Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2002

Additional Information

Nov 22, 2001:
Dieter Kosslick Appoints the Selection Committee 2002

Berlinale director Dieter Kosslick has appointed his advisory film selection committee. Thirteen representatives from the fields of film production, directing, distribution, movie theaters, film review and history will serve as advisors at selection screenings for the Competition of the 52nd Berlin International Film Festival.

This year's committee also includes Forum director Christoph Terhechte. This decision reflects how the Berlinale and the Forum will cooperate more closely in the future. Terhechte, a film journalist, who once participated in selecting films for Hamburg's Low Budget Festival, has been on the selection committee of the International Forum of New Cinema since 1997. He became the Forum's new director in June 2001.

The directors of the Panorama, the "Perspektive Deutsches Kino" and the European Film Market sections are also on the committee:

Director and author Wieland Speck has headed the Berlinale's Panorama since 1992. Over the years he has served on diverse international film festival juries; since 1995 he has also been a member of the selection committee of the Filmförderung Hamburg.

Film journalist and manager Alfred Holighaus is in charge of the new Berlinale "Perspektive Deutsches Kino" series, which will present Germany's most recent productions.

Beki Probst, cinema owner and former artistic director of the Geneva "Stars de demain" festival, has been head of the Berlinale's European Film Market since 1988. She has also been on the juries of many large international film festivals.

Dr. Rainer Rother is the program director of the Zeughaus cinema in the German Historical Museum in Berlin, as well as the curator of exhibitions there. He also writes on film for diverse journals and books.

Producer Katrin Schlösser studied at the Konrad-Wolf Filmhochschule. With Frank Löprich she founded the ö-Filmproduktion company in 1990. Their most celebrated productions include Leander Haußmann's Sonnenallee (Sun Alley) and Andreas Kleinert's Wege in die Nacht (Paths in the Night).

Since 1998, Christoph Friedel has been a producer for Pandora, a Cologne-based production company. Before becoming its chief executive (from 1999 to 2001), he worked for different large film distributors and the Filmstiftung North-Rhine Westphalia.

Anke Leweke has been a film journalist for a number of daily newspapers, radio and television stations since 1989. She has also authored television features and portraits.

Matthias Elwardt is chief executive and program director of Hamburg's highly commended ABATON art house cinema. He is also on the selection committee of the Filmförderung Hamburg.

In addition, Dieter Kosslick has appointed three members to the committee who are from other parts of Europe:

Claudia Landsberger, president and founder member of European Film Promotion, is from Holland. She has been working for years in the fields of production, film financing and marketing. She is also an advisor for the Los Angeles Film Festival and the Cinemart in Rotterdam; she became chief executive of Holland Film in 1995.

Simon Perry was chief executive of British Screen, the UK's national investor in film development and production, from 1991 until 2000. Notable British Screen successes during his time in office included Neil Jordan's The Crying Game, Mike Leigh's Naked and Danis Tanovic's No Man's Land. Simon Perry is president of the Paris-based training iniative, ACE, and a principal lecturer at the Internationale Filmschule in Cologne.

Cristina Hoffman is the delegate to France for Export-Union (official trade association for the promotion of German films) and the FFA, the German Federal Film Board. She lives in Paris and has worked for years in the fields of production and co-production, also as advisor for German-French co-productions.

Nov. 21, 2001

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2002

Zusätzliches

22.11.2001:
Dieter Kosslick beruft Auswahlgremium

Berlinale-Leiter Dieter Kosslick hat sein beratendes Auswahlgremium berufen. 13 Branchenvetreter aus den Bereichen Filmproduktion, Regie, Verleih, Kino, Filmkritik und -geschichte werden als Berater an den Auswahlsichtungen für den Wettbewerb der 52. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin teilnehmen.

