Berlinale: Yearbook


49th Berlin International Film Festival
February 10 - 21, 1999

"The system has a way of dictating and defining lives; exactly what I wanted to react against. The world's conflicts do not directly touch everyone. The sad result of this is that the untouched are usually not very interested in those problems. At least not interested enough to look at the streets' water puddles for reflections of life's other faces. With Günese Yolculuk, one can see clearly that the too-often ignored other sides of life lie just around the corner."

Director Yesim Ustaoglu whose film Günese Yolculuk was taken to the headlines when pro-Kurdish demonstrators used its premiere as a chance to speak for their cause.)

The poster of the 49th Berlinale

Political man-power before a festival of strong women

It was to be the last Berlinale held in the old festival centre around Kurfürstendamm. The move to Potsdamer Platz was planned for 2000. Following years of dispute about the new location, this year the political camp was visibly making an effort to signal its support for the Berlinale. Berlin mayor Eberhard Diepgen and Michael Naumann, the federal government’s representative for culture and media, spread good cheer and optimism. And for the first time in its history, the Berlinale was opened by a German chancellor. Gerhard Schröder’s appearance was broadly seen as a positive sign.

But when it came to the films, it was above all women that dominated the positive image of a lively Berlinale. Jury president Angela Molina appeared sprightly and good-humoured; Shirley MacLaine, already a long-time friend of the Berlinale, appeared as a celebrity guest; actresses Sandrine Bonnaire, Jennifer Jason Leigh and Gwyneth Paltrow sparkled in Competition films. There were the directors Yeşim Ustaoglu and Manuela Viegas, whose films Günese Yolculuk | Journey to the Sun and Glória gave everyone goosebumps. Juliane Köhler and Maria Schrader played the lovers Lilly Wust and Felice Schragenheim in Max Färberböck’s opening film Aimee & Jaguar and were rightly awarded the Silver Bears as best actresses. And finally, the real Lilly Wust made a moving appearance on the stage of the Zoo-Palast, declaring in a faint voice that she still loved Felice, a Jewish journalist who was murdered in a concentration camp.

A strong showing of European film

Although the Competition was not necessarily stronger than the previous year, the 1999 Berlinale appeared to be have been blessed with better luck. It was an especially strong year for European films. Claude Chabrol’s Au Coeur du Mensonge | The Colour of Lies und Bertrand Tavernier’s Ça commence aujourd’hui | It All Starts Today belonged to the best films that these two inexhaustible old masters had produced in years. With Färberbock’s celebrated film and Andreas Dresen’s homage to Berlin Nachtgestalten | Night Shapes, Germany was better represented than in a long time. Søren Kragh-Jacobsen’s Mifunes Sidste Sang | Mifune’s Last Song, the first Dogma film to be shown in the Berlinale Competition, lived up to high expectations. Though not the most radical film from the new Danish school, which had won back so much attention for European film, it was altogether a success. An insider’s tip was Thomas Vincent’s Karnaval, a precise observation of crumbling facades and dirty grimaces amidst the delirium of a carnival night in Dunkirk.

Kurdish demonstrators make themselves heard

Unexpectedly, Yeşim Ustaoglu’s Günese Yolculuk | Journey to the Sun became politically relevant. This quiet film about a Turk and a Kurd was a favourite among the critics and called for reconciliation, without appearing quixotic. Kurdish demonstrators used the premiere to draw attention to the repression of their people and culture. They demanded the release of the leader Abdullah Öcalan from Turkish prison. The protests escalated and led to the occupation of the Greece consulate – an incident that “unnecessarily burdened the screening of this unostentatious portrait of a dying culture,” stated Wolfgang Jacobsen in “50 Years Berlinale”, overlooking though apparently that it was exactly the “quiet” death of their culture that had fuelled the anger of the demonstrators.

With Robert Altman’s Cookie’s Fortune and Terence Malick’s The Thin Red Line two old masters made American cinema shine. Cookie’s Fortune entertained, The Thin Red Line was grand cinema for the big screen, and showed a stroke of genius in its use of stylistic devices. “One can reject, even hate its poetry, its meditative mood, the apocalyptic feeling steeped in the deep alienation of its protagonists, at any minute be condemned to death – but unlike conventional bloodbaths such as Saving Private Ryan, this film doesn’t let you look away,” wrote Jan Schulz-Ojala in the “Tagesspiegel”. The Golden Bear was a surprise, but seemed all the more justified because it ignored considerations such as the fact that a strong European Competition should have had a “European winner”, as some thought. The jury’s decision considered only the film and its creator.

