola rennt von Tom Tykwer produziert.

“Wir haben versucht, neue Wege zu gehen - im Denken, im Erzählen, im Filmen und im Produzieren. Heaven ist das Resultat. Ein Film, den wir mit Partnern aus Amerika, Italien, Polen, England und Frankreich gemeinsam gestaltet haben - und dessen Premiere nirgendwo besser aufgehoben ist als in Berlin. Ich bin sehr glücklich, dass der neue Festivaldirektor uns und all unsere neuen Freunde eingeladen hat, mit Heaven die Berlinale 2002 zu eröffnen”, kommentierte Tom Tykwer die Entscheidung.

31.10.2001