Mit im Gremium für den Wettbewerb ist Forums-Leiter Christoph Terhechte. Diese Entscheidung zeigt, dass die Berlinale und das Forum künftig eng zusammen arbeiten werden. Der Filmjournalist Terhechte war in der Vergangenheit für die Filmauswahl des Hamburger Low Budget Festivals tätig und ist seit 1997 im Auswahlkommittee des Internationalen Forums des Jungen Films. Seit Juni 2001 ist er der neue Leiter des Forums.

Auch die Sektionsleiter von Panorama, Perspektive Deutsches Kino und die Leiterin des European Film Market gehören dem Gremium an:

Der Regisseur und Autor Wieland Speck leitet seit 1992 das “Panorama“ der Berlinale. Er war Jury-Mitglied verschiedener internationaler Filmfestivals und sitzt seit 1995 im Gremium der Hamburger Filmförderung.

Der Filmjournalist und Filmkaufmann Alfred Holighaus verantwortet die neue Berlinale-Reihe "Perspektive Deutsches Kino", die aktuelle deutsche Produktionen zeigt.

Die Kinobesitzerin und ehemalige Künstlerische Leiterin des Genfer Festivals "Stars de Demain", Beki Probst, ist seit 1988 Leiterin des "European Film Market" der Berlinale. Sie war mehrfach in den Juries großer internationaler Filmfestivals.

Dr. Rainer Rother ist Programmleiter des Zeughauskinos im Deutschen Historischen Museum in Berlin und dort auch Kurator von Ausstellungen. Als Autor schreibt er über Film für verschiedene Zeitschriften und Bücher.

Die Produzentin Katrin Schlösser hat an der "Konrad-Wolf"-Filmhochschule studiert. Gemeinsam mit Frank Löprich gründete sie 1990 die ö-Filmproduktion. Zu den bekanntesten Produktionen gehören u.a. Sonnenallee von Leander Haußmann und Andreas Kleinerts Wege in die Nacht.

Christoph Friedel ist seit 1998 Produzent der Kölner Pandora Filmproduktion, dessen Geschäftsführer er von 1999 - 2001 war. Er hat zuvor für verschiedene große Kinoverleiher und die Filmstiftung NRW gearbeitet.

Die Filmjournalistin Anke Leweke ist seit 1989 für verschiedene Tageszeitungen, Radio- und TV-Redaktionen tätig. Sie ist außerdem Autorin von Fernsehfeatures und Porträtsendungen.

Matthias Elwardt ist der Programmchef und Geschäftsführer des vielfach ausgezeichneten Filmkunstkinos ABATON in Hamburg. Er ist außerdem Jurymitglied im großen Gremium der Hamburger Filmförderung.

Desweiteren hat Dieter Kosslick drei Mitglieder aus dem europäischen Ausland berufen:

Aus Holland Claudia Landsberger, Präsidentin und Gründungsmitglied der European Film Promotion. Claudia Landsberger ist seit vielen Jahren im Bereich Produkion, Filmfinanzierung und Marketing aktiv. Sie ist auch als Beraterin für die Festivals in Los Angeles und den Cinemart in Rotterdam tätig und seit 1995 Geschäftsführerin von "Holland Film".

Simon Perry war von 1991 bis 2000 Geschäftsführer von "British Screen", der nationalen Filmförderung in Großbritannien. Beachtliche britische Filmerfolge entstanden während seiner Amtszeit. Dazu gehören Neil Jordans The Crying Game, Mike Leighs Naked und Danis Tanovics No Man's Land. Zur Zeit ist Simon Perry Präsident der Ausbildungsinitiative ACE in Paris und Dozent an der Internationalen Filmschule in Köln.

Cristina Hoffman ist die Frankreich-Delegierte der Export-Union des deutschen Films und der Filmförderungsanstalt (FFA). Sie lebt in Paris und ist seit langem im Bereich Produktion und Co-Produktionen tätig, u.a. ist sie als Beraterin für deutsch-französische Co-Produktionen zuständig.

21.11.2001