A brilliant year for the Panorama

A strong Competition often casts a shadow over the Panorama. That this didn’t happen this year is a testament to the solid profile that the section had gained under the leadership of Wieland Speck. Tim Roth’s War Zone, Lukas Moodysson’s Fucking Åmål | Show Me Love and Benito Zambrano’s Solas | Alone, which won the first Panorama audience award initiated by “Tip” magazine and Radioeins, were more than just confirmations of a strong European showing. These films were typical of the Panorama’s profile, for contemporary auteur films that tell their story directly and passionately. The Panorama hadn’t encountered such a broad and enthusiastic reaction in a long time.

Catherine Corsinis sharp-tongued, precarious “New Eve” (La Nouvelle Eve), Amos Kollek’s Fiona, the stark sequel to last year’s success Sue, Mark Herman’s singing protagonist in Little Voice and Patrice Toye’s pubescent heroine Rosie: in these films, too, women set the direction. All are strong portraits, which together produced an intense depiction of contemporary life.

New awards in the Kinderfilmfest

In the Kinderfilmfest, too, a “feminine touch” was noticeable: many films took their stories from the experiences of girls growing up, as in the opening film De Ball | The Ball by Dany Deprez and in Tobias Falk’s adventure Sternenkinder. While several observers were seriously concerned about the poor showing of Eastern cinema at the festival, the Kinderfilmfest supplied – as it so often did – a counterpoint. In Valeri Priyomykhov’s Kto, yesli ne my | Who, If Not Us Russian youth have arrived in the harsh post-socialist present. Many wished for a prize for this strong film. Such as the newly donated prize from the charity Deutsche Kinderhilfswerk, which came with 15,000 deutschmarks for the best feature film and 5,000 deutschmarks for the best short film.

Best supporting act: Berlin on the screen

German film made lasting impression, not just in the Competition. Kutlug Ataman`s Lola & Bilidkid became a favourite with audiences in the Panorama. The third “lady” in the cast was the city of Berlin, in particular the Kreuzberg district. This too was an enjoyable thread that ran through this Berlinale. Oskar Roehler’s Gierig in the Panorama, Thomas Arslan’s Dealer and the experimental killerberlin.doc in the Forum: films that put modern day Berlin on the big screen.

If the other sections had lived up to the high expectations placed upon traditional film producing countries, the Forum – and this was to be awaited – offered a look at less well-known cinematographies. A series presented films from Morocco and with Rakshan Bani Etemad’s Banoo | The May Lady there finally was a film from Iran shown again in the festival. An audience favorite in the Forum was La vida es silbar | Life is to Whistle by Fernando Pérez. And Aki Kaurismäki’s Juha was "something else", more due to its form than its origins: no dialogue, staged almost statically with inter-titles and traditional Finish music. The premiere was accompanied by the finnish symphonic orchestra.

Berlinale: Chronik


49. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
10. - 21. Februar 1999

"Das System diktiert und definiert, wie die Menschen leben sollen, dagegen wollte ich mich wehren. Die Konflikte der Welt betreffen nicht alle unmittelbar. Infolgedessen interessieren sich die Unbetroffenen gewühnlich nicht sehr für diese Probleme. Wenn sie durch die Straßen gehen, schauen sie nur geradeaus und gucken nicht unten auf die Pfütze auf dem Gehweg, in der sich möglicherweise andere Seiten des Lebens spiegeln. In Günese Yolculuk sieht man, dass dieses allzu oft übersehne andere Leben gleich um die Ecke herum stattfindet."

(Die Regisseurin Yesim Ustaoglu, deren Film Günese Yolculuk während der Berlinale durch pro-kurdische Demonstrationen unfreiwillige Tagesakutalität bekam.)

Das Plakat der 49. Berlinale

Politische Man-Power vor einem Festival der starken Frauen

Es wurde die letzte Berlinale im alten Festivalzentrum rund um den Kurfürstendamm. Für das Jahr 2000 war der Umzug zum Potsdamer Platz vorgesehen. Nach dem jahrelangen Gezerre um den neuen Standort war die Politik in diesem Jahr sichtlich bemüht, der Berlinale Rückendeckung zu signalisieren. Berlins Regierender Bürgermeister Eberhard Diepgen und Michael Naumann, der neue Beauftragte des Bundes für Kultur und Medien, verbreiteten gute Laune und Optimismus. Und erstmals in ihrer Geschichte wurde die Berlinale von einem Bundeskanzler eröffnet. Gerhard Schröders Auftritt wurde weithin als positives Zeichen gewertet.

