Berlinale: Yearbook


51st Berlin International Film Festival
February 7 - 18, 2001

“It’s as if the Berlinale were a dream in which desperate Danes get closer to one another while learning Italian, Michael Douglasfinally understands his daughter and water lilies grow in the lung of a Japanese woman. Sometimes the dream turns into a nightmare, you’ve got to expect that in the cinema.”

(Frank Junghänel provides insight into a chronic festival syndrome in the “Berliner Zeitung”.)

Geoffrey Rush, Kate Winslet
Geoffrey Rush, Kate Winslet

De Hadeln’s Finale: False Start, Catch-up and a Succès d'estime

By the end the mood was upbeat after all. 2001 was considered a very mixed and cumbersome, and yet precisely for this reason, very timely year for the Berlinale. Moritz de Hadeln’s last Berlinale began with a sputter: the Franco-German-American co-production Enemy at the Gates opened the festival and was a total flop with critics and the audience alike. The star-studded, 180 million deutschmark Stalingrad drama was meant to showcase Germany and especially the studios in Babelsberg as an international production location. This attempt was interpreted as an inadequate “look at us, we’ve become something again”.

As far as German film, the discussion had already heated up. In the previous year, the Berlinale selection committee had rejected Oskar Röhler’s Die Unberührbare | No Place to Go which went on to become a hit in theatres. Instead, Filippos Tsitos’ German-Greek co-production My Sweet Home ran as the only German film in the Competition. With bitter irony, commentators pondered over what could have been done with the millions in German film subsidies that had been invested in Enemy at the Gates...

Patrice Chéreau
Patrice Chéreau

The Double Life of German Cinema

For one thing, films such as Hannes Stöhrs’ Berlin is in Germany, for example, which won the Panorama Audience Award, or Angela Schanelec’s Mein langsames Leben | Passing Summer, which ran in the Forum. Big budgets are no guarantee of quality. In Germany, though, it was sad that one had to demonstrate again and again how films could be made with little or no money. “Kosslick’s first task will be to create a forum for German film in the Competition,” noted Michael Althen in the “Süddeutsche Zeitung”.The discussion about the little or no attention given to German cinema was mostly confined to Germany, though.

International perception of the festival was dominated by other topics. For example, it was pointed out that none of the US contributions came out of a major studio. Steven Soderbergh’s Traffic, one of the festival’s first highpoints following the opening flop, was seen as a well-produced work full of character by an “independent” director. John Boorman’s The Tailor of Panama and Mike Nichols’ haunting drama Wit were anything but cut and dried, slick products. Even the heated debate surrounding Ridley Scott’s calculating shocker Hannibal revolved more around the question of how much violence art can tolerate, than whether a film was being shown whose success at the box office was already a given.

Sex, Corporeality, Intimacy: Explicit Berlinale

Asides from this debate, many commentators focused on the noticeable presence of corporeality, sex and intimacy in the films of this year. While defiant films such as Kirsten Sheridan’s Disco Pigs are normal for the Panorama, the Competition also took a provocative direction with Bear-winner Intimacy and Catherine Breillat’s A Ma Soeur | Fat Girl. Further critic favourites were Lucrecia Martel’s La Ciénaga | The Swamp and Lone Scherfig’s Italiensk for Begyndere | Italian for Beginners. If Intimacy polarized opinion, praise was heaped on Scherfig’s mellow “post-Dogma film” by audience and press alike. The dramaturgy in the Competition hit the right note, even if no single film stuck out.

Young Chinese Cinema within an Asian Focus

Eastern Europe was absent from the Competition. While Hungarian director Péter Gothár’s Paszport | Passport and Slovak Martin Šulik’s Krajinka | Landscape received critical acclaim, in general this Berlinale was seen as an indicator of the economic difficulties faced by the Eastern European film industry. Instead, much attention was given to the strong presence of young Asian directors. In both the Competition and Forum promising filmmakers from China, Thailand, Japan and Korea presented their work and a special series was dedicated to Vietnam in the Forum.

