Berlinale: Yearbook


45th Berlin International Film Festival
February 9 - 20, 1995

"Hollywood has long ceased to be American, instead it has become the international centre for the manufacture of audio-visual products. There are almost as many foreigners as Americans working there. Talent knows no passports or borders. We are Hollywood, too, and if things aren't going well in Hollywood, the crisis will be felt everywhere."

(Moritz de Hadeln, in the foreword of the catalogue, asking for more pragmatism and self-reflection in dealing with Hollywood hegemony.)

Happy Birthday Cinema!

A triple anniversary year and a city in search for its self

Forty-five years Berlinale, 25 years Forum and 100 years of film were all celebrated in 1995. In hindsight, it appears to have been the fate of the Berlinale that anniversary years were usually seen as luckless. This year too, critics seemed to play into a general atmosphere of crisis – and beyond that failed to notice the actual quality of the festival programme.

Already in the run-up to the festival, problems and obstacles appeared. Due to the massive cuts, the various divisions of the umbrella company Berliner Festspiele GmbH were forced to compete with one another. In the budgetary debates, the Berlinale and the Theatertreffen (Theatre Meeting) were played off one another. The discussion took place amidst fundamental differences in opinion about the new role of Berlin. Here it was about the city’s identity, not just the significance of art and culture and who should pay for it, but also about the fractures in the sworn unity of East and West.

Family affairs

In this already precarious atmosphere, in which anyone could be up next, the internal solidarity between the festival’s various sections and divisions began to falter. The rivalry regarding content between the Forum and the Competition could no longer be swept under the rug. While Moritz de Hadeln publicly depicted the festival in words which were met with disapproval at the Forum, the Forum did little to portray its unique cinematic concept in a relative light and sell it as a part of a harmonious whole. Instead the Forum was a little to self-important in grooming its own image, whose appearance was in fact remarkably independent from the ups and downs of the festival’s image as a whole.

Making matters worse was the fact that the Panorama and Forum were perceived as competitors. Paradigm shifts and new stipulations were by no means surprising, but reflected developments on the international film market. But why weren’t the changes taken as an opportunity to work on a new profile for the festival? The mixture of disunity and silence left an open playing field for external critics.

Before Sunrise: Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke

Independents and "small" countries rise to the occasion

In the festival introduction, Moritz de Hadeln asked for “tolerance, patience, openness and above all renunciation of prejudice” when it came to the films. This sounded unusually cautious, while in fact the programme was of quality throughout. Looking back, Bruce Bereford’s Silent Fall, Richard Linklater’s Before Sunrise, Abel Ferrara’s The Addiction and Wayne Wang’s double feature Smoke/Blue in the Face were by no means a bad selection of American films. Complimented by Tom DiCillo’s Living in Oblivion (in Forum) they represented a veritable view into the enormous productivity and diversity of the “Independent” genre.

Robert Benton’s Nobody’s Fool starring Paul Newman and Jessica Tandy and Robert Redford’s Quiz Show, however, didn’t make friends of big American cinema especially happy, because it got about which films the Berlinale didn’t get: Robert Altmann’s Prêt-À-Porter, for example, and Nell by Michael Apted.

But expectations of internationality and diversity were also met by the Competition. In Taebaek Sanmaek | Taebak Mountains, Im Kwon-Taek depicted Korea between colonial rule and the civil war during the 1940s. Mexican director Jorge Fons managed with El callejón de los milagros | Midaq Alley to create an homage to the “small people” of his country. Shmuel Hasfari’s Sh’Chur told the story family history of Moroccan Jews in Israel and with When Night is Falling, a subtly told love story between two women, Patricia Rozema put Canada back on the map regarding film.

There were films from Norway and Spain and several productions by young filmmakers from Hong Kong and China. Margarete von Trotta’s Das Versprechen | The Promise was seen as a successful opening film, Michael Winterbottom’s Butterfly Kiss and Bertrand Tavernier’s coldly realistic L’Appât | Fresh Bait offered intense cinema, that dove far beneath the surface, and would have been an honour for any festival. What was lacking at the Berlinale, which other years or other festivals had?

