Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2002

Retrospective

Dec 14, 2001:
Retrospective 2002: European 60s “Revolt, Fantasy & Utopia”

Protest, upheaval, departure from the past, Junger Film & Nouvelle Vague. These are synonyms for a cultural and political movement which dominated large parts of Europe in the 60s.

This year's film historical Retrospective of the 52nd Berlin International Film Festival (February 6 to 17, 2002) will re-trace European cinema of this period. Conceived and organized by the Filmmuseum Berlin - Deutsche Kinemathek under the title "European 60s - Revolt, Fantasy & Utopia", the Retrospective will present some 60 films from Western and Eastern Europe: from Autorenkino to a selection of trivial and popular film genres, like spaghetti Westerns, these are films which shaped the cinema of this turbulent political and cultural decade. Classics are to be found next to a large number of rediscoveries, films seemingly made "for the moment" only, and productions which fell victim to state censorship. "The European 60s have had a lasting influence on our current political and cultural situation", Berlinale director Dieter Kosslick remarked. "The Retrospective will highlight aesthetic ideas and cinematographic genres which have been formative for filmmakers worldwide."

Images from the Spring of Prague and from Paris in May '68 are part of our collective memory of the 60s. Europe was undergoing changes. The physiognomies of its societies and their environments were evolving new contours. Youthful subcultures were the themes in the media. The rising globalization of the entertainment factories, especially in the fields of film and music, was spreading a new and unbounded sense of life.

What triggered this general mood of upheaval? What were the issues and with whom was one quarreling? What were the reactions? These films, made throughout Europe in the 60s, also explore these questions. The directors and authors include: Jean-Luc Godard, Lindsay Anderson, Alexander Kluge, Dusan Makavejev, Bo Widerberg, Vera Chytilová, Michelangelo Antonioni, Jürgen Böttcher, Jerzy Skolimoski, Carlos Saura, Miklós Jancsó, among others. From the stance of film history, a close look reveals that alongside the divergent courses which history took in each country, there is a tendency toward a completely other and all-European history of mentalities and thought. Things in common play a much larger role than differences: there is indeed perhaps something like a European cultural history - or a "true story" of European cinema.

The Retrospective will be complemented by a comprehensive partnership which the Berlinale and the Filmmuseum Berlin - Deutsche Kinemathek has entered into with 3sat Cultural Broadcasting Program. Coinciding with the beginning of the 52nd Berlin International Film Festival, 3sat will broadcast 40 European feature films under the title "European 60s" that are thematically related to the Retrospective and so extend the program in content over an entire year. The Retrospective of the Berlinale and 3sat Cultural Broadcasting Program are thus visibly focusing on a cooperation in the interest of European cinema. On December 17, Berlinale director Dieter Kosslick, Filmmuseum Berlin director Hans Helmut Prinzler and European Satellite Programs ZDF director Dr. Gottfried Langenstein will sign the contract for this partnership.

PREMIERE WORLD, major partner at the Berlinale, accompanies the Retrospective within the scope of its extensive Berlinale coverage. In February 2002, a representative selection of European films from the 60s will be broadcast on several channels.

On occasion of the Retrospective a book will be published (edition text + kritik) in which a detailed essay and documents of the times merge in a montage, illuminating a topography of European film culture in the 60s.