Wang Xiaoshuai’s urban ballad Shi Qi Sui De Dan Che | Beijing Bicycle and Lin Cheng-sheng’s Ai ni ai wo | Betelnut Beauty were honoured with prizes in the Competition and were met with broad recognition. One of the most-noticed films in the Forum was Kaze Shindô’s Love/Juice from Japan and Zhan tai | Platform by Jia Zhang-ke. The young filmmaker had just founded the first independent production company in China and therefore represented new, daring Chinese cinema. The Berlinale had convincingly fulfilled its promise to provide a platform for Asian cinema, and the international press acknowledged this as a considerable achievement by Moritz de Hadelns.

Moritz de Hadeln’s and Ulrich Gregor’s Farewell

The farewell of a man who had led the festival for two decades was also a major topic of discussion. In an article for the “Wiesbaden Kurier” Gerd Klee pointed out how criticism of de Hadeln had often been exaggerated. “If they could make him responsible for the mostly icy or rainy weather during the Berlinale, they surely would have,” remarked Klee, noting however a slow change in mood – even de Hadeln’s harshest critics had praised his work. In fact, most commentary on de Hadeln’s departure was objective and struck a conciliatory tone.

Kirk Douglas
The Homage was dedicated to Kirk Douglas.

A special series “Moritz’ Favorites” recalled de Hadeln’s dedication to the Berlinale and international film: movies which he brought to Berlin, which told 22 years of film history. Success, which had become such a relative term over the years, was, once all was said and done, de Hadeln’s legacy. He handed down an intact, internationally respected festival where the number of visitors once again topped the record of the previous year.

Financial stability was provided by the Federal Government's decision to take over responsibility for the "Berliner Festspiele". This ensured that the Berlinale, too, was from then on considered a "cultural event of the Federal Government in Berlin."

The "Two Erikas"

A further change took place at the head of the Forum this year. Ulrich Gregor, the section's co-founder and "spirit", passed his position on to film journalist Christoph Terhechte, who had been in the Forum's selection committee since 1997. No single person was connected to the Forum in the public eye as much as Ulrich Gregor. However, the Forum had always been a collaborative effort, which, more than anyone, Erika Gregor had helped to create. The same could be said for Erika de Hadeln, who equalled her husband when it came to both competence and dedication to the Berlinale. The “two Erikas” were co-creators of the festivals, a fact that was not always acknowledged.

The changeover was cordial and smooth. De Hadeln’s successor Dieter Kosslick was already present at the 2001 festival as a silent observer and sat in on meetings. He didn’t pass up a single opportunity to praise the work of his predecessor and to keep expectations modest. At best he would “shake out the pillow and smooth out the sheets,” as Kosslick put it in an interview referring to the handover. Even his charming understatement wouldn’t protect him from becoming the embodiment of great expectations and the object of copious speculation. Still, judging by Kosslick’s biography, he could be expected to leave his unique mark on the festival: as a young man a film critic, festival organizer in Hamburg and finally, as director of the NRW Film Foundation, one of the most influential actors in German film funding.

Berlinale: Chronik


51. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
07. - 18. Februar 2001

„Als sei die Berlinale ein Traum, in dem hoffnungslose Dänen beim Italienischlernen zueinander finden, Michael Douglas endlich seine Tochter versteht und in der Lunge einer japanischen Frau Wasserlilien wachsen. Manchmal wandelt sich der Traum zum Albtraum, damit muss man im Kino rechnen.“

(Frank Junghänel gibt in der „Berliner Zeitung“ Einblick in ein chronisches Festival-Symptom.)

Geoffrey Rush, Kate Winslet
Geoffrey Rush, Kate Winslet

De Hadelns Letzte: Fehlstart, Aufholjagd und Achtungserfolg

Am Ende war die Stimmung doch noch gut. Die Berlinale 2001 galt als ein durchwachsener und sperriger, gerade dadurch aber auch zeitgemäßer Jahrgang. Begonnen hatte Moritz de Hadelns letzte Berlinale allerdings mit einem Fehlstart: die französisch-deutsch-amerikanische Ko-Produktion Enemy at the Gates eröffnete das Festival und fiel bei Kritikern und Publikum gnadenlos durch. Das hochkarätig besetzte und 180 Millionen Mark schwere Stalingrad-Drama sollte Deutschland und insbesondere die Studios in Babelsberg als internationalen Produktionsstandort profilieren.