This year Eastern European cinema offered few highlights. Besides Vadim Abdrashitov’s experimental Competition entry Pyesa dlya passazhira | A Play for a Passenger, worth mentioning is also the Polish film Krähen | The Crows by Dorota Kedzierzawska. The story of a young misfit who has to grow up too early, stood out in the Kinderfilmfest.

"Politics and Myth" in the Forum, audience favorites in the Panorama

This year the documentaries dominated the Forum – with a focus on “Politics and Myth” as Ulrich Gregor described in his programme notes. Two controversial film about controversial heroes were Ernesto Che Guevara – The Bolivian Diary by Swiss director Richard Dindo and Ulrike Maria Meinhof by Frenchman Timon Koulmanis. Writing in the “Frankfurter Rundschau”, Sabine Horst accused both films of failed to show the inconstancy of their characters: “While Richard Dindo … at least failed ambitiously, one could say that Koulmanis’ only functions in an uninteresting way,” was her sobering conclusion.

Claude Lanzmann’s five-hour film Tsahal drew similar criticism for not tackling its subject with the necessary depth. The film was a documentary about the Israeli army, in which “not a single image of the six wars in which its was engaged, not even talking about its domestic activities” were shown – as Thomas Rothschild criticised in the “Stuttgarter Zeitung”.

In the Panorama there were two true audience hits with Peter Chelsom’s grumpy but moving comedy Funny Bones and Susanne Oferinger’s Nico-Icon. Films by Antonia Bird, Jean-Luc Godard, Nguyen Huu Phan, Eytan Fox and Idrissa Ouédrogo were proof of the section’s inquisitiveness and open-mindedness. Derek Jarman’s Glitterbug and Marlon T. Riggs’ Black is …Black ain’t represented passionate political commitment. Both directors had died during the previous year.

Farewells to Manfred Salzgeber and Wolf Donner

It was a year of farewells: founder and organizer of the Panorama Manfred Salzgeber had died the year before. His strength had been his openness: for all things new, for the viewpoints of others, open-minded advocacy for that which was important to him, open treatment also of AIDS, the illness which ended his life prematurely. “How often did we profit from his always clever suggestions – even the most radically passionate ones,” wrote Moritz de Hadeln in the festival introduction. Still today, the Berlinale bears the sign of this intellectual passion. In honour of Salzgeber, the festival showed his favourite film: Chaplin’s Monsieur Verdoux.

Wolf Donner, who had directed the Berlinale from 1977-1979 for three years and put the festival on a new course, had also died the year before. In his honour Deutschland im Herbst | Germany in Autumn was shown again, in order to remember Donner’s passion for contradiction and critical viewpoints, and the courage with which he rightly stood behind sometimes unpopular decisions as a festival director.

Berlinale: Chronik


45. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
09. - 20. Februar 1995

„Seit langem schon hat Hollywood aufgehört, amerikanisch zu sein, und ist stattdessen zu einem Weltzentrum für die Herstellung audiovisueller Produkte geworden. Fast ebenso viele Ausländer wie Amerikaner arbeiten dort. Talent kennt weder Pässe noch Grenzen. Hollywood - das sind auch wir, und wenn es Hollywood schlecht geht, ist die Krise überall zu spüren.“

(Moritz de Hadeln wirbt im Vorwort des Festivalkatalogs für einen pragmatischeren - und selbstkritischeren - Umgang mit der kommerziellen Übermacht Hollywoods.)

Happy Birthday Cinema!

Dreifaches Jubiläumsjahr und Berliner Identitätsfragen

45 Jahre Berlinale, 25 Jahre Forum und 100 Jahre Film waren 1995 zu feiern. Blickt man zurück, scheint es das Schicksal der Berlinale zu sein , dass gerade die Jubiläumsjahrgänge meist als glücklos bewertet werden. Auch in diesem Jahr schien die Kritik eher einer allgemeinen Krisenstimmung Tribut zu zollen und darüber die durchaus vorhandenen Qualitäten des Festivalprogramms zu übersehen.

