Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2002

Competition

Jan 24, 2002:
18 World Premieres and 3 Directing Debuts in the Berlinale Competition 2002

The programme for the Competition section of the 52nd Berlin International Film Festival 2002 is now complete: a total of 23 films will be running in competition and 9 entries out of competition. In addition to the 14 titles previously announced, the programme will include another 18 feature films, 10 of which are world premieres. 10 short films will round off the programme.

Lasse Hallström’s US competition entry The Shipping News is a screen adaptation of Annie Proulx’s prize-winning novel of the same name. Kevin Spacey, Judi Dench, Julianne Moore and Cate Blanchett play the main roles in this story of a widower who returns with his little daughter to Newfoundland, the country of his ancestors.

Golden Globe winner A Beautiful Mind by Ron Howard will be running out of competition in the Berlinale Competition section. Russel Crowe stars in this drama about the mathematical genius and later Nobel prizewinner Forbes Nash, who was diagnosed with paranoid schizophrenia.

The Australian film Beneath Clouds is screening in competition. Ivan Sen’s directing debut will have its world premiere in Berlin. It tells of a young girl who discovers her sense of belonging to two cultures, and features Danielle Hall and Damien Pitt.

With his tragicomic everyday tale Halbe Treppe (Grill Point) director Andreas Dresen is participating for the second time in the competition. Steffi Kühnert, Gabriela Maria Schmeide, Thorsten Merten and Axel Prahl co-star in the film.

Another German work running in competition is Baader by Christopher Roth. Roth depicts the development of RAF terrorist Andreas Baader from 1967 to 1972. Frank Giering plays the main character, while Laura Tonke and Vadim Glowna can be seen in the other leading roles. In all, four German films are running in competition.

The world premiere of Brucio nel Vento (Burning in the Wind), an Italian-Swiss co-production, is also screening in competition. Silvio Soldini depicts the depressing story of young Tobias (Ivan Franék), who flees after committing a crime and then plunges into a hopeless love affair.

Spain will be represented this year by a world premiere: Piedras (Stones), Ramón Salazar’s first feature film. It is the unusual chronicle of five women, five men and their relationships. Ángela Molina, Antonia San Juan, Najwa Nimri, Vicky Peña and Mónica Cervera play the leads.

For the first time in years, a Greek film will be participating. The world premiere of Dekapentavgoustos (One Day in August) by Constantinos Giannaris tells of the adolescent burglar (Kostas Kotsianidis), who unwittingly uncovers the dark and secret sides of the inhabitants of the homes he breaks into.

The Competition entry Iris is based on a true story. British director Richard Eyre recounts the dramatic fate of famous writer Iris Murdoch, who is diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease. Academy Award winner Judi Dench plays Iris in her later years, while Kate Winslet plays her in her youth. Jim Broadbent has just received a Golden Globe for his supporting role in Iris.

Paul Greengrass’ Bloody Sunday, an English-Irish production, focuses on a historical-political event. This competition entry recalls the tragic beginning of the armed conflicts in Northern Ireland: exactly 30 years ago on 30 January 1972 many died during street battles in Derry, a Northern Irish town. Bloody Sunday is based on Don Mullan’s novel “Eyewitness Bloody Sunday“.

The Ukrainian film Molitva Za Getmana Mazepu (A Prayer for Hetman Mazepa) goes back even further in history. A world premiere, it will be running out of competition. In opulent images, director Jurij Illenko tells of the pact between the Ukrainian Hetman Mazepa and the Swedish king against the Czar during the Russian-Swedish War of 1708-1709.

The world premiere of Israeli director Amos Kollek’s new film, a French-Japanese co-production, will be running in competition. Bridget portrays the desperate efforts of a young woman to rid herself of her past. The film stars Anna Thomson.

From Japan, the animated film Sen To Chihiro No Kamikakushi (Spirited Away) by Hayao Miyazaki has been selected for the Competition. It was created by the same team that made Mononoke Hime (Princess Mononoke).

Hungarian director Zoltán Kamondi will be showing the world premiere of his film Kísértések (Temptations) during the Competition. He describes how a sensitive young man (Marcel Miklós) attempts to find his place in the world and his way in life. This is the first time in seven years that Hungary has a film in the Competition programme.

KT by Junji Sakamoto will also be shown for the first time worldwide during the Competition. This Japanese-Korean co-production examines the abduction of South Korean oppositional politician Kim Dae-Jung in 1973.

In a gala screening, Milos Forman’s Amadeus - Director's Cut will be presented. The director has added scenes to this revised version of his successful film from 1984. It now gives an even more comprehensive picture of Mozart’s life, the life of a musical genius.

