Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2002

Additional Information

Jan 15, 2002:
Art college students create trophy for PREMIERE First Movie Award

The decision for the design of the trophy for the PREMIERE First Movie Award has been made. The winning design of the competition, in which students from all of Germany's art colleges were invited to participate, was created by Felix Winkler and Hendrik Schäfer. Both have been studying Product Lay-Out at the Offenbach Art College since 1997. The decisive factor for the jury's vote was the modern and complex approach their submission offered. Its abstract design made out of stainless steel and acrylic glass allows several cineastic interpretations. As prize money both have received 2,500 EUR.

The jury of four, consisting of Cornelia Büschbell (artist), Michael Hauffen (art critic), Tom Blieninger (chief editor of Blickpunkt:Film) and Zeljko Karajica (Head of Creative Services at PREMIERE WORLD and member of the board of Eyes & Ears), selected the two artist's proposal out of over 30 submissions.

Hans Seger, Chief Product Officer at PREMIERE WORLD: "The PREMIERE First Movie Award is in every respect a prize for up and coming talents. Since we are the German television station with the biggest feature film selection, we are very interested in a long term promotion of the new film generation, both nationally and internationally. By inviting German art colleges to submit designs for the trophy, we have consequently further expanded the idea of talent promotion into the area of fine arts".

The PREMIERE First Movie Award will be presented for the first time at the 52nd Berlin International Film Festival. A jury of five, consisting of renowned international members, will award the prize for the best debut film. In the competition for the talent award are submissions from the sections Competition, Forum, Panorama, German Cinema Perspective and Children's Films.

January 15, 2002

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2002

Zusätzliches

15.01.2002:
Kunsthochschüler gestalten Trophäe für PREMIERE First Movie Award

Die Entscheidung über die Gestaltung der Trophäe für den PREMIERE First Movie Award ist gefallen. Gewinner des Wettbewerbs, der an allen deutschen Kunsthochschulen ausgeschrieben war, sind Felix Winkler und Hendrik Schäfer. Beide sind seit 1997 Studenten im Fachbereich Produktgestaltung an der Hochschule für Gestaltung in Offenbach. Ausschlaggebend für die Juryentscheidung war der moderne und vielschichtige Ansatz der beiden Künstler. Ihr abstrakter Entwurf aus Edelstahl und Plexiglas lässt mehrere filmbezogene Interpretationen zu. Für ihren Vorschlag erhalten sie ein Preisgeld von 2500 EUR.

Die vierköpfige Jury, darunter Cornelia Büschbell (Künstlerin), Michael Hauffen (Kunstkritiker), Tom Blieninger (Redaktionsleiter Blickpunkt:Film) und Zeljko Karajica (Geschäftsleiter Creative Services bei PREMIERE WORLD und Vorstandsmitglied von Eyes & Ears), wählte den Entwurf der beiden Künstler aus 30 Einsendungen aus.

Hans Seger, Geschäftsführer Produkt bei PREMIERE WORLD: „Der PREMIERE First Movie Award ist in jeder Hinsicht ein Nachwuchspreis. Als dem deutschen TV-Sender mit dem größten Spielfilmangebot liegt uns die langfristige Förderung des nationalen und internationalen Filmnachwuchses sehr am Herzen. Mit der Ausschreibung der Gestaltung einer Trophäe an den deutschen Kunsthochschulen haben wir den Gedanken der Nachwuchsförderung konsequent auf den Bereich der Bildenden Kunst ausgeweitet."

Der PREMIERE First Movie Award wird erstmals bei den 52. Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin verliehen. Eine fünfköpfige Jury, die aus renommierten internationalen Mitgliedern besteht, wird den Preis an den besten Debütfilm vergeben. In der Konkurrenz um den Nachwuchspreis stehen Beiträge aus den Sektionen Wettbewerb, Forum, Panorama, Perspektive Deutsches Kino und Kinderfilm.

15. Janurar 2002