Bereits im Vorfeld hatten sich Probleme und Hindernisse angekündigt. Aufgrund massiver Sparzwänge gerieten die verschiedenen Geschäftsbereiche der Dachgesellschaft Berliner Festspiele GmbH in Konkurrenz zueinander. Vor allem die Berlinale und das Theatertreffen wurden in haushaltspolitischen Debatten gegeneinander ausgespielt. Diese Diskussion fand auf dem Hintergrund grundsätzlicher Meinungsverschiedenheiten über die neue Rolle Berlins statt. Dabei ging es um Identitätsfragen der Stadt, nicht nur um den Stellenwert von Kunst und Kultur und wer dafür aufkommen sollte, sondern auch um die Risse in der viel beschworenen Einheit von Ost und West.

Festivalinterne Rivalitäten

In diesem bereits prekären Klima, in dem sich jeder selbst der Nächste war, bröckelte auch die festivalinterne Solidarität zwischen den Sektionen und Bereichen. Die inhaltliche Rivalität zwischen Forum und Wettbewerb war nicht mehr wegzudiskutieren. Während Moritz de Hadeln in der öffentlichen Darstellung des Festivals Formulierungen gebrauchte, die beim Forum auf Missfallen stoßen mussten, tat auch das Forum wenig, seine cineastisch-konzeptionelle Sonderstellung zu relativieren und als Teil eines harmonischen Ganzen zu verkaufen. Ein wenig zu selbstgefällig pflegte man das eigene Image, dessen Ansehen tatsächlich bemerkenswert resistent war gegen die Image-Konjunkturen des Gesamtfestivals.

Erschwerend kam hinzu, dass Panorama und Forum als Konkurrenten wahrgenommen wurden. Grenzverschiebungen und Neubestimmungen waren keineswegs überraschend, sondern entsprachen der Entwicklung auf dem internationalen Filmmarkt. Aber warum nahm man die Veränderungen nicht zum Anlass, an einem neuen Festivalprofil zu arbeiten? Indem Uneinigkeit mit Schweigen kombiniert wurde, überließ die Berlinale das Feld den externen Kritikern.

Before Sunrise: Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke

Independents und „kleine“ Filmländer nutzen ihre Chance

„Toleranz, Geduld, Offenheit und vor allem den Verzicht auf Vorurteile“ hatte Moritz de Hadeln im Festivalvorwort für die Filme gefordert. Das klang ungewohnt vorsichtig, dabei konnte sich das Programm durchaus sehen lassen. Rückblickend waren Bruce Beresford’s Silent Fall | Stummer Schrei, Richard Linklaters Before Sunrise, Abel Ferraras The Addiction und Wayne Wangs Doublefeature Smoke/Blue in the Face beileibe keine schlechte US-amerikanische Auswahl. Ergänzt durch Tom DiCillos Living in Oblivion (im Forum) repräsentierten sie einen veritablen Einblick in die enorme Produktivität und Vielfalt des „Independent“-Genres.

Robert Bentons Nobody’s Fool mit Paul Newman und Jessica Tandy und Robert Redfords Quiz Show machten dagegen selbst die Freunde des amerikanischen Großkinos wohl deshalb nicht recht glücklich, weil sich herumsprach, welche Filme die Berlinale nicht bekommen hatte: Robert Altmanns Prêt-À-Porter zum Beispiel und Nell von Michael Apted.

Aber auch der Anspruch auf Internationalität und Vielfalt wurde im Wettbewerb durchaus eingelöst. Im Kwon-Taek erzählte in Taebaek Sanmaek | Das Taebaek Gebirge vom Korea der vierziger Jahre zwischen Kolonialherrschaft und Bürgerkrieg. Dem Mexikaner Jorge Fons gelang mit El callejón de los milagros | Die Gasse der Wunder eine Hommage an die „kleinen Leute“ seines Landes. Shmuel Hasfaris Sh’Chur erzählte die Familiengeschichte marokkanischer Juden in Israel und Patricia Rozema brachte mit When Night is Falling, einer subtil erzählten Liebesgeschichte zwischen zwei Frauen, das Filmland Kanada wieder auf die internationale Bühne.

Es liefen Filme aus Norwegen und Spanien und mehrere Produktionen junger Filmemacher aus Hongkong und China. Margarete von Trottas Das Versprechen galt als gelungener Eröffnungsfilm, Michael Winterbottoms Butterfly Kiss und Bertrand Taverniers kalt-realisitscher L’Appât | Der Lockvogel boten intensives Kino, das weit unter die Oberfläche dringt, und einem jeden Festival zur Ehre gereicht. Was hatte diese Berlinale nicht, was andere Jahrgänge oder andere Festivals hatten?