The presentation of Alexander Kluge’s Die Patriotin (The Patriot) will also be a film historical event. At a gala screening, the Berlinale will commemorate Kluge’s birthday and the 40 years since the "Oberhausen Manifesto" (which Kluge co-authored) with this film, a contemplation of historical events from 1979.

Ten short films are also running in the Competition programme: Bror Min (Brother of Mine) by Swedish director Jens Jonsson; the US entries Glaadiator by Luka Pacel, Taking the Wheel by David Ackerman, Site by Jason Kilot, as well as Life on a String by Steven Lippman out of competition; from Kazakstan, there is Ergii (The Fly Up) by Marat Sarulu; from Great Britain Relativity by Virginia Heath, and At Dawning by Martin Jones; The Hill by Tainui Stephens from New Zealand; as well as out of competition, Sosedi (The Neighbours) by Russian director Stepan Biryukov.

On 17 February 2002, the 52nd Berlinale will come to a close with the presentation of a new print of Charles Chaplin’s film classic The Great Dictator. Even today, this cinematographic masterpiece is a potent political statement against racism, the lust for power and war. The presentation will be attended by members of the Chaplin family.

24 January 2002

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2002

Wettbewerb

24.01.2002:
18 Weltpremieren und 3 Regiedebüts im Berlinale-Wettbewerb 2002

Mit 23 Filmen im Wettbewerb sowie 9 Beiträgen außer Konkurrenz ist das Wettbewerbsprogramm der 52. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin 2002 komplett. Zu den bereits gemeldeten 14 Titeln sind weitere 18 Filme, darunter zehn Weltpremieren, hinzugekommen. 10 Kurzfilme im Wettbewerb vervollständigen das Programm.

Lasse Hallströms US-amerikanischer Wettbewerbsbeitrag The Shipping News (Die Schiffsmeldungen) ist die filmische Adaption des preisgekrönten gleichnamigen Erfolgsromans von Annie Proulx. Die Hauptrollen in der Geschichte um einen Witwer, der mit seiner kleinen Tochter in das Land seiner Ahnen, nach Neufundland zieht, spielen Kevin Spacey, Judi Dench, Julianne Moore und Cate Blanchett.

Golden-Globe-Gewinner A Beautiful Mind (A Beautiful Mind - Genie und Wahnsinn) von Ron Howard wird außer Konkurrenz im Berlinale-Wettbewerb laufen. Russel Crowe spielt die Hauptrolle in dem Drama um das Mathematik-Genie und den späteren Nobel-Preisträger John Forbes Nash, der an paranoider Schizophrenie erkrankt.

Aus Australien nimmt Beneath Clouds (Unter Wolken) am Wettbewerb teil. Das Regie-Debüt von Ivan Sen wird als Weltpremiere in Berlin vorgestellt. Der Film erzählt von einem jungen Mädchen, das sich seiner Zugehörigkeit zu zwei Kulturen bewusst wird. Die Hauptrollen spielen Danielle Hall und Damien Pitt.

Mit der tragikomischen Alltagsgeschichte Halbe Treppe nimmt der deutsche Regisseur Andreas Dresen zum zweiten Mal am Wettbewerb teil. Die Darsteller sind Steffi Kühnert, Gabriela Maria Schmeide, Thorsten Merten und Axel Prahl.

Ein weiterer Wettbewerbsbeitrag aus Deutschland ist Baader von Christopher Roth. Roth entwirft ein Bild der Entwicklung des RAF-Terroristen Andreas Baader in den Jahren 1967 bis 1972. Frank Giering spielt die Titelrolle, Laura Tonke und Vadim Glowna sind in weiteren Hauptrollen zu sehen. Damit sind vier deutsche Filme im Wettbewerb.

Als italienisch-schweizer Ko-Produktion nimmt Brucio nel Vento (Brenne im Wind) als Weltpremiere am Wettbewerb teil. Regisseur Silvio Soldini zeichnet die bedrückende Geschichte des jungen Tobias (Ivan Franek), der nach einem Verbrechen flieht und sich in eine hoffnungslose Liebe stürzt.

Spanien ist mit dem Erstlingsfilm Piedras (Steine) von Ramón Salazar mit einer Welturaufführung im Wettbewerb vertreten. In ungewöhnlicher Darstellung werden fünf Frauen, fünf Männer und deren Beziehungen aufgezeichnet. Ángela Molina, Antonia San Juan, Najwa Nimri, Vicky Peña und Mónica Cervera spielen die Hauptrollen.

Erstmals seit Jahren nimmt wieder ein griechischer Film am Wettbewerb teil. Die Welturaufführung Dekapentavgoustos (Ein Tag im August) von Constantinos Giannaris erzählt von einem jugendlichen Einbrecher (Kostas Kotsianidis), der bei seinen Wohnungseinbrüchen die geheimen und dunklen Seiten einiger Hausbewohner aufspürt.