Als es dann aber um die Filme ging, waren es vor allem die Frauen, die das positive Bild einer lebendigen Berlinale prägten. Quirlig und gut gelaunt zeigte sich Jurypräsidentin Angela Molina; als Ehrengast des Festivals präsenierte sich Shirley MacLaine, eine langjährige Freundin der Berlinale; die Schauspielerinnen Sandrine Bonnaire, Jennifer Jason Leigh und Gwyneth Paltrow glänzten in Wettbewerbsfilmen. Da waren die Regisseurinnen Yeşim Ustaoglu und Manuela Viegas, deren Filme Günese Yolculuk | Reise zur Sonne und Glória unter die Haut gingen. Juliane Köhler und Maria Schrader verkörperten in Max Färberböcks Eröffnungsfilm Aimee & Jaguar das Liebespaar Lilly Wust und Felice Schragenheim und erhielten dafür später den Silbernen Bären ex aequo als beste Darstellerinnen. Und nicht zuletzt berührte die echte Lilly Wust auf der Bühne des Zoo-Palasts, die mit leiser Stimme erklärte, sie liebe Felice noch immer. Felice, jüdische Journalistin, ermordet im Konzentrationslager.

Ein starkes Jahr für den europäischen Film

Obwohl der Wettbewerb nicht unbedingt besser besetzt war, als im Vorjahr, schien die Berlinale 1999 unter einem glücklicheren Stern zu stehen. Vor allem für den europäischen Film war es ein starkes Jahr. Claude Chabrols Au Coeur du Mensonge | Die Farbe der Lüge und Bertrand Taverniers Ça commence aujourd’hui | Es beginnt heute gehörten zu dem Besten, was diese beiden unermüdlichen Altmeister seit Jahren hervorgebracht hatten. Deutschland war mit Färberböcks gefeiertem Schauspielerinnenfilm und Andreas Dresens Berlin-Hommage Nachtgestalten so stark vertreten wie lange nicht.

Den hohen Erwartungen gerecht wurde auch Søren Kragh-Jacobsens Mifunes Sidste Sang, der erste Dogma-Film im Berlinale Wettbewerb, wiewohl nicht der radikalste, so doch ein überaus gelungener Vertreter dieser neuen dänischen Schule, die dem europäischen Film soviel Aufmerksamkeit zurück gewonnen hatte. Ein Geheimtipp blieb Thomas Vincents Karnaval, eine genau beobachtete Studie über bröckelnde Fassaden und verschmierte Fratzen auf dem Karneval in Dunkerque.

Kurdische Demonstranten verschaffen sich Gehör

Unerwartete tagespolitische Aktualität bekam Yeşim Ustaoglus Günese Yolculuk | Reise zur Sonne. Ein stiller, von den Kritikern gemochter Film über einen Türken und einen Kurden, der zur Versöhnung aufrief, ohne dabei weltfremd zu wirken. Kurdische Demonstranten nutzten die Premiere, um auf die Repressionen gegen ihr Volk und ihre Kultur aufmerksam zu machen. Sie forderten die Freilassung ihres in der Türkei inhaftierten Führers Abdullah Öcalan. Die Proteste eskalierten und hatten unter anderem die Besetzung des griechischen Konsulats zur Folge. Ein Zwischenfall, der „die Vorführung dieses unaufdringlichen Portraits einer sterbenden Kultur unnötig belastete“, konstatierte Wolfgang Jacobsen in „50 Jahre Berlinale“, übersah dabei aber offenbar, dass es ja gerade das „stille“ Sterben ihrer Kultur war, das die verzweifelte Wut der Demonstranten geschürt hatte.

Altmeister des US-Kinos setzen Akzente

Mit Robert Altmans Cookie’s Fortune und Terence Malicks The Thin Red Line brillierte das US-Kino durch zwei Altmeister. Cookie’s Fortune vergnügte, The Thin Red Line war beeindruckendes Breitwandkino mit einer geradezu schlafwandlerischen Sicherheit der Stilmittel. „Seine Poesie, seine meditative Stimmung, das ganze in innerste Vereinsamung gekehrte Endzeitgefühl seiner virtuell in jeder Sekunde zum Tode verurteilten (und verurteilenden) Protagonisten kann man ablehnen, ja , hassen – ‚weggucken’ wie etwa Steven Spielbergs konventioneller Schlachtschinken Der Soldat James Ryan lässt sich dieser nicht“, schrieb Jan Schulz-Ojala im „Tagesspiegel“ über The Thin Red Line.