Dieser Versuch wurde jedoch von vielen Kritikern als ein unangemessenes „Wir-sind-wieder-wer“ interpretiert. Was den einheimischen Film betraf, war die Debatte ohnehin bereits angeheizt. Im Vorjahr hatte das Auswahlkomitee der Berlinale Oskar Röhlers Die Unberührbare abgelehnt, der dann in den Kinos reüssierte. Nun lief Filippos Tsitos’ deutsch-griechische Koproduktion My Sweet Home als einziger deutscher Film im Wettbewerb. Mit bitterer Ironie fragten die Kommentatoren, was man mit den vielen Millionen deutscher Fördergelder alles hätte machen können, die für Enemy at the Gates investiert worden waren…

Patrice Chéreau
Patrice Chéreau

Die zwei Leben des deutschen Films

Gelungene "kleine" Filme wie Hannes Stöhrs Berlin is in Germany zum Beispiel, der den Panorama-Publikumspreis gewann, oder Angela Schanelec’ Mein langsames Leben, der im Forum lief. Hohe Budgets sind kein Garant für Qualität. In Deutschland war man es aber auch Leid, immer wieder beweisen zu müssen, wie mit wenig bis gar keinem Geld Kinofilme produziert werden können. „Kosslicks erste Aufgabe wird es sein, dem deutschen Film im Wettbewerb ein Forum zu verschaffen“, vermerkte Michael Althen in der „Süddeutschen Zeitung“.Die Schwäche - oder Nichtbeachtung - des deutschen Films blieb aber eine einheimische Diskussion.

In der internationalen Wahrnehmung überwogen andere Themen. So wurde etwa aufmerksam festgestellt, dass kaum einer der US-amerikanischen Beiträge aus den Major Studios kam. Steven Soderberghs Traffic, der dem verpatzten Auftakt einen ersten Höhepunkt folgen ließ, galt als ein zwar hochproduziertes, aber doch charakterstarkes Werk eines „Independent“-Filmers. Auch John Boormans The Tailor of Panama | Der Schneider von Panama und Mike Nichols eindringliches Drama Wit waren alles andere als schablonenhafte Hochglanzprodukte. Selbst die heftigen Diskussionen um Ridley Scotts berechnenden Schocker Hannibal drehten sich eher um die inhaltliche Frage, wie viel Gewalt die Kunst verträgt, als darum, dass hier ein Film gezeigt wurde, dem sein Kassenerfolg ohnehin bereits garantiert war.

Sex, Körperlichkeit, Intimität: Berlinale explizit

Darüber hinaus bewegte die Kommentatoren vor allem die auffallende Präsenz von Körperlichkeit, Sex und Intimität in den Filmen dieses Jahres. Während im Panorama aufmüpfige Filme wie Kirsten Sheridan’s Disco Pigs selbstverständlich sind, setzte auch der Wettbewerb mit dem Bären-Gewinner Intimacy und Catherine Breillats A Ma Soeur | Fat Girl provokante Akzente. Weitere Kritikerlieblinge waren Lucrecia Martels La Ciénaga | Der Sumpf und Lone Scherfigs Italiensk for Begyndere | Italienisch für Anfänger. Hatte Intimacy die Meinungen polarisiert, so fanden sich bei Scherfigs entspanntem „Post-Dogma-Film“ Publikum und Presse zu einem gemeinsamen Loblied ein. Die Dramaturgie im Wettbewerb stimmte, auch wenn kein Film wirklich herausragte.

Junges chinesisches Kino in einem asiatischen Schwerpunkt

Das osteuropäische Kino war im Wettbewerb jedoch kaum vertreten. Zwar landeten der Ungar Péter Gothár mit Paszport | Passport und der Slowake Martin Šulik mit Krajinka | Landschaft Achtungserfolge im Panorama, generell wurde diese Berlinale jedoch als Indiz für die problematische wirtschaftliche Lage des osteuropäischen Kinos gewertet. Umso deutlicher wurde der starke Auftritt des jungen asiatischen Kinos wahrgenommen. Im Wettbewerb und auch im Forum präsentierten sich viel versprechende Kinematografien aus China, Thailand, Japan und Korea, und dem Filmland Vietnam war im Forum eine Sonderreihe gewidmet.