Hintergrund des Wettbewerbsfilms Iris ist eine reale Geschichte. Der britische Regisseur Richard Eyre schildert das dramatische Schicksal der berühmten Schriftstellerin Iris Murdoch, die an Alzheimer-Demenz erkrankte. Oscar-Preisträgerin Judi Dench spielt die Iris in späteren Jahren, während Kate Winslet die Titelfigur in ihrer Jugend darstellt. Jim Broadbent wurde soeben für seine Nebenrolle in Iris mit dem Golden Globe geehrt.

Ein historisch-politisches Ereignis steht im Mittelpunkt von Paul Greengrass’ englisch-irischer Produktion Bloody Sunday. Der Wettbewerbsbeitrag ruft den tragischen Beginn des bewaffneten Bürgerkriegs in Nordirland in Erinnerung, als vor genau 30 Jahren am 30. Januar 1972 zahlreiche Menschen bei Straßenschlachten in der nordirischen Stadt Derry starben. Bloody Sunday entstand nach dem Roman Eyewitness Bloody Sunday von Don Mullan.

Noch weiter in die Historie zurück geht der ukrainische Film Molitva Za Getmana Mazepu“ (Das Gebet für Hetman Mazepa), der als Weltpremiere außer Konkurrenz gezeigt wird. Regisseur Jurij Illenko schildert den Pakt zwischen dem ukrainischen Hetman Mazepa und dem Schwedenkönig gegen den Zaren während des russisch-schwedischen Krieges 1708- 1709 in einer opulenten Bildregie.

Als französisch-japanische Koproduktion läuft der neue Film des israelischen Regisseurs Amos Kollek im Wettbewerb. Die Weltpremiere Bridget erzählt von den verzweifelten Versuchen einer jungen Frau, ihre Vergangenheit abzustreifen. Die Titelrolle spielt Anna Thomson.

Aus Japan kommt der Animationsfilm Sen To Chihiro No Kamikakushi (Spirited Away) von Hayao Miyazaki. Der Wettbewerbsfilm stammt von denselben “Machern“ wie Mononoke Hime.

Der ungarische Regisseur Zoltán Kamondi zeigt die Weltpremiere Kísértések (Versuchungen) im Wettbewerb. Er beschreibt die Versuche eines sensiblen jungen Mannes (Marcel Miklós), seinen Platz in der Welt und seinen Weg im Leben zu finden. Nach sieben Jahren ist Ungarn erstmals wieder im Wettbewerb vertreten.

KT von Junji Sakamoto nimmt als Weltpremiere am Wettbewerb teil. Die japanisch-koreanische Ko-Produktion greift die Entführung des südkoreanischen oppositionellen Politikers Kim Dae-Jung von 1973 auf.

In einer Gala-Vorführung wird Milos Formans Amadeus - Director’s Cut vorgestellt. Der Regisseur hat seinem Kinoerfolg von 1984 in einer veränderten Fassung weitere Szenen hinzugefügt, die das Lebensbild des musikalischen Genies Mozart noch umfassender darstellen.

Filmgeschichte erinnert auch die Wiederaufführung von Alexander Kluges Die Patriotin. Anläßlich des Geburtstages von Alexander Kluge und 40 Jahre nach dem “Oberhausener Manifest“, zu dessen Verfassern auch Kluge gehörte, wird Kluges Geschichtsbetrachtung von 1979 in einer Gala-Vorstellung erneut aufgeführt.

Im Wettbewerb sind außerdem 10 Kurzfilme vertreten: Bror Min (Brother of Mine) des schwedischen Regisseurs Jens Jonsson, aus den USA die Filme Glaadiator von Luka Pacel, Taking the Wheel von David Ackerman und Site von Jason Kliot sowie außer Konkurrenz Life on a String von Steven Lippman, aus Kasachstan Ergii (The Fly Up) von Marat Sarulu, aus Großbritannien Relativity (Relativität) von Virginia Heath und At Dawning von Martin Jones, der neuseeländische Beitrag The Hill (Der Berg) von Tainui Stephens sowie außer Konkurrenz Sosedi (Die Nachbarn) des russischen Regisseurs Stepan Biryukov.

Als Abschlußfilm der 52. Berlinale wird am 17. Februar eine neue Kopie des Filmklassikers The Great Dictator (Der große Diktator) von Charles Chaplin gezeigt. Dieses Meisterwerk der Filmgeschichte ist auch heute noch ein politisches Manifest gegen Rassismus, Herrschaftswahn und Krieg. Die Vorführung findet in Anwesenheit der Chaplin Familie statt.

24. Januar 2002