Berlinale: Yearbook


44th Berlin International Film Festival
February 10 - 21, 1994

“Just between us Europeans: Isn’t it high time that we asked why audiences are giving our films the cold shoulder?”… Are our films perhaps too loquacious, too grandiose? Is it possible that we have perhaps lost touch with our values?… Yes, I know – to ask such questions, means to commit a crime…[But) there’s nothing worse than to remain quiet out of convenience.”

(Moritz de Hadeln shows claws against the permanent criticism, that the Berlinale is too servile to Hollywood.)

Homage 1994: Sophia Loren

Strengthened self-confidence of European film

The decision issue for the film industry in the previous year were the GATT negotiations, which were intended to put trade in cultural products on a new footing. When it came to film, many observers believed this to be a fateful decision on the integrity of European cinema in opposition to the economic superiority of Hollywood. The American negotiator Jack Valenti hadn’t been able to push through all points of his agenda, and so the mood at this Berlinale was marked by the strengthened self-confidence in European film. At the same time, European discussions would often descend into protectionism. On the fringe of the festival a conference took place at which European filmmakers and media policymakers agreed upon a 15-point catalogue on the “rescue” of European film.

And so special attention was lavished on the European films in the festival programme and, indeed, this year they cut a good profile. Ken Loach’s Ladybird, Ladybird, Krzystof Kieslowski’s Trzy kolory: Biały | Three Colours: White, Alain Resnais’ double feature Smoking - No Smoking and Jim Sheridan’s Golden Bear winner In the Name of the Father were true festival films – grand, passionate, narrative cinema. In the other sections too, European films provided plenty of material for discussion. Eric Rohmer’s L’Arbre, le Mairie et la Médiathek | The Tree, The Mayor and the Mediatheque, Jacquette Rivette’s Jeanne La Pucelle and the raw Irish entry High Boot Benny by Joe Comerford were outstanding works shown at the Forum.

“That two totally different directors like Sheridan and Comerford at the end of the day offer the same conclusions and send their heroes off to fight, is characteristic of the mood amongs the intellectuals of the country,” wrote the former Berlinale director Wolf Donner in the “Frankfurter Allgemeinen Zeitung” on In the Name of the Father and High Boot Benny. Such thematic interconnections between the sections were many this year. With so much diversity, seldom before had the Berlinale left one with such a forceful impression.

1994
Gay and lesbian demonstrators in front of Zoo-Palast

Berlinale at 100%: Diversity, quality, discoveries and a wide open window to the East

The Forum and Panorama even managed to keep open the window to the East with a “Country Focus Mongolia” (Forum) and the “View to the East” (Panorama), without stepping on one another’s feet. Kira Muratova’s surreal, light comedy Uvletschenja | Passions and Nikita Michalkov’s long-term observation Anna: 6-18 in the Panorama, Vitalij Kanjewski’s Nous, Les enfants du vingtième siècle | We, the Children of the 20th Century and Béla Tarr’s powerful, monolithic opus Sátántangó | Satan's Tango in the Forum, plus Aleksandr Sokurov’s Tikhiye stranitsy | Whispering Pages and Semyon Aranovich’s God Sobaki | The Year of a Dog in the Competition: wWhat was begun in one place was taken up in another, it appeared. Themes reappeared, images were repeated, the dream of one film could be the awakening of another. Spread across the festival, Eastern European cinema impressed and shocked with class and radicalism.

After the convincing previous year, the 1994 Berlinale was a true success. In the eyes of most observers it had everything that a good festival needed: a large number of outstanding films, thematic focuses, regional profiles. The stars showed up – besides the directors and stars of the Competition, they included Samuel Fuller, Bernardo Betrolucci, Liv Ullmann, Isabella Rossellini and ahead of everyone else and omnipresent: Sophia Loren, who was honoured for her lifework with a Honorary Golden Bear. There were also several tangible surprises: such as Pas trés Catholique | Something Fishy by the French Tonie Marshall in the Competition, but especially the Cuban comedy Fresa y Chocolate | Strawberry and Chocolate which casually and with bounce portrays the fears and taboos of contemporary Cuba and received the Special Prize of the jury. The big discovery in the Panorama was Linda Fiorentino, the lead actress in John Dahl’s neo-noire thriller The Last Seduction.