Wang Xiaoshuais Großstadtballade Shi Qi Sui De Dan Che | Beijing Bicycle und Lin Cheng-shengs Ai ni ai wo | Betelnut Beauty wurden im Wettbewerb mit Preisen ausgezeichnet und stießen auf breite Anerkennung. Zu den meist beachteten Filmen im Forum zählten Kaze Shindôs Love/Juice aus Japan und Zhan tai | Plattform von Jia Zhang-ke. Der junge Filmemacher hatte kurz zuvor die erste unabhängige Produktionsfirma Chinas gegründet hatte und stand somit stellvertretend für das neue, mutige chinesische Kino. Die Berlinale hatte ihren Anspruch, eine Plattform für asiatisches Kino zu sein, überzeugend eingelöst, und die internationale Presse würdigte dies als eine wesentliche Errungenschaft Moritz de Hadelns.

Moritz de Hadelns und Ulrich Gregors Abschied

Der Abgang des Mannes, der das Festival über zwei Jahrzehnte geleitet hatte, war ebenfalls ein vorherrschendes Thema. In einem Beitrag für den „Wiesbadener Kurier“ erinnerte Gerd Klee an die oft überzogene Kritik an de Hadelns Person. „Wenn man ihn für das meist eisige oder regnerische Wetter zu Zeiten der Berlinale hätte verantwortlich machen können, man hätte sicherlich auch das getan“, bemerkte Klee kritisch, erkannte jedoch auch einen langsamen Stimmungswandel, denn selbst de Hadelns schärfste Kritiker wüssten seine Arbeit mittlerweile zu würdigen. Tatsächlich fielen die meisten Kommentare zu de Hadelns Abschied sachlich und versöhnlich aus.

Kirk Douglas
Die Hommage war Kirk Douglas gewidmet.

Eine Sonderreihe „Moritz’ Favorites“ rief de Hadelns Engagement für die Berlinale und den internationalen Film noch einmal in Erinnerung: Filme, die er nach Berlin gebracht hatte und die nun von 22 Jahren Filmgeschichte erzählten. Der Erfolg, der im Laufe der Jahre eine so relative Sache geworden war, gab de Hadeln nun Recht. Er übergab ein intaktes Festival von großem internationalen Ansehen, das zudem in 2001 den Besucherrekord aus dem Vorjahr erneut übertrumpfte.

Planungssicherheit versprach die Übernahme der Berliner Festspiele GmbH in die Verantwortlichkeit des Bundes, vertreten durch den Kulturstaatsminister. Damit wurde auch die Berlinale eine „Kulturveranstaltung des Bundes in Berlin“.

Die „beiden Erikas“

Auch an der Spitze des Forums gab es in diesem Jahr einen Personalwechsel. Ulrich Gregor, der das Forum mitgegründet und geprägt hatte, übergab sein Amt ohne viel Aufsehen an den Filmjournalisten Christoph Terhechte, der seit 1997 Mitglied im Auswahlkommittee der Sektion war. Keine andere Person wurde in der öffentlichen Wahrnehmung derart mit dem Forum identifiziert wie Ulrich Gregor. Von Anfang an war das Forum aber auch eine Gemeinschaftsarbeit, die vor allem auch Erika Gregor maßgeblich mitgestaltet hatte. Das gleiche lässt sich von Erika de Hadeln sagen, die ihrem Mann sowohl an Kompetenz, als auch an Engagement für die Berlinale in nichts nachstand. Die „beiden Erikas“ waren Mitgestalterinnen des Festivals, nicht immer wurde das angemessen gewürdigt.

Die Personalwechsel verliefen jedoch kollegial und organisiert. De Hadelns Nachfolger Dieter Kosslick war bereits als stiller Beobachter auf dem Festival zugegen und wohnte den internen Besprechungen bei. Auf Nachfrage ließ er keine Gelegenheit aus, die Arbeit seines Vorgängers zu würdigen und die Erwartungshaltung an den Personalwechsel niedrig zu halten. Allenfalls müsse er „einmal das Kopfkissen aufschütteln und das Laken glatt streichen“, beschrieb Kosslick die Amtsübergabe in einem Interview. Aber selbst sein charmantes Understatement würde ihn nicht davor bewahren, zum Träger großer Erwartungen und Gegenstand ausgiebiger Spekulationen zu werden. Immerhin ließ Kosslicks Biografie ein deutliches Profil erwarten: ein Kritiker in jungen Jahren, ein Festivalmacher in Hamburg und zuletzt als Chef der Filmstiftung NRW einer der wichtigsten Akteure in der deutschen Filmförderung. Und bei alledem ein Schwabe…