Berlinale: Yearbook


52nd Berlin International Film Festival
February 6 - 17, 2002

“The functions of film festivals have changed considerably over the years. The motives and intentions which led to the founding of the Berlinale 52 years ago are again strangely fitting for this year’s Berlinale… Understanding, tolerance and acceptance are today the most important conditions for peace. The Berlinale wants to make a contribution with this year’s film programme.”

(Dieter Kosslick in the introduction to the catalogue for his first Berlinale, which he opened “influenced by the political impressions and global changes” following September 11, 2001.)

Claudia Cardinale
Guest of Honour Claudia Cardinale (8e 1/2) at the photo-call

All remains new

One could forgive the press for taking the changeover in the festival management as a opportunity to speculate on the “new Berlinale”. In the run-up to the festival Dieter Kosslick had noted that he was to stress continuity in his first year and not immediately do everything differently from his predecessor Moritz de Hadeln.

In his introduction to the festival catalogue, Kosslick expressly referred to the history of the festival and the achievements of his predecessor. It wasn’t necessary to point out the fact that the festival had constantly changed and that it would continue to evolve under the new director. Furthermore, each festival is a mirror of its time. Even without September 11, 2001, whose political and cultural consequences dominated every debate, the Berlinale 2002 would have been a political festival, a festival for tolerance and diversity, as expressed in the motto “Accept Diversity”. This was to apply equally to cinema as to the global coexistence of cultures. And with his new open and amiable style, the new Berlinale boss’ style seemed exemplary.

Renate Zylla, Dieter Kosslick @ Kinderfilmfest
Renate Zylla (left) and Dieter Kosslick at the Kinderfilmfest party

Co-operation between the sections tightened

The themes of this Berlinale were – apart from Dieter Kosslick’s great mood – the noticeable diversity of the programme and the positive co-operation between the sections in preparation for the festival. Christoph Terhechte had replaced Ulrich Gregor as Forum director in the previous year, Alfred Holighaus was appointed by Dieter Kosslick as director of the new section Perspektive Deutsches Kino. Closer collaboration between all of the sections during the selection process resulted in more constructive use of the internal diversity, giving the festival as a whole an even more convincing profile.

Not only in Panorama and Forum, where documentary films sparked the most interest, was the spectrum exceptionally broad, but also in the Competition which served up Marc Forster’s intense drama Monster’s Ball, Hayao Miyazaki’s animated fairytale Spirited Away and Andreas Dresen’s actor’s film Halbe Treppe | Grill Point. Isolated voices warned that with so much diversity, even a large festival shouldn’t try to please everyone. But in the end, the bulk of commentators praised Dieter Kosslick for his insight that his first Berlinale should place a strong emphasis - making nearly everyone happy.

Andreas Dresen
Andreas Dresen

A general effort for German film

There was no question that German film industry benefited: it was better represented than ever before. With Perspektive Deutsches Kino, new German film was (again) given its own section. Four films by young German directors took part in the Competition. The apparent harmony couldn’t distract from conflicts of interest within the industry, which was immersed in a debate over a new film subsidy law. It was the year of Bully Herbig’s slapstick western Schuh des Manitu | Manitou's Shoe which received generous public funding, while three of the four German contributions to the Competition were made without subsidies.

Anke Westphal concluded in the “Berliner Zeitung” that the creative potential of German cinema not only created its own visual realities but also its own working conditions. The strong presence of German films at the Berlinale caused many commentators to appeal for more effective film funding. Festival director Dieter Kosslick, who had previously headed the largest state film fund, awakened hopes in this respect.

Once again: Art vs. Commerce?

The debate focused on the supposed opposition of art and commerce – a conflict that had arisen again and again in the history of the Berlinale. The question arose as to whether the German (and European) film industry should be subjected even more to the “freedom” of the market or whether state subsidies and value judgements were not only necessary but also desirable. In the previous year, the Berlinale itself had become an “event of the Federal Government”: due to the precarious financial situation of the State of Berlin, the Federal Government had taken over responsibility for the Berliner Festspiele GmbH – and therefore the Berlinale as well. This meant more planning reliability for the festival and was also further evidence for a growing significance film was supposed to enjoy in cultural policymaking.

The Berlinale 2002 managed to do more than just make German film interesting again. At a “Vision Day” Dieter Kosslick presented his plans to create a platform for young international film talents at the Berlinale with a Talent Campus. At the panel discussions of the “Framing Reality” symposium international guests discussed stylistic developments in contemporary film and the “European 60s” Retrospective was one of the best attended in Berlinale history and provided ample material for moderated discussions and debates, which spilled over into the cultural pages of the press and book publications.

Berlinale: Chronik


52. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
06. - 17. Februar 2002

„Die Funktionen von Filmfestivals haben sich in den vergangenen Jahren erheblich verändert. Die Motive und die Absichten, die zur Gründung der Berlinale vor 52 Jahren führten, sind jedoch auch für die diesjährige Berlinale seltsam aktuell … Verständigung, Toleranz und Akzeptanz sind auch heute die wichtigsten Voraussetzungen für Frieden. Mit dem diesjährigen Filmprogramm will die Berlinale dazu beitragen.“

(Dieter Kosslick im Katalog-Vorwort zu seiner ersten Berlinale, die er „unter den politischen Eindrücken und weltpolitischen Veränderungen“ nach dem 11. September 2001 eröffnete.)

Claudia Cardinale
Ehrengast Claudia Cardinale (8e 1/2) beim Photocall

Alles bleibt neu

Man konnte es der Presse nicht verdenken, dass sie den Wechsel in der Festival-Leitung zum Anlass nahm, ausgiebig über die „neue Berlinale“ zu spekulieren. Dabei hatte Dieter Kosslick im Vorfeld betont, dass er in seinem ersten Jahr auf Kontinuität setzen wolle und nicht gleich alles anders machen würde, als sein Vorgänger Moritz de Hadeln.