Bears are loose in the Kinderfilmfest

In the Kinderfilmfest, an Australian film was a great surprise: In Mathilda Bell David Elfick tells the story of a girl whose family is forced to swap the raw paradise of the Australian heartland for the bleakness of the big city. The film thrilled the audience, the press and the film industry alike. Elfick’s film was the first winner of the Crystal Bear, the newly created official prize which was to be presented by the Child’s Jury from then on – a sign of appreciation for the work of the young jurors, but also of the increasing significance of the Kinderfilmfest.

At this Berlinale the Forum again offered the privilege of being able to see films that reject any commercial compromise: three, four, ten-hour works, that give their stories the space that they require, and the viewers the pleasure of being able to watch images at work. Besides Béla Tarr’s Sátántángo were two German documentaries: Barbara and Winfried Junge’s Das Leben des Jürgen von Golzow and Volker Koepp’s Die Wismut. Just here, in dealing with East German reality, through hast and ignorance, so much had already been destroyed.

The festival's budget no longer fits its status

The success of this Berlinale was all the more surprising, since it had had to cope with drastic budget. After suffering from across the board budget cuts in culture, the latest reduction of 500,000 deutschmarks was a serious threat to the festival. With a permanent staff of just eight people, in terms of infrastructure, the festival was a “midget” among the festivals. Another problem was the fact that the Berlinale still had no festival centre – it lived by “subletting”, which became increasingly risky and expensive for such a large festival.

The meagre facilities of the Berlinale in comparison to other festivals, was a permanent problem and stood in contrast to its growing international importance. Under the management of Beki Probst, the film market had developed into one of the most important marketplaces for the European film industry and the Berlinale was, according to a survey, for producers, the most important festival after Cannes – ahead of Venice.

The debate was about the public valuation of culture and the fact that well-intentioned speeches too seldom led to action, or in other words, money. The federal government and Berlin would shift responsibility back and forth to one another. There were also constraints of infrastructure, which at the end of the day had to do with political assumptions. Sponsoring as a source of income was still underdeveloped and was to gain in significance in the coming years. And perhaps it was during this "meantime" that Moritz de Hadeln first dreamed of moving the festival to Potsdamer Platz – such as the time when he showed Sophia Loren the red Infobox which documented the construction of the “New Berlin”.

Berlinale: Chronik


44. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
10. - 21. Februar 1994

„Unter uns Europäern: Ist es nicht höchste Zeit, daß wir uns fragen, warum das Publikum unseren Filmen die kalte Schulter zeigt? … Sind unsere Filme womöglich zu geschwätzig, zu hochtrabend? Haben wir uns möglicherweise auf unserer Werteskala verlaufen? … Ja ich weiß - schon solche Fragen zu stellen, heißt ein Verbrechen zu begehen. ... [Aber] es gibt nichts Schlimmeres, als aus Bequemlichkeit zu schweigen.“

(Moritz de Hadeln geht in die Offensive gegen die Dauerkritik, die Berlinale stünde unter der Knute Hollywoods.)

Hommage 1994: Sophia Loren

Gestärktes Selbstbewusstsein des europäischen Films

Bestimmendes Thema der Branche waren im Vorjahr die GATT-Verhandlungen, die den internationalen Handel mit Kulturgütern auf eine neue Basis stellen sollten. Was den Film betraf, ging es dabei für viele Beobachter um eine schicksalhafte Entscheidung über die Integrität des europäischen Kinos gegenüber der ökonomischen Übermacht Hollywoods. Der amerikanische Unterhändler Jack Valenti hatte sich nicht in allen Punkten durchsetzen können, und so war die Stimmung auf dieser Berlinale von einem gestärkten Selbstbewusstsein des europäischen Films geprägt, das freilich auch seine protektionistischen Stilblüten trieb. Am Rande des Festivals fand eine Tagung statt, bei der sich europäische Filmschaffende und Medienpolitiker auf einen 15-Punkte-Katalog zur „Rettung“ des europäischen Films einigten.