Der Goldene Bär kam überraschend, schien aber gerade dadurch gerechtfertigt, weil er von Proporz-Erwägungen absah. Dass etwa ein derart starker europäischer Wettbewerb einen „europäischen Sieger“ verdient hätte, wie manche meinten. Die Entscheidung der Jury galt allein dem Werk und seinem Macher.

Das Panorama so stark wie lange nicht

Ein starker Wettbewerb stellt oft das Panorama etwas in den Schatten. Dass das diesmal nicht der Fall war, galt als Beleg für das gefestigte Profil, das sich die Sektion unter der Leitung von Wieland Speck erworben hatte. Tim Roth’s War Zone, Lukas Moodyssons Fucking Åmål | Raus aus Åmål und Benito Zambranos Solas | Allein, der den ersten, vom Stadtmagazin „Tip“ und Radioeins initiierten Panorama-Publikumspreis gewann, waren mehr als nur Bestätigungen eines starken europäischen Gesamteindrucks. Diese Filme standen exemplarisch für das Profil des Panorama, für zeitgenössisches Autorenkino, das seine Geschichten geradlinig und leidenschaftlich erzählt. Lange nicht waren Panoramafilme auf ein derart breites und begeistertes Echo gestoßen.

Catherine Corsinis scharfzüngige und prekäre „Neue Eva“ (La Nouvelle Eve), Amos Kolleks Fiona, die illusionslose Fortsetzung zu Sue, Mark Hermans singende Protagonistin in Little Voice und Patrice Toyes pubertierende Heldin Rosie: Auch in diesen Filmen setzten Frauen die Akzente. Verzweifelte, aber dennoch starke Portraits, die sich zu einem intensiven Gegenwartsbild verdichteten.

Ein neuer Preis im Kinderfilmfest

Auch im Kinderfilmfest fiel in diesem Jahr ein „weiblicher Touch“ auf: Viele Filme fanden ihre Geschichten in der Erlebniswelt heranwachsender Mädchen, so etwa in dem Eröffnungsfilm De Ball | Der Ball von Dany Deprez und in Tobias Falks Abenteuerfilm Sternenkinder. Während der schwache Eindruck des osteuropäischen Films auf dem Gesamtfestival einigen Beobachtern ernste Sorgen bereitete, setzte das Kinderfilmfest hier – wie so oft – einen Kontrapunkt. In Valerij Prijomichovs Kto, esli ne mij | Wer wenn nicht wir ist die russische Jugend in der illusionslosen postsozialistischen Gegenwart gelandet. Viele hätten diesem starken Film einen Preis gegönnt. Etwa den neu gestifteten Preis des Deutschen Kinderhilfswerks, der mit 15.000 D-Mark für den besten Spielfilm und 5.000 D-Mark für den besten Kurzfilm dotiert war.

Berlin ist ein Diva

Der deutsche Film hinterließ nicht nur im Wettbewerb einen nachhaltigen Eindruck. Zu einem Publikumsliebling avancierte im Panorama Kutlug Atamans Lola & Bilidkid. Die Dritte „Dame“ im Bunde war neben Lola und Bilidikid die Stadt Berlin, genauer Kreuzberg, und auch das war ein thematischer Faden dieser Berlinale, der vielen Spaß machte. Oskar Roehlers Gierig im Panorama, Thomas Arslans Dealer und der experimentell überdrehte killerberlin.doc im Forum: Filme, die das Berlin der Gegenwart auf die Leinwand holten und zwischen Kino, Bar und Hotel für Vexiereffekte und Blickkontakte gesorgt haben werden.

Hatten in den anderen Sektionen vor allem die traditionellen Filmländer hohe Erwartungen erfüllt, so bot das Forum – auch das erwartete man – einen Blick in weniger bekannte Kinematografien. Eine Programmreihe stellte das Filmland Marokko vor und mit Rakshan Bani Etemad Banoo | Die Dame lief endlich einmal wieder ein Film aus dem Iran. Mit La vida es silbar | Das Leben ein Pfeifen von Fernando Pérez hatte das Forum einen kubanischen Publikumsliebling. Und Aki Kaurismäkis Juha war weniger seiner Herkunft, wohl aber seiner Form wegen ein Ausreißer: ohne Dialoge, mit Zwischentiteln und traditioneller finnischer Musik, fast statisch inszeniert. Zur Premiere spielte das finnische Symphonie Orchester.