Das osteuropäische Kino setzte in diesem Jahr nur wenige Glanzlichter. Neben Wadim Abdraschitows experimentierfreudigem Wettbewerbsbeitrag Pjesa dlja Passashira | Theaterstück für einen Fahrgast ist vor allem der polnische Film Krähen | Wrony von Dorota Kedzierzawska zu erwähnen. Die Geschichte einer jungen Außenseiterin, die früh erwachsen werden muss, war der herausragende Beitrag im Kinderfilmfest. Nach dem vielversprechenden Vorjahr schien dieser Jahrgang allerdings zu beweisen, wie labil die osteuropäische Filmbranche war.

„Politik und Mythos“ im Forum, Publikumshits im Panorama

Im Forum dominierten in diesem Jahr Dokumentarfilme und mit ihnen eine Auseinandersetzung mit „Politik und Mythos“ wie es Ulrich Gregor in seinen Programmnotizen charakterisierte. Zwei umstrittene Filme über umstrittene Helden waren Ernesto Che Guevara – Das Bolivianische Tagebuch des Schweizers Richard Dindo und Ulrike Maria Meinhof des Franzosen Timon Koulmanis. Beiden Filmen warf Sabine Horst in der „Frankfurter Rundschau“ vor, an der Widersprüchlichkeit ihrer Figuren gescheitert zu sein: „Während Richard Dindo … immerhin ambitioniert gescheitert ist, konnte man von Koulmanis’ Film sagen, daß er auf uninteressante Weise funktioniert“, war ihr nüchternes Fazit.

Eine ähnliche Kritik, sein Sujet nicht mit der notwendigen Durchdringung zu bearbeiten, zog auch Claude Lanzmanns fünfstündiger Film Tsahal auf sich, eine Dokumentation über die israelische Armee, in der jedoch „keine einziges Bild von den sechs Kriegen, die diese Armee führte, geschweige denn von ihren Einsätzen im Inneren“ gezeigt wurde, wie Thomas Rothschild in der „Stuttgarter Zeitung“ kritisierte.

Im Panorama gab es mit Peter Chelsoms kauziger Komödie Funny Bones und Susanne Oferingers Nico-Icon zwei echte Publikumshits. Filme von Antonia Bird, Jean-Luc Godard, Nguyen Huu Phan, Eytan Fox und Idrissa Ouédrogo dokumentierten das neugierige und offene Profil der Sektion. Derek Jarmans Glitterbug und Marlon T. Riggs Black is …Black ain’t standen für das leidenschaftliche politische Engagement. Beide Regisseure waren im Jahr zuvor verstorben.

Abschied von Manfred Salzgeber und Wolf Donner

Es war ein Jahr der Abschiede, denn auch Manfred Salzgeber, der Gründer und Gestalter des Panorama, war im Jahr zuvor verstorben. Offenheit war seine Stärke gewesen: Offen für das Neue, offen für die Meinungen anderer, offenes Eintreten für das, was ihm wichtig war, offener Umgang auch mit AIDS, der Krankheit, die seinem Leben ein frühes Ende bereitete. „Wie oft haben wir von seinen selbst in ihrer leidenschaftlichen Radikalität stets klugen Ratschlägen profitiert“, schrieb Moritz de Hadeln im Festivalvorwort. Noch immer trägt die Berlinale die Zeichen dieser klugen Leidenschaft. Salzgeber zu Ehren zeigte das Festival seinen Lieblingsfilm: Chaplins Monsieur Verdoux.

Auch , der die Berlinale von 1977 – 1979 drei Jahre lang geleitet und auf einen neuen Weg gebracht hatte, war im Jahr zuvor verstorben. Ihm zu Ehren wurde noch einmal Deutschland im Herbst gezeigt, um an Donners Leidenschaft für Widerspruch und Kritik zu erinnern, an seinen Mut, mit dem er als junger Festivalchef zu unbequemen Entscheidungen stand – und Recht behielt.