Besonderes Interesse galt daher den europäischen Filmen im Festivalprogramm und die konnten sich in diesem Jahr wirklich sehen lassen. Ken Loachs Ladybird, Ladybird, Krzystof Kieslowskis Trzy kolory: Biały | Drei Farben: Weiß, Alain Resnais’ Doppelpack Smoking - No Smoking und Jim Sheridans Goldbären-Gewinner In the Name of the Father waren echte Festivalfilme, großes, leidenschaftliches Erzählkino. Auch in den anderen Sektionen bot das europäische Kino reichlich Gesprächsstoff. Eric Rohmers L’Arbre, le Mairie et la Médiathek | Der Baum, der Bürgermeister und die Mediathek, Jacquette Rivettes Jeanne La Pucelle und der raue irische Beitrag High Boot Benny von Joe Comerford waren herausragende Arbeiten im Forum.

„Dass zwei so unterschiedliche Regisseure wie Sheridan und Comerford letztlich die gleiche radikale Schlussfolgerung anbieten und ihre Helden in den Kampf schicken, ist bezeichnend für die Stimmung unter den Intellektuellen des Landes“, schrieb der ehemalige Berlinale-Chef Wolf Donner in der „Frankfurter Allgemeinen Zeitung“ über In the Name of the Father und High Boot Benny. Vielfach ergaben sich solche thematischen Querverbindungen zwischen den Sektionen. Selten zuvor hatte die Berlinale einen bei aller Vielfalt derart konsequenten Eindruck hinterlassen.

1994
Homosexuelle demonstrieren vor dem Zoo-Palast.

100% Berlinale: Vielfalt, Qualität, Entdeckungen und ein Fenster nach Osten

Forum und Panorama schafften es sogar, mit einer „Länderschau Mongolei“ (Forum) und einer Reihe „Blick nach Osten“ (Panorama) das Fenster nach Osteuropa offen zu halten, ohne sich dabei gegenseitig auf die Füße zu treten. Kira Muratovas surreal leichte Komödie Uvletschenja | Kleine Landschaften und Nikita Michalkovs Langzeitbeobachtung Anna: 6 – 18 im Panorama, Vitalij Kanjewskis Nous, Les enfants du vingtième siècle | Wir Kinder des 20. Jahrhunderts und Béla Tarrs mächtiges monolithisches Opus Sátántangó im Forum, dazu Aleksandr Sokurovs Tichie Stranicy | Verborgene Seiten und Semjon Aranowitschs God Sobaki | Das Jahr des Hundes im Wettbewerb: Was hier begonnen wurde, wurde dort aufgegriffen, so schien es. Themen kehrten wieder, Bilder wiederholten sich, der Traum des einen Films konnte das Erwachen eines anderen sein. Verteilt über das Festival beeindruckte und erschütterte das osteuropäische Kino mit Klasse und Radikalität.

Nach dem bereits überzeugenden Vorjahr, war die Berlinale 1994 ein echter Erfolgsjahrgang. In den Augen der meisten Beobachter hatte er alles, was ein gutes Festival braucht: Eine Vielzahl herausragender Filme, thematische Schwerpunkte, regionale Profile. Die Stars kamen – neben den Regisseuren und Stars des Wettbewerbs unter anderen Samuel Fuller, Bernardo Bertrolucci, Liv Ullmann, Isabella Rossellini und allen voran und allgegenwärtig: Sophia Loren, die für ihr Lebenswerk mit einem Goldenen Ehrenbären ausgezeichnet wurde – und es gab einige handfeste Überraschungen: Im Wettbewerb etwa Pas trés Catholique | Leicht verdächtig des Franzosen Tonie Marshall, vor allem aber die kubanische Komödie Fresa y Chocolade | Erdbeer und Schokolade, die beiläufig und beschwingt von Ängsten und Tabus im Kuba der Gegenwart erzählt und den Spezialpreis der Jury erthielt. Die Entdeckung des Panoramas war hingegen Linda Fiorentino, die Hauptdarstellerin in John Dahls Neo-Noir-Thriller The Last Seduction.

