Berlinale: Juries


Juries 2002

International Jury

Mira Nair (India)

With her film Salaam Bombay Indian director Mira Nair landed an international success that earned her the Camera d'Or in Cannes and a nomination for an Academy Award in the category Best Foreign Language Film. Apart from her work for the renowned documentary filmmaker D.A. Pennebaker the author director and producer has produced feature films such as Mississippi Masala, Kama Sutra, and Monsoon Wedding which won the Golden Lion at the Venice Film Festival in 2001. Her film Hysterical Blindness had it's world premiere at the Sundance Film Festival in 2002.

Nicoletta Braschi (Italy)

Among the most prominent of actress' Nicoletta Braschi's screen appearances was world success and oscar winning Life is Beautiful (La Vita è bella). Braschi is married to director and actor Roberto Benigni and regularly plays the lead in his films - as well as in real life. In the past, she has collaborated with directors Jim Jarmusch, Bernardo Bertolucci and Blake Edwards.

Peter Cowie (United Kingdom)

Throughout the trade Cowie is well known as the former international publishing director of "Variety" magazine for which he still acts as an advisor. He is also the founder of the International Film Guide which he has edited for more than forty years. Among his books are biographies on Orson Welles, Ingmar Bergmann and Francis Ford Coppola.

Renata Litviona (Russian Federation)

The multi-talented artist is one of the stars of Russian cinema. While she first became known as an actress and author, she became very much of a talking point as the director of the film Njet smerti dlja menja at the Berlinale's International Forum of New Cinema in 2001.

Lucrecia Martel (Argentina)

The director had her breakthrough when she was invited to compete in the 51st Berlin International Film Festival with her debut film La Ciénaga. The film won her the Alfred-Bauer-Prize as well as international acclaim.

Claudie Ossard (France)

At the European Film Awards 2001 the French producer was showered with awards for Amélie of Montmatre (Le Fabuleux destin d'Amélie Poulain). In 1981 she founded Major, her own production company, that has since then produced an impressive range of cinematic highlights such as Betty Blue, Delicatessen and Arizona Dream, which won the Special Jury Prize in 1993's Berlinale.

Raoul Peck (Haiti)

In 1993, his feature film The Man by the Shore was the first West Indian movie ever to be in the Competition at the Cannes Film Festival. The widely-travelled cosmopolitan, who held the office of Minister for Cultural Affairs in his country, studied film at the DFFB in Berlin. His feature Lumumba was one of the most successful foreign films in the US in 2001/2.

Declan Quinn (USA)

The son of Irish immigrants started out as cameraman on the early videos for the band U2, as director of photography he created the muted, yet penetrating look of Leaving Las Vegas and other major Hollywood productions. After filming Mira Nair's Hysterical Blindness he went on to New York to shoot East of Harlem with Jim Sheridan.

Oskar Roehler (Germany)

In 2001, his internationally acclaimed cinematic feature No Place to Go (Die Unberührbare) earned the author and director the German Film Award in Gold in the category Outstanding Feature Film, the FIPRESCI prize and numerous invitations to festivals in Germany and abroad. Roehler's film Gierig was part of the Panorama section at the 1999 Berlin International Film Festival.

Keneth Turan (USA)

It's not just the top officials at the Hollywood-studios who avidly follow his movie reviews in the Los Angeles Times. Through his guest appearances on a morning radio show his voice is well known to the American public. Turan is author of 'Sundance to Sarajevo: Film Festivals and the World They Made'.

Honorary Awards of the Festival

The recipients of honorary awards are not chosen by a jury but by the festival director.

Jury "PREMIERE First Movie Award"

Kanako Hayashi (Japan)

Sigrid Hoerner (Germany)

Babak Payami (Iran)

Andrei Plakhov (Russian Federation)

Reneé Soutendijk (Netherlands)

Children's Jury

A Children's Jury with members aged 11 to 14 awards the Crystal Bears in the Kinderfilmfest competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the festival director.

International Jury Kinderfilmfest

The International Jury of the Kinderfilmfest awards the Grand Prix of the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk (German Child Support Organisation) worth 7,500 Euros, to the Best Feature Film. The charity's special prize, which has a value of 2,500 Euros, is awarded to the Best Short Film.

Members of the International Jury of the 25th Kinderfilmfest are: Ulrike Beckmann, Gisli Snær Erlingsson, Ram Avtar Jalan, Aage Reis-Nordentoft, and Liliana Sulzbach..

Berlinale: Jurys


Jurys 2002

Internationale Jury

Mira Nair (Indien)

Mit ihrem Spielfilmdebüt Salaam Bombay landete die indische Regisseurin Mira Nair 1988 einen Welterfolg, der ihr die Camera d'Or in Cannes und eine Oscar-Nominierung in der Kategorie Bester Ausländischer Film einbrachte. Neben ihren Arbeiten für den bekannten Dokumentarfilmregisseur D. A. Pennebaker realisierte die Autorin Regisseurin und Produzentin Spielfilme wie Mississippi Masala, Kama Sutra und Monsoon Wedding der 2001 den Goldenen Löwen in Venedig gewann. Ihr Film Hysterical Blindness lief als Weltpremiere auf dem Sundance Film Festival 2002.