In seinem Grußwort im Festivalkatalog berief sich Kosslick dann auch ausdrücklich auf die Geschichte des Festivals und die Arbeit seiner Vorgänger. Dass sich das Festival stets verändert hatte und auch unter der neuen Leitung weiter verändern würde, musste nicht eigens betont werden. Zudem ist ein jeder Festivaljahrgang auch ein Spiegel seiner Zeit. Auch ohne den 11. September 2001, dessen politische und kulturelle Folgen die Diskussionen beherrschten, wäre die Berlinale 2002 ein politisches Festival geworden, ein Festival für Toleranz und Diversität, wie es das Motto wollte: „Accept Diversity“. Das sollte für den Film ebenso gelten, wie für das globale Miteinander der Kulturen. Und mit seiner offenen und gewinnenden Art schien der neue Berlinale-Chef mit gutem Beispiel voran zu gehen.

Renate Zylla, Dieter Kosslick @ Kinderfilmfest
Renate Zylla und Dieter Kosslick auf dem Empfang des Kinderfilmfestes

Engere Zusammenarbeit der Sektionen

Themen dieses Berlinale-Jahrgangs waren - neben Dieter Kosslicks guter Laune - die auffallende Vielfalt im Programm und die gute Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Sektionen in der Vorbereitung. Christoph Terhechte hatte im Vorjahr Ulrich Gregor als Forum-Leiter beerbt, war von Dieter Kosslick zum Leiter der neuen Sektion Perspektive Deutsches Kino berufen worden. Die engere Zusammenarbeit aller Sektionen bei der Filmauswahl zielte darauf ab, die interne Vielfalt konstruktiver zu nutzen und dabei dem Festival als Ganzem ein noch überzeugenderes Profil zu geben.

Nicht nur in Panorama und Forum, wo vor allem Dokumentarfilme auf starkes Interesse stießen, sondern auch im Wettbewerb war zwischen Marc Forsters Drama Monster’s Ball, Hayao Miyazakis animiertem Märchen Spirited Away und Andreas Dresens Schauspielerfilm Halbe Treppe das Spektrum auffallend breit. Vereinzelte Stimmen mahnten angesichts von soviel Vielfalt, auch ein großes Festival müsse es nicht allen Recht machen. Aber am Ende lobte das Gros der Kommentatoren doch gerade das Geschick, mit dem es Dieter Kosslick verstand, bei seiner ersten Berlinale deutliche Akzente zu setzen und dabei fast alle glücklich zu machen.

Andreas Dresen
Andreas Dresen

Chefsache „Deutscher Film“

Zu den Gewinnern zählte zweifellos auch die deutsche Filmbranche: Sie war so stark vertreten wie nie zuvor, mit der Perspektive Deutsches Kino war dem jungen deutschen Film (wieder) eine eigene Sektion gewidmet und auch im Wettbewerb waren gleich vier deutsche Regisseure der jüngeren Generation vertreten. Die scheinbare Harmonie konnte allerdings nicht die Interessenkonflikte in der Branche verdecken, die in der Diskussion um ein neues Filmförderungsgesetz aktuell auf dem Tisch lagen. Es drückte in diesem Jahr der Schuh des Manitu: während Bully Herbigs Westernklamauk kräftig aus den Fördertöpfen gespeist wurde, waren drei der vier deutschen Beiträge im Wettbewerb gänzlich ohne Förderung realisiert worden.

Anke Westphal schloss daraus in der „Berliner Zeitung“, dass sich „das kreative Potenzial des deutschen Films nicht nur seine eigenen Bild- sondern auch seine eigenen Arbeitswelten verschafft.“ Der gute Berlinale-Auftritt des deutschen Films geriet so in vielen Kommentaren eher zum Appell als zu einem Beleg für eine effektive Filmförderung. Mit einem Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick, der aus der Filmförderung kam, verbanden sich in dieser Hinsicht einige Hoffnungen.

Wieder mal: Kunst vs. Kommerz?

In der Debatte ging es um den vermeintlichen Gegensatz von Kunst und Kommerz und damit um eine Konfliktlinie, die auch in der Geschichte der Berlinale immer wieder aufgebrochen war. Neben vielen anderen stand die Frage im Raum, ob die deutsche (und europäische) Filmbranche noch stärker der „Freiheit“ des Marktes überlassen werden sollte, oder ob staatliche Subventionierung und Wertentscheidungen nicht nur notwendig, sondern auch wünschenswert seien. Die Berlinale selbst war im Vorjahr zu einer „Kulturveranstaltung des Bundes“ geworden: Aufgrund der prekären Finanzlage des Landes Berlin hatte die Bundesregierung die Verantwortung für die Berliner Festspiele GmbH und damit auch für die Berlinale übernommen. Das bedeutete größere Planungssicherheit für das Festival und galt als weiterer Beleg für die gesteigerte Bedeutung, die dem Film in der Kulturpolitik zukommen sollte.

Aber es gelang der Berlinale 2002 nicht nur, den deutschen Film wieder interessant zu machen. Auf einem „Vision Day“ präsentierte Dieter Kosslick sein Vorhaben, mit einem Talent Campus dem internationalen Filmnachwuchs eine Plattform auf der Berlinale zu schaffen. Auf den Panels des Symposiums „Framing Reality“ diskutierten internationale Gäste über stilistische Entwicklungen im zeitgenössischen Film und die Retrospektive „European 60’s“ war eine der meist beachteten in der Berlinale-Geschichte und gab Anlass zu moderierten Diskussionsrunden und Debatten, die sich dann in den zeitgenössischen Feuilletons und in Buchpublikationen fortsetzten.