Erste Bärenlese im Kinderfilmfest

Im Kinderfilmfest sorgte ein australischer Film für die gefeierte Überraschung: In Matilda Bell erzählt David Elfick die Geschichte eines Mädchens, dessen Familie gezwungen ist, das raue Paradies des australischen Heartlands gegen die Öde der Großstadt zu tauschen. Der Film begeisterte Publikum, Presse und Branche gleichermaßen. Elficks Film wurde der erste Preisträger des „Gläsernen Bären“, des neu geschaffenen offiziellen Preises, den die Kinderjury fortan vergeben würde. Damit wurde nicht nur die Arbeit der jungen Juroren, sondern auch das Kinderfilmfest selbst aufgewertet.

Das Forum bot auch auf dieser Berlinale wieder das Privileg, Filme sehen zu dürfen, die auf kommerzielle Kompromisse verzichten: drei, vier, zehnstündige Arbeiten, die ihren Geschichten den Raum geben, den sie einfordern, und dem Zuschauer das Vergnügen, den Bildern bei der Arbeit zuzusehen. Neben Béla Tarrs Sátántángo waren das in diesem Jahr auch zwei deutsche Dokumentationen: Barbara und Winfried Junges Das Lebens des Jürgen von Golzow und Volker Koepps Die Wismut. Gerade hier, im Umgang mit der ostdeutschen Realität, war durch Übereile und Ignoranz schon viel zu viel kaputt gemacht worden.

Die Finanzdecke wird fadenscheinig

Der Erfolg dieser Berlinale war umso erstaunlicher, als im Vorfeld empfindliche Etatkürzungen zu verkraften gewesen waren. Nachdem die Berlinale bereits in den Vorjahren unter den allgegenwärtigen Budgetkürzungen im Kulturbereich zu leiden hatte, brachte eine neuerliche Streichung von 500.000 D-Mark das Festival nun in ernsthafte Bedrängnis. Mit einem festen Mitarbeiterstamm von nur acht Personen war die Berlinale infrastrukturell ohnehin ein „Zwerg“ unter den Festivals. Auch machte die Tatsache zu schaffen, dass es für die Berlinale noch immer kein eigenes Festivalzentrum gab, man also weiterhin „zur Untermiete“ lebte, was bei der Größe des Festivals zunehmend riskant und kostspielig wurde.

Die verglichen mit anderen Filmfestivals dürftige Ausstattung der Berlinale war ein Dauerproblem und stand konträr zu ihrer wachsenden internationalen Bedeutung. Die Filmmesse hatte sich unter der Leitung von Beki Probst zu einem der wichtigsten Handelsplätze der europäischen Filmbranche entwickelt und die Berlinale galt einer Umfrage unter Produzenten zufolge als das wichtigste Festival nach Cannes und vor Venedig.

Es ging um die öffentliche Wertschätzung von Kultur und darum, dass den wohlklingenden Reden zu selten Taten, das heißt Geld, folgten. Der Bund und Berlin schoben sich gegenseitig die Verantwortung zu. Es zeigten sich aber auch infrastrukturelle Zwänge, die mit dem Ende politischer Selbstverständlichkeiten zu tun hatten. Noch unterentwickelt war der Einnahmenbereich „Sponsoring“, der in den Folgejahren von wachsender Bedeutung sein würde. Und auch den Traum von einem Umzug an den Potsdamer Platz wird Moritz de Hadeln in dieser "Zeit zwischen den Stühlen" vielleicht zum ersten Mal geträumt haben, zum Beispiel als er Sophia Loren die rote Infobox zeigte, in der damals der Baufortschritt im „neuen Berlin“ dokumentiert wurde.