Nicoletta Braschi (Italien)

Einem breiten Publikum wurde die Schauspielerin Nicoletta Braschi bekannt durch die gemeinsame Arbeit mit ihrem Mann, dem Regisseur und Schauspieler Roberto Benigni, zum Beispiel in dem Welterfolg Das Leben ist schön. In der Vergangenheit stand sie in Kinofilmen von Jim Jarmusch, Bernardo Bertolucci und Blake Edwards vor der Kamera.

Peter Cowie (Großbritannien)

Der Filmbranche ist Cowie durch seine langjährige Tätigkeit als International Publishing Director von "Variety" bekannt, dem er als Berater verbunden bleibt. Zudem ist er der Gründer des International Film Guide, den er fast vierzig Jahre lang betreute. Als Autor verfasste Cowie Biographien über Orson Wells, Ingmar Bergmann und Francis Ford Coppola.

Renata Litviona (Russische Föderation)

Die vielseitig begabte Künstlerin zählt zu den Stars des russischen Kinos. Während sie zunächst als Schauspielerin und Autorin bekannt wurde, machte sie 2001 im Internationalen Forum des Jungen Films mit ihrem Werk Njet smerti dlja menja (Für mich gibt es keinen Tod) auch als Regisseurin von sich reden.

Lucrecia Martel (Argentinien)

Die Einladung ihres Spielfilmdebüts La Ciénaga in den Wettbewerb der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin 2001 und die Auszeichnung mit dem Alfred-Bauer-Preis brachten der argentinischen Regisseurin den endgültigen internationalen Durchbruch.

Claudie Ossard (Frankreich)

Bei der Verleihung des Europäischen Filmpreises 2001 wurde die französische Produzentin für Die wunderbare Welt der Amélie mit Preisen überschüttet. Zu den großen Kinoerfolgen, die auf das Konto ihrer 1981 gegründeten Produktionsfirma Major gehen, gehören Betty Blue, Delicatessen und Arizona Dream, der 1993 auf der Berlinale den Spezial-Preis der Jury erhielt.

Raoul Peck (Haiti)

Mit seinem Spielfilm The Man by the Shore präsentierte der Regisseur 1993 den ersten Beitrag aus der Karibik im Wettbewerb von Cannes. Der vielgereiste Kosmopolit und ehemalige Kulturminister von Haiti absolvierte sein Filmstudium an der DFFB in Berlin. Sein Film Lumumba war 2001/2002 einer der erfolgreichsten ausländischen Filme in den USA.

Declan Quinn (USA)

Der Kameramann, dessen Karriere mit den frühen Musikvideos der Band U2 begann, kreierte den gedämpften, dennoch eindringlich realistischen Look von Leaving Las Vegas und anderen großen Hollywood-Produktionen. Nach Mira Nairs Hysterical Blindness hat er mit Jim Sheridan East of Harlem in New York abgedreht.

Oskar Roehler (Deutschland)

Sein international beachteter Kinofilm Die Unberührbare bescherte dem Autor und Regisseur Oskar Röhler den Deutschen Filmpreis 2000 für den Besten Film, den Preis der FIPRESCI 2001 sowie etliche Festival-Einladungen im In- und Ausland. Bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin war Roehler bereits 1999 mit Gierig im Panorama vertreten.

Keneth Turan (USA)

Nicht nur die Studio-Bosse in Hollywood verfolgen mit Spannung regelmäßig seine Filmkritiken in der Los Angeles Times. Seine Stimme ist dem amerikanischen Publikum durch seine Gastauftritte in einer morgendlichen Radio-Show vertraut. Turan ist u.a. Autor des Buchs "Sundance to Sarajevo: Film Festivals and the World They Made".

Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals

Die Empfänger der Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals werden nicht von einer Jury bestimmt, sondern von der Festivalleitung selbst.

Jury "PREMIERE First Movie Award"

Kanako Hayashi (Japan)

Sigrid Hoerner (Deutschland)

Babak Payami (Iran)

Andrei Plakhov (Russische Föderation)

Reneé Soutendijk (Niederlande)

Kinderjury

Über die Vergabe der Gläsernen Bären im Wettbewerb des Kinderfilmfests entscheidet eine elfköpfige Kinderjury zwischen 11 und 14 Jahren. Sie wird über im Vorjahr eingereichte Filmfragebögen von der Sektionsleitung ausgesucht und von der Festivalleitung offiziell berufen.

Internationale Jury Kinderfilmfest

Die Internationale Jury des Kinderfilmfestes vergibt den mit 7.500 Euro dotierten "Großen Preis des Deutschen Kinderhilfswerkes" an den besten Spielfilm. Der mit 2.500 Euro dotierte "Spezialpreis des Deutschen Kinderhilfswerkes" geht an den besten Kurzfilm.

In die Internationale Jury des 25. Kinderfilmfestes berufen wurden Ulrike Beckmann, Gisli Snær Erlingsson, Ram Avtar Jalan, Aage Reis-Nordentoft und Liliana Sulzbach..