Dec. 14, 2001

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2002

Retrospektive

14.12.2001:
Retrospektive 2002 - European 60s „Revolte, Phantasie & Utopie“

Protest, Aufbruch, Abschied vom Gestern, Junger Film & Nouvelle Vague. Das sind auch Synonyme für eine kulturelle und politische Bewegung, die weite Teile Europas in den 60er Jahren, den "Sixties", dominierte. Dem europäischen Kino dieser Jahre spürt die filmhistorische Retrospektive der 52. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin (6.-17. Februar 2002) nach. Unter dem Titel "European 60s. Revolte, Phantasie & Utopie" präsentiert die Retrospektive, vom Filmmuseum Berlin - Deutsche Kinemathek konzipiert und organisiert, etwa 60 Filme aus West- und Osteuropa: Filme von "Autoren" genauso wie Beispiele der trivialen und populären Filmgenres, etwa des Italowesterns, die das Kino dieses politisch und kulturell bewegten Jahrzehnts prägten. Filmklassiker finden sich neben zahlreichen Wiederentdeckungen, Filmen, die nur "für den Augenblick" gemacht schienen, und Produktionen, die Opfer staatlicher Zensur wurden. "Die Retrospektive dokumentiert damit ein Stück jüngerer Filmgeschichte und berührt gleichzeitig eine politisch-kulturelle Aktualität, die eine ganze Generation betrifft und der wir uns heute - unter anderen Vorzeichen - stellen müssen", sagte der neue Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick.

Zum kollektiven Gedächtnis der 60er Jahre gehören Bilder vom Prager Frühling und vom Pariser Mai 68. Europa wandelte sich. Die Physiognomien der Gesellschaften und ihrer Lebenswelten nahmen neue Konturen an. Jugendliche Subkulturen waren das Thema der Medien. Die einsetzende Globalisierung der Entertainment-Fabriken, besonders im Film- und Musikbereich, verbreitete ein neues und grenzenloses Lebensgefühl.

Wodurch diese allgemeine Aufbruchstimmung ausgelöst wurde? Worüber sie mit wem stritt? Wie ihr begegnet wurde? Auch davon erzählen jene Filme, die in den 60er Jahren in ganz Europa gedreht wurden. Die Regisseure und Autoren waren zum Beispiel: Jean-Luc Godard, Lindsay Anderson, Alexander Kluge, Dusan Makavejev, Bo Widerberg, Vera Chytilová,;, Michelangelo Antonioni, Jürgen Böttcher, Jerzy Skolimowski, Carlos Saura und Miklós Jancsó. Ein genauer filmhistorischer Blick macht deutlich, dass neben der national jeweils unterschiedlich verlaufenen Geschichte eine ganz andere und tendenziell gesamteuropäische Geschichte der Mentalitäten und des Denkens sich offenbart, in der Gemeinsamkeiten eine viel größere Rolle spielen als Differenzen: vielleicht gibt es ja tatsächlich so etwas wie eine europäische Kulturgeschichte - oder eine "wahre Geschichte" des europäischen Kinos.

Die Retrospektive wird ergänzt und erweitert durch eine umfassende Partnerschaft, die die Berlinale und das Filmmuseum Berlin - Deutsche Kinemathek mit dem Kulturprogramm 3sat vereinbart haben. 3sat wird mit Beginn der 52. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin unter dem Titel "European 60s" 40 europäische Spielfilme im thematischen Zusammenhang mit der Retrospektive ausstrahlen und so den Programmkontext inhaltlich über ein Jahr weitertragen. Die Retrospektive der Berlinale und das Kulturprogramm 3sat setzen damit gemeinsam einen sichtbaren Akzent inhaltlicher Kooperation im Interesse des europäischen Kinos. Der Vertrag zur Partnerschaft wird am 17. Dezember von Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick und dem Direktor des Filmmuseums Berlin, Hans Helmut Prinzler, sowie dem Direktor der Europäischen Satellitenprogramme im ZDF, Dr. Gottfried Langenstein, offiziell unterzeichnet.

PREMIERE WORLD, Hauptpartner der Berlinale, begleitet im Rahmen seiner umfassenden Berlinale-Berichterstattung auch die Retrospektive. Im Februar 2002 wird auf mehreren Kanälen eine repräsentative Auswahl europäischer Filme aus den 60er Jahren gezeigt.

Zur Retrospektive erscheint - im Vertrieb der edition text + kritik - ein Buch, in dem sich ein ausführlicher Essay und zeitgenössische Dokumente zu einer Montage fügen und eine Topographie europäischer Filmkultur der 60er Jahre erkennbar werden lassen.

14.12.2001